WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Woman Sues "Drive" for Misleading Trailer

Posted: October 10th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Woman Sues "Drive" for Misleading TrailerSubmit Comment
Most people who are unhappy with the film they just paid $10 to see in theaters usually complain to their friends or post an angry Twitter message. But one movie-goer, Sarah Deming, has decided to file a lawsuit against distributor FilmDistrict for misleading her with the marketing campaign for "Drive."

"[The studio] promoted the film 'Drive' as very similar to the 'Fast and Furious,' or similar, series of movies," the suit reads. "'Drive' bore very little similarity to a chase, or race action film... having very little driving in the motion picture."

Deming is seeking a refund for her movie ticket and a ban on "misleading movie trailers." She is also planning to let others get in on her lawsuit by turning it into a class-action lawsuit.

This is a common complaint among movie-goers who went to see "Drive." The film features lots of fast driving in the trailer and has a 93% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes. But the reason the critics loved the movie so much is for the same reason Deming hated it, because it is nothing like the "Fast and the Furious" franchise.

"Drive" Trailer:


Click here to read our "Drive" review.

Source: ClickOnDetroit, Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on October 10th, 2011 at 8:49:42 PM

Lady do something useful and start a hate crime on monitories
PHURBY1984 writes:
on October 10th, 2011 at 8:50:10 PM

So I guess I can sue for Matrix 2 and 3, Green Lantern, Superman Returns, The sequels to Jurassic Park, Transformers, Batman & Robin...Hell what am I missing on here...Lets make this a big...
bandolero999 writes:
on October 10th, 2011 at 8:55:43 PM

Sucker Punch,kingdom of heaven,Fast Five,Hangover,Grown ups
MarshallErikson writes:
on October 10th, 2011 at 9:27:58 PM

Really, a list of movies that weren't like the trailers? I don't see anyone suing Inglorious Basterds, a movie which was completely misrepresented but was even better than what was shown. Its so silly to get upset. People need to understand that trailers are just marketing and shouldn't be representative of the final product. Its a little ridiculous to get this upset about it.
sleepingshane writes:
on October 10th, 2011 at 9:28:50 PM

i felt the same when i saw the beaver, there was no muff in the film very miss leading tho there was a c*nt in it mel gibson
iceskateuphill writes:
on October 10th, 2011 at 10:59:05 PM

i hate stupid people. this movie was incredible and it was called DRIVE not DRIVING. its about one mans DRIVE to do things, who also happens to drive a car. it is an intense, amazing film and a misleading trailer is what sells all movies. this is disappointing to read
technoreaper writes:
on October 10th, 2011 at 11:37:23 PM

She could make this a class-action lawsuit, lol.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on October 10th, 2011 at 11:50:53 PM

The judge already ruled in favor of the movie in this case. During the trial the judge said, and I quote, "Sarah Deming, will you please rise? You know, you're a real stupid count (take out the 'o')."
Johnnyb writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 12:09:47 AM

So interpreting this..... we can take it as we can sue any movie made it from the 90´s until today, because most of them are crap!!!!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 12:09:58 AM

Wow wtf??
Rambo writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 12:12:43 AM

you go girl
jdl107 writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 12:21:38 AM

I wonder who else is going to join her in that parade of dumbassed-ness. I don't know how the f*ck one can think Fast & the Furious when viewing the trailer, it spoke for the movie very clearly to me.

God help whoever joins this woman.
GIST writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 12:43:26 AM

Wow. What a dumb c*m swallowing c*nt?

Anyways, loved the film & soundtrack. FYI, the main character was also loosely based on the artist who produced the song during the opening credits of Drive.

KΔVINϟKY

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SQSHg-SJXR8
Ranger writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 1:00:48 AM

She needs a good long drive in her ass.
NotAmerican writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 1:07:16 AM

Only in America.
montheindy writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 2:02:29 AM

The fact that it was in Cannes shows you right there that there was no way it was going to be a load of crap with Vin Diesel in it.
technoreaper writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 2:05:45 AM

The vast majority of viewers of this movie hated it. Just saying. They had every right to, in my opinion. No other movie could get away with that ridiculous elevator scene or the drowning scene. It would automatically get "no stars" from most critics because of that. Because this guy is European and has an art house reputation, the film snob community has sung its praises, even though it is cliched trash that is really little better than the Fast and Furious movies. I had to say it, I'm sorry!
pornfly writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 2:15:23 AM

Haha,dumb beaver.sumbody blogged here that it won or was nominated for awards at sum festival, thats a dead giveaway,she mustv been a fun date
snoop writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 2:25:55 AM

She's a real human being and a real hero.
I hate all trailers, too.
biniwoo writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 3:29:35 AM

I guess it was Nawtnt. Orlando Bloom is not the star in it.
Cannon writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 3:29:39 AM

LOL -- Classic!

America is all about exploiting every possible legal action that exist (and even a few that don’t) and crumbling the foundation of law and liberty into one big, absurdist f*cking joke. I love this woman!

This is like the time I tried suing a Saturday morning cartoon kids commercial that showed a kid’s head implode after eating this super sour fruit snack. I bought said snacks...ate them. Nothing happened. No imploding head: “False advertisement!” I cried.
trailertrash writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 3:49:37 AM

Technoreaper

your a woman, well I never.

Kurskij writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 3:51:07 AM

What @sleepingshane said

Let's see, are there any other movies with misleading trailers/titles?

- "Watchmen" - little action, blue dongs

- "Babel" - there's no Babel or tower of Babel or Ashur-motherf*cking-banipal.

- "Dobermann" - it's not about a dog.


trailertrash writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 3:55:38 AM

Anyways f*ck this woman, Drive was a good movie because it wasn't like Fast 5 or your normal run of the mill action film (which I do love btw)

Maybe she would have been better off renting Ryan O'Neal's Driver
pH0u57 writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 4:20:13 AM

Did she actually watch the trailer or just read the name?
PaulX7 writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 4:46:16 AM

If it is really about what she calls "misleading trailers", I think she can sue many MANY other movies...
RickPeters writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 5:47:01 AM

Okay, I haven't seen Drive yet, but I just watched this trailer again and there isn't even that much driving in it. It's pretty obvious that most of the driving action shots are from the same chase and then maybe one or two other crashes.

This woman is a f*cking fool. I might literally cry if she wins any money from this lawsuit.
trailertrash writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 5:48:37 AM

Snoop is that a college song reference there my good man ,if so bravo sir ...
SeWerin writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 6:10:17 AM

Very disappointing movie. While this women is obviously dumb, i can understand her, but not her actions.

Same thing was with Valhalla Rising - it's from the same director and it has also very misleading trailer.

But i love Bronson and Pusher trilogy, so i will give the director one more chance.

But i agree that soundtrack was unique and amazing
Farradin writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 6:16:29 AM

I hope she wins!
nawtnt writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 6:17:58 AM

Biniwoo, F*** you
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 6:27:32 AM

This film looks the bollocks. f*ck that retard woman sums up everything wrong with modern movie go-ers. Style over substance.
nuttie30xx writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 6:28:56 AM

Typical amercian sueing for anything they can, over here (uk) they would be laughed out the courts
snoop writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 6:52:07 AM

@trailer Yeah, lol. It's on the OST.
reaper1000 writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 6:59:20 AM

I liked it. I was different and thats a rarity these days. Get a life Sarah Deming.
Serpico1988 writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 7:01:18 AM

f**k you bitch i don't give a fat sh*t what you got from that trailer, next time go watch a movie after you've read some reviews.. Drive was the best film of 2011 in my opinion, the reason why it was so sickk was the very fact that it didn't carry any "similarity to a chase, or race action film".

Who's with me now ?1 lolll
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 7:06:17 AM

@tt

Good call on the Ryan O'Neal pic.


I can see her argument though.

There have been many trailers for movies that bare no resemblence to the movie they are advertising.
AYT BALL writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 8:53:52 AM

Dumb greedy cow, i'll give you back your 10 bucks if you agree to f*ck off forever
AYT BALL writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 8:53:53 AM

Dumb greedy cow, i'll give you back your 10 bucks if you agree to f*ck off forever
AYT BALL writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 8:55:24 AM

@ Trailer - beat me to it on the technoreaper comment! lol
Buzz Killington writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 10:00:12 AM

I can't even begin to understand why she would think Drive's trailer even remotely resembles Fast and Furious but I don't think that's the real issue here. Reading technoreapers comment just makes me sad for the future of cinema especially in the United States where simple minded people demand movies that explain every single thing that happens on the screen just because they are too lazy to think for themselves.

Needless to say I loved Drive and I really hope that Refn will hold on to his style and that someone in hollywood (producers) also recognizes his talent.

sober writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 10:51:57 AM

and what about shutter island trailer
technoreaper writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 11:49:08 AM

@Buzz Killington, what an absolutely pretentious comment. Comments like yours make me feel sad that people like you exist. Reduce Drive down, eliminate all the awkward pauses and inappropriate music, and the film is no better than your average heist/mob movie that you see in Redbox. The Emperor Has No Clothes. People read that fable and they still never learn. The director is a strange, difficult guy. He likes to make his movies annoying and difficult to comprehend. I don't care about that. I go to the movies to enjoy myself, not to see junk. I can be difficult and pretentious too. That's not hard. It is much harder to make a solid, coherent movie. Is Fast and Furious 5 a movie I like? No way. Is Fast and Furious 1 and Fast and Furious 4 a movie that I liked? Yes, because they were decently made, but they aren't my favorites and they are aimed towards low-class people. I don't really care that you guys liked Drive, but much of the movie was comprised of scenes that would instantly have lost credibility if it were any other movie. You would have laughed at it. Yet you guys somehow thought it was brilliant in this film. The arthouse movie crowd doesn't make sense, not unlike most terrible movies. I've even met a few rehabilitated ones that admitted its all nonsense and learned to enjoy movies.
DexterMorgan writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 3:27:39 PM

wow what stupid bitch
nawtnt writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 4:28:09 PM

Wait one minute so this woman is suing the film because she was thinking she was watching a Fast and Furious movie.

What a stupid bitch.
trailertrash writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 5:59:07 PM

AYT -


lol, Have you seen Drive yet mate ?
trailertrash writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 6:01:41 PM

Dave-

That was a good movie back in the day and Bruce Dern was classic in it also
AYT BALL writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 7:57:15 PM

@ Trailer - Have indeed mate, old school cool, good stuff! i mean its no fast 5 but not everything can hit those high standards lol
gg_galaxy2002 writes:
on October 11th, 2011 at 10:11:45 PM

The movie was awesome, A-, lady get a life!
trailertrash writes:
on October 12th, 2011 at 3:25:32 AM

AYT - lol I know Fast 5 has spoils us with its high standards

Snoop its a great soundtrack one of the best ive heard in a long time, really set the tone of the film too
trailertrash writes:
on October 12th, 2011 at 3:31:39 AM

#Spoiled

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved