WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Dredd" Producers Unhappy with the Film, Fire Director

Posted: October 8th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Dredd" Producers Unhappy with the Film, Fire DirectorSubmit Comment
LA Times has learned that Pete Travis (Vantage Point) has been fired from the upcoming "Judge Dredd" remake, called "Dredd," as the film enters the post-production phase. Despite shooting the entire movie, Travis has not been involved with the editing process due to creative disagreements with producers and executives.

Stepping in for Travis is writer Alex Garland (Never Let Me Go, 28 Days Later), who is also producing "Dredd." Garland has been involved so heavily with the post-production process that many believe he'll seek a director's credit, especially if re-shoots are ordered.

While details of the disagreement are not clear, the paper learned that producers noticed an issue as soon as Travis began delivering footage that no one was happy with. At this point Lionsgate has not pushed the September 21st, 2012 release date.

And looking in the past, this isn't the first time that something like this has happened. Just last year, producer Jerry Bruckheimer kicked director Mike Newell out of the editing room for "Prince of Persia" and brought on his friend Steven Spielberg to play with the footage.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 6:20:55 AM

This sucks I want This movie to be made well.the sly version is more of a comedy.

So no wonder prince of Persia sucked balls thank you Spielberg.that movie would of still sucked no matter who was behind it
bandolero999 writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 6:22:02 AM

Brokeback mountain boy playing and Arab.automatic FAil
trailertrash writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 6:25:54 AM

Not good news Rocket !!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 6:36:12 AM

Damn, I had hopes for this.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 7:16:46 AM

Dang!!!

This doesn't sound too good.

Just hope the version they are doing will totally suck balls so the director can laugh his arse off.

But then, if the version he was shooting wasn't anygood..wouldn't they have seen that from the dailys'? And fired hime then.
boogiel writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 7:27:12 AM

Uh-oh..that definitely NOT good.
sleepingshane writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 8:37:05 AM

great now i got to wait for them to f*ck up rogue trooper and thats my childhood memories ruined, there's only one director who's any good at comic book adaptions thats zack snyder give it to him for f*ck sake or neil blomkamp
Johnnyb writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 9:01:26 AM

We can say that this project was dead from the beginning!!!!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 9:13:53 AM

not good, not good at all.
Stapes writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 9:42:24 AM

I'm guessing that "no showing Urban's face" idea didn't test well in market predictions. Seriously though, directors should be allowed to stand or fall on their own, when producers get involved to a significant degree in anything it has ALWAYS ruined or muddled the final product. There's no hope for this movie being worth a damn now.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 12:45:37 PM

The first Dredd movie was incredibly terribile...Rob Schneider helped ruin that movie.
the man with no name writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 1:10:01 PM

@sleepingshane rodriquez is also a good comic to film direct with sin city.. its word for word and practically shot for shot.. other than that everyone sucks.. i hope superman is good
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 2:32:31 PM

What is upsetting to me is that Alex Garland will get the directors credit for this sh*tty movie and I really like the guy. I don't want his first film to be a sh*tty one.
pornfly writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 3:29:43 PM

What STAPES said, they should just re-release the original but only the Diane Lane footage

Rambo writes:
on October 8th, 2011 at 6:05:32 PM

I dont care what everybody else say,I loved the sly 1995 dredd,it was action packed and had great over acting all around.
Damon242 writes:
on October 9th, 2011 at 1:36:44 AM

"...the paper learned that producers noticed an issue as soon as Travis began delivering footage that no one was happy with"

you don't say...

Ranger writes:
on October 9th, 2011 at 1:57:30 AM

@Rambo - lol.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on October 9th, 2011 at 1:42:50 PM

I also like sly's dredd. just try to watch it without smiling. impossible!
darthraige writes:
on October 9th, 2011 at 5:45:06 PM

Must be a Billy Walsh type of thing where the movie was fine as is, but the studio wanted to punch the colors.
The First_AVENGER writes:
on October 9th, 2011 at 8:23:29 PM

@bandolero999

your an IDIOT!

you have no idea what your talking about at all.

man i really wish this website would kick you off
The First_AVENGER writes:
on October 9th, 2011 at 8:28:39 PM

prince of persia was great!!

thank you to the great Jerry Bruckheimer for putting the great Steven Spielberg to help make another great fantastic movie by you.

cant wait to see what you have under your sleeves for your next 2 Pirate of the Caribbean movies!!
darkraven28 writes:
on October 9th, 2011 at 10:27:07 PM

I had my concerns back when they announced that Pete Travis was the director. Vantage Point annoyed the sh*t out of me for a majority of its running time because the f*cker couldn't keep his hand off the rewind button, and then had a sweet f*cking car chase at the end. That's bollocks. But then again, the editor of Vantage Point, Stuart Baird, is also a sometime film director so who do we really blame for Vantage Point? And can we blame Travis for anything really? If he kept Dredd's helmet on for this he's being true to the comics. And why do such things continue to happen in Hollywood? And why does this whole production stink of sh*t?
telur writes:
on October 9th, 2011 at 11:14:59 PM

I just know Steven Spielberg is in Prince of Persia... well i expect more in PoP


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved