WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Fox Threatens to Cancel "The Simpsons"

Posted: October 5th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Fox Threatens to Cancel "The Simpsons"Submit Comment
20th Century Fox Television has revealed that it will not be able to continue creating new "The Simpsons" episodes unless the voice cast lowers its contractually agreed upon salary.

"23 seasons in, 'The Simpsons' is as creatively vibrant as ever and beloved by millions around the world," said Fox TV. "We believe this brilliant series can and should continue, but we cannot produce future seasons under its current financial model. We are hopeful that we can reach an agreement with the voice cast that allows 'The Simpsons' to go on entertaining audiences with original episodes for many years to come."

That voice cast includes, Dan Castellaneta (Homer), Julie Kavner (Marge), Nancy Cartwright (Bart), Yeardley Smith (Lisa), Hank Azaria (Moe) and Harry Shearer (Mr. Burns). Each receives $400,000 per episode and has a four-year deal. The network is looking to for each voice actor to drop their salary to about $220,000.

And while the show may not be able to continue paying these high salaries, the network also makes money from "The Simpsons" t-shirts, stamps, DVDs, video games, theme park rides and "The Simpsons Movie" feature film, which grossed $527 million on a $75 million budget.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 8:51:30 PM

Even Charlie sheen got paid more
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 9:03:39 PM

I volunteer to make a fart sound for $10,000 an episode

Fox you should considered it, thats a great savings
Fat Guy in a Little Coat writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 9:12:34 PM

Good, f*cking kill it already...show stopped being good about 8 years ago. Now its just sad.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 9:16:16 PM

I don't care haven't seen the simpsons in years.
Devil writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 9:22:35 PM

Good. Fire them all and kill this worthless sh*t already. f*cking hate this show.
Raider writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 9:22:53 PM

Who even watches the show anymore?
technoreaper writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 9:39:39 PM

This is great news.
PaulX7 writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 9:52:17 PM

Why does Fox have to reveal that publicly? Are they expecting us, spectators, to put pressure on the voice cast to lower their salaries so that Fox can continue to broadcast the show at a lower cost and make more profits? Or are they expecting us to be sympathetic to them because they don't have enough money to pay their voice cast? We don't care.
wonderBOY writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 12:18:16 AM

Fox has made billions upon billions just from Simpsons they would be stupid to cancel it if it does get canceled 3-4 years later it will come back Family Guy, Futurama now Arrested Development all back.
DeVries writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 1:06:23 AM

f*ck you fox you rednecks fundamentalists republicans c*ntf*cks.
pornfly writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 1:37:00 AM

It was bound to happen since their last raise. the show is the same like its always been,people just got used to it and have since moved on,but how does somebody HATE the simpsons?? Thats like hating disneyworld,disneyLAND yes.

snoop writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 1:54:20 AM

Good. They're overpaid. And I like The Simpsons.
telur writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 3:10:37 AM

i don't care with the voice cast

i even don't know their faces
Rambo writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 4:00:58 AM

I stopped watching it after the first episode.
Rambo writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 4:00:58 AM

I stopped watching it after the first episode.
FBO writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 4:08:05 AM

Devries, I don't think fox if republican, just counter culture. Think about it, their basic station was liberal when everyone else had shows about family values, their cable news channel made loads of money by being conservative when all other cable channels where liberal, their best movies are indy films picked up by fox searchlight in an era of big name blockbusters.
Damon242 writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 5:11:49 AM

At some point, The Simpsons will need to end.

I love/loved it. I so far have the first thirteen seasons on dvd, and it remains my favourite animated programme. However, I haven't liked anything the show has produced in years.

Some may like the new episodes, but I don't. I'm pretty passive towards the idea of cancellation - I don't watch it anymore, and I don't like the new stuff, so whether it continues to exist or not will have absolutely no impact for me.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 6:24:48 AM

Good cancel the sh*t..it's stale now.
NotAmerican writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 7:30:36 AM

There's only so much yellow a guy can take. Thanks Fox.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 8:47:53 AM

Good news everyone! Now they can put all the money into Futurama, the far superior show.
Ranger writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 4:00:06 PM

Threatens? Cancel this show Fox. I don't give a sh*t.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 5:04:33 PM

f*ck the haters! Simpsons was my Show Growing up! I Still try to catch an episode when i can lol
SergioFX writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 7:03:40 PM

I have to get on the hate wagon, or else I will feel left out:

Good! Stupid FOX! I hate The Simpsons! I didn't enjoy it for years, and yet I still waste my time watching it and then reading its news and commenting about it! f*ck you Simpsons! f*ck you FOX! You ruined my LIFE!


Do I have friends on WP now?
Johnnyb writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 10:09:31 PM

With the inflation of economy each day reaching his higher point and the stupid plots that continue to make this show unwatchful..... I think in both terms it needs to end and for the good of the audience and FOX. The Simpsons are not funny anymore!!!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved