WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Darren Aronofsky's $130 Million Noah's Ark Film is Moving Forward

Posted: October 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Darren AronofskySubmit Comment
Back in June it was reported that Christian Bale was in talks to star in Darren Aronofsky's "Noah," a movie based on the biblical Noah's Ark story. At the time, however, studios were not eager to put up $130 million to develop the R-rated film.

Paramount Pictures and New Regency Productions have now jointly announced that they will put up the money and that Academy Award-nominated screenwriter John Logan (Gladiator, The Aviator) has been brought on to re-write the script.

"Since I was a kid, I have been moved and inspired by the story of Noah and his family's journey," said Aronofsky. "The imaginations of countless generations have sparked to this epic story of faith. It's my hope that I can present a window into Noah's passion and perseverance for the silver screen."

Source: Paramount Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 6:38:35 AM

Idk bout this idea but I trust the director.
Johnnyb writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 7:12:39 AM

Very careful with this one Bale and Darren. May your careers doesn´t sink after this, like Gibson and Caviezel.....
Taco writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 8:33:15 AM

Caviesel was never really huge so I think he faired well after. But compared to Gibson maybe his career is huge!
boogiel writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 9:08:38 AM

Let there be...flood!
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 10:07:32 AM

Will Bale's voice sound like he's gargling marbles again?
30YoVirgin writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 10:12:58 AM

this movie should have at least 2 breaks for people who would want to go to the bathroom from seeing all this water
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 10:21:26 AM

So they are remaking "Evan Almighty"?
PaulX7 writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 10:54:30 AM

With all the flood, tsunamis and natural catastrophes these days, it might just get censored or banned everywhere. Like Eastwood's Hereafter was banned in Japan after what happened in Fukushima...
Bullit writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 1:28:46 PM

Having read the Bible 3 times, i can safely say that it is far too complicated to make it as an understandable storyline. 1st, you'll need a very long flowchart to trace all the family from Noah as he lived for 950 years on this planet !!!

Second, even with John Huston's "The Bible" movie, it was by far, incomplete as the Genesis text goes way beyond Noah and his ark.

Anyway, puting onto screen the Bible is not profitable for Hollywood as they will give you their own bankable version of it and therefore false or incomplete as usual.

So, if you want ot know the original versio and unrated, just stick to the reading of the part of the Book you would want to read and you will see that your mind and imagination are actually so much better then any Hollywood's studio version !

Cheers,
technoreaper writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 1:52:18 PM

Fits in with my theory about Darren Aronofsky only being able to make movies about crazy, obsessive compulsive characters. I have a visualization about how this movie will take place in my head already. This guy is a hack.
Rambo writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 3:36:56 PM

let there be...flop.
Blank x25 writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 6:32:50 PM

@Bullit

But they adapt movies from fiction all the time. Might as well use the best fiction book ever.

If you believe the bible as "real", you might as well believe Red Riding Hood, Goldilocks and the Three Bears, and Hansel and Gretel. Fairy tales all around.
jikae writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 11:54:02 PM

A film about Noah with a $130 million budget seems very Roland Emmerich-ish, but then again, it seems like a passion project for him. Let's see what he does with such a big budget.

@johnny Like @taco said, Caviezel wasn't really a big star to begin with so, he didn't necessarily fail because of Passion. He is in that new JJ Abrams/Jonathan Nolan TV show "Person of Interest" that I found entertaining.

Mel Gibson on the other hand, despite rumors of him being blacklisted, fell off the deep end. I want him to come back though, he's a great director.
Bullit writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 5:36:42 AM

@Blank,; sorry mate, i don't believe in fairy tales, i never did. Even as a child i didn't. I enjoyed reading the fables from Lafontaine at the time but nothing more from that.

The bible is the endless inspiration to many writers, authors and scenarists, including the fairy tales authors. My 1st post was just my opinion and i certainly don't tell people what to read or not, especially when it comes to religion.

Also, the bible is the best-selling book in the world and there must be an excellent reason for that.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 10:57:00 PM

This is going to be rated R? I have a hard time picturing what part of the Noah's Ark story of could be considered R rated material.
seveltoto writes:
on November 5th, 2017 at 6:23:57 AM

recreator9 writes:
on December 8th, 2017 at 12:40:45 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved