WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Rise of the Planet of the Apes" Ending Changed During Reshoots

Posted: October 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Rise of the Planet of the Apes" Ending Changed During ReshootsSubmit Comment
Speaking at the Visual Effects Society Production Summit in Beverly Hills on Saturday, 20th Century Fox's president of post-production Ted Gagliano revealed that "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" had a different ending originally.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

The theatrical ending has James Franco apologizing to Caesar (Andy Serkis) for everything that has happened and tries to convince him to come home. Caesar replies: "Caesar is home."

But originally, the script had Franco's character dying by the end of the film. The decision to change that took place during the last second, which resulted in Franco and Serkis flying in for some quick reshoots on July 4th. The film was set to hit theaters on August 5th, which ended up creating a massive issue for the post-production department that had to scramble to finish all the visual effects work.

Gagliano didn't give a reason for the change, but many believe that the studio wanted to keep Franco in case a sequel goes into development. And since "Apes" ended up grossing $409 million on a $93 million budget, a sequel is inevitable.

Click here to read our "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on October 3rd, 2011 at 9:24:52 PM

The best and unexpected movie of the summer

Anyone could of played Francos role even Jaleel white aka Steve Urkel
coolguy writes:
on October 3rd, 2011 at 10:35:37 PM

^ agree on both points bando

easily the best movie of the summer season
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 12:43:33 AM

Make that 3 who agree it was the best.
Rambo writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 1:35:17 AM

Jaleel white,eh?that actually sounds pretty good...lol...also agree,best movie of the summer.
biniwoo writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 4:39:39 AM

Best summer movie along with X-Men First Class
SeWerin writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 6:32:59 AM

Indeed best surprise of 2011. And that ending doesn't sound bad, but i really don't have problems with original ending.

So everything is good.
nawtnt writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 6:44:18 AM

Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes amazed me, it is really the surpise and sleeper hit of the summer.

The best movie of the summer along with Thor, X-Men: First Class and Captain America: The First Avenger.

I am happy that James Franco didn't die in the ending.

The original ending was great.
JakeVermont writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 7:19:09 AM

I liked the movie but I thought the ending was very uncreative... And dont ask me what I would have wanted to see I'm not a screenwriter. I was just sitting in the theater the credits came up and I thought: Wait, thats it? The movie developed so nicely, great characters, great dialogues, insane visual FX (WETA ROCKS) and then the ending? just unsatisfying... But again I dont know what you could change to make it better.

And I agree on Franco, the movie didnt gross so much because of him. Seriously there is no need to keep his character in the sequel.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 10:03:36 AM

Yep, one of the best films of the year.

Thought ending was ok, this one would have been ok too.
pornfly writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 10:33:54 AM

I still think the apes shouldv raped Frieda Pinto and created terrorist apes
JakeVermont writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 11:52:58 AM

@pornfly: not thats a creative ending^^ YOU should become a screenwriter :D
bspence writes:
on October 5th, 2011 at 2:03:47 AM

BEST movie of the year by far (so far) even though theres no real competitors left.

x-men first class is second by far too. and thor and captain america are nowhere near the top 10 or 20 this year. thor was a campy over rated cheese fest and cap was a total bore fest w/ a sh*tt script and acting. i actually fell asleep for about 15-20mins during cap in the theater. but thats just my honest opinion.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved