WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Theater Owners Angry at Sony's Decision to Stop Paying for 3D Glasses

Posted: October 1st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Theater Owners Angry at SonySubmit Comment
Just recently Sony Pictures announced that it will stop paying for 3D glasses that could cost millions for each major film. This obviously came as a big surprise to theater owners and movie-goers.

NATO (National Association of Theatre Owners) has just put out their response to the announcement, stating: "Sony's suggestion is insensitive to our patrons, particularly in the midst of continuing economic distress. Since the onset of the digital 3D revolution in 2005 it has been understood that exhibitors would bear the weight of technological and facility modification costs related to 3D, while distribution took on the cost of 3D glasses."

Sony immediately responded to NATO's letter, stating: "NATO's statement that it has been 'understood' that distributors would always bear the cost of 3D glasses is incorrect, because there never has been any such agreement. In fact, we have been speaking with people in the industry for a long time about the need to move to a new model, so this certainly comes as a surprise to no one in the business. We invite theater owners to engage in a collegial dialogue with us about this issue, including at ShowEast next month."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
yeLLowfLaSh writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 8:09:44 PM

stop showing 3d movies. problem solved. it's a gimmick.
pornfly writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 8:30:04 PM

'so this certainly comes as a surprise to noone' joo callin us a liar frank? is that wutchu callin us?
NotAmerican writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 8:35:19 PM

My local theatre sells 3d glasses for 60 American cents. If you can afford the 3d ticket I'm sure you can manage 60 more cents. "Economic distress" my tanned ass.
OneTime writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 9:23:32 PM

im going into 3d glasses business...who wants to buy some shares.
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 9:26:09 PM

3D sucks

No worries here

Im not interested in paying extra for 3D thats not impressive at all and especially not paying extra for glasses to watch something not that impressive.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 9:51:08 PM

Well, where I am we don't need to pay for the glasses..so I don't give a sh*t.

Last 3D movie I saw was...

"Sanctum"

..and I spent most of the movie not wearing the glasses anyway.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 10:11:51 PM

I'm not gonna watch em in 3D anyways. Smooth move Sony, f*cking simpletons.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 10:59:02 PM

So the National Association of Theatre Owners have been bombing Libya??! Did Gaddafi have a major pirate movie empire or something?
DexterMorgan writes:
on October 2nd, 2011 at 12:24:27 AM

who the f*ck wouldn't
boogiel writes:
on October 2nd, 2011 at 2:01:28 AM

f*ck 3D! I love the good ol' fashion 2D! Hah, things are not looking good anymore for James cameron and his gayvatar.
Lulupendragon writes:
on October 2nd, 2011 at 3:32:28 AM

At least 3D and most of the remakes have something in common. It was all done decades ago. We need more original movies that don't suck. Maybe Hollywood can concentrate on that.
markoz writes:
on October 2nd, 2011 at 5:01:24 AM

Well,I might just in case smuggle some 3D glasses from my theater
nawtnt writes:
on October 2nd, 2011 at 8:33:12 AM

The only way to solve this probelm is stop making and showing 3D movies.

Some movies don't even need 3D in the movies.

Movies like Avatar and Transformers 3 need 3D but others don't.

Back in the 80's, horror movies were popular with 3D like movies like Jaws 3 and the Friday 13th movie.

Now thanks to James Cameron, the public makes paid more.

What do these studios and producers think we are? We're not made out of money.

Times are hard and the world is living in a economic crisis where people are now keeping their money safe and saving the money they got to pay the bills.

3D being in movies is making cinema screens more worse.

Look at Conan The Barbiran and Fright Night, both of those movies bombed because those movies were remakes and were in 3D.

If this keeps on going then this might be a huge money problem for the cimena venues.

WV-Films writes:
on October 2nd, 2011 at 12:09:54 PM

It'll only work if theaters stop charging for $15 for tickets, and sell glasses separately. Otherwise 3D will die. So essentially...

RIP 3D
2005-2012

NotAmerican writes:
on October 2nd, 2011 at 1:41:25 PM

@ WV-Films maybe in America but here in not America where a 3d ticket is $7, I doubt it.
Atemisk writes:
on October 2nd, 2011 at 4:59:32 PM

No movie ever made has ever "needed 3D". If anyone is making a movie they're convinced "needs 3D" then they need a hole in the head. But alot of movies will be made 3D simply because the studios are greedy sh*t heads. End the f*cking gimmick already.

Rest In Hell 3D
Rambo writes:
on October 2nd, 2011 at 5:45:36 PM

yawn
Carlos Spicy Wiener writes:
on October 3rd, 2011 at 12:48:29 AM

If it "needs" 3-d, it doesnt "need" to be made.
prewittj1 writes:
on October 3rd, 2011 at 10:38:52 AM

this is actually awesome for patrons since we can bring our own crappy 3D glasses and not pay that extra $$ to use the theater's glasses. Of course theaters are pissed they can't rip us off as much as they usually do. The man is stickin' to the man!!
ProfMovies writes:
on October 3rd, 2011 at 12:26:37 PM

The REAL solution is for theater owners to stop booking Sony's mall-stink movies!

Sony is a hateful company. Their revenue sharing deals with the theaters are the worst and most illogical in the business.

They pride themselves on being obstinate and arrogant jerks, and keep grinding out terrible fodder for the clueless masses...
BUT, the public is much smarter than Sony thinks, and can smell a Sony bomb very easily these days!

Charging for the putrid 3D glasses is just the tip of the iceberg here...
Ask any theater owner what they really think of Sony.

Many theater owners (including myself) try and forego playing Sony films as much as possible!
(In fact, my screens have not played a Sony film all Summer long, and it didn't hurt one bit!).

I'm surprised NATO took a stand against them, since NATO is usually in lock-step with the greater powers.

Maybe NATO can now stop spreading a climate of fear about the urgent need for digital conversion!
Here's a little FYI:
By the end of 2011, only 50% of the nation's theaters will be digitally converted...
That means there are still thousands and thousands of theaters that are waiting until the prices get down to a SANE level before considering conversion.

NATO needs to stop dispensing such scare tactics about digital conversion!!

It was a good sign NATO stood up to Sony on the 3D glasses issue! Maybe they are growing a conscience???
Bouk writes:
on October 3rd, 2011 at 2:30:00 PM

ProfMovies is right. Theatre owners just need to agree not to show Sony movies unless Sony pays.
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on October 4th, 2011 at 2:41:09 PM

When a friend and I saw "Avatar," he took a dozen or so 3D glasses from the 3D glasses recycling bin. He should cash in on that investment now!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved