WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

George Clooney on Why He Took "Batman and Robin" Lead

Posted: September 30th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
George Clooney on Why He Took "Batman and Robin" LeadSubmit Comment
George Clooney is criticized quite a bit for playing Batman in "Batman and Robin," considered the worst film in the franchise. But many forget that the film was a big break for the actor, who was mostly known for "From Dusk Till Dawn" and "ER" at the time.

TotalFilm now caught up with the actor to find out why he took the role. He said: "The truth is, my phone rang, and the head of Warner Bros said, 'Come into my office, you are going to play Batman in a Batman film.' And I said, 'Yeah!' I called my friends and they screamed and I screamed and we couldn't believe it!"

Clooney continued: "The last one had been successful, so I thought I was just going to be in a big, successful franchise movie. [And] in a weird way I was. Batman is still the biggest break I ever had and it completely changed my career, even if it was weak and I was weak in it. It was a difficult film to be good in. I don’t know what I could have done differently. But if I am going to be Batman in the film 'Batman and Robin,' I can't say it didn't work and then not take some of the blame for that."

"Batman and Robin" went on to gross $238 million on a $125 million budget, and Clooney was immediately cast in such films as "Out of Sight" and "Three Kings," making him a Hollywood star.

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 8:13:49 PM

The best Batman EVA especially Batgirl she gave me the biggest boner
bandolero999 writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 8:20:07 PM

Out of sight was a snoozefest
PaulX7 writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 8:35:23 PM

I found the movie very disappointing and Clooney as Batman very weak (because too nice)... but then again, I can't blame him for accepting the role that triggered his Hollywood career. I would have done the same if I had had the opportunity...
Raider writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 8:36:23 PM

From Dusk Till Dawn is his best film IMO. What do you guys think?
bandolero999 writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 8:44:35 PM

Clooney was the second choice for Seth gecko,it was for Michael Madsen and had to turn it down for scheduling.he Did a pretty good job.Robert Rodriguez made Harvey Keitel look like a p*ssy as a pastor.

The other tolerable movie he was in was O brother where are thou
pornfly writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 9:00:28 PM

RAIDER,no doubt Dusk Till Dawn. maybe chix will say some others but Dusk till Dawn is mans man movie
masht7 writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 9:46:22 PM

Can you really blame him? If I was given the chance to play Batman, I would of taken it in a heartbeat, even if it was in the worst one in the series.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 9:58:01 PM

PaulX7:

U are right!!!!! It anything can take you to there, you just do it. You donīt ask questions even it means and destroy the heart of the die hard batman fans..... I would have do it. After all is the people who is coming to waste time see the film not me. Just working......
boogiel writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 10:28:50 PM

It's those bat-nipples that ruining him
Man in Black writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 11:22:24 PM

You did it for the money and to further your career and you wore nipples on the bat suit , FOR SHAME !
telur writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 1:21:16 AM

cmon, you can't said NO if the head of Warner Bros said, 'Come into my office, you are going to play Batman in a Batman film.'

It's crazy if not took that role

To be fair, BATMAN & ROBIN fail not because George Clooney only

even if the head of Warner Bros call me to be BATMAN, I will do it for free !!!!!!!
jdl107 writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 3:09:29 AM

From Dusk til Dawn was a damn good flick.

'Til they got into the bar. Then it just turned into a silly ass borefest.
bandolero999 writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 4:54:34 AM

Well We can thank Clooney for taking Batman so he can become the most overrated A listing c*nt.his movies are as exciting as my daily trips to the sh*tter
Rambo writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 5:07:55 AM

Clooney sucked in almost every movie that he's ever made.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 7:32:19 AM

don't worry mr. clooney, i didn't think you were the best batman, but definitely not the worst either...if anything it was the line up of villains for batman and robin that got to me...mr. freeze should've been there with somebody other than poison ivy and bane, or at least if poison ivy had to be in there, at least pair her up with harley quinn...the pairing of villains wasn't right in that one
nawtnt writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 8:51:51 AM

Batman and Robin is the worst comic book movie of all time.

I don't blame George Clooney for that but if Batman and Robin had a darker tone instead of a goofy then it might be a different movie.

Still I am happy that George Clooney's career wasn't destroyed by B&R but later, he became the world's famous actors.

Also I am happy that Batman and Robin turn out to be for what it is because if Joel Schumancer did made Batman and Robin so awful then Batman Begins and The Dark Knight won't happen so basically something happen good in the results of Batman and Robin being the worst comic book movie of all time.

I hope The Dark Knight Rises will be the best one in the trilogy.
the man with no name writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 12:50:49 PM

i think dark knight was the worst comic book movie of all time.. it has nothing to do with any batman comic ever.. the only thing they have the same are character names
the man with no name writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 12:51:41 PM

batman begins is more or less year one in a bad made up sort of way
Blank x25 writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 1:13:15 PM

@the man with no name

Please tell me you are not really that stupid.

The Dark Knight must be the ONLY comic book movie you've ever seen. The credits to that movie were better than anything Schumacher did.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 1:42:49 PM

George Clooney on Why He Took "Batman and Robin" Lead ... cause he's from Hollywood and a whore.
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 2:00:39 PM

@Blank - come on mate. Youve seen "No Name"'s posts- we BOTH know he's EXACTLY that stupid. You KNOW he still has Batman Forever and B&R posters on his wall, he's just butthurt that he's the only one that liked them.

Themes and symbolism? f*ck The Dark Knight! Where are the nipples and Dayglo Gangs?

My god.. Some peoples taste in f*ckin movies.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 3:08:11 PM

Yea, it was pretty weak (had to add f*ckin Robin), but c'mon, sexy Uma Thurman as Poison Ivy (though they couldve made her a lot sexier) and Schwarzenegger's classic 'ice' lines? Fantastic.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 9:13:30 PM

Can't b;lame him for that, if I was an actor in his position then I would have done the same thing.

Still a sh*t movie though and he was the only decent thing in it.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 2nd, 2011 at 2:12:27 PM

ER, Greatest Show Ever, was Sad to See Him Leave lol..
Dre-EL writes:
on October 2nd, 2011 at 4:23:36 PM

Alicia Silverstone and the whole Batgirl senario is what f*cked up Batman and Robin.
LastActionHero writes:
on October 3rd, 2011 at 10:08:37 AM

You can't blame Clooney for it. When they were making the movie, I remember they said they wanted to make it more like the TV show than the "dark" first couple movies.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved