WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Mortal Kombat" Reboot Officially in the Works

Posted: September 30th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Mortal Kombat" Reboot Officially in the WorksSubmit Comment
Back in June of last year, director Kevin Tancharoen (Fame, Glee: The Documentary) put together a promo video for a "Mortal Kombat" movie. Fans loved it, but it was nothing more than an unauthorized pitch by Tancharoen to convince Warner Bros to let him reboot the "Mortal Kombat" film franchise.

Then in January, the studio revealed that it will fund "Mortal Kombat: Legacy," a nine-episode digital series to be directed by Tancharoen. The last episode was released in July, and apparently Warners loved the series, because it has now greenlit a live-action "Mortal Kombat" reboot, with Tancharoen directing from a script by Oren Uziel.

Entertainment Weekly caught up with the helmer, who is promising lots of violence in the new movie. "Up to this point, we've only been talking rated-R," he said. "I like realistic takes on things. I like it when it's a little darker and grittier. And I want the martial arts to feel real as opposed to balletic and super-choreographed. It needs to feel brutal, because that's the nature of the video game itself."

Click here to read more about "Mortal Kombat."

Source: Deadline, EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Fat Guy in a Little Coat writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 6:50:06 AM

Well, they're saying all the right things, but producers and Hollywood suit dummies are the ones who usually end up ruining it.
boogiel writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 7:20:56 AM

Entertainment Weekly caught up with the helmer, who is promising lots of violence in the new movie. "Up to this point, we've only been talking rated-R," he said. "I like realistic takes on things. I like it when it's a little darker and grittier. And I want the martial arts to feel real as opposed to balletic and super-choreographed. It needs to feel brutal, because that's the nature of the video game itself."


He better doing what he said. A lot of gore and violence, as what MK is supposed to be.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 7:42:23 AM

Sweet, I'm glad they're doing this. If the web series had a bit more budget it could have been popcorn gold.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 8:10:45 AM

Better not go back on this...and if the studio butt in I hope he tells them to

"go f*ck yourselves!"
nawtnt writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 9:10:40 AM

Mortal Kombat: Rebirth was the best short film ever.

I like how Kevin Tancharon made the short film more realistic.

Still one question remains- will it be more realistic or keep the fantasy tone.

I hope Michael Jai White as Jax, he is the perfect choice for Jax.

Maybe Jensen Ackles will play Johnny Cage and Milla Jonvoich will play Sonya Blade.

The first Mortal Kombat was the best video game movie adpation ever.

The second movie destroy the whole chances of a great trilogy.

I hope the reboot movie has a R rating and works out well.
pornfly writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 9:27:36 AM

What everybody above me said,hope sonja blade is hawt
-Chewy- writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 9:37:27 AM

Mortal Kombat, the first movie, is actually very good in terms of EVERYTHING except the screenplay.

I mean, the main theme is still one of the most kickass song of all time. And the fight with Reptile was simply crazy.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 10:08:49 AM

Chewy- Am I nerd for having that on my workout playlist right now? Yea Robin Shou and Keith Cooke killed that fight scene.


Loved the 1st, didn't mind the 2nd then again I was 17 when it came out.
Hope it is dark, I remember reading how back in 95 all the gore and guts wouldnt have worked so Robin Shou decided to do all the fight scenes with alot of flash and excitment.
The First_AVENGER writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 10:55:07 AM

the better have well known actors/actress for the cast
pornfly writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 10:59:09 AM

BADCHAD i was just lookn for the sdtrk the other day to workout to,i used to run to that when it came out,that sdtrk was everywhere, they even came out with a second sdtrk. MORTAL KOMBAT!!! duhduh duhduh duhduh duhduh duhduhduh
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 11:11:52 AM

http://youtu.be/8IIrf_JSuQk
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 11:37:08 AM

Pornfly- lol Yea it was called More Kombat I believe. The track by Traci Lords that Liu Kang and Reptile fought to in the 1st was killer. Fire-By Scooter from the 2 nd movie still gets the gym going when I play it when I'm training people.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 11:37:55 AM

Pornfly-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r32LcBqiv7I
pornfly writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 1:30:30 PM

BADCHAD i KNEW traci lords was in there sumwher. that Fire song is def a song for the gym,their must be alot jigglin goin on in that class o'yours,the videoz kinda gay tho. prodigys' Smack My Bitch Up unrated version imo is still the baddest video of all time. a good strk is one of the things lacking in Green Lantern
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 2:16:45 PM

Pornfly- Prodigy is just bad assed no matter what. I hope they keep the same kind of soundtrack with the reboot.
LastActionHero writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 2:37:51 PM

It will get watered down to PG-13.
trailertrash writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 5:59:21 PM

bad / porn

Prodigy, Top Essex boys right there fellas, Liam is good pals with a few of my mates from way back in the day , They are Awesome live ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RI9wVgOO1s

^ Still My Fav ..
pornfly writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 9:27:38 PM

TT, thats badass. i have em live on video from mtv but i cant even imagine in person
ksplatt writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 12:20:08 AM

You don't need well-known actors to make a film great. And they might as well use some of the MK: Legacy actors.
darthraige writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 1:57:15 AM

Swear to f*cking Christ, if some studio head c*nt says PG13, I'm gonna f*cking freak. Stand your ground and keep it f*cking R.
Rambo writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 3:10:18 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x4QCxSphY64

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved