WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

No Free 3D Glasses at "Amazing Spider-Man" or "Men in Black 3"

Posted: September 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
No Free 3D Glasses at "Amazing Spider-Man" or "Men in Black 3"Submit Comment
When movie studios figured out that they could make more money if they release their films in 3D, the industry had to figure out who would pay to convert the screens to 3D and who would provide the 3D glasses.

In the end, theater owners had to pay for everything, but studios stepped in to subsidize some of the costs. Sony Pictures has now notified theater owners that it will no longer pay for 3D glasses as of May 1st, 2012.

Studios can spend as much as $5 million to $10 million for 3D glasses for a major film. And moving forward, Sony will expect moviegoers to purchase a pair of 3D glasses at the theater. A pair that the moviegoer will keep and reuse, instead of getting a pair for free that end up being recycled.

Seems like there is an easy solution to all this. Next time moviegoers go see a 3D movie, just hold on to your free 3D glasses. This way when Sony tries to charge for a pair when you go see "The Amazing Spider-Man" or "Men in Black 3," you won't need to pay for glasses.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 5:49:56 AM

'Next time moviegoers go see a 3D movie, just hold on to your free 3D glasses. '

I do this already.
Taco writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 5:50:43 AM

Greedy mother f*ckers! But hey I dont watch 3D movies anyway so there! How you like that Sony?
wonderBOY writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 5:55:55 AM

Anyone else read the title as glasses free 3d for spiderman and MIB3
JakeVermont writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 6:07:13 AM

Didnt know you guys got free 3D glasses in the US. Here in germany we always had to pay for them. But there are some cinemas which give out glasses and collect them back afterwards but only the expensive realD Glasses with real GLASS^^ and no plastic foil.
Digital Desperado writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 6:19:58 AM

"This way when Sony tries to charge for a pair when you go see "The Amazing Spider-Man" or "Men in Black 3," you won't need to pay for glasses."

...unless they charge you the glasses with the ticket price anyway, like they used to do in some theaters around the world, whether or not you took your own glasses. That isnīt happening anymore, but in this case, I donīt see why the theaters wonīt resume this procedure. Anyway, Iīm sick of this useless 3D sh*t: 90% of the times you donīt see nothing, and it doubles the price for the ticket. I always go for the 2D version, when I can find a theather that shows it.


Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 6:40:43 AM

Or I can choose not to watch 3D-movie.
Kurskij writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 6:54:08 AM

In Soviet Russia they take those motherf*ckers back after the show is over.

So you'll be raped in prison if you "hold on to your free pair" metaphorically speaking.
snoop writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 6:57:03 AM

So will the movies be cheaper now?
trailertrash writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 7:18:26 AM

Kurskij - That's funny cause its True, Right ??!!
Kurskij writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 7:26:27 AM

Oh yeah, they'll get some.

http://i430.photobucket.com/albums/qq22/rudoboyo13/the%20mark%20of%20cain/russian-prison-tattoo-12.jpg

masht7 writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 7:38:39 AM

Just don't through the glasses in the bin after a viewing, keep them for next time.
masht7 writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 7:40:32 AM

through = throw
boogiel writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 8:00:10 AM

Hopefully this will be the beginning of the fall of 3D.
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 8:20:41 AM

simple, don't go see it in 3D
Whitelock84 writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 8:30:45 AM

Congrats Sony, you are now one step closer to 'Epic Fail' territory. This is going to backfire in the worst possible way.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 8:51:54 AM

@ Boogiel
There's an article somewhere in the net and 3d is declining slowly.people don't wanna pay 6 dollars extra for 3d.

And I won't be paying 15 dollars for these upcoming turds

AYT BALL writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 9:05:50 AM

Yeah, this happens in england anyway
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 9:28:49 AM

Bando- They had an article in my local paper, talking how the shock and awe of 3D is already over and no one wants to see it. The increased prices and everything pissed enough people off.
Rambo writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 9:42:55 AM

but how oh how will we see emma stone's glorious gazongas on 3D for free?
AtariZombie writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 9:46:54 AM

thats some f*cking stupid sh*t right there.
this is why 3d movies suck. suck hard suck long suck suck all night long.
stevepoots writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 9:47:51 AM

3d movies cost more in canada since day one. Like 15 bucks a show. Every time. Whats this free sh*t?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 9:52:09 AM

Sony just f*cked itself, unless their films are unbeleivebly good they aint gonna make sh*t on them.

Where I am, you get given the glasses and then they take them back after, no need to pay or put a deposit.

Plus they always have a choice of 3D or 2D, I always go the 2D but I have to..the 3D one is dubbed into Chinese..haha.
mrstretch writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 10:19:16 AM

So they charge more for 3d and now they will charge for the glasses. Sounds like " ATTACK OF THE JEWS" to me.
nuttie30xx writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 10:28:26 AM

nothing new there then we been paying for our 3d glasses for about a year now,, UK
pornfly writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 10:43:42 AM

I only see a 3D film if its made just for 3D not converted like Clash of the Titans was. i got like 5 different pairs of glasses cuz each theater has a different frame rate when it comes to 3D,the people that give u glasses dont even know that. i didnt know it was such a BFD. popcorn is like 300+%profit so.... anywayz f*ck these movies anywayz. i didnt hear or read of anybody bitchin for these two sin-enema sponges to be made. STOP TRYIN TO FIGURE OUT HOW TO MILK OUR WALLETS AND FIGURE OUT HOW TO CONSISTENTLY MAKE GOOD CINEMA! theyr too busy worryn bout payin bills,alimony and child support instead of entertaining the masses.HA this guy on the news' name is Chuck Cox
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 10:46:12 AM

the last movie i ever watched in 3D was coraline and that was with my niece at home...it came with its own pair of 3D glasses...didn't have to pay a penny, for the movie nor the glasses...and if they have the right to charge us for 3D ticket prices despite the fact we may or may not have glasses...then we have the right to say go f*ck yourselves...i still have yet to pay for a 3D ticket...and besides that...why not just put one of those 3D screens over the screen so nobody has to wear glasses??...it'd be like a giant nintendo 3DS screen...but would they do it?...nah, they're too greedy...wait did i say greedy?...my bad i meant stupid, because if they were greedy they'd be smart enough to make more money
JakeVermont writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 10:54:58 AM

@synthetic1985: If you knew something about the technology behind the glassless 3D screens you would know that with the current glassless technology it is not possible to do what you said. At the IFA in berlin some months ago they showed a TV with glassless 3D which provides 3D for 9 different poeple in the room, it uses eyetracking to estimate the position and distance of the viewers and then it adjusts it's projection lenses to fit your view. Costs about 10,000 Euro. So imagine what this would cost to do develop for a room of hundrets of eyepairs. Plus it works only to a specific distance due to the view angle. sooo some new approach for glassless 3D cinema is needed.

Any ideas?
pornfly writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 11:01:45 AM

KURSKI wut happened to my girl wuzzup wit dabear?? did ur girlfriend make u change your avatar or maybe that was her and u got busted
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 11:24:38 AM

@porn - with all your glasses, and Sony making people pay for them. You'll be standing outside the theater flashing open your trench coat offering up the correct glasses for that theater at a discounted rate.

I know studios view 3D as a novelty. But if they want to make it the new standard, I don't know why they don't even make it cheaper to see a movie in 3D? I know it's more to produce, and 3D IS a 'novelty' which usually means more $'s to customers. But I think they should think outside of the box and discount 3D movie ticket prices.

@Jake - the technology you speak of is supposed to be in one of the new TV's I just bought (scanning where people sit for best pic). I'm in the middle of a major house renovation, so I won't get to see it for another 2 months (max.), but I'm curious to see it work.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 11:46:23 AM

@ JakeVermont...i know nothing about technology today, everything i've ever learned is considered outdated already...all i can say is if nintendo 3DS can do it, so can theaters...f*ck the cost, studios rip people off enough as it is anyway, they should be the ones paying the theaters for those kind of screens, because it weren't for theaters, they wouldn't make any money at all...and they could be making more if that's what they're after using old movies on the big screen or other methods, but i guess they're not after money...they're out to sabotage every single good piece of art there is left and remake it in their image...so in short, hollywood is the devil, well part of the devil anyway, a BIT part...if anything, hollywood is the devil's penis...and right now nothing butt sh*t is c*mming out of it...other than that we'll get rare moments when j*zz actually shoots out of it...come on you worthless d*ck!...just, just pee
Loui Balfour writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 12:10:54 PM

I'm sorry but in england we've been paying for years now....

we only had about 6 months free then the arseholes made us pay Ģ1.50 a go. and yes I keep mine too......welcome to the real world of why cinema made record amounts and had les visitors
trailertrash writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 2:43:27 PM

Kurskij

He seems like a super guy, The Street Gangster's (online) are gonna have a lot of fun with him
pornfly writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 2:44:31 PM

RANGER im waitn for the second gen. 3D tvs without the glasses,they already got the cell phones and 3DS but more power to you and your new hitek soundproof, motion detecting,s&m chamber.seriously if your anywhere near so.cal i wanna job where you work if your bankn that kind of$$
codeman_1216 writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 3:45:34 PM

What does this even have to do with Spiderman and MiB3? The article may as well have been called "No free 3D glasses at 3D movies."
trailertrash writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 3:57:31 PM

Think thats to do with the may 1st cut off date with the free subsidize glasses and those 2 are Sony's first major 3D releases, i guess.
pornfly writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 5:33:27 PM

Sony is the only company doin this for now but it wont be for a while theyr just givin the theaters a heads up. Warner bros. doesnt plan on doin this for now,theyr prob gonna wait and see how this impacts Sonys' revenues
Crazyhorse writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 5:57:10 PM

No problems

I dont watch 3D movies they suck

The cartoon 3D's are the only ones worth viewing if you like 3D
nawtnt writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 6:03:31 PM

As long as Sony doesn't make it's movies turn into 3D then the studio doesn't have to pay for the bills.

I don't like 3D because if a movie that doesn't have action or explosions then why make it 3D.
John1017 writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 6:24:52 PM

hopefully the technology will have advanced to the point where we don't need 3d glasses in may 2012,, they should be spending their billions of dollars on figuring that one out, or a 360 screen, total immersion, or something new,, and not spending all their time on figuring out all possible ways of stealing our money.
ProfMovies writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 6:39:15 PM

Sony is such a petty gang of jerks.
I couldn't care less about their obnoxious 3D movies, or their slate of releases that always seems to stink of "mall".

The fact that they screw over the poor theater owners by charging them more for the first week of their dreck than other studios is bad enough...
But now this disrespect on top of all that?

I've often said Hollywood is the only business that EATS ITS YOUNG, and Sony is the leader of the pack in that regard!

I know many theater owners that simply bypass Sony films out of sheer general principle!
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 7:09:29 PM

that's another thing i agree on, the article's headline is misleading...the studios are the ones responsible for overusing 3D and killing the fun out of it...which is why i use a dvd recorder and time warner cable...don't have to pay ever again...and can make as many copies as i need...nobody should ever have to buy the same movie twice...there should be deals that you can trade your old scratched up and worn out dvd for a new one instead of having to pay twice...just another way for studios and markets to rip people off i think
pornfly writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 8:19:52 PM

Stink of mall....brilliant
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2011 at 12:13:13 AM

To those that have scored their own glasses, kudos. But the only theater I've been in that used them was IMAX and they have a theft detection device attached (I'll only suspect its a bit more involved that those silver metal strips a person could peel off), so I never heisted a pair.

I agree... MOST movies don't need 3D. But personal opinions of Avatar aside, tat movie was fab. in 3D in IMAX. So it (3D) has its place.

To those saying they could make movie theater screens in 3D without the glasses because handheld device (phones and games) can do it. Remember though that those devices ARE the projector themselves. A movie screen is on the receiving end of a projector... that's a different ball of wax my friends.

We'll see what happens. Technology changes at a blinding pace these days. I couldn't begin to imagine what will be in 5 years time (other than Paul's mom will be DEAD!).
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 29th, 2011 at 12:28:14 AM

Easiest Solution- Dont watch 3D Cuz it f*cking sucks. There, Problem Solved..
jcincsss writes:
on September 29th, 2011 at 4:06:22 AM

I am so sick of Sony and all its garbage with the PS3...trying playing movie files without jumping through hoops...no online access without their updates....registering requires blood....and now paying for 3d glasses to watch their garbage movies! That tsunami is costing us big time! Silver lining is that who really is gonna go see Spiderwuss 4 and Men are gay 3?! Sony..Sony..I guess you need to make up the loss of profits from the PS3. Goodbye Sony...goodbye.
Atemisk writes:
on September 29th, 2011 at 5:34:21 PM

Or we could just not watch 3D because it was stupid bullsh*t to begin with... A much better choice. Here's the thing: No matter what happens, the 3D surcharge is not going away until 3D goes away. You can keep your glasses but that has nothing to do with nothing. The 3D surcharge is whats called a "Premium Content Charge" because it actually costs the theaters alot more money to get a copy of that movie, and that doesn't even count the cost it takes to run the movies.

Studios will kill 3D in the long run, and when that wonderful day comes then life will be just a little bit better again. Until then stop buying into this garbage.
potofgold writes:
on September 29th, 2011 at 9:08:57 PM

i can't stand 3d, so i just don't watch it.
ChainsawX writes:
on September 30th, 2011 at 2:23:12 PM

the easy solution is to boycott those films...show hollywood that 3d isnt all that...
technoreaper writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 9:58:54 AM

I don't go to 3D movies anyways! On principle! Burn in hell!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved