WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Lion King" Tops "Moneyball" and "Abduction" at Box Office

Posted: September 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Lion King" Tops "Moneyball" and "Abduction" at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
Disney's 3D re-release of "The Lion King" remained in first place at the domestic box office for the second week in a row. The plan was originally to release the film in theaters to promote the October 4th Blu-ray release, but has turned into an unexpected success. The animated film grossed another $22 million this weekend, for a worldwide total of $77.7 million.

Brad Pitt's baseball movie "Moneyball" had to settle for second place with $20.6 million. The film has a 94% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes and cost $50 million to make. The strong opening placed it on track to make back its money.

Coming in a close third was the family film "Dolphin Tale" with $20.3 million, with 50% of the earning coming from 3D theaters. It is also on its way to make back its budget, which is only $35 million. The movie has an 83% fresh rating.

In fourth place was Taylor Lautner's "Abduction," which grossed $11.2 million on a $35 million budget. The action film, which attracted mostly (2/3) female movie-goers, is the first attempt by Lautner to have a successful career outside of the "Twilight" franchise. Considering that "Abduction" has a 3% fresh rating and will struggle to make its money back, it's not a good start.

The last new wide release of the weekend was the action film "Killer Elite," starring Jason Statham, Robert De Niro and Clive Owen. It ended up in fifth place with $9.5 million. Unfortunately, it cost $70 million to make. It also has a lousy 24% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Gerard Butler's "Machine Gun Preacher" opened in four theaters and grossed $44,000. Relativity will expand the film, which has only a 22% fresh rating, to an additional 15 markets on September 30th.

Click here to read our "Moneyball" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 2:14:23 AM

f*ck off "Lion King!"

Good news about "Abduction" looks like Lautner will have to go back to turning tricks for cash.
trailertrash writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 3:00:53 AM

I got to see Drive over the weekend, while I don't agree with DP's 10/10 rating have to say the movie was pretty good.

Maybe the few Negative posts on here lowered my expectations of the film and if you want some sort of fast five action film you will be disappointed

But if your looking for something a little more character driven with a little bit of action with a wicked 80's feel soundtrack this is right up your street.

Brooks is in fine form in this which was hood to see.

They should have cut down on the overlong awkward silences between the leads, but I agree with squirrel its a soild 8/10 pleasant surprise
trailertrash writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 3:06:00 AM

Hood- good

Dave - tricks, not sure if that will pay enough to cover his bills for him though
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 5:52:14 AM

Lion King is a good movie so I have no problem with it making a bit more money. But is this how lazy Hollywood is becoming, instead of remaking a film they re-release it maybe add a few more special FX in there with a deleted scene.

Disappointed in Killer Elite as the adverts made it look pretty sweet. Has anyone here seen it yet and have any opinions?
Johnnyb writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 6:18:19 AM

Well, at least Simba is still kicking ass and not The Help. My God!!!!! Almost 4 weeks with that piece of sh*t in box office.....
Kurskij writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 6:34:25 AM

@cinema

Saw it on saturday. 5/10 for me. Or even 4.

Was glad to see De Niro is still able to kick some ass, but 105 min. running time felt like 3 f*cking hours for me.

Laughable plot holes could be forgotten if the action was any good, but aside from the first fight between Owen and Statham (that was messily edited anyway) nothing decent in terms of action really followed.

Owen was good as always (well above overall level of the movie), Purcell rocked some awesome moustache. Everyone else were wasted, especially Yvonne Strahovski who played some cowgirl or something Statham was banging (offscreen unfortunately).

Overall - it's a generic action movie about awesome 80's sideburns featuring Jason Statham and

bandolero999 writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 6:53:58 AM

Well Statham that's two flops for you.better change your roles and pick drama before you follow Seagals and Van Damme footsteps.

Something told me not to watch Killer Elite in the theaters and I was right
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 6:59:27 AM

Kurskij- Cheers mate, found that helpful. I'd rather listen to people on this site than reviewers who get payed to talk sh*t. Won't be wasting any money on that film in the cinema then. Might as well just watch the trailer over and over that was pretty sweet.
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 7:14:19 AM

@trailer
Yeah man I LOVED Drive... saw it last weekend, opening night... and it blew my expectations away, though not perfect i agree but it was seriously the best movie I've paid to see in theaters in a whiiiile. I was planning on going to see it again this weekend but never go around to it... but I WILL see it again soon mark my words. I'd definitely give it a 9/10 honestly. Definitely a favorite of mine from 2011.
pornfly writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 11:01:40 AM

From Boyz n the Hood to Abduction with a werewolf-sharkboy,Singleton must have a young hot white girl or sumthn. anywayz THANKS GUYZ for all the mini reviews, its better than those adverts with reviews from some am dj in Puxatawney
Popcorn101 writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 4:07:29 PM

warrior is still the best movie in theaters!
trailertrash writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 4:58:56 PM

ted

Yes mate that and the Inbetweeners Movie (which is out in the US soon wellworth checking out very very funny) are 2 of the best films i've seen this year as well.

The soundtrack was Awesome and typical it's not being released here in the UK so i had to order it from the US.
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 27th, 2011 at 4:21:37 AM

@trailer

YES the soundtrack, I instantly downloaded too! Love it.
Checked out a trailer for The Inbetweeners and it does look fun lol I'll have to keep an eye out for that. Have You got a chance to see Attack The Block yet? That is definitely another favorite of mine this year. Also, I know everyone on here can't stand Kevin Smith but Red State, I REALLY liked and plan on buying it next month when its released on DVD. Those 3 are main stand-out movies of the year for me.
trailertrash writes:
on September 27th, 2011 at 4:58:57 PM

Download !! haha my wife said the same thing, But i like to have the real thing for some reason !!

Just brought Attack The Block ted, Missed it at the cinema but heard good things about it though and i like Joe Cornish back in the days of The Adam and Joe Show.

If you see the Inbetweeners let us know what you thought, It's sort of a British American Pie.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved