WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Filmmakers Will Soon Create Movies Only with Thought

Posted: September 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Filmmakers Will Soon Create Movies Only with ThoughtSubmit Comment
Scientists all over the world are working to unlock the mysteries of the brain. But a recent study published in Current Biology may give filmmakers a new tool to create films in the future.

In the study, researchers placed people in MRI scanners and showed them movie trailers. Their brain activity was recorded and then, with the use of computers and custom software, scientists attempted to recreate the image a person was viewing. And the results are remarkable.

Watch the video below to see these results. And while the images are still very crude, there is clearly a future in this research. And while that future is still about 30 years away, scientists will be able to see what people are dreaming and let us communicate with coma patients and stroke victims.

But on top of having medical applications, this technology can also potentially be used to make films. Instead of spending $300 million and several years to create the world of Pandora in "Avatar," director James Cameron may one day simply imagine that world, as a computer creates those images on screen.

Video:


Source: Current Biology, Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ksplatt writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:20:52 AM

AWESOME-0 3000
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:34:46 AM

That sounds great .....

Me, Mila Kunis, Jessica Biel and Kate Beckinsale in a remake of Last Tango In Paris

Mila will bring the butter ....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 7:37:15 AM

@trailer

Why the butter? More fun without.


James Cameron just j*zzed n his pants.
boogiel writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 7:57:18 AM

Good for Porns!
prowler writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 7:59:21 AM

yeah right. I bet that Cameron will still find a way to milk out 300 million even with that tech. lol
JohnZee writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 9:50:56 AM

Yeah but the way that our education system has been killing the innovation capability of generations and generations of students by constantly focusing on standardized garbage in/garbage out test results while encouraging obedience to authority and the status quo.

And with the attention span and ability to concentrate for long periods of time for most of the people out there becoming ever shorter each day...

So even if we do have the ability to turn thoughts directly into film in 30 years, the people that have the capacity to come up with a completely original thought that's long enough to turn into a film will probably be even more of a rarity than the number of current filmmakers out there now.
Batmanfan writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 9:51:34 AM

Wow my mind is blown!
Johnnyb writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 9:51:41 AM

@ boogiel:

Ur damn right!!!!!
nawtnt writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 10:20:52 AM

Is this news really serious? Come on, so if I was thinking of making a movie where it had Arine, Stallone, Willis, Van Damme and Lundgren fighting each other 20 years younger then the computer would make it happen and make it turn into a movie.

First the Back To The Future shoes and now this.

What's next? Bringing Joel Schmancar
nawtnt writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 10:23:26 AM

Is this news really serious? Come on, so if I was thinking of making a movie where it had Arine, Stallone, Willis, Van Damme and Lundgren fighting each other 20 years younger then the computer would make it happen and make it turn into a movie.

First the Back To The Future shoes and now this.

What's next? Bringing Joel Schumacher back to remake Batman and Robin with his mind.

I hope the future isn't strange,
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 11:40:57 AM

filmakers are too used to makin movies with their ass. RANGER can use this tech to make Hentai.EVERYBODY STAND BACK
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 1:11:07 PM

dave - lol

It just seemed like the polite thing bring
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 3:48:32 PM

Considering no one in Hwood has any new ideas, this technology is already worthless.
venomex writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 3:48:41 PM

sure you could use my mind to make movies....but don't be readin my mind between 4 and 5....THAT'S WILLIE'S TIME
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 3:50:06 PM

Considering no one in Hwood has any new ideas, this technology is already worthless.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 4:00:36 PM

So we have to wait even longer for movies with thought put into them (I'm making a joke there Paul... you will have missed it, and it's not that bad of a joke. Your birth was).

I'm up for mentally living the sex scene with Sandra Bullock in Demolition Man.

@pornfly - from your words to God's will!
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 4:11:00 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k80UQWWUIYs

Great boobage at 2:48 (sorry Paul... they're on a girl).
DeVries writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 4:20:15 PM

This is some crazy sh*t... The f*cking future will rape our minds.
The Tall Man writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 5:41:22 PM

I would be happy if some "thought" was givin to making films.
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 5:57:03 PM

VENOMEX wish i thought of that Shinning lmao,RANGER,can i be an xtra? i'd wash those tights she had on and freeze the laundry water into popsicles. i wonder if ryan reynolds watches Demolition Man while hes givin it to her
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:15:22 PM

How the hell did those 3 shells work anyway ??
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:39:12 PM

I don't know either. Paul's mom makes quite the mess every time she tries them on me. Apparently my sh*t is 'finger lickin' good!'
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:40:05 PM

Kind of like Nutella... without the Nutella.
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:56:44 PM

Nuttyella,cornella. uafool
Frank_Castle writes:
on September 25th, 2011 at 1:56:14 AM

I had a dream like this, that I created a film just purely from my mind and it was the best movie in history. This is sum trippy sh*t to read this.
JakeVermont writes:
on September 25th, 2011 at 4:47:12 AM

Sorry but first you have to calibrate it. Didnt you guys read that?? How will you calibrate this machine for a person in a coma?

Same pictures induce different brain activity in different people. I dont see any future for this I dont want to say that it is impossible I just say that it is almost impossible to recreate a clear image of someones thougts. I mean even your own thoughts how detailed are they? as detailes as a movie image? I dont think so. Our thoughts are rough imaged themselves. But keep working on the brain.


Much more interesting would be a technology like in the Matrix where you can download abilities into your brain...

Neo: " I know Kung Fu!" - Morpheus:"Show me!"
The Derp Knight writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 4:32:17 AM

Holy sh*t - those images are terrifying.

It was like something out of The Ring
Kovacs writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 3:14:58 PM

Not sure what I think about it.
Nevertheless, it will sure be easier for Guillermo del Toro and his amazingly interesting ideas (however, I want to see Doug Jones act for real ^^)!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved