WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Fassbender in Talks for "RoboCop" Remake

Posted: September 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Fassbender in Talks for "RoboCop" RemakeSubmit Comment
Brazilian director Jose Padilha (Elite Squad) is currently hard at work on the upcoming "RoboCop" remake. He recently turned in a new draft of the script and is now starting to think about casting.

Globo caught up with the helmer and asked him which actor he has in mind. "I can't say anything yet. It's too early. But there are some actors I am considering," he said. "I like [Michael] Fassbender (X-Men: First Class) a lot. I'm going to meet him - it's a possibility."

Plot: Set in Detroit in the near future, the film is about a policeman killed in the line of duty whom the department decides to resurrect as a half-human, half-robot supercop. The RoboCop is indestructible, and within a matter of weeks he has removed crime from the streets of Detroit. However, his human side is tortured by his past, and he wants revenge on the thugs who killed him.

The plan is to begin filming in February or March in Detroit for a 2013 release.

Source: Globo, Omelete


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:21:09 AM

Much better than Chris Pine but This guy is German and Detroit has a lot of minorities.So he'll be a Nazi Robocop and would have Nazi thoughts of torturing the yellows,browns and blacks.

How about casting a white male that's American and you dont have to Have no European f*ck faking an American accent you c*nts
ksplatt writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:24:28 AM

@bandolero999 -- or just leave the f*cking movie alone. Period.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:33:27 AM

No dude now is the perfect time to make Robocop with all the technology of today.but the bad thing is to which director and screenwriters hands it will fall on.

They should let Paul Verhoeven direct again since he's doing small films these days
darkraven28 writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:33:49 AM

Jesus, will they stop raping Paul Verhoeven's filmography please!!??!!?????
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 7:00:48 AM

Love the original it's the peak of 80's action scfi.

If they feel they really want to remake RoboCop Fassbender is the perfect choice IMO

Band- They guys a good actor and he will have no problem with the American accent i'm sure
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 7:33:41 AM

@trailer

You right there mate.

Not keen on this remake but Fassbender is a good actor, without him X-Men would have been a lump of sh*te.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 7:42:39 AM

Yea Xmen First class had me rooting for the bad guy which was magneto
boogiel writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 7:51:58 AM

"sigh"..another old Sci-Fi popcorn flicks that don't need to be remade. Same thing for Total recall. I feel sorry for Verhoeven.
prowler writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 8:02:09 AM

I don't like this guy. He's somehow repulsive...
yach...
bandolero999 writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 8:10:29 AM

Verhoevens work was too advanced for It's time and other filmakers try and they will fail

Except for showgirls
Johnnyb writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 9:47:07 AM

Could this one be his doom like Peter Weller┤s career┐?
nawtnt writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 10:07:26 AM

Michael Fassbender is a great actor.

I was impressed by his performance as Mangeto in X-Men: First Class, it was better than I expected.

I think Fassbender would be a great Robocop, at least the studio isn't going with Johnny Depp or Tom Crusie.

The worst choices for the role of Robocop would be:
Vinnie Jones
Dennis Rodman
Shia LeBeouf
and Robert Patterison

If anyone knows more worst choices then don't mind to comment.

Let's hope this remake works out well.
PaulX7 writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 10:16:30 AM

Have no interest in Verhoeven's remakes. His movies, especially RoboCop and Total Recall, were so good, and still are even 20 years later.
mrstretch writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 11:23:26 AM

I suprised Idris Elba isn't metinoned.
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 11:31:45 AM

Frank Miller needs to be involved in some shape or form,he wrote the first and did everything on part2. since theyv been draggin their feet with this i hope the production is not rushed. no sh*t BANDO, is it wrong to have an american superhero be an actual american??
sleepingshane writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 3:08:22 PM

hope they give him roller skates or something to make him go faster he always walked too slow
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 5:34:24 PM

If they go ahead with this, I want a Peter Weller cameo.

trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:20:28 PM

Yeah that would be a nice touch horror, But i bet they dont even consider it.
Lulupendragon writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:21:19 PM

Vin Diesel as Robocop might be interesting. Too bad Karl Urban is already doing Judge Dreadd
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:36:32 PM

lol... I like the plot. Like anyone here doesn't know the plot to the original RoboCop?!
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 6:36:52 PM

And if you don't... go get AIDS from Paul's mother.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 7:06:28 PM

@Horror - as the desk Sargent from the original movies has passed on, having Weller play him (out of respect) would be a great job for him. More than a cameo, less than a starring role.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0233306/

RIP Robert.
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 7:09:26 PM

Vin Diesel as Robocop LULU?? that one should hold me till SNL tonight thx
Rodan writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 9:58:35 PM

Fassbender is one of the best actors working today. Anyone questioning his skills should refer to the clip below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bq0SETWIO8U
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 25th, 2011 at 1:10:10 AM

Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2011 at 7:06:28 PM

@Horror - as the desk Sargent from the original movies has passed on, having Weller play him (out of respect) would be a great job for him. More than a cameo, less than a starring role.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0233306/

RIP Robert.
--------------------------

@Ranger: That would be so perfect. I would pay for a full price ticket if they did that, no matter who they cast as the new Robocop.


HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 25th, 2011 at 1:16:04 AM

"Bitches leave".

One of the most memorable lines in the whole movie uttered by the actor who goes on to star in That 70's Show.

Now you guys are making me want to dig up the DVD to watch this.
Ranger writes:
on September 25th, 2011 at 4:33:53 AM

And when the guy was soaked with the toxic waste... priceless.
Ranger writes:
on September 25th, 2011 at 4:38:04 AM

And who could ever forget Ed?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mrXfh4hENKs
dilbert writes:
on September 25th, 2011 at 9:29:24 AM

I'm just waiting till they announce a Pg13 (or 12a) rating. Shame as the original is one of my fave films
Ranger writes:
on September 25th, 2011 at 12:45:18 PM

Very true. This movie needs an R-rating!
Rambo writes:
on September 26th, 2011 at 5:33:59 AM

Bitches leave!
PaulX7 writes:
on September 27th, 2011 at 6:50:03 AM

Ranger writes: "And if you don't... go get AIDS from Paul's mother."

My mother is very old. I didn't realise she still gives you a hard on... Don't be so obsessed with my mother, you don't even know her. Just keep on doing what you know how to do best: keep jerking off watching your mother and grandmother
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2011 at 1:55:55 PM

I do... but I imagine your aged mother's face over my mother's face (when I'm straddling her about to blow), and I get a stiffie all over again.

So thank (ie: lick) your mother for me.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved