WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Netflix Splitting Into Two Companies, Adds Video Games

Posted: September 19th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Netflix Splitting Into Two Companies, Adds Video GamesSubmit Comment
Last month Netflix implemented a price hike for their DVD and streaming services. After losing thousands of customers, Reed Hastings, the CEO of Netflix, apologized for the price change and went on to explain that the reason for the hike is that Netflix is splitting into two companies; one for DVD, and one more streaming.

He said: "For the past five years, my greatest fear at Netflix has been that we wouldn't make the leap from success in DVDs to success in streaming. Most companies that are great at something do not become great at new things people want (streaming for us) because they are afraid to hurt their initial business. Companies rarely die from moving too fast, and they frequently die from moving too slowly.

We realized that streaming and DVD by mail are becoming two quite different businesses, with very different cost structures, different benefits that need to be marketed differently, and we need to let each grow and operate independently. In a few weeks, we will rename our DVD by mail service to 'Qwikster,' because it refers to quick delivery. We will keep the name 'Netflix' for streaming.

Qwikster will be the same website and DVD service that everyone is used to. It is just a new name, and DVD members will go to qwikster.com to access their DVD queues and choose movies. One improvement we will make at launch is to add a video games upgrade option, similar to our upgrade option for Blu-ray, for those who want to rent Wii, PS3 and Xbox 360 games.

There are no pricing changes (we're done with that!). Members who subscribe to both services will have two entries on their credit card statements, one for Qwikster and one for Netflix.
"

Source: Netflix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
technoreaper writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 8:48:55 PM

Netflix is screwed, and they know it.
BigUnit writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 8:56:00 PM

this is the dumbest thing ever. I still have netflix, dvd by mail and streaming, the price change didnt really bother me, whats 6 more dolllars a month, but now that theyre splitting to two different companies I'm definatly canceling my membership now. This is to much bull**** to deal with.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 9:11:41 PM

Just go bankrupt and give up
TeemSelami writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 10:34:49 PM

I didn't even notice the rate hike but this sh*t seems silly. Are they gonna expand the catalog for streaming or are they gonna stay with a few hits and loads of sh*t that isn't worth watching while I wait for a decent movie in the mail. Plus when I signed up for dvd service streaming was a free bonus. Hey Reed choke on a diseased d*ck f*ckface
Ranger writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 10:48:13 PM

Netflix is having financial troubles? Fill me in folks.

As for: '...went on to explain that the reason for the hike is that Netflix is splitting into two companies...' --- ahh, is that your subscribers problem? You're growing and you want your loyal client base to pay for your expansion (an expansion you can afford because OF YOUR LOYAL CLIENTELE YOU JUST JACKED!).

Did I read his comments correctly?

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 11:00:47 PM

You can get DVDs mailed to your home?

When did this happen!!??
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 12:21:51 AM

f*ck you Reed!!!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 2:51:57 AM

Qwikster was the best name they could come up with?
Ranger writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 3:09:47 AM

Because: 'f*ckOverOurLoyalClienteleWithHigherRates.com' was already taken.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 5:40:01 AM

and would never fitted on to the membership card or t-shirt...right ranger?
LastActionHero writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 6:38:02 AM

Service less people at a higher profit margin. These are good moves long term. Although I dow think the Qwikster name is stupid.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 9:24:08 AM

http://i.imgur.com/CmexZ.png

^^^ Reply from a Netflix customer.
Bunny X writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 10:18:28 AM

I read his "apology" and I wouldn't even wipe a dog's ass with the paper its printed on. An absolute disgrace and a joke. It's not an apology to say you're sorry for being a d*ckhead and then in the same message continue to be a d*ckhead.
I left Netflix a while before this all went down as a friend of mine gave me a great heads up on what was coming down the pipeline and I will never go back. I went to Blockbuster but they're not the bee's knees either but compared to Netflix, they're better. I can't for the life of me, understand how these two can get something so simple, so damn wrong. Mis-management and greed are a lethal combination and these two companies are swimming nose deep in it.
Blockbuster has all the tools and the built-in name recognition to have crushed Netflix before it got underway. But they held on to a business model that was absurd and still went and chose the wrong solutions. You have an extensive library, brand recognition, live stores across the country and you mean to tell me you couldn't work all those into creating a lucrative online / in-store rental and purchasing juggernaut?!?! FOH. And then your solution for staying competitive is to eliminate the one thing that set you apart from Netflix and that was your retail stores?!?! Dumbasses. The brain trust behind those moves should swallow a ton of pills, jump off a cliff and shoot themselves on the way down for being that f'ing stupid.
Then Netflix. They corner the market on mail DVD's and get it right regarding online ordering and streaming. They don't have the resource of retail stores or kiosks like RedBox but they work through that refining their business and succeed. They build themselves into a strong name and force Blockbuster into a corner and they have a very solid fan base. And what do they do? they flip their model on its head and literally screw over the very customer base that put them on the map. They take what was a smooth and simple online process and break it into two separate entities requiring separate management?? Really?? Qwikster?? the 90's called and said that name would have still sucked 15 years ago.And then to top it off, they jack up the prices? Then the proverbial cherry on top comes with this pompous rat terd coming out with this insipid self indulging half-assed apology that is supposed to mean something. I mean if this ass clown truly thinks DVD by mail is going away anytime soon, he has his head farther up his own ass than I ever imagined.
How bad are these two companies that neither one can beat the other out because of how stupid they both are? This is like watching two Special Olympic football teams play each other. But at least they would have a valid excuse as to why its so bad. Netlix and Blockbuster are just retarded for the sake of being retarded.

Ok, I'm done. I just needed to rant there for a minute!!
Motorious writes:
on September 21st, 2011 at 12:21:17 AM

So will I be able to upgrade to video games on my netflix account? or only if I have qwikster?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved