WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Restricted Trailer for "The Thing" Prequel

Posted: September 19th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Restricted Trailer for "The Thing" PrequelSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures has just sent us a restricted trailer for the upcoming prequel to John Carpenter's "The Thing," which stars Mary Elizabeth Winstead (Scott Pilgrim vs. the World) and Joel Edgerton (Animal Kingdom). Check it out below.

Plot: At an Antarctica research site, the discovery of an alien craft leads to a confrontation between graduate student Kate Lloyd (Winstead) and scientist Dr. Sander Halvorson (Ulrich Thomsen).

The new movie is directed by Matthijs van Heijningen Jr and is set to hit theaters on October 14th.

Restricted Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read more about "The Thing."

Source: Universal Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Preditorian writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 8:33:54 PM

Radio, Explanation of the situation, Tactical Nuke, End Crisis.
Lloyd Christmas writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 9:00:32 PM

Dear CGI,

f*ck you.

P.S. - Stopping naming sequels the same thing as the original movie. That is just plain retarded.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 9:09:37 PM

I'm watching it for free rather pay 10 bucks to Swais mom to suck my meat
lewis2001 writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 9:28:56 PM

the funny thing is i knew there was always goin to be a sequel about the nordic f*cks who couldnt f*cking land a chopper. this is either goin to be badass or sh*te... my $ is on the latter..
Johnnyb writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 9:35:24 PM

Not sure about this.... They have lean too much on CGI for this one..... I think is gonna suck it.....
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 10:09:53 PM

f*cking piece of sh*t CGI. The original is my second favorite movie of all time -- not just because it's a great horror movie and Kurt Russell rocks the sh*t out of it -- but because the use of makeup and special effects in that film is absolutely incredible. CGI is going to kill this film, I don't care how good the script it. Damn shame.
Ranger writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 10:52:33 PM

@band - she'll do it for 3. Spend the other 7 on the prescription afterward.

OneTime writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 10:56:59 PM

everyone dies but her...the end.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 11:09:12 PM

Showed too much of "The Thing".

f*ck you CGI!!!!!

Also, didn't they say in Carpenter's one, that they never could tell what it originally looked like as it had been to other worlds & absorbed them too.

And what about the fact that each cell is a living thing looking out for itself, no mention of that there.

This is going to suck donkey balls, they are just doing what "Karate Kid" did.

Remaking a movie and instead of calling it something else-knowing if they did it wouldn't make sh*t-cash in on us the fans of the original.

This crowning turd in the pipehole is aimed at one audience and one audience only...

TEENS!!!!

Thank f*ck for Nolan and Inception.
SaulSilver writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 11:28:37 PM

I know a couple reliable people that saw an advanced screening, and were very complimentary of it, as well as it's faithfulness to the Original. I'm looking forward to it.
CuChullain writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 12:05:59 AM

It doesn't look to bad for something that is completely unnecessary.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 12:12:00 AM

MEW marry me please :) or just let me stick it in your butt for a night, either way works for me ok, call me.
Rambo writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 1:31:49 AM

look okay except the fact that is totally gay and lacks any masculine power.
Rambo writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 1:32:40 AM

@badchad

you're such a charmer with the ladies...
plutohiller writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 1:57:16 AM

I don't care for CGI at all and prefer real fx, but as long as the movie has a scene as tense as when the guys were tied to the couch getting there blood tested...i'm in. It can't be near as good as John Carpenters though. Forever the master of movies period.
PaulX7 writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 6:30:26 AM

this is a weird "prequel" in a sense that the trailer looks like a copy-paste from the original movie... Maybe they should call it "remake" instead of prequel?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 7:03:55 AM

Did you guys think they wouldn't use CGI? This film, like everyone has already stated looks way too much like the original. What would be the point of rebooting it if they didn't use the effects pallet film makers have now days. That's not me saying I agree with it in any way shape or form (pun not intended but accepted by the royal society of puns) I just think people should watch the original and boycott this sh*t fest.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 10:04:18 AM

Ok I'm a huge fan of the original, but I'm still a little surprised by the reaction to this restricted trailer. It looks AWESOME imo. The CGI looks amazing and properly used, meaning its taken the effects of the original to another level without being cartoonish or repetetive. I wouldn't expect the new film to stick with the old FX because we've already seen that. For this film to be relevant and not just another cheap reboot like Nightmare of Elm St, it needs to step its game up in certain areas like the effects and the action. I didn't want to see another film with the creature always hiding in the shadows or as a human. I want best creature money can buy these days and I want to SEE it. Remember, we can't rely on the story to give us anything new, we already know what happens (EVERYONE dies). So we need to get improvements in other departments. Plus, its about time they used all this money and technology to give us a badass bloodsucking alien. Consider all we've had lately, the Super 8 creature (so lame they hid it until the last 5 minutes of the film), the p*ssy Battle LA aliens, the 10 foot blue thundercats from Avatar, and so on. Not a worthy alien in the bunch. This looks like heaven compared to those cheeky alien puffs. I'm willing to give this film a chance, 1 because I've actually seen some great updates lately (Rise of the Planet of the Apes and Fright Night), 2 because I'm always dying to see someone push the limits of modern filmmaking, and 3 because even with all the crap thats come out lately I'm still a sucker for a sci-fi horror flick. Always on the hunt for the next The Mist, Alien, or The Thing, maybe this has what it takes.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 10:55:09 AM

@sac

Very good point...but..it just deosn't feel or look good to me.

I will watch it in the hope that it is good..but they are showing too much of the "Thing" for my liking.
Drez writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 11:36:26 AM

Bando swai says that he'll slice your throat open.
Ranger writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 11:42:14 AM

... with his vagina.
Swai987 writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 12:20:48 PM

Niggah ranger better not be getting big now ill leave him dead on a street with his skull bashed open and a couple broken bones while mah boi j-rock rips ya f*ckin fingers off while ramon curbstomps ya sorry ass dont worry cuz we be getting more people on this website like our friends j-rock,kel frezmond and tom will be gettin up on this website and getting big and going hard on these niggahs and we aint no imaginary friends niggah deadass serious whoop whoop. we will rise.
Swai987 writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 12:23:12 PM

Ranger Drez stole a knife from a guy in jail afew days ago while we stole acouple magazines from 7-11 them arab niggahs are crazier than a sack a cats. thats whats up right there niggah.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 12:36:14 PM

Swai and Drez are the same people by the way along with Watson and whatever other accounts he's made. f*ckING SAD c*nt HAHA
Drez writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 12:41:33 PM

cinema is deadass wrong we make videos on youtube ill show you them niggah.
Drez writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 12:44:33 PM

we have legit 5 accounts on youtube.
trailertrash writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 5:15:17 PM

The Thing (pun intended) this trailer made me want to do more than anything else was to watch the original once again.
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 6:04:35 PM

@SAC

Nicely said. I agree on all counts! Also forgot to mention how lame the aliens were in Cowboys & Aliens... but then again... the whole gold thing made it 78968457348x more lame.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 6:50:34 PM

I remember reading that they were going to use a combination of practical effects and CGI.

I sure as hell didn't notice any practical "Thing" effects in that trailer whatsoever.

Remakes, CGI, and 3D are killing cinema.
BlackDynamite writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 10:44:26 PM

Half of the movie is going to be screams, people getting stabbed in the back, people getting dragged into the darkness, and scientists looking at microscopes.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved