WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Shining" with Original Ending Being Screened in New York

Posted: September 19th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Shining" with Original Ending Being Screened in New YorkSubmit Comment
The historic Dryden Theatre in Rochester, New York is screening Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" on October 22nd at 8pm and will show the film in its entirety.

Back in 1980, "The Shining" opened in a limited amount of theaters, but by the time it reached a wider audience, it was already cut into the film we know today. The new screening will restore what was cut, including the original ending.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

The extended ending starts with two state troopers looking for Jack Torrance (Jack Nicholson), but are not able to see his frozen body. The scene moves to a hospital where the hotel manager tries to convince Wendy (Shelley Duvall) that nothing supernatural happened at the Overlook, and that no one ever found her husband.

If you live in the area, you can visit the theater's website to get more information on the screening.

Source: Dryden


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 8 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 9:10:43 PM

I still haven't finished the movie and 30 years too late
Johnnyb writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 9:27:26 PM

Still the same sh*tty ending.... Whatīs difference between not find him and being found in a picture about 30 years..... I donīt see the difference......
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 9:48:07 PM

Your all Negative. Amazing movie
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 10:53:34 PM

I'm ok with the ending they have already...feels in keeping with the creepiness of the movie.

Will see this ending anyway just to have a look.
Stuntmanbob writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 12:00:50 AM

What is with the hatin! The Shining is a classic, there is not very many movies that could even touch it. Seriously, the ending was f*cking great, what did you expect, him to magically turn sane and live happily ever after? I can't think of anything they could had done better and I don't even like horror movies.
JohnZee writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 1:08:59 AM

Read the book twice before I ever saw the movie, and to this day I still think that the Shining is one of Stephen King's better books. A good bit of sudden inspiration turned into a decent read.

But I would have to say that when the Jack Nicholson movie was made, that like a lot of King movies, some elements just weren't there. Even if the final result was better than the average horror movie.

I do remember years later doing a little channel surfing and catching some crappy assed reality show with newbie female actors that were desperate to be famous that Faye Dunaway had a major hand in. And remember her going on and on about a particular contestant/actress repeatedly saying that it was obvious that the girl had the "shine".

She kept going for a couple of minutes talking about the difference between a great actor and an actor that just had the benefit of proper schooling and experience was again that special something personality wise that she called "the shine". And it was made pretty clear that whatever this shine was that Faye Dunaway talked about, it was definitely something that could be an incredible asset to an actor.

Which does make me wonder. Did Stephen King have a conversation with an actor that believed just as much in the special ability that some actors supposedly have? Someone that believed just as much as Faye Dunaway obviously did?

Just seems a very odd coincidence. Especially considering that when Dunaway making the comments, nothing mentioned about the movie or the book...And you would think that a popularity craving reality show would point out such a connection.

Anyway curiouser and curiouser and all that jazz, something to ponder another day. But I'd have to admit that the whole plot thread with Scatman Crothers character worked a lot more in the context of the book than it ever did in the Nicholson movie.

And I have been tempted to take all of Scatman Crother's scenes and separate them from the rest of the movie "The Shining" as the end result would be his introduction, his revelation to the kid, the kid eventually calling out to Crothers with the shine, several scenes of Crothers adamantly and very desperately trying to get back to the hotel even through one of the worst blizzards to ever hit that area...only to immediately get hit and killed with the axe upon entering the hotel by good ole' Jack.

Johnnyb writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 2:19:57 AM

@ Everybody:

Iīm not negative, I like the movie even Mr. King didnīt like his book adaptation.... But what is the point to give an alternative ending, which in this case is not alternative, it looks more like an extension of the abrupt ending.... Itīs just this extension and the original ending, doesnīt change the perspective of the viewer about of what would or wouldnīt happened..... Thatīs all. I really hate when they call me negative, I just give point, thatīs all....
billofill writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 4:18:06 PM

The movie is more boring than my family reunions, and thats saying something.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved