WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Lion King" Re-Release Dominates Box Office with $29.3 Million

Posted: September 18th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Lion King" Re-Release Dominates Box Office with $29.3 MillionSubmit Comment
Disney has been planning to re-release "The Lion King" as a way to promote the upcoming Blu-ray edition of the film, which hits stores on October 4th. But the theatrical run turned out to be a surprise hit for the studio.

The film, which is playing in conventional and 3D theaters, ended up grossing $29.3 million, topping the domestic box office this weekend. Disney was hoping to land somewhere in the $12 million range, but quickly realized that those numbers will more than double.

"The Lion King" has now grossed a total of $788.2 million worldwide, including more than $10 million in Latin America from the new 3D re-release. It remains the top grossing hand-drawn animation film of all time.

Meanwhile, Ryan Gosling's "Drive," which has an impressive 93% fresh rating on RottenTomatos, had to settle for third place during its debut with $11 million. The film has an estimated budget of $13 million, putting it on track to become very profitable.

The "Straw Dogs" remake, which has a lousy 37% fresh rating, grossed only $5 million and placed fifth. The film cost $12.5 million to make, which means it will go on to earn its budget back.

And the last wide release of the weekend was Sarah Jessica Parker's "I Don't Know How She Does It," landing in sixth place with $4.5 million. The film has a 20% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Drive" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
technoreaper writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 7:11:18 PM

Drive got a C- Cinemascore, and I've never heard so many people hate a movie in my life.

I heard a few people ask if Ryan Gosling's character was supposed to have a learning disability or something. I wonder what the story is.
velocityknown writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 7:22:33 PM

@Techno

I don't know who you're talking to, everyone I've talked to about it loved it.

"I've never heard so many people hate a movie in my life."

That's a horribly rushed, general statement if I've ever heard one.

If you want to throw something like a Cinemascore out there, I might as well point out that it has an 81% on the audience meter on Rotten Tomatoes and a 7.8 User Score on Metacritic.
DexterMorgan writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 7:42:45 PM

@velocityknown yea plus imdb gave it 8.8 out of 10 and rotten tomatoes gave it 92%
technoreaper writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 7:45:03 PM

@velocityknown, there are so many people complaining about this movie all over the web. A lot of the complaints are hilarious. I don't know how you missed them.
Donyae 420 writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 8:22:34 PM

Simba kicks ass
Johnnyb writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 9:54:34 PM

Hakuna Matata for Drive and Straw Dogs, they are still profitable....
UnNameable_One writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 10:28:47 PM

I wonder if Mufasa still dies????
BuuMonster writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 10:47:27 PM

Good for the Lion King. Always loved it. I know there have been re-releases before but I really hope they don't start re-releasing everything.
yeLLowfLaSh writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 10:54:07 PM

People who hate Drive are the people that thought they were getting the Transporter when they went to go see it. well it isn't and thank god for that. It was a really good movie. I recommend you guys to go see it.

Unless you want explosions and martial arts then don't.
technoreaper writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 11:03:51 PM

There really isn't much of a difference between Drive and your typical action film. I don't know why people think it's so special?
telur writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 12:32:29 AM

great news, i hope next we will see The Godfather Re-Release in 3D

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 12:43:54 AM

"The Lion King" can go f*ck itself...hate the god damn movie.

f*cking Disney milking more cash.

Good on "Drive" been wanting to see this movie.

SJP hahahaha...f*ck off horse face.
Ranger writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 1:38:03 AM

Did they put the rape scene back into this re-release?
BuuMonster writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 2:05:08 AM

@ranger No they left the Scar rape scene out. Too much feces
witwicky-potter writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 2:24:44 AM

Simba does it again
pornfly writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 4:37:29 AM

Id rather see a re-release than a crappy remake
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 9:10:46 AM

I watched Lion King again for the first time since I was a kid and was disturbed at all the celebrities who done voice overs, kind of ruined the experience for me all I could see was Ferris Beuler talking to Rowan Atkinson.
pornfly writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 10:25:01 AM

yea CINEMA ever since Aladdin its all been celebrity voiceovers,people who have real voice talents must hate that sh*t
Ranger writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 10:56:29 AM

@Buu - lol.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 11:02:01 AM

pornfly- True, it seems Pixar with Disney chooses less well known celebrities or celebrities who fit the characters instead of Dreamworks' technique of whoever's the most famous when the film comes out to ensure maximum profit.
Bunny X writes:
on September 19th, 2011 at 12:10:23 PM

Honestly the last great animated film. Everything after has either been a hack trying to capture what The Lion accomplished, 3D / CGI nonsense.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved