WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

How Brad Pitt Saved the Ending of "Se7en"

Posted: September 17th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
How Brad Pitt Saved the Ending of "Se7en"Submit Comment
While promoting "Moneyball," Brad Pitt sat down with Entertainment Weekly and spoke about how the studio wanted to change the ending of David Fincher's "Se7en" and how he had to fight to keep it as originally planned.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

"I will do it on one condition - the head stays in the box. Put in the contract that the head stays in the box," Pitt told the studio, adding: "He's got to shoot the killer in the end. He doesn't do the 'right' thing, he does the thing of passion."

The studio agreed and everything requested was added to his contract. Unfortunately, the execs quickly changed their minds when they began testing the film. "You know, he would be much more heroic if he didn't shoot John Doe," the studio told Pitt. "And it's too unsettling with the head in the box. We think maybe if it was the dog's head in the box..."

So there you have it. If it wasn't for Pitt, there would have been a dog's head in the box instead of his pregnant wife's and John Doe would have never completed his insane scheme.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PaulX7 writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 5:32:46 AM

Thank God for Brad Pitt!!

Se&en is a masterpiece as it is. It would have been so rubbish with a dog's head and a heroic cop. f*ck dry the studio execs, seriously they're the ones who screw every good movie's ending
Serpico1988 writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 5:36:50 AM

Brad Pitt is a man of quality films... Might not be the best actor around, but still okay with that said - everyone, I recommend you lot watch The Tree of Life - a career-best performance by the guy, I'm sure he'll be nominated for an Oscar.

This just proves how he well he thinks like a top filmmaker - Great stuff.
Kain writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 6:08:01 AM

Just proves that the guys running hollywood don't know sh*t about sh*t.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 6:08:45 AM

Tyler Durden
JakeVermont writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 6:22:07 AM

@Kain: I sometimes think the exact same thing. A director can be so talented and when a producer comes along and says "no! Cut all that out of the movie we need to make it PG13 to get more money out of it, cuz I dont care about the quality of the movie just money...!"
Valerie writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 6:50:20 AM

Nice to see he had balls even back then, thank god he got his way though! The movie would have been ridic without it!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 6:56:56 AM

Yes, Brad Pitt saved "Se7en".

And monkeys might fly out of my butt.

Wallace writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 6:57:26 AM

Why "unfortunately"? They didn't change it in the end.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 7:10:01 AM

To bad he couldn't save Troy.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 9:11:47 AM

Too bad he can't save his on career.
Zeroguy writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 9:35:15 AM

Wow. Terribly written article.

You forgot to mention how execs wanted a "happier" ending. Pitt wanted the proper, better ending. He said if they want the happy one, he won't do press for movie.
He got what he wanted.
technoreaper writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 10:42:11 AM

Brad Pitt did something right for once, lol.
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 11:37:02 AM

What Kain said.
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 11:39:33 AM

How the f*ck would NOT shooting the bad guy be the heroic thing to do?

Do these studio exec's ever get out into the real world?

PS: nice Pitt has replied to Aniston's comment that she kicked Brad out when he told her he has feelings (ie: BONER) for Jolie with his recent comment that marriage to Aniston was BORING! (no sh*t!). He's 'respectably' tweaked that comment (ie: back-peddled)... lol.
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 11:39:59 AM

@techno - what has Brad done that isn't right?
pornfly writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 12:17:22 PM

Thats a cool story,they couldv easily replaced him, i bet his performance in 12Monkeys sealed the deal. Execs are a bunch of f*ckn fuddy duddyz,theyr like the old fart law makers that wont legalize it
technoreaper writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 2:15:28 PM

@Ranger, Troy, Ocean's Twelve and Tree of Life.
trailertrash writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 2:19:43 PM

Pitt has done a lot more right than wrong in his career IMO
trailertrash writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 2:20:35 PM

dave- Will that be 12 Monkeys ??!!
nope.com writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 2:50:22 PM

I think the lesson learned is your movie is infinitely better if Gwyneth Paltrow dies in it. Would Contagion be as good if that annoying whore survived?

... I rest my case
trailertrash writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 2:54:29 PM

Anyone seen the 10/10 rated film Drive yet ?
RedDragon writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 4:01:43 PM

Glad they kept this ending. It would have been totally sh*t to have a dog's head in a box and for him not to shoot him. Well done Brad!!!
holtlt writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 4:23:55 PM

actors should run hollywood...not economists
velocityknown writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 4:42:17 PM

Cool story, but not news, I read about this a long time ago. Both Freeman and Pitt said they wouldn't promote the film if the studio changed the ending (there were about two or three alternates).
velocityknown writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 4:44:51 PM

and @Techno

You're bringing up those three minor movies to

Se7en
Twelve Monkeys
Fight Club
Snatch
Babel
The Assassination of Jesse James (f*cking great in it)
Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Inglourious Basterds

But yeah, THIS is the first thing he's ever done right.
trailertrash writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 4:56:15 PM

Couldn't agree with you more velocity

The guy has been in some bloody good films over the years and he's always willing to try something a little different, Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't.

I have a lot of respect for Pitt as an actor.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 10:28:59 PM

That f*cking tells you how much the studio execs have their hands on the pulse of the audience .... more like their collective heads up their arses smelling their sh*te to make sure it don't stink.
technoreaper writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 10:57:30 PM

Most people I know hated Drive. Even my Friends on Facebook told me that my bad review was spot on and that they wished they listened to me. I mean, was Ryan Gosling's character learning disabled or something?
BlackDynamite writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 11:04:37 PM

Really? Spoilers Ahead? The movies been out for over 10 years, if they are on this site, and clicked on the link, they should have seen the movie by then. That's like saying

SPOILERS AHEAD

Scarface dies at the end of Scarface.
Raider writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 12:08:26 AM

How Se7en should have ended.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4HAjhtPZGDY
Stuntmanbob writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 12:12:53 AM

Brad Pitt is one of the very few actors that really cares about the movie more than money although that wouldn't seem to be hard with all the money he has but apparently it must be if you look at most of the high paid actors that back out of movies cause they can't more than $40,000,000 for a months work. I think he will be remembered more than Pacino or Deniro will, if not he should be.
darkraven28 writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 12:50:41 AM

Seven's a perfect film. Thank you for fighting for the ending, Mr. Pitt. You're smarter than people give you credit for.
Ranger writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 4:20:04 AM

@techno - thx. for the list. I just commented to a friend tonight, I enjoyed Troy. Even if the movie wasn't what it could be. Pitt, was to play a 2-dimensional killer/lover and he did it very well. Tree of Life... haven't seen it to comment on it, but I do want to see it. Velocity gave up a great list of Pitt's MANY hits (I too liked Jesse James), and I'll agree with tt that Pitt's hits far out-weigh his less than successful movies. Even if the movie doesn't do stellar bank, Pitt is always good in the movie.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 5:18:36 AM

@trailer

Drive was pretty good...but it depends on who you are and what kind of films you enjoy on how much you will enjoy it. I for once agree with idiot putnam that goslings character and the girl dont need to actually SAY how they feel for you to know it, its all in their performances and their eyes blah blah blah. Having said that, I did expect more action/violence cause thats in everybody's reviews about it, but just be prepared for very little. Overall I would give it a 9 cause I also would prefer story/character development over pointless action.

and if it wasnt the wife's head in the box, se7en wouldnt be as good as it was. so thank you pitt
Rambo writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 2:18:01 PM

best ending:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XVMLivHTXac
trailertrash writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 5:11:26 PM

Thanks for the heads up SquirrelFlyer i think i will give it a go, will catch it on blu ray if i don't get the cinema, but it's getting pretty good reviews here (uk).

technoreaper - Not a fan of the movie then ...

Ranger - Agree on Troy as well mate, thought it was a decent action film, not in Gladiator's class but entertaining nether the less.
trailertrash writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 5:16:19 PM

Rambo - LOL !!!
Zeroguy writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 8:46:46 PM

Pitt is great actor. Sure he's been in some sh*te movies, but so has every other actor ever.
He was great in the list mentioned.
Plus who's the jag off saying he was bad in Tree of Life?
He was the BEST part of that film.
Plus he killed it in the minor Coen bro film, Burn After Reading.
qdiz writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 11:20:10 PM

What's in the box????!!!!!!
UVU Film Student writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 3:12:26 PM

hi
UVU Film Student writes:
on October 1st, 2011 at 3:17:15 PM

hi

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved