WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg Regrets Replacing Guns with Walkie-Talkies in "E.T."

Posted: September 16th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg Regrets Replacing Guns with Walkie-Talkies in "E.T."Submit Comment
Steven Spielberg recently appeared at a LA screening of "Raiders of the Lost Ark," which was created from the same print that he will use to ultimately create a Blu-ray release.

The director spoke about using original prints, switching topics to how back in 2002 he regrettably digitally replaced guns with walkie-talkies in "E.T." He said that the Blu-ray release of the film will undo all that.

"For myself, I tried [changing a film] once and lived to regret it," said Spielberg. "Not because of fan outrage, but because I was disappointed in myself. I got overly sensitive to [some of the reaction] to 'ET,' and I thought if technology evolved, [I might go in and change some things]. It was OK for a while, but I realized what I had done was I had robbed people who loved 'ET' of their memories of 'ET.' If I put just one cut of 'ET' on Blu-ray and it was the 1982, would anyone object to that? (The crowd yells 'NO!' in unison.) OK, so be it. (Huge applause from the audience)"

Spielberg went on to say that some of the changes made for the 2003 "Raiders of the Lost Ark" DVD will also likely be undone for the Blu-ray release.

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 3:00:11 AM

Steven Spielberg Regrets Replacing Guns with Walkie-Talkies in "E.T."

Too f*cking right you douche.

Eventhough I hate the god dang movie.
DeVries writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 3:18:33 AM

Southpark actually pissed in your face for it, Spielberg.
The Ascender 07 writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 3:30:00 AM

Now if only Lucas could learn from his example.
Whitta writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 3:38:11 AM

what changes were made in the 03 Raider's dvd??
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 3:39:16 AM

@whitta

Don't have a clue..but no doubt someone on here will tell us.
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 4:14:00 AM

http://youtu.be/aK8vVk4_n2Q
Taco writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 4:29:27 AM

Steven I'm so proud of you! You learned your lesson on standing ur ground. Now go teach ur fat f*ck of a friend George to do the same.
Taco writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 4:31:56 AM

Funny thing is I bet the people who convinced him to change the guns in to radios were the same people that praised Saving privet Ryan and Schindlers list! Hypocrites!
Dannoral writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 7:19:12 AM

what are the changes in "Raiders of.." ?
SeWerin writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 7:48:59 AM

He regrets for lot of things these days...
Whatever....overrated director anyway.
boogiel writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 8:00:12 AM

Wow, it took more than 20 years for him to admit his mistakes.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 8:37:58 AM

@boogiel You can't count, E.T. Special Edition was released in 2002, that's 9 years ago not 20.

I'm fine with the other things in the E.T. Special Edition but I'm glad he's putting the guns back in. Changing the guns into walkie talkies was totally retarded and didn't make sense. Why would Elliott & co be so scared of walkie talkies? Lol!
trailertrash writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 8:43:23 AM

What is it Spielberg Regret week or something ??!!
trailertrash writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 8:56:21 AM

Blu Ray Raiders coming , Some good news at last ...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 9:02:26 AM

A lot of regrets for Spielberg recently, at least he admits his mistakes and doesn't think the sun shines out of his ass like Kevin Smith
trailertrash writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 9:14:34 AM

The sun to shine out of Kevin Smiths ass Cinema, That's a pretty f*ckin big sun mate !!
trailertrash writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 9:29:38 AM

One of the changes was the Python going up Karen Allen Skirt and her kind of liking it, Steve's such a prude
trailertrash writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 9:38:23 AM

Whitta/ Dave

Think he must be talking about the way it was converted or something, Can't think of any changes off hand from the old VHS copy I watched to death and the dvd version
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 9:39:13 AM

Trailer- It's the size of Kevin Smiths ego times the amount of energy he has divided by the speed of light squared. So yeah pretty epic.
darthraige writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 10:02:36 AM

The pussification of America.
Dre-EL writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 10:14:18 AM

If you loved a classic movie the way it is why f*cking change because you can. Just let it go.
Ranger writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 10:19:32 AM

Coming clean of all his regrets...

Bad news from the cancer doctor Steven?
Ranger writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 10:20:29 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aRfZIdK9Gb4
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 10:34:27 AM

"What is it Spielberg Regret week or something ??!!"

TT- You beat me to it.
Speilberg's next apology is trying to make Joe Johnston his protoge.
Ranger writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 10:39:38 AM

Or sh*t LaDouche his cabana bitch.
marz352 writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 12:22:54 PM

come on man all these directors with regrets ? If you did it you did it learn to do without regrets
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 2:39:58 PM

well it ain't the first mistake he's made i'm sure, but just like indy 4, i think i know what the problem is...like before indy 4 existed, everybody wanted harrison to do another indy movie but the problem is when you make movies like that where fans have been waiting impatiently so long, 9 times out of 10 like remakes trying to surpass their original, it won't...just like ghostbusters 3, even if bill murray came back they'd show us exactly what we don't want to see, the characters getting old and replaced by new ones, no, we like to still see them in their hayday kicking ass and that's all there is to it...pretty simple formula, it's like making a hit song, you could be as simplistic as you want or the exact opposite, but whether or not the right minds are the ones that decide whether or not it's good or bad material, and you can only keep making so many of those for so long, but eventually you'll run out of ideas, this is why i try not to use the same idea, i just use the same thought that sparks the idea and implement it into a new one...indy 5 could make up what we didn't like in indy 4, i just hope it's action and well, LOGICAL fantasy?...not alien sh*t, indy is not star wars, there's a difference mr. george luke ass skywalkin fat whore, no lol...but seriously, no aliens for this next indy, you'll never win acceptance among the fans until you deliver the right kind of story even if it has too much cgi...i don't really care, i know harrison ford is old and not young like he used to be, but at least deliver a better story like the first three, and if there has to be too much cgi, no swinging monkey action or things like that either...come on hollywood, i know there's still tricks up your sleeve even after the sleeve has been partially exposed
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 7:15:56 PM

@tt

I can't think myself what he changed in the movie.

Maybe it was that then.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 8:19:54 PM

Okay, so Spielberg regrets Indiana Jones IV and the Raping and putting walkie talkies into the hands in shots of E.T. ?

Now if he can not return George "Let's f*ck up Star Wars a little more" Lucas' phone calls, I MIGHT forgive his f*cking lame, Jewish ass.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 8:21:02 PM

I say let Shia LaBeouf sh*t in Steve's mouth and we'll call it a draw.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 10:23:04 PM

Walkie talkies in ET? Really, who gives a f*ck? Lets talk Drive on this post since we vant post comments on Putzman's reviews. f*cking 10/10 that idiot gave this movie. A perfect rating for a far from perfect film. First of all, who the f*ck gives perfect ratings to any films? I've seen hundreds and NONE are perfect, especially this one. First of all the film is boring and ridiculously misleading. The previews would lead you to believe its an action car chase movie with some indie flare. Well lets just say they got the indie part right, but as for the car chase action and flare there's hardly any. In a film about a heist driver there are literally 2 car chases. Most of the film is spent in empty space with nothing being said in any scene. They tried to turn the biggest chick flick puff into a badass by literally silencing him and putting him in a shiney dragon jacket. Gay. The guy has like 6 lines the entire film. Yet he still looks like the least intimidating man on the face of the planet.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 10:45:10 PM

I hope that Lucas is reading this so he could say NOOOOOOOOOO to the changes he do in Star Wars.....
Johnnyb writes:
on September 17th, 2011 at 1:35:18 AM

By the way, does Stevie regrets on doing Indy 4?..... the project was death when it was all about aliens since the beginning.....
darkraven28 writes:
on September 18th, 2011 at 12:59:02 AM

I love how the entire f*cking crowd yells "NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!" when Spielberg asks the question and then they go f*cking crazy at his truly right response. Steve knows how to please a crowd. Thank you, Sir!!!

And on a side note, I despise the 2002 special edition and yes, it raped my childhood. Every single digital change took me right out of the f*cking movie. And I would like, if anything is to be said on the blu-ray re: the 2002 cut, for there to be a doc*mentary about film preservation versus updating or special editions. There needs to be more doc*mentaries on that and the E.T. blu ray is the perfect platform for it.
jeux banat writes:
on August 16th, 2016 at 6:06:36 PM

طريقة اللعب بها بسيطه وجد سهلة مثل بقية العاب بنات التي يوفرها موقعنا حيث لا تحتاج لذكاء وجهد فكري او معرفة مسبقة ، فكل ما عليك هو اختيار زي مناسب للطفل والاعتناء بمظهره العام حتى يكون شكله النهائي مرتب و غير فوضوي .
العاب بنات تلبيس
العاب بنات جديدةal3ab banat

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved