WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Carrie Fisher Wants an Apology from George Lucas

Posted: September 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Carrie Fisher Wants an Apology from George LucasSubmit Comment
In an essay on the TheDailyBeast website, Carrie Fisher wrote about the big mistake she made when she signed on to star in "Star Wars." That mistake was not protecting her likeness, which resulted in lots of Princess Leia merchandise and zero compensation for her.

"The mistake was I signed away my likeness for free," she wrote. "In those days, there was no such thing as a 'likeness.' There was no merchandising tied to movies. No one could have known the extent of the franchise."

She continued: "I was shopping at Williams-Sonoma, and they're selling little sticks of Princess Leia that you put in your cupcake. Who wouldn't need those? I paid for it. How much money could I have made from all this stuff? I don't want to know. It's too upsetting."

Her deal included a small percentage of the theatrical revenues, but that obviously doesn't include royalties for video, DVD, Blu-ray sales, television airings, and merchandise. "I've teased George Lucas about this over the years, but he's never been apologetic," Fisher concluded.

Source: TheDailyBeast


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CuChullain writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 5:47:52 AM

Interestingly,despite the title of the post, I found nowhere in either the article here or the source article, where Fisher actually says she wants an apology...
Taco writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 6:01:40 AM

Alex your desperation for controversy in news is pathetic! Never did she say she wanted an apology! Maybe the headline could read " George Lucas is an ass!". That would fit!
paulina_0228 writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 6:04:46 AM

Look at the last part of the article. She says that she brought this up with Lucas many times, looking for an apology.
PaulX7 writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 6:11:20 AM

Lucas is a businessman, and when you do business with a businessman, you always have to be very careful. Carrie Fisher was not a businesswoman, she got screwed and Lucas is a now a billionaire thanks to all those merchandisings... He's a genius for creating Star Wars. But yes, he's also an *sshole who only sees money
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 6:12:37 AM

Wait, so George Lucas is a c*cksucker?... Could of fooled me!
bandolero999 writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 6:21:29 AM

Shut up c*nt maybe you'll be smarter in the next life
CuChullain writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 6:48:00 AM

@paulina_0228 - I've just read it again and can't see it; which part did you mean?
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 6:49:00 AM

If someone recorded Lucas speaking with Carrie Fisher... it'd probably sound exactly like this...

http://youtu.be/M5QGkOGZubQ
LastActionHero writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 8:15:31 AM

Ask your agent for the apology.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 9:41:14 AM

The only apology I want from Lucas is an apology for the prequels.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 9:59:05 AM

BadChad- And the new remastered originals where Darth Vader shouts "NOOOOO" when killing the Emporer made me wanna be sick.
mrstretch writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 10:02:42 AM

Im sure he's real sorry for giving you a role in his movie and you blowing all of your money on coke. WHORE
Devil writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 10:08:26 AM

Bitch please!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 10:26:20 AM

I'm gonna side with Carrie on this.

Yes she made a stupid decision but he could have re-done the contract.
pornfly writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 10:37:32 AM

PAULX7,EXACTLY,shes from a showbiz family,i'm sure they told her 'never sign anythin without reading the fine print''get a lawyer'.but i'm sure she signed anythin so fast to prove she didnt need any help from her parents to make it. Besides i'd rather see her sister Joely Fisher as Jabbas bitch
velocityknown writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 12:09:10 PM

@Everyone talking about the misleading headline

I agree with you. This is just the kind of sh*t journalism I've come to expect from WorstPreviews. It goes well with their sh*tty movie critic though.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 12:22:30 PM

Cinema-Good call, that's why I'm not even gonna buy em. I say from here on out we all boycott Star Wars and make Lucas himself scream NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
technoreaper writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 1:33:59 PM

She obviously wasn't serious...
SergioFX writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 3:19:01 PM

So she wants an apology because she was too stupid to trademark her face?
Ranger writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 3:23:02 PM

I want an apology from her for getting FAT!
pornfly writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 4:01:23 PM

She wrote a book called Surrender the Pink,idk wut its about but she got the title from this guy(i think hes famous) who told her to surrender the pink after throwin her to the bed.RANGER u shuld say that to a chic
FilmFan91201 writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 4:45:00 PM

Hold on, Carrie Fisher was not unfamiliar with Hollywood at the time. She's the child of two celebrities. She was hardly naive, or without resources to review contracts before she signed them. She was not taken advantage of. Lucas doesn't owe her squat, and that includes an apology.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 9:13:58 PM

At the beginning of reading this article, I though it had to do that Star Wars in some way ruins her career..... but as I continue reading, this was all about a crying bitch for revenues from a franchise..... Girl, that was the 70┤s and 80┤s, demanding that kind of money wouldn┤t be acceptable since you were only a girl and he was creator of the project. U have to thanks for appearing in a classic sci fi franchise better than the prequels because after all what else good have you been doing around┐? Just tell me┐?
Atemisk writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 9:30:51 PM

Title of the article should have been: "Carrie Fisher had a sh*tty agent"
Ranger writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 11:58:23 PM

Carrie Fisher would f*ck a horse back then (and now?) to get her name out there.

Good subsequent posts. She's crying over spilt milk and George's business savvy, and she is the kid of 2 celebs. She has no excuses.

@porn - I already have my friend... already have.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved