WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: "The Dark Knight" Scene Slowed Down to Reveal Countless Mistakes

Posted: September 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: "The Dark Knight" Scene Slowed Down to Reveal Countless MistakesSubmit Comment
Most people love Christopher Nolan's "The Dark Knight." In fact, the film is the ninth highest-rated on IMDB and Nolan is one of the most sought-after helmers in Hollywood. But after watching a video by Jim Emerson, who breaks down one of the biggest "Dark Knight" action sequences, it's clear that Nolan has room for improvement.

Emerson makes it very clear that "The Dark Knight" is a very enjoyable film, but points out the countless mistakes and lack of continuity that each scene contains.

He says that since the sequence is fast-paced, most people won't notice all the errors. But critics noticed, which is why he slowed down the action to see what exactly they were complaining about and why they believe Nolan has yet to master shooting action.

Check out the video below and let us know if you agree with Emerson that the scene is mess.

Video:


Source: Jim Emerson


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 8:57:06 PM

Nice no video.
Avirex writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 8:57:27 PM

Three years ago this might have been almost relevant.

billofill writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 9:01:02 PM

"THIS IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BORING" Super
bandolero999 writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 9:10:45 PM

Wow editing fail where's the video
Sclawtooth writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 9:18:46 PM

Maybe Nolan will watch this video and rethink some of his Bat-copter chases in TDKR. Seriously though, the Batmobile crashing into the garbage truck re-edited did indeed flow a lot nicer.
jdl107 writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 9:20:23 PM

This is the second website where there was a "Forbidden" message in place of the video. Wtf is going. Although a couple refreshes and it worked.

*Sighs*... But anyway, I said f*ck it half way in. He's probably right, but I'm not going to sit here and take somebody nitpicking the f*ck out of a work of fiction seriously.
boogiel writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 9:44:13 PM

Who gives a sh*t. That guy need to get a life. Hell, he might dissect pornos as well.
John1017 writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 10:11:27 PM

I agree with this, it was confusing, but you just have to ignore it and enjoy it as a movie,, the good thing is that Nolan has gotten better with each movie. The only real error I think in the chase scene is when they pass the burning road block, it shows this huge gap where they could have gone through instead of going down to the tunnel.
PHURBY1984 writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 10:13:42 PM

Rather than just watching and enjoying sh*t blowing up and a good movie, this guy picks thing out to point out flaws...I am guessing his a lonely ass fat guy who's never had a girl touch his penis...
tib20011 writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 10:32:27 PM

Considering Nolan's "continuity errors" (it's called a style) have been here since Batman Begins, this is quite a pathetic video.
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 10:37:21 PM

f*ck that
http://youtu.be/RFZrzg62Zj0
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 10:37:59 PM

This guy has the gayest voice. Halfway through you can hear him gargling on some c*ck.
encoreyourface writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 10:58:12 PM

this guys needs to stop nitpicking. seriously I'd like to see him do some video editing. also since he's the only one to ever bring it up i'm assuming no one (including myself) give a sh*t.
rabid writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 11:31:04 PM

what a loser. I kept watching assuming he'd drop at least one valid point.
technoreaper writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 11:32:21 PM

Is this a joke? I will bet that 100% of moviegoers, with the exception of this loser, never noticed any of this. I don't even understand what the problem was. Why was he so upset about the shots of the SWAT guy and Harvey in the truck? What was there to complain about? This guy needs to find a real job. How did this story even get on this site? This is disappointing, file this under "No One Cares!"
SACdaddy writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 11:53:14 PM

To the average fan this may seem like nitpicking but to the filmmaking (editing) community this is far more significant. Especially since this film was up for countless awards in such technical departments (and cost so f*cking much to make). Imagine being an editor watching this, seeing all the mistakes, and then hearing it was nominated for a major editing award. That would piss me off. Even worse is the effect it could have on future filmmakers out there. It could breed lazy editing throughout the industry and could ventually lower the bar far enough for the average audience to actually start noticing. I know yall love Nolan (sh*t I do too so far) but its nice to know that no one is perfect and that there's always room for improvement. That's how the product evolves for better or worse, and I for one always want BETTER. This guy is criticizing first level editing techniques not the entertainment value of the film. Its called "constructive criticism" and is by no means unfairly judgemental.
stevepoots writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 11:56:26 PM

This guy is watching movies wrong.
DJCutz87 writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 11:56:40 PM

Hey Dumb F**K... If u ever been to Chicago and drove on Wacker Drive you would know that the video is correct. This guy is the biggest hater.
stevepoots writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 11:57:07 PM

I didn't notice any of that sh*t.
nope.com writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 12:00:53 AM

I vouch that most of the people already knew this from just reading the forums... it took this guy 3 years to figure it out?
What's up with the laziness?
Ranger writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 12:39:33 AM

What a few of you have already said...

It must be nice for this tit to have the luxury to sit back and pick his ass and movies apart.

Nolan had deadlines. Maybe this arse would like to swap his net worth for what Nolan makes in a month.

f*cking douche-bag.
Ranger writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 12:41:29 AM

Maybe the guy should spend more time anal-izing why his dad c*ms in his bum sooner than he'd like.

gimple writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 1:31:37 AM

Laugh and call him names all you want, but as sacdaddy said this is very relevant to anyone who is interested in filmmaking. I wouldn't be surprised if this guy was a film editing teacher at some university and made this video for a class or something.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 2:34:58 AM

Dang! No vid.
JakeVermont writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 3:56:27 AM

@SACdaddy: Yes you are right thats true, from a technical point of view it may have it's flaws... BUT what counts in the end for the average audience is the experience movies deliver, and TDK delivered!!! And I'm sure you could find such mistakes in almost every movie out there cuz coordinating big action sequences is really complex I think plus they dont shoot it shot by shot one after another right? so if you would plan this through with all the details you would need MUCH more time and time is money... seriously 99% of the people who watched TDK didnt notice these things did anyone of you :D
Wallace writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 5:23:55 AM

@SAC: agreed.
Taco writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 5:38:36 AM

@ Sac
Agree with you. I am a film editor and he was right on the technical side. A few cuts here and there would have made the scene flow alot smoother. There where very basic editing errors made which is sad considering the production value.
PaulX7 writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 6:14:42 AM

Agree with Sacdaddy. I like Nolan's films too, and found TDK very good. But that proves us that he's no God, and there's still room for improvement, even for him.
Damon242 writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 8:23:25 AM

It's edited in a way so that you wouldn't know this.

That's the point of the editor.
lariva1juan writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 10:01:21 AM

You are just jealous that Christopher Nolan made a masterpiece.... u think great directors don't make mistakes?? get a life!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 10:07:40 AM

Masterpiece?!! f*ck off. It was an above average movie, over-rated on so many levels. Batman Begins was much better, the last third of TDK felt like a completely different movie, big mistake bringing in Harvey Dent. Heath Ledgers performance was the only one worth watching. Kurosawas Rashomon was a masterpiece, Kubrick's Clockwork Orange was a masterpiece. TDK was just a really good comic book film that where people like you don't have to think too much and wanna see explosions and fighting.
Ranger writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 10:16:01 AM

Box office take sways many judges into giving awards, just as the nickle and dime budget movie will garner favor with the underdog-rooting hippie judge. People can win tech. awards easier when their work is flawed and the movie makes huge bank. Plus I go back to this dink had years to pick this apart... Nolan had a real world schedule to follow. Given enough time anyone can find flaws in everything.

Even God (George Burns) felt he make the avocado pit too big.
SeWerin writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 11:01:57 AM

This was very educational
technoreaper writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 1:40:36 PM

This movie was made for the average person, not for movie editors. Even then, I bet many editors are scratching their heads at this video. It seems like the rantings of a crazy person. I didn't see anything that honestly struck me as a valid point or a mistake. If you want to point out a mistake that really does mess a movie up, look at that Braveheart battle scene in which the Scots are shown in one cut holding their spears up before they actually were commanded to hold them up. That's something that is noticeable in repeat viewings. This stuff in the Dark Knight isn't. I don't even understand what this guy's problem with the movie is. He is crazy.
NowhereGuy writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 5:37:42 PM

File this under "Who gives a f*ck"
GuynamedLloyd writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 6:28:03 PM

I startedto watch it, but the guy need a fricken life. You want mistakes in the movie? Ok, after questioning the Joker, Batman say he is going after Rachel. Gordon says he and his men are going after Dent. So cut to the next scene and Batman is rescuing Dent while Gordon see Rachel getting blown up. Yet, nobody, nobody ever points this sh*t out.
technoreaper writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 7:30:10 PM

@Guynamedfloyd, the Joker played a trick on Batman, I believe. He thought Rachel was at the address he chose. It turned out to be Dent, but that was part of his master plan to corrupt him.
MarshallErikson writes:
on September 14th, 2011 at 9:49:20 PM

When I slowed down this slowed down critique of The Dark Knight, I was able to point out over a hundred instances of "douchiness"
trickofthehand writes:
on September 16th, 2011 at 3:21:57 PM

To everyone complaining about this video, you are retarded. This is not relevant to you, and the narrator says so right off the bat, but as a filmmaker myself this is HIGHLY relevant to me. This is not a dissection of the film, this is merely highlighting the numerous film errors which are extremely relevant to ALL filmmakers.

The fact that this video points out is that Nolan is a great filmmaker, but still inexperienced in shooting action sequences.

At Tib20011: continuity errors are NOT style. These are basic filmmaking errors and if you compare this to the action sequences in Inception you can clearly see that this is NOT a 'style'; but merely a series of mistakes. You have zero idea of what you're talking about.
BurmaShave writes:
on September 20th, 2011 at 12:47:15 AM

This guy (this douchebag) is wahhhhh wahhhh about The Dark Knight not being a more conventional presentation. The disorientation he keeps complaining about is precisely what makes the sequence so effective. Nolan isn't perfect (he still isn't very good at fight scenes), but this is just ridiculous. I got chills again watching this scene even with this retard trying to chop & screw it while he whines.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:53:17 PM

Wow, How'd I miss this one??

I tried to tell you stupid Nolan fanboys...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved