WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Contagion" Finally Knocks "The Help" From Top Spot

Posted: September 11th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Contagion" Finally Knocks "The Help" From Top SpotSubmit Comment
Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" dominated the box office this weekend with a $23 million debut and finally beating "The Help," which stayed in first place for four weeks.

"Contagion" has a 82% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes and cost $60 million to make. A $23 million start means its on its way to make a profit. "A wonderful director, a compelling storyline and a great marketing campaign and release date delivered a terrific result," said Warner Bros.

"The Help" ended up in second place with another $8.7 million for a domestic total of $137 million. The drama cost only $25 million to make.

The MMA film "Warrior," starring Tom Hardy and Joel Edgerton, took third spot with $5.6 million, which is a few million lower than expected. The $25 million movie will have a difficult time making its money back. But since it opened in roughly half the theaters than "Contagion," there is plenty of room for improvement. "We're focusing on what lies ahead," said Lionsgate.

The other wide release of the weekend was the Adam Sandler-produced "Bucky Larson: Born to the a Star," starring Nick Swardson. The comedy opened in 1,500 theaters, but grossed only $1.5 million on a $10 million budget, landing in 15th place. It is now officially a failure. Even Kevin Hart's "Laugh at my Pain" beat "Bucky Larson" and it opened in only 97 theaters.

Click here to read our "Contagion" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on September 11th, 2011 at 9:09:14 PM

Kate Winslet mustv showed sum boob,that'll teach Emma Stone to not get naked
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 11th, 2011 at 9:34:10 PM

Thank f*ck something knocked "The Help" off the top spot and at least it was a good film too.

I think "The Warrior" will some staying power and will eventually make alot of money but mainly from DVD sales.

"Bucky Larson" quite literally sucks balls.
oklahomaer writes:
on September 11th, 2011 at 9:51:15 PM

Goddamn it Andy Whitfield died and people like Lindsay Lohan are still alive.That is some bullsh*t.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 11th, 2011 at 10:24:43 PM

RIP Bucky Larson and that actor who i dont know his name and I can care less about.If Norm Macdonald and Chris Kattan were casted I would of watched it.

But still Conan is the FLop of the Summer
bandolero999 writes:
on September 11th, 2011 at 10:28:50 PM

I cant wait for Abduction to come out is gonna kick so much ass.Taylot Lautner is Van Damme and Statham with a little bit of Seagal all into one.f*ck YEA
ADTR918 writes:
on September 11th, 2011 at 10:36:01 PM

started my day good with football..ends with hearing Sparacus is dead. GODDAMN THIS DAY STRAIGHT TO HELL. R.I.P. Andy Whitfield, you will truly be missed.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 11th, 2011 at 11:13:42 PM

I cant help but think of Team America everytime I see Matt Damon.
Frank_Castle writes:
on September 11th, 2011 at 11:33:23 PM

MATT DAMON......... MATT DAMON!!!
Frank_Castle writes:
on September 11th, 2011 at 11:35:19 PM

I didnt know Steven Sodenberg directed this. Cant wait to see Haywire. It'll probably be Steven's second best movie next to Solaris.
secondbest writes:
on September 12th, 2011 at 12:12:30 AM

I would've seen Contagion if my friend hadn't been stubborn. She insisted we go see Bucky Larson. We later compromised on Our Idiot Brother, which was actually not so bad.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on September 12th, 2011 at 12:27:01 AM

RIP Andy Whitfield
Eben1277 writes:
on September 12th, 2011 at 12:42:54 AM

If Bucky Larson is half as funny as Grandma's Boy it is good. I will see it this week.
TheProphetMuhammed writes:
on September 12th, 2011 at 1:30:09 AM

Andy Whitfield just died! GET A MOVE ON, WP!!!
jdl107 writes:
on September 12th, 2011 at 2:06:38 AM

I haven't even seen one television ad for this movie, not even a trailer (I'm really not joking) and it opened at number one?

Well I'll be damned.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 12th, 2011 at 10:52:57 AM

I'm liking this new trend, good films with good ideas making money. Is this is a new wave? Is cinema being slowly resuscitated by a sudden surge in intelligence. Or are we just waiting for another Transformers? Viva la resistance!
Avirex writes:
on September 12th, 2011 at 2:14:37 PM

I avoid outbreak films like the plague!

(See what I did there?)
mustardayonnaise writes:
on September 12th, 2011 at 2:50:47 PM

bandolero is totally spot on about taylor lautner, abduction is going to be so good. he is a born action star, a martial arts genius and sooooo dreamy to boot. i love all the twilight movies, they're soo good because of him. and he's a really good actor too. all you haters out there can shut up. I LUV TAYLOR! HEARTS!

(how was my 12-year-old girl impression?)
trailertrash writes:
on September 12th, 2011 at 4:05:56 PM

^Unnerving, Very Unnerving !!
acreshakers writes:
on September 12th, 2011 at 5:24:44 PM

Damn!! Did anybody see Warrior??
The Derp Knight writes:
on September 13th, 2011 at 7:15:27 PM

Alex stop saying The Help was first for four weeks, it was only first for three weeks. Goodness.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved