WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mel Gibson Making Film About a Jewish Hero, Jewish Groups are Not Happy

Posted: September 9th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mel Gibson Making Film About a Jewish Hero, Jewish Groups are Not HappySubmit Comment
Mel Gibson is now out of movie jail, and all he had to do was make a film about a Jewish hero. That hero is Judah Maccabbe, who is considered one of the great warriors in Jewish history.

For now, Gibson is planning to produce with Warner Bros. When Joe Eszterhas (Basic Instinct) finishes writing the script, Gibson will decide if he wants to act in the film or direct it.

His involvement is already upsetting Jewish groups. The Anti-Defamation League said that if Gibson makes the movie "we'll lose. He'll write his own history. I would prefer to leave the fate of Jewish history and Hollywood to Steven Spielberg. The Maccabees are our sacred history."

Maccabbee led a popular revolt against the Seleucid king Antiochus IV, seizing Jerusalem and reconsecrating the Temple, an event remembered by the Jewish holiday of Hanukkah.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
LastActionHero writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 6:49:50 AM

All religious groups can go to "hell".
beepboop writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 7:08:45 AM

I hope he stars as Maccabee himself.
PaulX7 writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 7:42:45 AM

Yes, f*ck every religious group. If we had to listen to them, no movies would ever be made
Johnnyb writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 8:10:55 AM

I wonder why Gibson hates a lot the jewish community since most of them control Hollywood.... Why¿? Somebody explain me that, please!!!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 8:30:32 AM

who cares WP when you've got real quality news like this:

http://www.joblo.com/movie-news/cool-videos-the-lost-footage-of-barbra-streisand-in-temple-of-doom

Low quality footage but the transcript is priceless. Especially the last line.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 8:37:56 AM

I love how many religious holidays celebrate death and destruction.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 8:40:14 AM

because the jews run hollywood and have untalented pieces of sh*t like Jonah Hill,Jason Biggs.Adien Brody is an exception.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 8:41:48 AM

hey JohnyB since you like the Diceman heres a good impersonation:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ftMb7wLrqsw
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 8:48:09 AM

Mel Gibson Making Film About a Jewish Hero= BOSS
SACdaddy writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 8:56:07 AM

Off topic (again): I love how almost every critic that's seen Warrior has loved it and championed it as one of the best movies of the year so far, except of course Dustin Putzman. 2/10 really?!?! There was advanced screening here in Austin for all the local media and fanatics in which they said the theater was filled with grown men (and women) CRYING through half of the film and cheering uncontrollably through the rest. Any film that can get a response like that from a room full of critics and film buffs will get my money at the box office. Who knows, maybe the subject matter of the film was too manly for Putz. Anyway, he's a 2/10 critic as far as I'm concerned.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 9:19:24 AM

I wouldnt even watch Warrior with Tom Hardy for boredom and I hate that MMA sh*t.that type of movie has been redone like a 100 times since the 80s.

No Retreat No Surrender and American Shaolin for me.If you want to see a fighting tournament movie with good fighting watch Fatal Contact with Wu Jing:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-xLQgNb2zI&feature=related
bandolero999 writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 9:34:09 AM

Basic Instinct had a SCRIPT? GTFO I thought it was softcore porn with a high budget and Michael Douglas
Taco writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 9:54:24 AM

@ Sacdaddy,
He also gave Captain America a 1-10. I've never Understood this guy or why WP uses his posts. He seem to always be in the minority. This guy gave Smerfs a 7-10 for god sakes! Wtf!
Ranger writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 10:04:00 AM

Hey religious groups...

I RAPE YOUR DAUGHTERS BETTER THAN YOU DO!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 10:04:49 AM

@SAC - how about you never mention 'The Putz' again and I buy you a beer?
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 10:20:25 AM

@SAC & Ranger

Can't say I'm surprised... but I won't poke that bees nest.

First rounds on me fellas.
Kurskij writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 10:24:14 AM

Like a BOSS.

"I would prefer to leave the fate of Jewish history and Hollywood to Steven Spielberg"

Look who the f*ck is talking. About history.

pornfly writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 10:31:57 AM

JOHNNYB finally got a friggin picture ova hear, OH!! paid to see Quick Change and snuck in to see Ford Fairlane
pornfly writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 10:34:32 AM

Mel should cast his father; he thinks the Holocaust is false propoganda, i never heard of this Macabee and how he's linked to Hanukkah
pornfly writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 10:42:01 AM

I'M BRINGIN DA WEED.BANDO dont say any movies outloud here they might remake them NRNS was the sh*t cant wait to see VanDamme in Expendables2!
Johnnyb writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 11:17:33 AM

@ pornfly and bandolero999:

I didn´t know which pic to put, man. It cost me a lot time to find the real deal of my avatar. And since I like some jokes of Andrew, why don´t give a try to this one. C ya around!!!!!
prowler writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 11:18:44 AM

@beepboop hahahahahaha that was awesome. mee to :D
anyway who the f*ck care what some groups think. I bet all money I have, mel would do three times better work than spielberg. I'm just sorry he look so old. jews depleted him lol :)
prowler writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 11:19:42 AM

me too.
prowler writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 11:28:41 AM

bandolero999@ biggs isn't jew, he's wop.
johnnyb@ I don't he really hates them. they do own hollywood for the most part, but mel won't suck up to them just because.
j-man writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 11:29:17 AM

'oven dodgers'
bandolero999 writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 11:41:11 AM

Dude biggs has that huge Jewish nose like adrien brody,I'm talking About the kid that f*cked the pie.he plays a Jewish producer in Dewey Cox and a Jewish kid in this woody Allen movie with Christina Ricci.

Franco is a pretty boy Wop
TheGreatpersuader writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 12:53:26 PM

^^cough cough not a real cop cough cough
bluemeenie writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 1:15:31 PM

Mel you're drunk again aren't you...
He should actually visit Jeruselem and try to find this temple first....(psst..it's not there-along with all records/lineage-it was all totally destroyed in 70 CE)
Typical Gentile mistake to make...
prowler writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 2:06:44 PM

@bandolero999 he sure look like one, but he's part italian. check it on net. as for franco I agree. lol
DeVries writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 3:11:00 PM

f*ck off, jews.
trailertrash writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 3:17:45 PM

Mel Nose a good story when he hears one ...
BlackoutRuse writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 3:54:04 PM

Almost every time something is written about Mel Gibson or someone Jewish, I'm pretty disgusted at the things people write in here. It would be one thing if any of it was remotely clever, but mostly it is very ignorant and flat out in bad taste.
trailertrash writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 4:01:23 PM

"Very ignorant and flat out in bad taste"

Thats the 2 main reasons why we all like commenting on WP

thomas deadison writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 4:02:15 PM

Good God, what a simpleton's headline.
trailertrash writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 4:03:42 PM

Thanks for joining up and expressing a very ignorant opinion, You should fit in just fine !
ray gunn writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 4:44:22 PM

hitler wasn't all that bad, give him his jews
pornfly writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 4:55:45 PM

TT nose vut hes tawkin about
OneTime writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 5:19:57 PM

if he can make this in the same breath like braveheart/passion/apocalypto im in.
technoreaper writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 5:44:47 PM

I don't blame them!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 9:29:34 PM

His involvement is already upsetting Jewish groups. The Anti-Defamation League said that if Gibson makes the movie "we'll lose. He'll write his own history. I would prefer to leave the fate of Jewish history and Hollywood to Steven Spielberg. The Maccabees are our sacred history."


So the Jewish people want a nice glossy version of the truth, instead of possibly a very good film that is much more raw and hard hitting.

As South Park have said many times....

"Mel Gibson may be as mad a hatter but dammit he knows story structure"
Ranger writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 11:11:46 PM

@DeVries... lol.
zyban03 writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 11:17:18 PM

Go Mel! I bet you only get half bag of popcorn for full price.
billofill writes:
on September 10th, 2011 at 1:13:56 AM

MANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN DIDJEW KNOW JESUS WAS A JEWWWWWWW? BLOWS YER MIND DOESNT IT?.........
BlackoutRuse writes:
on September 10th, 2011 at 1:50:51 PM

@Dave

You seem to think it's ridiculous an ANTI-DEFAMATION League would not want a story about Jewish history to be told by a person who is a well known anti-Semite. Totally blows your mind doesn't it?
Frank_Castle writes:
on September 10th, 2011 at 3:09:02 PM

Mel should cast Chuck Norris or any other 80s action hero to play Macabre
swoooop writes:
on September 10th, 2011 at 5:12:01 PM

I guess they are affraid Gibson actually will make an awsom movie about this hero, and that they cant hate him anymore after that.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 11th, 2011 at 6:52:40 AM

Andrew Dice Clay is a Jew from Brooklyn.
Ranger writes:
on September 12th, 2011 at 11:15:35 AM

Are Jews EVER happy?

(excluding when they get nose jobs).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved