WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Summer 2011 Had Biggest Earnings and Lowest Attendance

Posted: September 7th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Summer 2011 Had Biggest Earnings and Lowest AttendanceSubmit Comment
The biggest indicator of how well the film industry is doing is how much movies gross during the summer, which is between the first weekend in May to Labor Day and usually accounts for 40% of the total annual revenue.

During this year's summer, Hollywood grossed $4.38 billion, which is an increase of 1% over last year and an overall record. That's great news for the film industry, but it turns out that only 543 million people went to the theaters, which is the lowest number since the summer of 1997.

Higher ticket prices, especially for the 18 films released in 3D, drove the increase in revenue and likely was the main factor for the drop in attendance.

Looking toward next year, this pattern will likely continue. Next summer fans can expect "The Amazing Spider-Man," "The Dark Knight Rises," and "The Avengers," among many other blockbusters. So expect another record-breaking year in revenue and likely an even bigger drop in attendance.

Source: NY Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kurskij writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 8:57:31 PM

It was expected. 3D craze and low economy.

Plus international markets are growing at enormous speed.

So it's all cool in HWood.
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 9:21:53 PM

That's because 90% of the movies I saw this summer... were a let down.

http://youtu.be/tojt8QhKrrk
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 9:23:57 PM

Also Alex,
If you or anyone else could dig up a little more research, I'm curious to see what movies were out in the summer of 1997 to make it the lowest attendance since this? Just curious...
bandolero999 writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 9:41:14 PM

Movies released in 97 don't know if it was in summer were Men in Black,Austin Powers,Batman
and Robin,Amistad,Bean,Beverly Hills Ninja,Booty Call,Boogie Nights,Alien Ressurection,Air Force One,As good as it gets
triggax writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 9:42:15 PM

@mosby

1 Men in Black

2 The Lost World

3 Air Force One

4 My Best Friend's Wedding

5 Face/off LOADS OF CASH

6 Batman & Robin

7 George of the Jungle

8 Contact

9 Con Air

10 Hercules

11 Conspiracy Theory

12 The Fifth Element

13 Spawn

14 Speed 2 : Cruise Control

15 G.I. Jane

16 Cop Land

17 Nothing to Lose

18 Money Talks

19 Addicted To Love

20 Picture Perfect

21 Event Horizon

22 Fathers' Day

23 Out to Sea

24 Mimic

25 Air Bud

26 Good Burger

27 Gone Fishin'

28 How To Be A Player

29 Trial and Error

30 Leave It to Beaver


Every one in the top ten here made over 100 million domestically.

The first film on this list to make less than 60 million was Spawn, and it just goes down from there.

Id like to see the actual statistics to be honest.. With a summer like that, you'd think attendance would be well up.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 9:45:46 PM

Spawn kicked ass and it had a watered down pg13 rating but better than ghost rider and daredevil
Kurskij writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 9:46:14 PM

@Ted Mosby

I'm one tired mofo right now, but i'll try. Correct me if I'm wrong.

May-August 1997:

The Lost World: Jurassic Park

Men in Black

Air Force One

My Best Friend's Wedding

Face/Off

Batman and Robin

George of the Jungle

Con Air

Contact

Hercules

Conspiracy Theory

The Fifth Element

Spawn

Breakdown

Speed 2: Cruise Control

G.I. Jane

The Full Monty

Cop Land

Nothing to Lose
triggax writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 9:48:28 PM

Haha!

Ask and you shall receive. Here at WP.
Kurskij writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 9:49:00 PM

sh*t, Trig was faster AND better. Damn, you, black people.

btw Con Air and Face/Off came out 3 weeks apart.

Summer 1997 a.k.a. "A Very Nic Cage Summer"
Crazyhorse writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 10:06:01 PM

Well yea attendance was down and dollars were up

I mean it cost a house payment now to take two people to another Hollywood remake
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 11:23:24 PM

Ch-Yea no sh*t that's why I go to the 10 am $4 dollar showings.
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 11:47:01 PM

@Band - you may be happy to know then that Todd didn't like how Spawn turned out either.
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 11:49:49 PM

@CH - $50 (ok... here come the f*cking Avatar jokes!!!) for a bud and I to attend Avatar (I know, I know: 'SERVES YOU RIGHT RANGER... HA HA HA!') in 3D at IMAX with MINIMAL snacks from the concession stand. I didn't mind the experience. But was surprised because I could debate I'm probably one of the biggest fans of Green Lantern and even that didn't get me into a theater (yeah... I hate people in theaters THAT MUCH!).
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 12:04:30 AM

@Bandolero @Trig @Kurskij

haha I feel the love guys regardless of the repeats but damn... summer of 97 was awesome for movies regardless of the "attendance" issue. I for one saw many movies with various people...

I remember seeing:

Men in Black
The Lost World (LET DOWN)
Face/Off which I STILL love it today lol I'M CASTOR TROY!
Batman & Robin... sadly
Con Air is a CLASSIC "I got a present for yah, lil dirty though"
Spawn I'm mean come that sh*t was insane back in the day!
Good Burger yes I VIVIDLY remember seeing this movie DUDE
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 12:06:28 AM

f*ck YOU 3D!!!!

Damn! Didn't realise summer of '97 was utter sh*t!
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 12:10:17 AM

another sh*tty summer for movies but not as bad as last summer. Next summer looks bad.....the Spiderman remake looks sh*tty
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 12:20:37 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEolK7XXSec
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 12:57:14 AM

@Ranger

I always wished he said "put the bunny back in the CAGE" lol

but I do think this sums up Con Air perfectly

http://youtu.be/nyzEwKarPaY
sri_91 writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 2:06:53 AM

Enough $$$ to go to kfc, all is well!
Rambo writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 2:51:18 AM

I consider Con Air one of the best movies of all time.
Damon242 writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 3:36:27 AM

'The Dark Knight Rises' won't be in 3D though...
technoreaper writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 3:42:45 AM

The math doesn't work.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 5:18:03 AM

good riddance, try again hollywood, take the 3d prices out and then you have your real profit, match that with 1997's earnings and i think you'll find '97 brought in more money...hey at least there's no more harry potter movies...and don't get me wrong i like watching movies on the big screen, but people with a combination of bad movies kills my experience...this is why i don't go to the theater so often or when it's dead...also i pretty much wait for a $1 dvd rental at the redbox, or simply wait for it on HBO or something...i've chosen pot over bad movies so many times, it made it enjoyable losing time with pot than it was losing time on a bad movie...only on some occasions does pot make sh*tty movies better...and i mean that in the best possible pineapple express kind of way
nawtnt writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 6:23:48 AM

I think the reason why not lot of people went to cinemas this summer was because of the recession and the 3D effects which costs more than the actual movie to not watch without 3D.

Hopefully next summer would be a record breaking summer now that The Amazing Spiderman, The Dark Knight Rises and The Avengers are being release.

Those movies are my most anticipated movies so I hope each one turns out to be great.
maddasahatter writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 7:01:56 AM

@ Bandolera "Spawn kicked ass" f*ck you, you f*cking god damned son of a bitch, f*cking security guard reject. Spawn sucked, go back to east L.A. mofo!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 7:15:18 AM

Coming from a guy with a c*ck in his hand says it all Cracka.I'm from Florida, LA is on the other side you inbred f*ck.bet ya you got your ass beat on East LA PUTA
bandolero999 writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 7:19:37 AM

Oh your a lesbo you probably have hair on your face like them bearded ladies in the circus.Chaz Bono
nuttie30xx writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 11:25:30 AM

wasnt ID4 released in 97 or was it 96 i loved that movie cant wait to see the sequels
maddasahatter writes:
on September 9th, 2011 at 11:36:47 PM

Yes Band you are correct I'm a raging lesbo with facial hair. LOL f*cking security guards lol you totally made my night - I guess I should thank you like ur mum thanks me in the morning - oh yah i went to the mum jokes cuz thats how deviants like me role mofo!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved