WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: "X-Men: First Class" Screwed Up "X-Men" Timeline

Posted: September 7th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: "X-Men: First Class" Screwed Up "X-Men" TimelineSubmit Comment
"X-Men: First Class" is set to hit stores on DVD and Blu-ray on September 9th. And today we have a video, courtesy of IGN, that examines how the film blends into the "X-Men" franchise.

According to the video, director Matthew Vaughn basically ignored the timeline already established in the first three "X-Men" films and the "Wolverine" spin-off. Lots of characters that have already met, suddenly don't know each other. And Professor X keeps hoping in and out of his wheelchair when you add "First Class" into the timeline.

Watch the video below and let us know what other strange things you noticed when watching "X-Men: First Class."

Video:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read our "X-Men: First Class" review.

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Preditorian writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 7:19:35 AM

Priceless
MarshallErikson writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 7:35:24 AM

I don't consider it as part of the same continuity. I'm sure when they do First Class Part 2, its going to further delve into its own cannon.
Supersweetguy writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 7:46:23 AM

As much as i would consider the confusing chronological order of the x-men, its just a movie. I hope as X-men first class part 2 comes along, the whole confusing would be fixed.
PaulX7 writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 7:47:47 AM

Hahaha. Excellent!!! Spot on! The first 2 X-Men were great, the 3rd one was ok, Wolverine was sh*t, and First Class was good. i think the problem is that Wolverine messed up everything in terms of timing and credibility, and First Class was able to find a consistent scenario while respecting the original trilogy, hence the inconsistencies in First Class, that and the stupid wish to add useless cameos all over the place - like the Wolverine's "go f*ck yourselves" scene...
PaulX7 writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 7:49:00 AM

typo: I meant "[...] and First Class was NOT able to find a consistent scenario while respecting [...]"
gobolog writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 7:51:45 AM

I don't really think Wolverine encountering Xavier and Erik before X men was really a goof. He didn't even look at their faces and he couldn't care less about what they had to say so I doubt he would have even remembered their names after forty years.
CroMan1aC writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 7:51:52 AM

As I understood while reading the comic First Class, which the movie was loosely based on, it is a different timeline than the movies. It is never said directly, but there are some inconsistencies that don't belong to Earth-616. But I may be wrong
gobolog writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 7:53:16 AM

Also does it really matter if the X men origins: Wolverine timeline or Last Stand timeline is ignored?
bandolero999 writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 8:04:25 AM

You can thank Brett Ratner and the prick who wrote the screenplay for Last Stand.
UhOhZday writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 8:49:27 AM

To my understanding First Class is set in an alternate reality; like how "Ultimate _____" comics are not the normal reality too.
bspence writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 8:51:01 AM

umm this took place in the 50s, origins takes place in the 70s. wolverine couldve had a whole conversation w/ them and wouldnt remember it now. i think, but am not positive, they are making first class 2 in the 60s leading up to the events of origins in the 70s. then first class 3 will take the characters from origins (cyclops, white queen, storm, etc) and tie them into the actual xmen and lead up to the first xmen movie. then wolverine 2 will take place at the same time as first class 3 and obviously follow wolverine to japan and possibly back to america where he is introduced in xmen. so sabertooth could show up sometime in first class 3 i guess. then not sure were deadpool will fall in line at but it doesnt really matter much unless they include a sh*t ton of cameos as well. then afterwards they'll go back and do the apocalypse storyline in xmen 4 and 5.
bspence writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 8:57:58 AM

considering its a prequel, not some alternate reality sh*t (come on, this is movies/hollywood...not comics/storytellers). literally the only thing they f*cked up that i caught was beast. in X2 hes seen on a tv screen as hank mccoy, not beast, but in first class he becomes beast and then in X3 he is still beast. they could explain it or say its some kinda antidote or a device similar to nightcrawlers in xmen evolution that makes appear as a human. or they could explain it some other way. people really freakout over nothing damn.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 9:04:31 AM

Don't you just love the movies?

Considering Bryan Singer was a producer on this you think he would have noticed this.
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 10:47:29 AM

I think Bryan notices the $'s.
pornfly writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 10:49:57 AM

Cant watch vid on my cell but did they even get into how Cyclops lil brother ended up in this rushed storyline of a movie??The Wolverine scene killed(he DID fight in the civil war),i wish i wouldnt have read the spoiler on here,but thats on me
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 11:00:14 AM

it left out how Havok is cyclops brother in the comics.
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 11:06:52 AM

I should clarify

it ALSO left out how cyclops and havok are brothers from all the x-men movies...

it( this little animation) left out a bunch of sh*t from the comics.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 11:22:22 AM

Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 10:47:29 AM

I think Bryan notices the $'s.


"I think Bryan didn't notice the script as he was looking at the a$$e$"

There you go ranger, corrected it for you.
billofill writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 11:32:46 AM

But wolverine didnt know Xavier cause of the lame magic amnesia bullet, and Xavier walks then gets crippled then walks again in the comics multiple times. And lets not forget they never called her Emma Frost in Wolverine just Emma and she only had the Diamond power her sister had the Psychic Powers so technically that wasnt Emma Frost just a play on her. Why am i defending that piece of sh*t?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 11:36:28 AM

"keeps hoping in and out of his wheelchair" I think you mean HOPPING, although you have to hope to hop right?

All grammar nazi-ism aside I don't count Xmen 3 or Origins as X Men films so a lot of this doesn't matter.
Stapes writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 11:45:00 AM

please, every single marvel adaptation with the exception of Rami's first Spiderman has screwed up it's source timeline. This is nothing new and noone gives a rat's.
rabid writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 12:32:03 PM

Even if it were in the same continuity as the other X films, there aren't any problems that couldn't be explained with comic book storylines.
Weapon X clones Emma Frost in the comics, so that could have been a clone we saw in Wolverine. Beast uses an image inducer to appear human in the comics, which could be why he didn't have blue fur in X2. Sabretooth not remembering Wolverine? Weapon X recaptured and brainwashed him in the comics, so there's an explanation.

They can hardly keep the timelines of the comic consistant, so I don't see what the big deal about the movie is. it was very entertaining, and anyone trying to match comic book timelines to the real world is just giving themselves a headache for nothing.
rabid writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 12:35:27 PM

Raimi screwed Spider-Man's timeline pretty bad. He completely removed Pete's first and most famous girlfriend from the equation, and he only had him wrestling for one match (in the modern comic continuity he wrestles for probably 6 months or so and becomes famous as a result, with his face on tv commercials and tshirts before he ever even fights crime).
MrHeck writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 12:57:42 PM

Bu-hu.
Who the f*ck cares about continuity anyway?
First Class was better and more entertaining than all of the other x-men flicks combined.
Big_Daddy writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 1:01:52 PM

^ everyone cares about time lines including you. Can you imagine a STAR TREK without a time line?

oh wait
Rambo writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 1:21:26 PM

that movie should have focused only on magneto and his nazi hunt.the first 20 min of the movie were awesome,I don't understand why did they have to suddenly introduce us to all those dumb young characters that didn't contribute sh*t to the main plot.
Blank x25 writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 2:57:40 PM

@PaulX7

X-Men 3:Last Stand was not "okay".

It was downright god awful terrible. That movie almost as bad as origins. Almost...
DexterMorgan writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 3:37:10 PM

its a reboot/prequel just like star trek and rise of the planet of the apes so no sh*t it'll ignore the timeline of the last x-men films
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 3:45:12 PM

Who gives a f*ck? Did you enjoy the god damned movie or not?
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 4:33:27 PM

i liked first class, but still not happy that hollywood puts years between x-men 3 and x-men 4...they should have made the 4th film long before wolverine or first class...they should have saved all this prequel sh*t for later...but now when they try to come back for x-men 4, actors will have to be replaced, ian mckellen and patrick stewart aren't going to live much longer, parts will have to be recast...exactly what i didn't want to see in x-men, actors replaced...but more than i hate seeing actors replaced is when they change the story compared to the comics...i mean look at this, back before x-men was ever a movie, it still had a huge fan base because of the cartoon...then the movies come out, and after all that, there's more and more fans than ever before, YET they still can't get it right? honestly what would it hurt to stay true to the source material now? there's so many fans now, it would hurt the income to not please the fans now...give them what they want to see...first class was better than wolverine i'll give it that...but the timelines are still messed up and so are the characters and their stories...i'm game for a reboot/remake...but if they keep getting it wrong when there's absolutely NO REASON given the technology and the huge fan base there is now, i'd almost be willing to do everything it takes to stop the next x-men film from existing....if they do x-men 4 and bring in apocalypse and/or mr. sinister, they better do it right otherwise what's the point?...the cartoon got it all right in one shot...why can't the films do the same?...why did we only see a sentinal's head and in simulation form, in x-men 3?...it would've been cooler to see the sentinal's body fighting, and THEN killed...stop denying the fans what they want to see hollywood, and stop half assing it in the films...don't give us only some of what we want to see, the fans DEMAND the full package...keep half assing it and eventually people will hate x-men, well at least the movie adaptations anyway...still hate how i like the cartoon better than the movies...just like in spiderman, i watched the episode where venom gets on peter before eddie brock, before spiderman 3 came out...and then when the previews for spiderman 3 came out, that episode played in my head, i was already envisioning how it would look in live action...they had some of it right but ultimately i was disappointed that they changed stuff again...so it's not too hard to see how the cartoon of x-men would look in live action, problem is hollywood never wants to stay true to source material because they think average movie goers won't like or understand it...umm, that's a risk you should be willing to take with fans and it's always a good result if you STAY TRUE TO SOURCE MATERIAL...but there's always that factor of casting the wrong people (just like topher grace for venom) and/or the way it looks even though it's following the source material...will somebody with money and power tell these things to marvel and hollywood's studios?
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 4:37:43 PM

and marvel and hollywood's studios need to hear that comment, over and over and over to the point where they hate hearing it and finally do something about it to make sure it gets done right...i wanted to enjoy the films, but not following the comics killed my interest, no matter how good the effects were
Batmanfan writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 4:45:51 PM

It's because this was a reboot not a prequel it follows a different canon for that reason
masKritic writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 5:32:59 PM

If they continue first class, i could care less about the original trilogy. And Wolverine was absolute trash so I don't care at all what timeline got f*cked up there.
Damon242 writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 7:54:32 PM

Gotta love IGN...
JohnZee writes:
on September 7th, 2011 at 8:43:45 PM

I think they abandoned any semblance of continuity between these movies a long time ago. I think maybe just maybe if Bryan Singer had continued to helm the main franchise as a director this might not have happened. As Brett Ratner and Matthew Vaughn aren't that good at telling an overall concise story.

They are of the school of thought that says the importance is on creating interesting scene after interesting scene, just enough to help the audience's interest enough to sit through the entire movie. But as far as a movie that has a tight and coherent storyline from beginning to end, that's just a little beyond both of their abilities to do consistently.

And I doubt that besides that first scene in the original X-Men movie I doubt there is anything in any of the earlier X-Men franchise movies that he paid any attention to whatsoever...

...And if he did pay attention, looking at this video, it was while he wasn't snorting long thick lines of cocaine off of his co-writer's aka "Tits" McGee's bodacious ta-tas.
telur writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 1:31:59 AM

if Hugh Jackman doen't appear at FIRST CLASS, that movie can be totally reboot

btw, for all series, X3 The Last Stand had a best result at box office
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 8th, 2011 at 5:32:11 AM

x3 only brought in the most numbers out of the franchise because of x1 and 2 ramping up to what was next...every x-men fan out there wanted to see it BEFORE everyone found it to be a let down...and then we saw what was next finally and it brings chaos, but it did bring in numbers too...feels good to know directors get hurt when word of mouth spreads in a negative tone

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved