WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Matthew McConaughey Considering Marvel and DC Superhero Films
May 17th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos Show Crossbones, The Falcon and Scarlet Witch
May 16th, 2015
Disney Planning "Star Wars" and Marvel TV Channels
May 16th, 2015
Kate Beckinsale Confirmed for "Underworld 5," to Begin Shooting in October
May 15th, 2015
Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson to Return for "Shanghai Dawn"
May 15th, 2015
New Trailer for "Minions" Arrives Online
May 15th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Karl Urban Won't Show His Face in "Judge Dredd" Remake

Posted: September 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Karl Urban WonSubmit Comment
Total Film magazine caught up with Karl Urban to speak about the upcoming "Judge Dredd" remake, called "Dredd." The actor believes that the Sylvester Stallone film made a crucial mistake, something that the new version will correct.

"If anyone is familiar with Dredd, over the years there are many times when he removes his helmet but you never fully see his face," said Urban. "This was a construct by the creators because he represents a faceless system of justice and law."

He continued: "I say this hypothetically. If I went to a movie called 'Judge Dredd' and the lead actor at one point took of his helmet so we could see his full face, I would just puke in my popcorn because that's not Dredd. He is mysterious and enigmatic. We're doing it right. It's gonna be harder, grittier and above all faithful to the comic. It's gonna kick ass."

"Dredd" is directed by Pete Travis (Vantage Point) from a script by Alex Garland (28 Days Later). It is set to hit theaters on September 21st, 2012.

Source: Total Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Stapes writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 10:47:26 PM

Even better idea... don't show the movie either.
whoever writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:08:03 PM

If this works I want a Zenith movie!
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:23:32 PM

Stapes-my thought exactly.
pornfly writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:30:42 PM

Soo no diane lane in tights??
bandolero999 writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:34:21 PM

I wanna see something new so i'm down to watch this movie.The Stallone version is more of a comedy
boogiel writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:54:07 AM

Smart move! He's keeping the helmet on so no one recognises him in case the movie flop.
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:55:32 AM

In case the movie flops?

boogiel writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:02:15 AM

@Ranger

That's right, sir. Damn the grammer! LOL!
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:04:46 AM

lol.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:42:30 AM

@boogiel

lol

@ranger

correcting someone is just bad manners...lol




Good that he is keeping his helmet on...but I hear it is more hygenic to be circamsized
Rambo writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:45:34 AM

in case the movie gets a negative buzz,cgi helmets will be added the the remaining of the cast so none of their faces could be recognized by the viewer.
telur writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 3:00:50 AM

it is not karl urban behind the helmet, but Chow Yun Fat!!!
Rambo writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 3:57:26 AM

^damn you telur!!!what about spoiler alert?
Avirex writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 4:31:57 AM

You need someone with a photogenic defined chin for roles like this and unfortunately Karl doesn't have a chin and compensates by putting on a retarded scowl. It doesn't work.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 8:39:41 AM

In other words, KU is calling Stallone's version a piece of sh*t?

Guess Karl won't be in any of the Expendables movies.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 9:19:45 AM

I'm with Karl on this. I don't ever remember seeing Dredd's face in the comic. But I couldn't see the studios paying Stallone's typical $20mill rate (back in the day) without showing off that famous Italian mug. Urban comes cheap and is virtually unknown to the non Trekkie masses so his faceless Dredd seems more possible.

I'm way more interested in seeing what accent they'll give Dredd in this. Urban doesn't do a completely terrible American accent but it does always come off as very robotic.
SaulSilver writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 10:57:33 AM

As it should be. Dredd isnt supposed to take his helmet off anyway. But, They should have Olivia Thirlby wearing ONLY the helmet for the whole movie. Then I may be looking forward to this.
rabid writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 11:44:09 AM

This is very good news.
sleepingshane writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:01:40 PM

rogue trooper needs a film.... or slain.
sleepingshane writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:02:59 PM

and judge death better turn up or i will be well pissed off.
nawtnt writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:26:14 PM

Karl Urban is somehow right, I mean if in the comic books show that Dredd doesn't take off his helmet and never shows his face then the new movie should stay true to the comic books.

When I was a kid, I loved the Stallone movie version then as I got older, I realise how bad the movie was to true fans of the comic books.

Still I think the Stallone movie version was great in it's own right.

I hope Karl Urban does a great job as Judge Dredd.
technoreaper writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 7:43:05 PM

I was never a fan of the comics, but I didn't see what was so bad about the original movie? I don't really see what hiding Dredd's face will accomplish. If anything, this might be so weird, it'll backfire. Don't get me wrong, I'll see this movie because I kind of liked the first movie, but I could care less about the whole mask thing.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 10:00:30 PM

Yeahhh, got it right, Karl. Thatīs suppose to be the Dredd character not Stalloneīs face. Is the same with the Joker origins in TDK, you really donīt where this guy come from..... Definitely is gonna be an awesome movie this one!!!!!!
LastActionHero writes:
on September 6th, 2011 at 6:48:39 AM

Although I do like it better when they try to remake bombs instead of good movies, nothing I've seen about this looks like it will have a different result.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on September 6th, 2011 at 5:09:11 PM

I certainly could not care less about this and I feel its my duty to let everyone know.

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin

Will Poulter is Pennywise in Stephen King's "It" Remake
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved