WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Karl Urban Won't Show His Face in "Judge Dredd" Remake

Posted: September 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Karl Urban WonSubmit Comment
Total Film magazine caught up with Karl Urban to speak about the upcoming "Judge Dredd" remake, called "Dredd." The actor believes that the Sylvester Stallone film made a crucial mistake, something that the new version will correct.

"If anyone is familiar with Dredd, over the years there are many times when he removes his helmet but you never fully see his face," said Urban. "This was a construct by the creators because he represents a faceless system of justice and law."

He continued: "I say this hypothetically. If I went to a movie called 'Judge Dredd' and the lead actor at one point took of his helmet so we could see his full face, I would just puke in my popcorn because that's not Dredd. He is mysterious and enigmatic. We're doing it right. It's gonna be harder, grittier and above all faithful to the comic. It's gonna kick ass."

"Dredd" is directed by Pete Travis (Vantage Point) from a script by Alex Garland (28 Days Later). It is set to hit theaters on September 21st, 2012.

Source: Total Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Stapes writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 10:47:26 PM

Even better idea... don't show the movie either.
whoever writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:08:03 PM

If this works I want a Zenith movie!
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:23:32 PM

Stapes-my thought exactly.
pornfly writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:30:42 PM

Soo no diane lane in tights??
bandolero999 writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:34:21 PM

I wanna see something new so i'm down to watch this movie.The Stallone version is more of a comedy
boogiel writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:54:07 AM

Smart move! He's keeping the helmet on so no one recognises him in case the movie flop.
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:55:32 AM

In case the movie flops?

boogiel writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:02:15 AM

@Ranger

That's right, sir. Damn the grammer! LOL!
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:04:46 AM

lol.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:42:30 AM

@boogiel

lol

@ranger

correcting someone is just bad manners...lol




Good that he is keeping his helmet on...but I hear it is more hygenic to be circamsized
Rambo writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:45:34 AM

in case the movie gets a negative buzz,cgi helmets will be added the the remaining of the cast so none of their faces could be recognized by the viewer.
telur writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 3:00:50 AM

it is not karl urban behind the helmet, but Chow Yun Fat!!!
Rambo writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 3:57:26 AM

^damn you telur!!!what about spoiler alert?
Avirex writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 4:31:57 AM

You need someone with a photogenic defined chin for roles like this and unfortunately Karl doesn't have a chin and compensates by putting on a retarded scowl. It doesn't work.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 8:39:41 AM

In other words, KU is calling Stallone's version a piece of sh*t?

Guess Karl won't be in any of the Expendables movies.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 9:19:45 AM

I'm with Karl on this. I don't ever remember seeing Dredd's face in the comic. But I couldn't see the studios paying Stallone's typical $20mill rate (back in the day) without showing off that famous Italian mug. Urban comes cheap and is virtually unknown to the non Trekkie masses so his faceless Dredd seems more possible.

I'm way more interested in seeing what accent they'll give Dredd in this. Urban doesn't do a completely terrible American accent but it does always come off as very robotic.
SaulSilver writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 10:57:33 AM

As it should be. Dredd isnt supposed to take his helmet off anyway. But, They should have Olivia Thirlby wearing ONLY the helmet for the whole movie. Then I may be looking forward to this.
rabid writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 11:44:09 AM

This is very good news.
sleepingshane writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:01:40 PM

rogue trooper needs a film.... or slain.
sleepingshane writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:02:59 PM

and judge death better turn up or i will be well pissed off.
nawtnt writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:26:14 PM

Karl Urban is somehow right, I mean if in the comic books show that Dredd doesn't take off his helmet and never shows his face then the new movie should stay true to the comic books.

When I was a kid, I loved the Stallone movie version then as I got older, I realise how bad the movie was to true fans of the comic books.

Still I think the Stallone movie version was great in it's own right.

I hope Karl Urban does a great job as Judge Dredd.
technoreaper writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 7:43:05 PM

I was never a fan of the comics, but I didn't see what was so bad about the original movie? I don't really see what hiding Dredd's face will accomplish. If anything, this might be so weird, it'll backfire. Don't get me wrong, I'll see this movie because I kind of liked the first movie, but I could care less about the whole mask thing.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 10:00:30 PM

Yeahhh, got it right, Karl. Thatīs suppose to be the Dredd character not Stalloneīs face. Is the same with the Joker origins in TDK, you really donīt where this guy come from..... Definitely is gonna be an awesome movie this one!!!!!!
LastActionHero writes:
on September 6th, 2011 at 6:48:39 AM

Although I do like it better when they try to remake bombs instead of good movies, nothing I've seen about this looks like it will have a different result.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on September 6th, 2011 at 5:09:11 PM

I certainly could not care less about this and I feel its my duty to let everyone know.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved