WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Arnold Schwarzenegger in "Terminator Genisys"
Oct 31st, 2014
Trailer for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 31st, 2014
Seth Rogen is Steve Wozniak in Steve Jobs Biopic, Starring Christian Bale
Oct 31st, 2014
First Look at "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Oct 31st, 2014
"Terminator Genisys" Storyboards Tease a Massive Battle Scene
Oct 31st, 2014
New Trailer for "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Arrives Online
Oct 31st, 2014
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Karl Urban Won't Show His Face in "Judge Dredd" Remake

Posted: September 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Karl Urban WonSubmit Comment
Total Film magazine caught up with Karl Urban to speak about the upcoming "Judge Dredd" remake, called "Dredd." The actor believes that the Sylvester Stallone film made a crucial mistake, something that the new version will correct.

"If anyone is familiar with Dredd, over the years there are many times when he removes his helmet but you never fully see his face," said Urban. "This was a construct by the creators because he represents a faceless system of justice and law."

He continued: "I say this hypothetically. If I went to a movie called 'Judge Dredd' and the lead actor at one point took of his helmet so we could see his full face, I would just puke in my popcorn because that's not Dredd. He is mysterious and enigmatic. We're doing it right. It's gonna be harder, grittier and above all faithful to the comic. It's gonna kick ass."

"Dredd" is directed by Pete Travis (Vantage Point) from a script by Alex Garland (28 Days Later). It is set to hit theaters on September 21st, 2012.

Source: Total Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Stapes writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 10:47:26 PM

Even better idea... don't show the movie either.
whoever writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:08:03 PM

If this works I want a Zenith movie!
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:23:32 PM

Stapes-my thought exactly.
pornfly writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:30:42 PM

Soo no diane lane in tights??
bandolero999 writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:34:21 PM

I wanna see something new so i'm down to watch this movie.The Stallone version is more of a comedy
boogiel writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:54:07 AM

Smart move! He's keeping the helmet on so no one recognises him in case the movie flop.
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:55:32 AM

In case the movie flops?

boogiel writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:02:15 AM

@Ranger

That's right, sir. Damn the grammer! LOL!
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:04:46 AM

lol.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:42:30 AM

@boogiel

lol

@ranger

correcting someone is just bad manners...lol




Good that he is keeping his helmet on...but I hear it is more hygenic to be circamsized
Rambo writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:45:34 AM

in case the movie gets a negative buzz,cgi helmets will be added the the remaining of the cast so none of their faces could be recognized by the viewer.
telur writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 3:00:50 AM

it is not karl urban behind the helmet, but Chow Yun Fat!!!
Rambo writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 3:57:26 AM

^damn you telur!!!what about spoiler alert?
Avirex writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 4:31:57 AM

You need someone with a photogenic defined chin for roles like this and unfortunately Karl doesn't have a chin and compensates by putting on a retarded scowl. It doesn't work.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 8:39:41 AM

In other words, KU is calling Stallone's version a piece of sh*t?

Guess Karl won't be in any of the Expendables movies.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 9:19:45 AM

I'm with Karl on this. I don't ever remember seeing Dredd's face in the comic. But I couldn't see the studios paying Stallone's typical $20mill rate (back in the day) without showing off that famous Italian mug. Urban comes cheap and is virtually unknown to the non Trekkie masses so his faceless Dredd seems more possible.

I'm way more interested in seeing what accent they'll give Dredd in this. Urban doesn't do a completely terrible American accent but it does always come off as very robotic.
SaulSilver writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 10:57:33 AM

As it should be. Dredd isnt supposed to take his helmet off anyway. But, They should have Olivia Thirlby wearing ONLY the helmet for the whole movie. Then I may be looking forward to this.
rabid writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 11:44:09 AM

This is very good news.
sleepingshane writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:01:40 PM

rogue trooper needs a film.... or slain.
sleepingshane writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:02:59 PM

and judge death better turn up or i will be well pissed off.
nawtnt writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:26:14 PM

Karl Urban is somehow right, I mean if in the comic books show that Dredd doesn't take off his helmet and never shows his face then the new movie should stay true to the comic books.

When I was a kid, I loved the Stallone movie version then as I got older, I realise how bad the movie was to true fans of the comic books.

Still I think the Stallone movie version was great in it's own right.

I hope Karl Urban does a great job as Judge Dredd.
technoreaper writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 7:43:05 PM

I was never a fan of the comics, but I didn't see what was so bad about the original movie? I don't really see what hiding Dredd's face will accomplish. If anything, this might be so weird, it'll backfire. Don't get me wrong, I'll see this movie because I kind of liked the first movie, but I could care less about the whole mask thing.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 10:00:30 PM

Yeahhh, got it right, Karl. Thatīs suppose to be the Dredd character not Stalloneīs face. Is the same with the Joker origins in TDK, you really donīt where this guy come from..... Definitely is gonna be an awesome movie this one!!!!!!
LastActionHero writes:
on September 6th, 2011 at 6:48:39 AM

Although I do like it better when they try to remake bombs instead of good movies, nothing I've seen about this looks like it will have a different result.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on September 6th, 2011 at 5:09:11 PM

I certainly could not care less about this and I feel its my duty to let everyone know.

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved