WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Karl Urban Won't Show His Face in "Judge Dredd" Remake

Posted: September 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Karl Urban WonSubmit Comment
Total Film magazine caught up with Karl Urban to speak about the upcoming "Judge Dredd" remake, called "Dredd." The actor believes that the Sylvester Stallone film made a crucial mistake, something that the new version will correct.

"If anyone is familiar with Dredd, over the years there are many times when he removes his helmet but you never fully see his face," said Urban. "This was a construct by the creators because he represents a faceless system of justice and law."

He continued: "I say this hypothetically. If I went to a movie called 'Judge Dredd' and the lead actor at one point took of his helmet so we could see his full face, I would just puke in my popcorn because that's not Dredd. He is mysterious and enigmatic. We're doing it right. It's gonna be harder, grittier and above all faithful to the comic. It's gonna kick ass."

"Dredd" is directed by Pete Travis (Vantage Point) from a script by Alex Garland (28 Days Later). It is set to hit theaters on September 21st, 2012.

Source: Total Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Stapes writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 10:47:26 PM

Even better idea... don't show the movie either.
whoever writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:08:03 PM

If this works I want a Zenith movie!
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:23:32 PM

Stapes-my thought exactly.
pornfly writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:30:42 PM

Soo no diane lane in tights??
bandolero999 writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:34:21 PM

I wanna see something new so i'm down to watch this movie.The Stallone version is more of a comedy
boogiel writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:54:07 AM

Smart move! He's keeping the helmet on so no one recognises him in case the movie flop.
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:55:32 AM

In case the movie flops?

boogiel writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:02:15 AM

@Ranger

That's right, sir. Damn the grammer! LOL!
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:04:46 AM

lol.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:42:30 AM

@boogiel

lol

@ranger

correcting someone is just bad manners...lol




Good that he is keeping his helmet on...but I hear it is more hygenic to be circamsized
Rambo writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:45:34 AM

in case the movie gets a negative buzz,cgi helmets will be added the the remaining of the cast so none of their faces could be recognized by the viewer.
telur writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 3:00:50 AM

it is not karl urban behind the helmet, but Chow Yun Fat!!!
Rambo writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 3:57:26 AM

^damn you telur!!!what about spoiler alert?
Avirex writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 4:31:57 AM

You need someone with a photogenic defined chin for roles like this and unfortunately Karl doesn't have a chin and compensates by putting on a retarded scowl. It doesn't work.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 8:39:41 AM

In other words, KU is calling Stallone's version a piece of sh*t?

Guess Karl won't be in any of the Expendables movies.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 9:19:45 AM

I'm with Karl on this. I don't ever remember seeing Dredd's face in the comic. But I couldn't see the studios paying Stallone's typical $20mill rate (back in the day) without showing off that famous Italian mug. Urban comes cheap and is virtually unknown to the non Trekkie masses so his faceless Dredd seems more possible.

I'm way more interested in seeing what accent they'll give Dredd in this. Urban doesn't do a completely terrible American accent but it does always come off as very robotic.
SaulSilver writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 10:57:33 AM

As it should be. Dredd isnt supposed to take his helmet off anyway. But, They should have Olivia Thirlby wearing ONLY the helmet for the whole movie. Then I may be looking forward to this.
rabid writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 11:44:09 AM

This is very good news.
sleepingshane writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:01:40 PM

rogue trooper needs a film.... or slain.
sleepingshane writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:02:59 PM

and judge death better turn up or i will be well pissed off.
nawtnt writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:26:14 PM

Karl Urban is somehow right, I mean if in the comic books show that Dredd doesn't take off his helmet and never shows his face then the new movie should stay true to the comic books.

When I was a kid, I loved the Stallone movie version then as I got older, I realise how bad the movie was to true fans of the comic books.

Still I think the Stallone movie version was great in it's own right.

I hope Karl Urban does a great job as Judge Dredd.
technoreaper writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 7:43:05 PM

I was never a fan of the comics, but I didn't see what was so bad about the original movie? I don't really see what hiding Dredd's face will accomplish. If anything, this might be so weird, it'll backfire. Don't get me wrong, I'll see this movie because I kind of liked the first movie, but I could care less about the whole mask thing.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 10:00:30 PM

Yeahhh, got it right, Karl. Thatīs suppose to be the Dredd character not Stalloneīs face. Is the same with the Joker origins in TDK, you really donīt where this guy come from..... Definitely is gonna be an awesome movie this one!!!!!!
LastActionHero writes:
on September 6th, 2011 at 6:48:39 AM

Although I do like it better when they try to remake bombs instead of good movies, nothing I've seen about this looks like it will have a different result.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on September 6th, 2011 at 5:09:11 PM

I certainly could not care less about this and I feel its my duty to let everyone know.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved