WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Karl Urban Won't Show His Face in "Judge Dredd" Remake

Posted: September 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Karl Urban WonSubmit Comment
Total Film magazine caught up with Karl Urban to speak about the upcoming "Judge Dredd" remake, called "Dredd." The actor believes that the Sylvester Stallone film made a crucial mistake, something that the new version will correct.

"If anyone is familiar with Dredd, over the years there are many times when he removes his helmet but you never fully see his face," said Urban. "This was a construct by the creators because he represents a faceless system of justice and law."

He continued: "I say this hypothetically. If I went to a movie called 'Judge Dredd' and the lead actor at one point took of his helmet so we could see his full face, I would just puke in my popcorn because that's not Dredd. He is mysterious and enigmatic. We're doing it right. It's gonna be harder, grittier and above all faithful to the comic. It's gonna kick ass."

"Dredd" is directed by Pete Travis (Vantage Point) from a script by Alex Garland (28 Days Later). It is set to hit theaters on September 21st, 2012.

Source: Total Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Stapes writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 10:47:26 PM

Even better idea... don't show the movie either.
whoever writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:08:03 PM

If this works I want a Zenith movie!
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:23:32 PM

Stapes-my thought exactly.
pornfly writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:30:42 PM

Soo no diane lane in tights??
bandolero999 writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:34:21 PM

I wanna see something new so i'm down to watch this movie.The Stallone version is more of a comedy
boogiel writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:54:07 AM

Smart move! He's keeping the helmet on so no one recognises him in case the movie flop.
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:55:32 AM

In case the movie flops?

boogiel writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:02:15 AM

@Ranger

That's right, sir. Damn the grammer! LOL!
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:04:46 AM

lol.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:42:30 AM

@boogiel

lol

@ranger

correcting someone is just bad manners...lol




Good that he is keeping his helmet on...but I hear it is more hygenic to be circamsized
Rambo writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 1:45:34 AM

in case the movie gets a negative buzz,cgi helmets will be added the the remaining of the cast so none of their faces could be recognized by the viewer.
telur writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 3:00:50 AM

it is not karl urban behind the helmet, but Chow Yun Fat!!!
Rambo writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 3:57:26 AM

^damn you telur!!!what about spoiler alert?
Avirex writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 4:31:57 AM

You need someone with a photogenic defined chin for roles like this and unfortunately Karl doesn't have a chin and compensates by putting on a retarded scowl. It doesn't work.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 8:39:41 AM

In other words, KU is calling Stallone's version a piece of sh*t?

Guess Karl won't be in any of the Expendables movies.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 9:19:45 AM

I'm with Karl on this. I don't ever remember seeing Dredd's face in the comic. But I couldn't see the studios paying Stallone's typical $20mill rate (back in the day) without showing off that famous Italian mug. Urban comes cheap and is virtually unknown to the non Trekkie masses so his faceless Dredd seems more possible.

I'm way more interested in seeing what accent they'll give Dredd in this. Urban doesn't do a completely terrible American accent but it does always come off as very robotic.
SaulSilver writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 10:57:33 AM

As it should be. Dredd isnt supposed to take his helmet off anyway. But, They should have Olivia Thirlby wearing ONLY the helmet for the whole movie. Then I may be looking forward to this.
rabid writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 11:44:09 AM

This is very good news.
sleepingshane writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:01:40 PM

rogue trooper needs a film.... or slain.
sleepingshane writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:02:59 PM

and judge death better turn up or i will be well pissed off.
nawtnt writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 12:26:14 PM

Karl Urban is somehow right, I mean if in the comic books show that Dredd doesn't take off his helmet and never shows his face then the new movie should stay true to the comic books.

When I was a kid, I loved the Stallone movie version then as I got older, I realise how bad the movie was to true fans of the comic books.

Still I think the Stallone movie version was great in it's own right.

I hope Karl Urban does a great job as Judge Dredd.
technoreaper writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 7:43:05 PM

I was never a fan of the comics, but I didn't see what was so bad about the original movie? I don't really see what hiding Dredd's face will accomplish. If anything, this might be so weird, it'll backfire. Don't get me wrong, I'll see this movie because I kind of liked the first movie, but I could care less about the whole mask thing.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 5th, 2011 at 10:00:30 PM

Yeahhh, got it right, Karl. Thatīs suppose to be the Dredd character not Stalloneīs face. Is the same with the Joker origins in TDK, you really donīt where this guy come from..... Definitely is gonna be an awesome movie this one!!!!!!
LastActionHero writes:
on September 6th, 2011 at 6:48:39 AM

Although I do like it better when they try to remake bombs instead of good movies, nothing I've seen about this looks like it will have a different result.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on September 6th, 2011 at 5:09:11 PM

I certainly could not care less about this and I feel its my duty to let everyone know.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details

Samuel L. Jackson Doesn't Know Much About SHIELD or Nick Fury, Will Return for "Agents of SHIELD"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved