WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

NASA Says "Apollo 18" is NOT a Documentary

Posted: September 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
NASA Says "Apollo 18" is NOT a DocumentarySubmit Comment
"Apollo 18" is hitting theaters this weekend and will show footage from a secret space mission that's apparently so terrifying that US decided to never return to the moon. In the early stages of production, NASA got involved, but then quickly backed away from the project. And now, the agency is warning moviegoers that the film is not a documentary.

"'Apollo 18' is not a documentary," NASA told LA Times. "The film is a work of fiction, and we always knew that. We were minimally involved with this picture. We never even saw a rough cut. The idea of portraying the Apollo 18 mission as authentic is simply a marketing ploy. Perhaps a bit of a 'Blair Witch Project' strategy to generate hype."

NASA often gets involved with Hollywood films in order to promote the space program that actually came to an end this year. The agency is more than happy to provide expertise and insight, but when it comes to conspiracy theories, NASA stays as far away as possible. The agency recently named "2012" the most absurd sci-fi film of 2011.

Click here to read more about "Apollo 18."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 6:17:54 AM

Come on don't be so modest NASA..your agency definitely knows a thing or two about filming fake astronauts on a fake moon and presenting it as authentic footage.
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 6:40:04 AM

This is fake? And all this time I thought it was real.
nawtnt writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 6:41:58 AM

Why did NASA say that Apollo 18 is not a doc*mentary?

Well, are the audience that stupid in the head.

Of course it is a fiction movie but besides NASA still holds secrets that could neither change mankind or maybe the whole world.

Area 51 might be a secret place but the scary thing about knowing the place is that what happened in there.

Still if Apollo 18 bombs which I hope it doesn't, NASA would haven't to worse about anything because no one went to it.
Taco writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 6:43:01 AM

Not a doc*mentary? Umm common sense there NASA! Yes you are smart but we are not that stupid!
pH0u57 writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 7:26:58 AM

Really NASA?! It's fake?! Awww...
Preditorian writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 7:44:16 AM

A person is smart enough to know this is fake. The people on the other hand are stupid and need to be told this information.
sleepingshane writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 7:45:23 AM

its fake like the original moon landings.stanley kubrick was asked to fake it and he left clues all over the shining. its weird i know but probably true check it out.
trailertrash writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 7:59:58 AM

^never heard that one before ??!!
Dre-EL writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 10:05:14 AM

Well duhhh
pornfly writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 10:14:19 AM

They shouldv said yes, that night of the living part2 said it was real...right......right?! oh God.....hello?
brigulon13 writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 10:21:44 AM

2012 came out in 2011? Maybe, this is why NASA program is ultimately a failure. They are 2 years behind.
rabid writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 10:22:08 AM

I actually know a couple of morons that believe the moon landing was faked. Apparently people are that dumb and need to be reminded that this is fiction.
Crazyhorse writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 10:24:58 AM

wow no moon landing huh

I guess when I watched the Shuttle launch in FL live that was all staged too.

I tell you that has to be the best special effects Ive ever seen. Shuttle smoke and all
President Baltar writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 10:42:58 AM

Guess we'll have to find out whether '2012' was absurd or not.
With regard to this article: duh
bluemeenie writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 10:55:45 AM

The people that think this movie is real- cannot read the NASA disclaimer.
Kurskij writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 10:59:13 AM

I'm not sure what to say...

Brazilian girls are hot.

BadChadB33 writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 11:08:47 AM

No sh*t,
Stapes writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 12:08:09 PM

wow, NASA is really starting to look desperate trying to keep it's knowledge of E.T.'s secret.
Frank_Castle writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 12:53:29 PM

@ nawtnt

"Well, are the audience that stupid in the head."

apparently they are.. like you have no idea... alot of people, I mean alot of people, really believed that Paranormal Activity was real. Ignoring the obvious that showed on screen that clearly reveals its fiction.
encoreyourface writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 1:07:04 PM

where there rumors it was a doc*mentary? of course it's f*cking fiction!
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 2:03:49 PM

Encore-lol
nawtnt writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 4:46:59 PM

F You, Frank Castle.

What I was trying to explain is that there is no reason why NASA should say Apollo 18 isn't a doc*mentary when no one asked if the movie or the footage was real.
DeVries writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 5:21:15 PM

Oh really ? And what about Apollo 11...
Johnnyb writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 10:09:34 PM

So, NASA were more incredulous than meż? What an ass this people can be. I wonder if they really believe the ID4 was really happening.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 2nd, 2011 at 10:26:44 PM

Lol WP, NASA hasn't ended its space program. They would have to change their name to NAA if they did. It just ended using the current shuttle that's actually long overdue for an upgrade. They're still developing the new shuttle, and in the meantime American astronauts will be hitching rides with the Russians to space. Also, the space program consists of way more than just the shuttle. We've got a lot invested in the Space Station and countless satellite and telescope projects like Hubble that are taking us deeper into the universe than we've ever imagined. The space progam definitely still exists though. WP should know better.


Belmondo Bogart writes:
on September 3rd, 2011 at 12:49:06 PM

Oh really now? I could have sworn that it was a doc*mentary, although it has a screenplay written by Brian Miller. Yeesh. Are people that gullible?
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on September 3rd, 2011 at 12:49:06 PM

Oh really now? I could have sworn that it was a doc*mentary, although it has a screenplay written by Brian Miller. Yeesh. Are people that gullible?
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on September 3rd, 2011 at 12:50:14 PM

"The agency is more than happy..."

Every time I hear or read "more than happy" I think of the George Carlin bit.

"They had to put Dave in the mental home because he was... more than happy..."
gotsghostrider writes:
on September 4th, 2011 at 11:03:21 PM

I thought that guy looked too much like the dude from Alphas...dumbasses...thanks for pointing out the obvious

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved