WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Josh Brolin is the Lead in "Oldboy" Remake

Posted: August 30th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Josh Brolin is the Lead in "Oldboy" RemakeSubmit Comment
Josh Brolin has been cast as the lead in "Oldboy," a remake of the 2003 Korean revenge thriller from director Park Chan-wook. The new movie will be directed by Spike Lee from a script by Mark Protosevich. The plan is to begin filming early next year.

At one point, Will Smith was rumored for the role, but that was when Steven Spielberg was on board to helm. Now, the search begins for the villain and the girl in the film. A few days ago, Christian Bale's name was mentioned for the villain role.

The story centers on a man who is kidnapped on his daughter's birthday and held for 15 years in solitary confinement without explanation. He is eventually released and sets out on a path to take revenge on those who destroyed his life.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 3:58:30 AM

NOW it might not be half bad, Insideman was cool, remember when josh beat his hotass wife cuz she was gettin all the work now its him starring his beard in everything,he said himself he thought Jonah Hex sucked so he might pull this off. i still watch No Country for Old Men almost every time its on
Rambo writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 4:00:02 AM

nice pick.too bad spike lee is directing.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 4:03:39 AM

Good actor. Too bad it's all for nothing, because you CAN'T remake Oldboy.
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 4:20:31 AM

I like when people admit they haven't seen Oldboy... makes for a good laugh to yourself.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 4:41:57 AM

I hven't seen "Oldboy" myself but not keen on this at all. Just know American version is going ot be all pretty and sh*t.
PaulX7 writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 7:07:36 AM

Josh Brolin is a good actor, but Oldboy cannot be remade. I hope Hollywood will lose lots of money on this projet (like Conan), so that maybe they'll learn that doing remakes of good movies is useless. If they don't learn, never mind, so long as they lose money, I'll be happy bunny
bandolero999 writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 8:33:35 AM

I guess I'm the only one that likes Spike Lee's movies.especially Clockers,she hate me
Big_Daddy writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 8:38:27 AM

Make Thrashin' 2 you old f*ck!
Patrick Bateman writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 8:57:49 AM

you can't remake old boy period.
SeWerin writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 9:19:06 AM

Fail...it's still fail
nawtnt writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 9:56:30 AM

Great actor, Josh Brolin has come a long way from The Goonies.

I hope he does a great job as the main lead in the remake.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 10:13:52 AM

Still not seeing this.
mrstretch writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 10:31:22 AM

I bet they'll make it pg-13
jimatta writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 11:24:30 AM

Is Hollywood out of creative ideas???
why remake such a good film? it will never be as good as the original one because the film is all about the plot and when you know the plot the remake will be crap...
Kurskij writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 11:59:25 AM

It worked with internal affairs, so this might work. Brolin is a good choice.
Stapes writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 12:20:44 PM

I haven't seen Oldboy, but I know the storyline and it's overrated. Sick of all these pukes touting it like it's the best thing since God invented vagina. It's not, but everyone likes to talk about how awesome it is and pat themselves on the back for being able to name drop a Korean film. I'll bet this remake is a thousand times superior to the original.
hollafoadolla writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 1:04:09 PM

Spike Lee directing should tell you that it's gonna suck ass and contain massive amounts of references to racism even though there is no need for it. Yes, Inside Man was good but take a look at Miracle at St. Anna. Damn that sucked. Hollywood needs to take a step back and realize that remaking everything isn't sitting well with audiences.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 2:31:47 PM

spike lee gon' direct a white boy? sheeit.


LOL
struck21 writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 4:09:40 PM

Does Spike Lee know he isn't black? I can't imagine he does, should be interesting for day of shooting.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 4:17:15 PM

@bandolero: lol, funny how you drop the most N-bombs on the site (well now that Mink's gone) and yet you're a Spike Lee fan. Reminds me a lot of John Totorro's character in Do the Right Thing :-) No worries, I got your back on Spike. He's truly one of the last CREATIVE directors left. Lol, I say this in an article about another remake. Just drop a nuke on Hwood and put it out of its misery.
technoreaper writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 5:25:13 PM

Don't bother. Spike Lee, Oldboy remake, man, they are really trying to get the Razzie, aren't they?

Some things should stay in Korea, and this is one of them.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 5:27:34 PM

@Stapes ok what ever you say mate. well you haven't seen OldBoy so how would you know what it's like. Off what people have said? why don't you go see the movie before you make pretentious comments about how everybody else on here is wrong for liking a great movie.

Oh let me guess your one of these on the outside looking in kinda guys. The one who feels self important by critising the taste of the majority. yeah your such a rebel..

"pat themselves on the back for being able to name drop a Korean film"...

well believe it or not, but outside the English speaking world, other people make movies from different countries. shhhhh don't tell anyone. we don't want our secret getting out...

Actually I can drop name around 20 good Korean movies, around 50 Japanese ones, around 100 Chinese ones and 30 or so french films.

I guess I owe myself lot's of pats on the back....



bandolero999 writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 5:46:28 PM

I make fun of every ethnicity I believe there's no such thing as the perfect race.and I just care about rock music from classic to heavy metal I hate POP
bandolero999 writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 5:59:57 PM

Now that Spike Lee is on board and he is known for his controversy I am dying too see if he will surpass the Korean version.Really doubt it though the studios have bad habits for sugar coating movies like This one.

And I heard the Original manga is different from the Korean version
AYT BALL writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 6:09:27 PM

Will Josh have to "Black up" to be the lead in a spike lee film? That said, NO NEED to remake this, read the f*cking subtitles!
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 8:09:19 PM

Even though I like Spike, Chan-wook Park is probably my favorite writer/director (sorry Tarantino, Lynch, Lee, Woody, Kubrick, Nolan, and Coens) and I hate the idea of remaking a movie by a director who is very much alive. At least wait ten years (Yeah I'm talking to you Scorsese).

All that aside, I like the Lee/Brolin pairing for this film more than the Spielberg/Smith one. I have faith in Brolin, but it feels like a missed opportunity that Lee isn't reuniting with Edward Norton (Anyone and everyone who honestly believes that Lee hates white actors should watch 25th Hour. I can't recall a black actor having more than five minutes of screen time in that film.). If Christian Bale passes they better get Norton as the villain.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 8:19:38 PM

@Stapes I highly recommend Chan-wook Park's Vengeance Trilogy (Sympathy for Mr. Vengeance is my favorite film of all time). I am not trying to be pretentious or a snob. I use to get the biggest kick out of violence in films and no one delivers like the Koreans or Japanese. Check out any movie with the Tartan Asia Extreme label. They are a bunch of fun and creative horror,thriller, and action movies. I would not be surprised if we found out that Hollywood bought the rights to half of the films and currently have a fourth in production.
Stapes writes:
on August 30th, 2011 at 10:32:12 PM

I can't help it if I find an immediate aversion to most anything that is overwhelmingly popular, no more than you can help your butchery of the english language,Guy. Aren't you FROM the country invented the english language... I mean it's named after your bloody country, "mate."

@AA, I'll try and keep an open mind.
blinkbomber writes:
on August 31st, 2011 at 1:10:57 AM

calling Oldboy overwhelmingly popular sounds funny, considering a majority of Transformers 3 viewers probably have never seen. (not an insult, just a guess, albeit an accurate one)

i think people who like what everyone likes are the same as people who dislike what everyone likes, they just have a different type of superiority (or inferiority) complex or something.

i miss when people just liked what they thought was good (read: not cool, but entertaining) and disliked what they thought was bad. *sigh*

all that nonsense and word vomit being said, i enjoyed Oldboy more so for the way it was delivered, and not so for the way it can be summarized or simplified.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on August 31st, 2011 at 12:04:51 PM

"no more than you can help your butchery of the english language,Guy. Aren't you FROM the country invented the english language... I mean it's named after your bloody country, "mate."

I hate to break this to you Stapes, but what you have just wrote isn't a very good comeback for a Journalist. I honestly expected something better from you, maybe to retort with a little bit more creativity but you resorted to criticising my literary skills instead. You truly are a pathetic human being. On the subject of, “butchering” the English language you may want to take a look at your own language skills before commenting on others, specifically mine. However since you have corrected me using a truly primitive form of sarcasm totally devoid of a single decent witticism , I will try to be more constructive in my teachings in use of the English language regarding your errors in your previous statement. Here is what you should have wrote; while not correcting the word FROM as I understand you put it in all caps in some small attempt to patronise me.

"no more than you can help your butchery of the English language. Aren't you FROM the country that invented the English language... I mean it's named after your bloody country, "mate."

Let’s start, now to begin with this lesson I would like to point out that the word, “English” is always spelt beginning with a capital “E”, that is because it’s what we call a proper noun which always start with a capital letter. Moving on I would like to point out that your missing a word in the following sentence, I have filled in the gap for you with the word in question which is all in caps, “from the country THAT invented the English language”.

The last correction is to do with part of your last sentence. “I mean it's named after your bloody country, "mate.". Let’s analyse this shall we. Firstly, It’s not named after my country that makes no sense. If it were named after my country, my country would be called, English. Which to me sounds a little silly. My country is called England, The English and English are both the people and the language spoken here. I realise I’m over analysing but I just wanted to be clear in what I’m saying considering my last post was sheer “Butchery” of the English language.

Let me be clear, I and others on this site often use words very loosely. We also like to write in an extremely laid back manner, sometimes we use the wrong words, sometimes a spelling or typo may appear in our sentences. It’s because we care more about talking about the subject at hand than petty vindictiveness.

Maybe next time you can come back with a proper argument. “I can't help it if I find an immediate aversion to most anything that is overwhelmingly popular. That is just idiot to think like that. Watch a film then decided if it’s good or not, what the hell has it being popular or not got to do with it, nothing. Idiot.



travisbickle writes:
on August 31st, 2011 at 12:43:47 PM

I love Spike Lee and Josh Brolin, hence I'm a bit curious about this project, but god, I don't really see a good movie out of this... All those remakes are tiring and tiring...
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on August 31st, 2011 at 1:08:07 PM

@Stapes, I do realise There are a few mistakes still in my last, you uncouth moron.

I also notcied you placed great emphasis on the words, "bloody and "Mate", I take it your making fun of common british colloquialisms. In which case you have pretty much offended not just me but the majority of WP memebers.

Your a jerk, simple as that.


yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on August 31st, 2011 at 7:19:13 PM

Oldboy was over rated to being with. Remaking this is a complete waste of time money and talent. Broking should stay away far far away from this remake

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved