WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Help" Takes First Place as Hurricane Irene Hurts Box Office Results

Posted: August 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Help" Takes First Place as Hurricane Irene Hurts Box Office ResultsSubmit Comment
For the third week in a row "The Help" outperformed expectation and once again took first at the domestic box office, adding another $14 million to its $96 million total. The film cost only $25 million to make.

"Colombiana," starring Zoe Saldana (Avatar), had to settle for second place during its opening weekend. The revenge thriller grossed $10 million, which is lower than expected, but the film will likely bring most of its money in from overseas. The film cost $40 million to make.

Taking third place was Guillermo Del Toro's "Don't Be Afraid of the Dark," which took $8.7 million on a $25 million budget. While that's a poor performance, the film will end up being profitable.

The other wide release of the weekend was "Our Idiot Brother," starring Paul Rudd. The comedy opened to $6.6 million, which isn't very strong, but it cost only $5 million to make.

Experts believe that the domestic box office took a serious hit due to Hurricane Irene, which caused the closings of many New York tristate area theaters. "Our Idiot Brother" took the biggest hit, since the comedy's top theater on Friday was New York's Union Square that closed on Saturday.

Meanwhile, "Conan the Barbarian" was only able to add another $3.1 million to its total and will likely fall out of the top ten by next week. The $90 million film has now grossed a disappointing $16 million domestically.

Click here to read our "The Help" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Stapes writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 10:34:45 PM

Wow, I think I'd rather sit through a hurricane than watch this movie.
RedAutumn writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 11:18:17 PM

well from where i live the hurricane wasn't that bad
pornfly writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 11:19:21 PM

Jim Carrey ordered a small popcorn and large butter, iwonder how old she was when he first started jerkin off to her
acreshakers writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 11:26:23 PM

@ Stapes ...I agree bring on the hurricane!! LOL And that goes for everyone of the new releases this week, Columbia??? =FAIL
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 11:47:25 PM

Just because it was a bit windy.

and

Conan....hahahahahahaha
Midnight_Toker writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 11:55:53 PM

Lot of white people I know saw The Help. I suspect it's cuz of the white guilt.
Rambo writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 12:21:44 AM

that hurricane was disappointing...If Michael Bay was in charge New York was a void by now.
Ranger writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 12:49:21 AM

Anyone that would miss a movie they wanted to see because of a hurricane is a p*ssy.
pornfly writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 2:23:09 AM

I missed a movie that i wanted to see to GET p*ssy during a hurricane
Ranger writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 2:39:42 AM

pornfly is my new hero!
Ranger writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 2:40:12 AM

THAT is how one gets 'er done!
BuuMonster writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:27:44 AM

I'm sure the reason no one saw those sh*tty new movies was because of the hurricane. I'm going to laugh when they make less next weekend.

And jesus how the hell is The Help doing so good? Am I in bizarro world. I think I just saw Lindsey Lohan preaching a sermon. *shakes head goes back to eating mushrooms*
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:54:36 AM

i thought drugs were bad, that was until hollywood became a remaking whore
bandolero999 writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 9:55:41 AM

I'm part Colombian and will never watch COlombiana. And the actress is Dominican so that's f*cking retarded.

Did watch planet of the apes and it was a great film recommend it and also is made a sh*tload of money deserves more sequels
hunter207 writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 2:23:13 PM

I know I'm probably gonna get gutted for this, but I enjoyed the Conan movie. Well all but the Pirates rip off scene complete with music
MrHeck writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:29:52 PM

I just don't get why people keep bringin up Idris Elba like it's a f*cking option.
I know the guy has the looks, but correct me if i'm wrong.
But isn't THOR and GHOSTRIDER also part of Marvel? maybe not on the same plane as Avengers, but at least, the same f*cking universe i suppose.
Using Evans as Cap was a bit of a stretch. I'm sure they're a bunch of other good black actors up for the part.
Y'all sound f*cking desperate.
MrHeck writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:30:44 PM

oops, wrong thread
technoreaper writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:43:55 PM

The Help is poverty porn.
movie89 writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:45:35 PM

I really liked "The Help". I thought it was a great movie don't all hate me just my thoughts
trailertrash writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 4:12:20 PM

No hate here movie89, We appreciate your opinion.
Rambo writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 5:16:08 PM

^and most likely most people who are bashing it haven't seen it yet.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 6:29:02 PM

I will watch Conan but when it comes out.I rather watch Conan than some piece of sh*t Pirates of the Caribbean movie
bandolero999 writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 6:29:38 PM

On dvd or netflix

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved