WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Trailer is Here!
Nov 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Bible" TV Series Sequel
Nov 28th, 2014
Marvel Kills "Fantastic Four" Actors in "Punished" Comic Book
Nov 28th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for Vince Vaughn's "Unfinished Business" Comedy
Nov 28th, 2014
"Independence Day 2" Officially Moving Forward, Without Will Smith
Nov 28th, 2014
Ridley Scott Explains Why He Hired White Actors for "Exodus: Gods and Kings"
Nov 28th, 2014
First Look: Mel Brooks is Dracula's Father in "Hotel Transylvania 2"
Nov 28th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson Wants to Star in "Luke Cage" Film

Posted: August 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson Wants to Star in "Luke Cage" FilmSubmit Comment
There have been more than a few actors who have expressed interest in playing the title characters in Marvel's planned "Luke Cage" movie. Some that come to mind are UFC champ Quinton "Rampage" Jackson (The A-Team), Isaiah Mustafa (Old Spice guy), Brian J. White (DOA: Dead or Alive, Fighting), Tyrese Gibson (Transformers) and Idris Elba (Thor).

Now, on his official Twitter page, Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson has joined that list, writing: "I would love to play Luke Cage. Love that superhero. I'd crush it."

Fans are already reacting to this by pointing out that Johnson is not fully black and that one of the few black superhero roles that are out there should go to a black actor.

Question: Out of "Rampage" Jackson, Mustafa, White, Gibson, Elba and The Rock, who would you like to see play Luke Cage on the big screen?

Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Farradin writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:05:00 PM

He'd need a tan!

Actually they should give it to a black man, not enough leading roles for them in Hollywood these days!
Ranger writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:15:53 PM

Make me miss Gary Coleman.
GreenLensman writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:30:03 PM

write a bad ass script for 3 years and snipes will do it, not like anyone is aching for a luke cage film
JOR-EL writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:33:37 PM

Dwayne Johnson is better than anyone on that list, that is if you want a better actor or a "blacker" actor. If Idris Alba can play Heimdal and Sammuel Jackson can play Nick Fury, I don't understand why Dwayne Johnson can't be Luke Cage.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:50:17 PM

Nobody is complaining but the fanboys. Believe me, most of the american black community knows nothing about the character and wouldn't lose any sleep if they cast the Rock in the role. In fact, much of his fanbase is black and would love to see him keep succeeding at whatever he does. He'd be good for the part. Maybe the best choice in fact.
Rambo writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 1:05:05 PM

whatever.just don't make anymore babysitter comedies.
struck21 writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 1:05:50 PM

@ Jor-El

In the Ultimate Universe, Samuel L Jackson is the actual model they used for Nick Fury. The same world they are making Spiderman more PC.
koul writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 1:23:52 PM

Tyrese Gibson should get the role.
NotAmerican writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 1:24:34 PM

Idris Elba should be Luke Cage. Have we not established this? He made Thor better than it was and he'd make a great Luke Cage.
pornfly writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 2:16:27 PM

Notamerican,sacdaddy,lensman EXACTLY,michael clarke duncan playing Mr. Big (or wutever im hung over)was the only redeeming thing IMO in Daredevil
JohnZee writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 2:16:40 PM

Ridiculous. Most Luke Cage fans would just happy that a B-List actor had gotten the role instead of a D-List or E-List one...

...Hey maybe that Donald Glover kid should try out for the role, he certainly is black enough. And you have to admit that a movie starring that kid playing Luke Cage would be worth watching.

He could team up with Jack Black playing Wolverine, Nicholas Cage playing Ghost Rider, and the comedian Carrot Top playing the Incredible Hulk.
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 2:35:08 PM

uhh... Elba would be my personal choice but I doubt he'd ever settle with Luke Cage. He was phenomenal as Heimdall though and everyone flipped the f*ck out when they saw he was going to be portraying a white comic book character. Also, someone above mentioned Tyrese... is he still an actor? Why the f*ck was he in Transformers 3... that felt so forced. Then again... I regret seeing that movie period lol
boogiel writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 2:51:49 PM

Mr. T as Luke cage!
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 3:15:30 PM

What a pretentious c*nt wad. This man had such an amazing opportunity back in the day. Arnie even attempted to pass the torch onto him, and blew it just like he blows every hollywood producer for a sh*tty role. And now he thinks he could handle Luke Cage. Um no!!!! d*ck wad. And I seriously hope that his career tanks soon, and if he keeps making statements like that, we may just get our wish. If you dont watch Duane the c*cksucker Johnson, you may be heading down the straight to dvd scene...
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 3:28:11 PM

Danny Glover as Cage, he's due for a comeback film.
pornfly writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 3:40:15 PM

Kingpin
Dre-EL writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 4:38:53 PM

My preference IDRIS ELBA
Raider writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 4:52:57 PM

Either Ken Foree or Michael Jai White.
xtlhogciao writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:09:41 PM

As long as it's not Rampage.
The First Rule writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:14:19 PM

I'd prefer Micheal Jai White or Mustafa, because I really want to see a blade reboot with elba. Elba would be a better blade than snipes and give the character proper depth.
Batmanfan writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:16:15 PM

That's Difficult to choose I mean there is no one on that list that really would make sense but the Rock is the biggest name on their so if it came down to them it would most likely go to him
SeWerin writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:23:31 PM

Michael Jai White - that guy deserves to be superhero, ether in Spawn reboot (again) or as Luke Cage
bandolero999 writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:53:21 PM

Luke Cage needs to be white and racist
bandolero999 writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:54:43 PM

P diddy,50 cent,Tego Calderon
secondbest writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:59:44 PM

I think Chuck Norris is the obvious choice. And because he's Chuck Norris, he doesn't have to be listed to be a choice.
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 6:18:07 PM

Since Spiderman ethnicity was changed why not Luke Cage.

How about an asian or indian for the role
Johnnyb writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 8:56:10 PM

Dwayne Johnson is known better for playing only 2 great characters: The Rock and The Scorpion King, thatīs all..... Forget about all the crap talking and sh*t about he deserves and what he doesnīt deserves. I hope he stay very far away from this one, so he canīt ruined this movie like Affleck did with Daredevil and The Sum of All Fears.....
rabid writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 10:10:29 PM

They didn't change Peter Parker's ethnicity. They killed off an alternate reality version of him and had a bi-racial kid take up the suit out of respect.
Classic comic and movie Spidey is white. Changing the race on a mere supporting character like Heimdall or Perry White is quite different than changing the race of the protagonist (like Will Smith playing Jim West).
Casting an actor for Luke Cage that could pass for white is insulting to the history of the character and the troubles he overcame. Some characters like Black Panther and Luke Cage rely heavily on their heritage to drive the story. It would make as much sense as casting a black man as Red Skull i.e. missing the point of why the character is appealing to begin with.
But Marvel wouldn't be so dumb to make that move. They respect the interpretations their fans love and would never risk alienating any part of the small audience that actually knows who Luke Cage is.
Stapes writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 10:15:00 PM

Ken Foree's too fat, Tyrese Gibson's too little, Micheal Jai White's too old, The Rock's too white, Elba's too British, Rampage is too p*ssy (and fat). Here's a crazy idea, how about a fresh face. It's not like acting is difficult. If not, then I nominate Tom Cruise.
Midnight_Toker writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 10:20:17 PM

The Rock would be an awful choice. Gotta have a black dude for this, you know cuz the character is a black man. and do not use the Old Spice person, he's a joke. I think this would be a break through role for a new comer, much like they did with Thor.
TeemSelami writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 10:20:40 PM

anyone but Jackson
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 11:30:21 PM

I'm going with Idris Elba.
MarshallErikson writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 1:13:00 AM

I know he's not on the list, but i'm going with Kennan Thompson for this one
vaodsi writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:01:10 AM

elba.... better yet Djimon honsou
ALlthough i like the idea of mustafa partly cause his name is sooooo cool. Basically i just jose the ones with cool black man names...
biniwoo writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:37:04 AM

Idris Elba, Terry Crews o Chiwetel Eijofor
coolguy writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 4:30:47 AM

Idris Elba would be awesome in this.
LastActionHero writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 7:25:40 AM

Give it to Dave Chappelle, he's beefed up now.
MrHeck writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:31:06 PM

I just don't get why people keep bringin up Idris Elba like it's a f*cking option.
I know the guy has the looks, but correct me if i'm wrong.
But isn't THOR and GHOSTRIDER also part of Marvel? maybe not on the same plane as Avengers, but at least, the same f*cking universe i suppose.
Using Evans as Cap was a bit of a stretch. I'm sure they're a bunch of other good black actors up for the part.
Y'all sound f*cking desperate.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 6:43:43 PM

To those saying The Rock isn't black, this is his dad:

http://www.legendschampionshipwrestling.com/uploaded_images/johnson-717328.bmp

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Robert Downey Jr Comments on His Marvel Contract

Doctor Doom is an Anti-Social Programmer in "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved