WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Wanted Tom Hardy as Sandman and Sean Penn as Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Dec 22nd, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Director Says There's No Script, Release Date or Green Light
Dec 22nd, 2014
"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" Bomb
Dec 22nd, 2014
Two Posters for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 22nd, 2014
Photos: Better Look at Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Dec 21st, 2014
First Look at "Sisters" Comedy, Re-Teaming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer: Sex Has Terrible Consequences in "It Follow" Horror Film
Dec 21st, 2014
New Photo From Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer for Sarah Michelle Gellar's "Veronika Decides to Die" Thriller
Dec 21st, 2014
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson Wants to Star in "Luke Cage" Film

Posted: August 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson Wants to Star in "Luke Cage" FilmSubmit Comment
There have been more than a few actors who have expressed interest in playing the title characters in Marvel's planned "Luke Cage" movie. Some that come to mind are UFC champ Quinton "Rampage" Jackson (The A-Team), Isaiah Mustafa (Old Spice guy), Brian J. White (DOA: Dead or Alive, Fighting), Tyrese Gibson (Transformers) and Idris Elba (Thor).

Now, on his official Twitter page, Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson has joined that list, writing: "I would love to play Luke Cage. Love that superhero. I'd crush it."

Fans are already reacting to this by pointing out that Johnson is not fully black and that one of the few black superhero roles that are out there should go to a black actor.

Question: Out of "Rampage" Jackson, Mustafa, White, Gibson, Elba and The Rock, who would you like to see play Luke Cage on the big screen?

Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Farradin writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:05:00 PM

He'd need a tan!

Actually they should give it to a black man, not enough leading roles for them in Hollywood these days!
Ranger writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:15:53 PM

Make me miss Gary Coleman.
GreenLensman writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:30:03 PM

write a bad ass script for 3 years and snipes will do it, not like anyone is aching for a luke cage film
JOR-EL writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:33:37 PM

Dwayne Johnson is better than anyone on that list, that is if you want a better actor or a "blacker" actor. If Idris Alba can play Heimdal and Sammuel Jackson can play Nick Fury, I don't understand why Dwayne Johnson can't be Luke Cage.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:50:17 PM

Nobody is complaining but the fanboys. Believe me, most of the american black community knows nothing about the character and wouldn't lose any sleep if they cast the Rock in the role. In fact, much of his fanbase is black and would love to see him keep succeeding at whatever he does. He'd be good for the part. Maybe the best choice in fact.
Rambo writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 1:05:05 PM

whatever.just don't make anymore babysitter comedies.
struck21 writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 1:05:50 PM

@ Jor-El

In the Ultimate Universe, Samuel L Jackson is the actual model they used for Nick Fury. The same world they are making Spiderman more PC.
koul writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 1:23:52 PM

Tyrese Gibson should get the role.
NotAmerican writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 1:24:34 PM

Idris Elba should be Luke Cage. Have we not established this? He made Thor better than it was and he'd make a great Luke Cage.
pornfly writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 2:16:27 PM

Notamerican,sacdaddy,lensman EXACTLY,michael clarke duncan playing Mr. Big (or wutever im hung over)was the only redeeming thing IMO in Daredevil
JohnZee writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 2:16:40 PM

Ridiculous. Most Luke Cage fans would just happy that a B-List actor had gotten the role instead of a D-List or E-List one...

...Hey maybe that Donald Glover kid should try out for the role, he certainly is black enough. And you have to admit that a movie starring that kid playing Luke Cage would be worth watching.

He could team up with Jack Black playing Wolverine, Nicholas Cage playing Ghost Rider, and the comedian Carrot Top playing the Incredible Hulk.
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 2:35:08 PM

uhh... Elba would be my personal choice but I doubt he'd ever settle with Luke Cage. He was phenomenal as Heimdall though and everyone flipped the f*ck out when they saw he was going to be portraying a white comic book character. Also, someone above mentioned Tyrese... is he still an actor? Why the f*ck was he in Transformers 3... that felt so forced. Then again... I regret seeing that movie period lol
boogiel writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 2:51:49 PM

Mr. T as Luke cage!
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 3:15:30 PM

What a pretentious c*nt wad. This man had such an amazing opportunity back in the day. Arnie even attempted to pass the torch onto him, and blew it just like he blows every hollywood producer for a sh*tty role. And now he thinks he could handle Luke Cage. Um no!!!! d*ck wad. And I seriously hope that his career tanks soon, and if he keeps making statements like that, we may just get our wish. If you dont watch Duane the c*cksucker Johnson, you may be heading down the straight to dvd scene...
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 3:28:11 PM

Danny Glover as Cage, he's due for a comeback film.
pornfly writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 3:40:15 PM

Kingpin
Dre-EL writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 4:38:53 PM

My preference IDRIS ELBA
Raider writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 4:52:57 PM

Either Ken Foree or Michael Jai White.
xtlhogciao writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:09:41 PM

As long as it's not Rampage.
The First Rule writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:14:19 PM

I'd prefer Micheal Jai White or Mustafa, because I really want to see a blade reboot with elba. Elba would be a better blade than snipes and give the character proper depth.
Batmanfan writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:16:15 PM

That's Difficult to choose I mean there is no one on that list that really would make sense but the Rock is the biggest name on their so if it came down to them it would most likely go to him
SeWerin writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:23:31 PM

Michael Jai White - that guy deserves to be superhero, ether in Spawn reboot (again) or as Luke Cage
bandolero999 writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:53:21 PM

Luke Cage needs to be white and racist
bandolero999 writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:54:43 PM

P diddy,50 cent,Tego Calderon
secondbest writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:59:44 PM

I think Chuck Norris is the obvious choice. And because he's Chuck Norris, he doesn't have to be listed to be a choice.
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 6:18:07 PM

Since Spiderman ethnicity was changed why not Luke Cage.

How about an asian or indian for the role
Johnnyb writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 8:56:10 PM

Dwayne Johnson is known better for playing only 2 great characters: The Rock and The Scorpion King, thatīs all..... Forget about all the crap talking and sh*t about he deserves and what he doesnīt deserves. I hope he stay very far away from this one, so he canīt ruined this movie like Affleck did with Daredevil and The Sum of All Fears.....
rabid writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 10:10:29 PM

They didn't change Peter Parker's ethnicity. They killed off an alternate reality version of him and had a bi-racial kid take up the suit out of respect.
Classic comic and movie Spidey is white. Changing the race on a mere supporting character like Heimdall or Perry White is quite different than changing the race of the protagonist (like Will Smith playing Jim West).
Casting an actor for Luke Cage that could pass for white is insulting to the history of the character and the troubles he overcame. Some characters like Black Panther and Luke Cage rely heavily on their heritage to drive the story. It would make as much sense as casting a black man as Red Skull i.e. missing the point of why the character is appealing to begin with.
But Marvel wouldn't be so dumb to make that move. They respect the interpretations their fans love and would never risk alienating any part of the small audience that actually knows who Luke Cage is.
Stapes writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 10:15:00 PM

Ken Foree's too fat, Tyrese Gibson's too little, Micheal Jai White's too old, The Rock's too white, Elba's too British, Rampage is too p*ssy (and fat). Here's a crazy idea, how about a fresh face. It's not like acting is difficult. If not, then I nominate Tom Cruise.
Midnight_Toker writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 10:20:17 PM

The Rock would be an awful choice. Gotta have a black dude for this, you know cuz the character is a black man. and do not use the Old Spice person, he's a joke. I think this would be a break through role for a new comer, much like they did with Thor.
TeemSelami writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 10:20:40 PM

anyone but Jackson
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 11:30:21 PM

I'm going with Idris Elba.
MarshallErikson writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 1:13:00 AM

I know he's not on the list, but i'm going with Kennan Thompson for this one
vaodsi writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:01:10 AM

elba.... better yet Djimon honsou
ALlthough i like the idea of mustafa partly cause his name is sooooo cool. Basically i just jose the ones with cool black man names...
biniwoo writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:37:04 AM

Idris Elba, Terry Crews o Chiwetel Eijofor
coolguy writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 4:30:47 AM

Idris Elba would be awesome in this.
LastActionHero writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 7:25:40 AM

Give it to Dave Chappelle, he's beefed up now.
MrHeck writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:31:06 PM

I just don't get why people keep bringin up Idris Elba like it's a f*cking option.
I know the guy has the looks, but correct me if i'm wrong.
But isn't THOR and GHOSTRIDER also part of Marvel? maybe not on the same plane as Avengers, but at least, the same f*cking universe i suppose.
Using Evans as Cap was a bit of a stretch. I'm sure they're a bunch of other good black actors up for the part.
Y'all sound f*cking desperate.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 6:43:43 PM

To those saying The Rock isn't black, this is his dad:

http://www.legendschampionshipwrestling.com/uploaded_images/johnson-717328.bmp

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved