WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson Wants to Star in "Luke Cage" Film

Posted: August 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson Wants to Star in "Luke Cage" FilmSubmit Comment
There have been more than a few actors who have expressed interest in playing the title characters in Marvel's planned "Luke Cage" movie. Some that come to mind are UFC champ Quinton "Rampage" Jackson (The A-Team), Isaiah Mustafa (Old Spice guy), Brian J. White (DOA: Dead or Alive, Fighting), Tyrese Gibson (Transformers) and Idris Elba (Thor).

Now, on his official Twitter page, Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson has joined that list, writing: "I would love to play Luke Cage. Love that superhero. I'd crush it."

Fans are already reacting to this by pointing out that Johnson is not fully black and that one of the few black superhero roles that are out there should go to a black actor.

Question: Out of "Rampage" Jackson, Mustafa, White, Gibson, Elba and The Rock, who would you like to see play Luke Cage on the big screen?

Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Farradin writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:05:00 PM

He'd need a tan!

Actually they should give it to a black man, not enough leading roles for them in Hollywood these days!
Ranger writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:15:53 PM

Make me miss Gary Coleman.
GreenLensman writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:30:03 PM

write a bad ass script for 3 years and snipes will do it, not like anyone is aching for a luke cage film
JOR-EL writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:33:37 PM

Dwayne Johnson is better than anyone on that list, that is if you want a better actor or a "blacker" actor. If Idris Alba can play Heimdal and Sammuel Jackson can play Nick Fury, I don't understand why Dwayne Johnson can't be Luke Cage.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 12:50:17 PM

Nobody is complaining but the fanboys. Believe me, most of the american black community knows nothing about the character and wouldn't lose any sleep if they cast the Rock in the role. In fact, much of his fanbase is black and would love to see him keep succeeding at whatever he does. He'd be good for the part. Maybe the best choice in fact.
Rambo writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 1:05:05 PM

whatever.just don't make anymore babysitter comedies.
struck21 writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 1:05:50 PM

@ Jor-El

In the Ultimate Universe, Samuel L Jackson is the actual model they used for Nick Fury. The same world they are making Spiderman more PC.
koul writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 1:23:52 PM

Tyrese Gibson should get the role.
NotAmerican writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 1:24:34 PM

Idris Elba should be Luke Cage. Have we not established this? He made Thor better than it was and he'd make a great Luke Cage.
pornfly writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 2:16:27 PM

Notamerican,sacdaddy,lensman EXACTLY,michael clarke duncan playing Mr. Big (or wutever im hung over)was the only redeeming thing IMO in Daredevil
JohnZee writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 2:16:40 PM

Ridiculous. Most Luke Cage fans would just happy that a B-List actor had gotten the role instead of a D-List or E-List one...

...Hey maybe that Donald Glover kid should try out for the role, he certainly is black enough. And you have to admit that a movie starring that kid playing Luke Cage would be worth watching.

He could team up with Jack Black playing Wolverine, Nicholas Cage playing Ghost Rider, and the comedian Carrot Top playing the Incredible Hulk.
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 2:35:08 PM

uhh... Elba would be my personal choice but I doubt he'd ever settle with Luke Cage. He was phenomenal as Heimdall though and everyone flipped the f*ck out when they saw he was going to be portraying a white comic book character. Also, someone above mentioned Tyrese... is he still an actor? Why the f*ck was he in Transformers 3... that felt so forced. Then again... I regret seeing that movie period lol
boogiel writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 2:51:49 PM

Mr. T as Luke cage!
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 3:15:30 PM

What a pretentious c*nt wad. This man had such an amazing opportunity back in the day. Arnie even attempted to pass the torch onto him, and blew it just like he blows every hollywood producer for a sh*tty role. And now he thinks he could handle Luke Cage. Um no!!!! d*ck wad. And I seriously hope that his career tanks soon, and if he keeps making statements like that, we may just get our wish. If you dont watch Duane the c*cksucker Johnson, you may be heading down the straight to dvd scene...
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 3:28:11 PM

Danny Glover as Cage, he's due for a comeback film.
pornfly writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 3:40:15 PM

Kingpin
Dre-EL writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 4:38:53 PM

My preference IDRIS ELBA
Raider writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 4:52:57 PM

Either Ken Foree or Michael Jai White.
xtlhogciao writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:09:41 PM

As long as it's not Rampage.
The First Rule writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:14:19 PM

I'd prefer Micheal Jai White or Mustafa, because I really want to see a blade reboot with elba. Elba would be a better blade than snipes and give the character proper depth.
Batmanfan writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:16:15 PM

That's Difficult to choose I mean there is no one on that list that really would make sense but the Rock is the biggest name on their so if it came down to them it would most likely go to him
SeWerin writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:23:31 PM

Michael Jai White - that guy deserves to be superhero, ether in Spawn reboot (again) or as Luke Cage
bandolero999 writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:53:21 PM

Luke Cage needs to be white and racist
bandolero999 writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:54:43 PM

P diddy,50 cent,Tego Calderon
secondbest writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 5:59:44 PM

I think Chuck Norris is the obvious choice. And because he's Chuck Norris, he doesn't have to be listed to be a choice.
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 6:18:07 PM

Since Spiderman ethnicity was changed why not Luke Cage.

How about an asian or indian for the role
Johnnyb writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 8:56:10 PM

Dwayne Johnson is known better for playing only 2 great characters: The Rock and The Scorpion King, thatīs all..... Forget about all the crap talking and sh*t about he deserves and what he doesnīt deserves. I hope he stay very far away from this one, so he canīt ruined this movie like Affleck did with Daredevil and The Sum of All Fears.....
rabid writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 10:10:29 PM

They didn't change Peter Parker's ethnicity. They killed off an alternate reality version of him and had a bi-racial kid take up the suit out of respect.
Classic comic and movie Spidey is white. Changing the race on a mere supporting character like Heimdall or Perry White is quite different than changing the race of the protagonist (like Will Smith playing Jim West).
Casting an actor for Luke Cage that could pass for white is insulting to the history of the character and the troubles he overcame. Some characters like Black Panther and Luke Cage rely heavily on their heritage to drive the story. It would make as much sense as casting a black man as Red Skull i.e. missing the point of why the character is appealing to begin with.
But Marvel wouldn't be so dumb to make that move. They respect the interpretations their fans love and would never risk alienating any part of the small audience that actually knows who Luke Cage is.
Stapes writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 10:15:00 PM

Ken Foree's too fat, Tyrese Gibson's too little, Micheal Jai White's too old, The Rock's too white, Elba's too British, Rampage is too p*ssy (and fat). Here's a crazy idea, how about a fresh face. It's not like acting is difficult. If not, then I nominate Tom Cruise.
Midnight_Toker writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 10:20:17 PM

The Rock would be an awful choice. Gotta have a black dude for this, you know cuz the character is a black man. and do not use the Old Spice person, he's a joke. I think this would be a break through role for a new comer, much like they did with Thor.
TeemSelami writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 10:20:40 PM

anyone but Jackson
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 28th, 2011 at 11:30:21 PM

I'm going with Idris Elba.
MarshallErikson writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 1:13:00 AM

I know he's not on the list, but i'm going with Kennan Thompson for this one
vaodsi writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:01:10 AM

elba.... better yet Djimon honsou
ALlthough i like the idea of mustafa partly cause his name is sooooo cool. Basically i just jose the ones with cool black man names...
biniwoo writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:37:04 AM

Idris Elba, Terry Crews o Chiwetel Eijofor
coolguy writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 4:30:47 AM

Idris Elba would be awesome in this.
LastActionHero writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 7:25:40 AM

Give it to Dave Chappelle, he's beefed up now.
MrHeck writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 3:31:06 PM

I just don't get why people keep bringin up Idris Elba like it's a f*cking option.
I know the guy has the looks, but correct me if i'm wrong.
But isn't THOR and GHOSTRIDER also part of Marvel? maybe not on the same plane as Avengers, but at least, the same f*cking universe i suppose.
Using Evans as Cap was a bit of a stretch. I'm sure they're a bunch of other good black actors up for the part.
Y'all sound f*cking desperate.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on August 29th, 2011 at 6:43:43 PM

To those saying The Rock isn't black, this is his dad:

http://www.legendschampionshipwrestling.com/uploaded_images/johnson-717328.bmp

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved