WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Jesse Eisenberg Would Return as Lex Luthor in Future Films
Jan 24th, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Arrives Online
Jan 24th, 2015
"Con Air" Director Simon West to Remake "The Blob" Horror Film
Jan 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Jan 24th, 2015
Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast
Jan 23rd, 2015
"Project Almanac" Cuts Out Controversial Scene One Week From Release
Jan 23rd, 2015
Chiwetel Ejiofor in Talks for "Doctor Strange" Role
Jan 23rd, 2015
Video: Will Ferrell Hits Cheerleader in the Face at Basketball Game
Jan 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Vincent Cassel's "Partisan" Sundance Film
Jan 23rd, 2015
First Look at Leonardo DiCaprio in "The Revenant" Thriller
Jan 22nd, 2015
Photo: Will The Hulk Turn Grey in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?
Jan 22nd, 2015
Four Actresses Considered for Female Lead in "Star Wars" Spin-Off
Jan 22nd, 2015
"Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" to Begin Filming in August
Jan 22nd, 2015
Nicolas Cage to Hunt Osama Bin Laden in "Army of One" Comedy, Directed by "Borat" Helmer
Jan 22nd, 2015
Fox Planning New Season of "24" Without Kiefer Sutherland
Jan 22nd, 2015
Promo Art: Batman's Armored Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jan 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Kidnapping Mr. Heineken" Thriller, with Anthony Hopkins and Sam Worthington
Jan 21st, 2015
First Poster for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 21st, 2015
"Mortal Kombat: Legacy" Actor Darren Shahlavi Dead at 42
Jan 21st, 2015
New Trailer for Salma Hayek's "Everly" Action Thriller
Jan 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Jan 20th, 2015
"Batman v Superman" Choreographer Teases Fight Between Batman and Superman
Jan 20th, 2015
"The Purge 3" Will NOT Be a Prequel
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for "All the Wilderness," with Kodi Smit-McPhee and Danny DeVito
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for "The Turning" Anthology Film, with Cate Blanche and Rose Byrne
Jan 20th, 2015
"American Sniper" Shattering Box Office Records, "Blackhat" First Flop of 2015
Jan 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Professional" Sequel Was Turned into "Colombiana"

Posted: August 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Professional" Sequel Was Turned into "Colombiana"Submit Comment
Luc Besson directed "The Professional," starring Jean Reno, Natalie Portman and Gary Oldman, back in 1994 and apparently has been attempting to develop a sequel for over a decade.

He wrote the script and signed on to produce the new film, but then realized that too much time passed between the 1994 classic and now. So he turned the script into "Colombiana," which hits theaters today (August 26th).

"Ten years ago we decided to make 'Mathilda,' which was 'The Professional' sequel, but we couldn't do it because of the evolution of a lot of things about Natalie [Portman], about [estranged distributor] Gaumont," said "Colombiana" director Olivier Megaton. "Luc tried to do this movie again and again - he proposed it to me 12 years ago. But when we decided to change the script and to make another movie with a revenge story like 'Mathilda,' he had to give up everything about Mathilda."

In the end, "Colombiana" became its own movie with no ties to "The Professional."

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 6:40:03 AM

Thank God for that, because this looks like crap.
Taco writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 6:46:54 AM

This does look like crap but I would like to think the professional 2 would have been good. Too bad.
PaulX7 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 6:56:30 AM

The Professional was so good! I would have watched a Professional 2 with Natalie Portman, as a grown up assassin in the lead role. But Colombiana looks sh*t. The trailer is crap, and the line "never forget where you came from" repeated 3 times by that stupid south american accent wannabe makes me vomit
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 8:02:04 AM

"The Prefessional"?

Never heard of that film..heard a good one done by Luc Besson around the same time called "Leon" though, that was really good.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 8:59:04 AM

This will suck but I'll see it on DVD for naked Zoe sh*ts.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 9:04:02 AM

she wont even get naked it is a pg13 movie.

this sh*t looks like a flop like Conan
PaulX7 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 9:47:04 AM

@Dave - Leon is The Professional. "Leon" is the original French title, released in the US under the title "The Professional"
AYT BALL writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 10:09:28 AM

GOOD! leave leon alone! classic!
jgrantt18 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 10:31:33 AM

I'm glad. The Professional was one of those amazing movies that stands on its own. I'm glad Besson decided to let it go instead of forcing the movie to happen and making a far inferior movie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 10:36:13 AM

Bando-Damn it's pg-13? I thought it was an R for some reason. Well nevermind I wont be seeing this.
pornfly writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 10:44:51 AM

Somebody had some f*ckn sense, 'TheProfessional-Golgo13'
JakeVermont writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 10:52:39 AM

@PaulX7:

I thinks he knows that^^



"but we couldn't do it because of the evolution of a lot of things about Natalie [Portman], about [estranged distributor] Gaumont,"

thats sucks.... But I think with Natalie Portman as a sequel this could've been very badass. Seriously the Colombiana trailer is just not interesting, looks like we've seen it before. revenge story? seriously? wow thats new...

yaaawn...
BuuMonster writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 12:38:55 PM

Agree with how boring Columbiana looks. Never really saw Zoe Saldana as lead character i would really care about but do enjoy when she is apart of the group like in POTC, the losers, and star trek. except Takers. that movie just plain sucked
technoreaper writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 1:43:37 PM

I KNEW IT, I KNEW IT.

BTW, to the usual negative nancy's, why does this look like crap? Because a black woman is in the lead? Go to hell, you haven't even seen it. I've seen plenty of good reviews to boot.
sleepingshane writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 1:54:51 PM

The american version of leon has extra scenes of leon training matilda to kill and she trys to seduce him in bed. so pedophilla and murder didn't go down too well with the british censors so it go cut. The american version's the one to watch
technoreaper writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 2:14:05 PM

I hope Natalie Portman's pregnancy is the excuse Hollywood can use to stop using her in movies. She was only good in one movie, and that was Leon. Everything else, she looked like she was forced to do it. She doesn't want to be an actress. She does it because she wants to pay the bills. So she could do those horrible Star Wars movies, but couldn't even do one Mathilda sequel for her fans? Get outta here! Stuck up bi...
YoungChris writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 2:32:04 PM

@PaulX7 watch what you say
mpiper821 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 3:45:07 PM

Colombiana looks awesome!!
John1017 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 4:02:00 PM

Leon is in my top 3 of favorite films of all time.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 4:27:34 PM

I'm with Freud on this. Looks like we all lucked out. Columbiana looks absolutely terrible. It represents everything wrong with Hwood right now : asskicking 90 lbs bitch that looks like she barely lift the machine gun she's shooting, no originality, and a nutless PG-13 rating. This is Catwoman with guns and no mask. Completely worthless!!!
PaulX7 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 5:29:35 PM

@YoungChris - what did I say??
technoreaper writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 5:32:34 PM

Well haters, just saw the movie, and it was great. Zoe Saldana was the best part of the film, and her fight scenes were extremely believable. The movie's storyline won't win Oscars, but it was what you could expect from a Luc Besson produced film. You guys really shouldn't write off a movie until you see it.
trailertrash writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 6:18:08 PM

^ Awwww whats the fun in that then...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 7:01:03 PM

sleepingshane writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 1:54:51 PM

The american version of leon has extra scenes of leon training matilda to kill and she trys to seduce him in bed. so pedophilla and murder didn't go down too well with the british censors so it go cut. The american version's the one to watch


@ss


We in Britain had some of the training scenes but as I recall the only scene we had of any sexual nature between Lean and Matilda was when they went to get a hotel room. The guy at the desk asked her who he and she was, she asid that he (Lean) was her lover, that's all I can reacall from the movie right now. But I am pretty sure the BBFC wouldn't have cut that much out even if it was a bit dodgy, as long as it is in the context of the movie. Also I think it was an 18 rated movie in Britain so they more than likely would not have cut it out.


@PaulX7.....what Jake said.
struck21 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 9:31:47 PM

Problem with making a sequel to a movie like The Professional today, even with the right cast and script is it won't sell. It would be similar in style to The American. Heavy story little action, which studios refuse to touch. They would demand that Portman get replaced with Fox and Micheal Bay direct it.
Stapes writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 11:01:50 PM

The Professional 2: Tits Up
Stuntmanbob writes:
on August 27th, 2011 at 12:15:27 AM

Is Colombiana really pg13? Not that I was ever gonna see it but still thats lame. A sequel would be stupid to me at least, aint the same unless Jean Reno and Gary Oldman are in it

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Chris Pine Says "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit" is One of His Deep Regrets

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Tim Burton Was Replaced on "Batman Forever" Because of McDonalds

Adam Sandler is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor, Again

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Ohio Man Demanding Refund for 50 "The Interview" Tickets

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved