WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 16th, 2014
"I Know What You Did Last Summer" is Being Rebooted
Sep 16th, 2014
Leslie Mann in Talks for "Vacation" Sequel as Audrey Griswold
Sep 16th, 2014
"You're Next" Director to Remake "I Saw the Devil" Thriller
Sep 16th, 2014
Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"
Sep 16th, 2014
First Look at "By the Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Sep 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Massive Banner For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Sep 15th, 2014
First Look: Adam Driver on "Star Wars: Episode VII" Set
Sep 15th, 2014
"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office
Sep 14th, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Sep 14th, 2014
Photos: "Gotham" Star Ben McKenzie Injured on Set
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look at "Transporter" Reboot, Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look: Mark Wahlberg on "Ted 2" Set
Sep 14th, 2014
Batmobile Stolen From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set, Zack Snyder Knows Who Did It
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "The Sea of Trees"
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Seth Rogen's "BOO: Bureau of Otherworldly Operations" Animated Film
Sep 13th, 2014
Morgan Freeman Joins "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Action Thriller
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer for "Serena," with Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For "Playing It Cool," Re-Teaming Chris Evans and Anthony Mackie
Sep 13th, 2014
James McAvoy Will Finally Be Bald in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Sep 12th, 2014
Theo James to Star in "Underworld 5," Kate Beckinsale NOT Returning
Sep 12th, 2014
Mark Ruffalo Begged "Star Wars: Episode VIII" Director For a Role
Sep 12th, 2014
Photo: Tom Cruise, Simon Pegg, Jeremy Renner and Ving Rhames on "Mission: Impossible 5" Set
Sep 12th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 12th, 2014
"Married With Children" Spin-Off in the Works
Sep 12th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Professional" Sequel Was Turned into "Colombiana"

Posted: August 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Professional" Sequel Was Turned into "Colombiana"Submit Comment
Luc Besson directed "The Professional," starring Jean Reno, Natalie Portman and Gary Oldman, back in 1994 and apparently has been attempting to develop a sequel for over a decade.

He wrote the script and signed on to produce the new film, but then realized that too much time passed between the 1994 classic and now. So he turned the script into "Colombiana," which hits theaters today (August 26th).

"Ten years ago we decided to make 'Mathilda,' which was 'The Professional' sequel, but we couldn't do it because of the evolution of a lot of things about Natalie [Portman], about [estranged distributor] Gaumont," said "Colombiana" director Olivier Megaton. "Luc tried to do this movie again and again - he proposed it to me 12 years ago. But when we decided to change the script and to make another movie with a revenge story like 'Mathilda,' he had to give up everything about Mathilda."

In the end, "Colombiana" became its own movie with no ties to "The Professional."

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 6:40:03 AM

Thank God for that, because this looks like crap.
Taco writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 6:46:54 AM

This does look like crap but I would like to think the professional 2 would have been good. Too bad.
PaulX7 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 6:56:30 AM

The Professional was so good! I would have watched a Professional 2 with Natalie Portman, as a grown up assassin in the lead role. But Colombiana looks sh*t. The trailer is crap, and the line "never forget where you came from" repeated 3 times by that stupid south american accent wannabe makes me vomit
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 8:02:04 AM

"The Prefessional"?

Never heard of that film..heard a good one done by Luc Besson around the same time called "Leon" though, that was really good.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 8:59:04 AM

This will suck but I'll see it on DVD for naked Zoe sh*ts.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 9:04:02 AM

she wont even get naked it is a pg13 movie.

this sh*t looks like a flop like Conan
PaulX7 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 9:47:04 AM

@Dave - Leon is The Professional. "Leon" is the original French title, released in the US under the title "The Professional"
AYT BALL writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 10:09:28 AM

GOOD! leave leon alone! classic!
jgrantt18 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 10:31:33 AM

I'm glad. The Professional was one of those amazing movies that stands on its own. I'm glad Besson decided to let it go instead of forcing the movie to happen and making a far inferior movie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 10:36:13 AM

Bando-Damn it's pg-13? I thought it was an R for some reason. Well nevermind I wont be seeing this.
pornfly writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 10:44:51 AM

Somebody had some f*ckn sense, 'TheProfessional-Golgo13'
JakeVermont writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 10:52:39 AM

@PaulX7:

I thinks he knows that^^



"but we couldn't do it because of the evolution of a lot of things about Natalie [Portman], about [estranged distributor] Gaumont,"

thats sucks.... But I think with Natalie Portman as a sequel this could've been very badass. Seriously the Colombiana trailer is just not interesting, looks like we've seen it before. revenge story? seriously? wow thats new...

yaaawn...
BuuMonster writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 12:38:55 PM

Agree with how boring Columbiana looks. Never really saw Zoe Saldana as lead character i would really care about but do enjoy when she is apart of the group like in POTC, the losers, and star trek. except Takers. that movie just plain sucked
technoreaper writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 1:43:37 PM

I KNEW IT, I KNEW IT.

BTW, to the usual negative nancy's, why does this look like crap? Because a black woman is in the lead? Go to hell, you haven't even seen it. I've seen plenty of good reviews to boot.
sleepingshane writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 1:54:51 PM

The american version of leon has extra scenes of leon training matilda to kill and she trys to seduce him in bed. so pedophilla and murder didn't go down too well with the british censors so it go cut. The american version's the one to watch
technoreaper writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 2:14:05 PM

I hope Natalie Portman's pregnancy is the excuse Hollywood can use to stop using her in movies. She was only good in one movie, and that was Leon. Everything else, she looked like she was forced to do it. She doesn't want to be an actress. She does it because she wants to pay the bills. So she could do those horrible Star Wars movies, but couldn't even do one Mathilda sequel for her fans? Get outta here! Stuck up bi...
YoungChris writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 2:32:04 PM

@PaulX7 watch what you say
mpiper821 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 3:45:07 PM

Colombiana looks awesome!!
John1017 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 4:02:00 PM

Leon is in my top 3 of favorite films of all time.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 4:27:34 PM

I'm with Freud on this. Looks like we all lucked out. Columbiana looks absolutely terrible. It represents everything wrong with Hwood right now : asskicking 90 lbs bitch that looks like she barely lift the machine gun she's shooting, no originality, and a nutless PG-13 rating. This is Catwoman with guns and no mask. Completely worthless!!!
PaulX7 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 5:29:35 PM

@YoungChris - what did I say??
technoreaper writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 5:32:34 PM

Well haters, just saw the movie, and it was great. Zoe Saldana was the best part of the film, and her fight scenes were extremely believable. The movie's storyline won't win Oscars, but it was what you could expect from a Luc Besson produced film. You guys really shouldn't write off a movie until you see it.
trailertrash writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 6:18:08 PM

^ Awwww whats the fun in that then...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 7:01:03 PM

sleepingshane writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 1:54:51 PM

The american version of leon has extra scenes of leon training matilda to kill and she trys to seduce him in bed. so pedophilla and murder didn't go down too well with the british censors so it go cut. The american version's the one to watch


@ss


We in Britain had some of the training scenes but as I recall the only scene we had of any sexual nature between Lean and Matilda was when they went to get a hotel room. The guy at the desk asked her who he and she was, she asid that he (Lean) was her lover, that's all I can reacall from the movie right now. But I am pretty sure the BBFC wouldn't have cut that much out even if it was a bit dodgy, as long as it is in the context of the movie. Also I think it was an 18 rated movie in Britain so they more than likely would not have cut it out.


@PaulX7.....what Jake said.
struck21 writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 9:31:47 PM

Problem with making a sequel to a movie like The Professional today, even with the right cast and script is it won't sell. It would be similar in style to The American. Heavy story little action, which studios refuse to touch. They would demand that Portman get replaced with Fox and Micheal Bay direct it.
Stapes writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 11:01:50 PM

The Professional 2: Tits Up
Stuntmanbob writes:
on August 27th, 2011 at 12:15:27 AM

Is Colombiana really pg13? Not that I was ever gonna see it but still thats lame. A sequel would be stupid to me at least, aint the same unless Jean Reno and Gary Oldman are in it

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved