WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stan Lee Suing to Get All "Conan the Barbarian" Earnings

Posted: August 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stan Lee Suing to Get All "Conan the Barbarian" EarningsSubmit Comment
Stan Lee Media, a company founded by comic book legend Stan Lee, is suing the filmmakers behind the new "Conan the Barbarian" film, claiming that he is the rightful owner of the character. Lee is demanding 100% of the film's proceeds.

Back in 2001, the Stan Lee Media owned the rights to the character, but filed for bankruptcy, which would mean that the rights should have remained with the company. But a former lawyer of Stan Lee Media made an illegal deal to transfer the rights to another company that began developing the film.

"Conan the Barbarian" remake has been in the works for many years, but Lee waited until the film's release to file the lawsuit. In fact, he filed on August 19th, the exact day of the film's opening. Obviously he was not interested in shutting down the production, but just wanted any and all proceeds. Unfortunately, the film grossed only $10 million on a $90 million budget. So there isn't much to collect.

Click here to read our "Conan the Barbarian" review.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Mudders writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 6:05:12 AM

hahaha...its kinda like a booby prize
trailertrash writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 6:07:12 AM

He's better off asking Tom Hanks for a few dollars
Blaz writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 6:14:39 AM

He won't be getting much...
bandolero999 writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 6:16:20 AM

There's isn't much to collect .no sh*t

Conan 2011 the new Cuthroat Island/In the Name of the King
PaulX7 writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 6:24:47 AM

yes indeed, not much to collect. The lawyers might cost more...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 7:01:18 AM

Weird, somewhere else I read he desn't own the company anymore.
Rambo writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 7:06:34 AM

crush your enemies see them flop before you and hear the lamentation of their momoa !
AYT BALL writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 7:49:19 AM

Surely court costs would be more than the $50 he would get??!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 8:17:48 AM

Hehe, way to kick someone who's already on the ground.
Serpico1988 writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 8:39:28 AM

lol@ Rambo

and this prick's having a laugh
BuuMonster writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 8:58:14 AM

So does he have to pay them $80 million dollars?
shayhiri writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 9:00:00 AM

What is this, I don't even... How is this walking corpse still breathing?

Listen, old worthless hag, Conan is a REAL character, by a REAL writer - unlike your dozens of "super" gays-in-tights. Conan was never yours - nor will be. So shut up and die already, you greedy backstabbing imbecile, mr. Lee.
shayhiri writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 9:04:47 AM

I think that it's a misledaing article (again) though. And the truth is more like this:

"It isn't Stan filing suit. It's the company he started, Stan Lee Media, that ended up pushing him out and keeping his name. He has nothing to do with them, and isn't involved in the Conan lawsuit in any way. This was his internet venture from 2000 with the guy who went to jail for insider trading. They're currently suing Stan himself and Marvel in two separate lawsuits, but the Conan thing has got nothing to do with him personally at all."
pornfly writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 10:28:03 AM

Just check between the sofa cushions. EXCELSIOR
pornfly writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 10:31:37 AM

Man thats the fastest retraction i ever seen @shay but how do u REALLY feel bout Stan?
shayhiri writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 10:58:20 AM

Well - I know nothing about him as a man, so I can not hate him. I can only hope to be as wealthy and healthy when I am his age. :)

I hate his creations though. He single-handedly poisoned the mass culture.
LEONCIO writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 10:58:33 AM

I hope this means we can see a new and better film in the future with a good director and writer. :/
sc_kg writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 11:17:42 AM

"Stan Lee Suing to Get All "Conan the Barbarian" Earnings"

Earnings? What earnings?
velocityknown writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 11:51:06 AM

Yeah $10 million, who needs that?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 12:05:40 PM

@Shay: Well, well. Isn't Mr Superstar himself who's gracing us with his presence? I really hope that this little flop will not stand in your way for Hollywood-stardom.
rabid writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 12:35:14 PM

Conan will end up making a fortune on dvd and bluray in the long run, but ol Stan here won't be getting squat. A judge has already ruled on the actions of that lawyer in two other cases against Marvel. It won't fare well for him, though I have doubts as to whether Stan or Stan's lawyer is running the show now.
Stapes writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 12:43:18 PM

Poisoned mass culture? With the creation of heroic figures and a modern mythology that's both moral and just? If anything, Stan Lee helped to improve our culture. I challenge anyone to try to explain exactly how Stan Lee has poisoned mass culture. What a foolish statement.
technoreaper writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 12:47:33 PM

What a greedy idiot.
pornfly writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 1:12:46 PM

Poisoned mass culture like a fox! wherz @cinema at??
Ranger writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 1:29:16 PM

I love you Stan. But the shady deals I've heard about you behind Kirby and Ditko's back, and now word your lawyers have made some illegal deal, etc. Look, I know Hollywood sc*m is just above child molestors - and you have to play the game to stay in the game, but really Stan, really? You want rights back from a character you tanked and lost a while ago? Feeling a lot entitled are we?

C'mon Stan... WHAT proceeds from this movie are you looking for?
Ranger writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 1:35:33 PM

Maybe it's time you packed your bags Stan?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NOW4QiOD-oc
rabid writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 3:29:54 PM

I wouldn't place all the blame on Stan Lee himself. You have to keep in mind that his family and lawyers have formed a company around him that handles all the rights and usages and advertisement. He probably has very little to do with the actions of Stan Lee Media or Stan Lee Inc or whatever they call themselves.
He's just the poster boy.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 3:38:21 PM

Piss off Stan!!
billofill writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 3:42:33 PM

Stan Lee hasnt been with the company for a long time, infact said company sued Stan the Man himself.............
rabid writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 3:51:35 PM

They sure did! I forgot about that.

If a judge stuck strictly to the letter of the law, he'd see that Howard's Conan stories weren't renewed within the one year time limit after the initial 28 year publishing copyright expired. Following the 1909 laws of copyright it adhered to, Conan should legally have been public domain from the mid-50s onward.
Occassionally, a small company realizes this and tries to produce their own Conan works. Legally they are correct, but it's never stopped the big dogs from litigating those companies into oblivion.
nawtnt writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 4:36:52 PM

Stan Lee should had sue the filmakers before the movie was made.

Now that Conan was released in cimenas and only made $10 million, I think Stan isn't going to get much money at all.

FilmFan91201 writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 5:41:31 PM

As grateful as I am to the work of Stan Lee, he's a bit of a d*ck.
Tyrkae writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 7:25:42 PM

i think they should make him buy it for 90 mill and he can have all the profits
LEONCIO writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 8:43:55 PM

@FilmFan91201: Did you read billofill's message? ;)
Johnnyb writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 10:03:00 PM

Well even Mr. Lee won the lawsuit, he is gonna really make this movie flop. Because after the money collected by Lee Media Co., how the producers are going justified the real earnings of this one, when there is not money, since Lee collected all.....
Stapes writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 10:57:23 PM

fine with me, everyone involved in making this flop should be punish monetarily.
HideousSecretion writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 11:15:40 PM

After contacting his attorney Stan Lee went back to raping the corpse of Jack Kirby.
DeVries writes:
on August 25th, 2011 at 10:15:11 AM

f*ck off for once Stan. You haven't create every f*cking single movie caracters you know...
Bullit writes:
on August 25th, 2011 at 10:21:45 AM

What greedy old fart bastard !
rabid writes:
on August 25th, 2011 at 1:59:22 PM

Like I pointed out, Conan is legally public domain. The problem is nobody has ever had the lawyers to fend off the copyright sharks. Millineum Films might have what it takes to be the first.
witwicky-potter writes:
on August 26th, 2011 at 1:46:46 AM

Rather cruel thing to do Stan

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved