WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Donnie Yen to Replace Jet Li in "The Expendables" Sequel?

Posted: August 23rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Donnie Yen to Replace Jet Li in "The Expendables" Sequel?Submit Comment
We recently learned that Jet Li will not be returning for "The Expendables" sequel and while Sylvester Stallone is planning to add actors like Chuck Norris and Jean-Claude Van Damme, it is expected that Li will be replaced with another Asian actor.

At one point producer Avi Lerner reached out to Donnie Yen (IP Man), but things didn't immediately move anywhere. Now comes word from Twitch that an offer has officially been made and Yen is interested in taking the role. He's currently busy with other projects, but has agreed to take a look at the script and will make a decision soon after.

"The Expendables 2" is set to be directed by Simon West (Con Air) and is set to hit theaters on August 17th, 2012.

Source: Twitch


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 8:03:38 AM

He's agreed to take a look at the script and will make a decision soon after

Dude this is the Expendables stuff will blow up, you will be able to kick(major)ass and you will be working with some action Legends

Yes or No it's simple
trailertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 8:05:11 AM

I hope he takes the gigg BTW
PaulX7 writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 8:17:20 AM

Jet and Donnie Yen are both great asian action actors, so whoever ends up in the movie at the end doesn't matter: they're both great and can both kick Van Damme's ass, which is what really matters.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 8:18:06 AM

I doubt it cause he's got like 3 movies in the works
trailertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 8:30:38 AM

I'm sure he could find the time to do it if he wanted to Band.
trailertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 9:16:35 AM

I would have him play the one of the bad guys along side Bruce Willis
nawtnt writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 9:28:30 AM

Donnie Yen would be a great addition to The Expendables 2 but I wish Jet Li would return for the sequel and have a larger role.

Maybe have Li and Yen in a huge fight.

I hope The Expendables 2 has more fight scenes, more gunfights, more explosions and lots of villains.

This is my ideal cast:

Stallone, Statham, Rourke, Lundgren, Randy Couture and Terry Crews return for the sequel.

Villains:
Van Damme-The main villain

Bolo Yeung-The second main villain

Termua Morrison- The third main villain

Robert Patrick- A rogue CIA agent

Scott Adkins- Van Damme's bodyguard

Andrei Arlovski- The main henchman in Van Damme's team.

Vinnie Jones- A rogue ex-soldier who is Patrick's bodyguard.

Sasha Mitchell- A ex-soldier who has marital arts skills and is also in Van's team.

Danny Trejo- A former Expendables member who is the traitor and joins Van Damme's team.

Michael Clarke Duncan- A violent ex-mercenary who is Patrick's second bodyguard.

Arine's team joins Stallone's team to fight Van Damme so here is my list for the members in Arine's team:

Dwayne Johnson
Vin Diesel
Mark Duscascos
Michael Jai White
Ving Rhames

My other members of my ideal cast would be:

Michael Biehn and Tom Sizemore as CIA agents partners who are on Patrick's trail and join The Expendables to stop him and Van Damme.

Tony Jaa- A mysterious soldier who joins The Expendables to get revenge on Bolo Yeung.

Jackie Chan- A former soldier who joins The Expendables to help his friend Tony Jaa to fight Bolo.

My ideal cameos would be:

Chuck Norris- The former leader of T E
Steven Seagel- A former member of T E
Kurt Russell- A former member of T E
and Clinton Eastwood as Stallone's father.























pornfly writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 10:28:18 AM

The whole gimmick of The Expendables is to have big name action stars, tired of Li bein replaced in big movies ex.Matrix. jackie chan would be more fitting since they already have chuck norris since they both worked with Bruce Lee, Bolo Yung would definetly be da sh*t,is he even alive? if he is,is he still in shape or even halfway decent or wut. Yen seriously kicks ass though but only the audience this movie is geared towards will know who he is but the majority won't
Eben1277 writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 11:17:11 AM

Donnie Yen is f*ckin great
j-man writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 11:18:55 AM

Y is Li not returning?
Avirex writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 11:24:06 AM

Donnie stopped appearing in Hollywood flicks damn near a decade ago..and for a f*cking reason. Why would Donnie come back now after becoming the new king of Chinese action cinema? Its a major downgrade to take on another thankless supporting role like he did in Blade II all those years ago. If he takes this silly sh*t I'll be f*cking disappointed. Have some f*cking dignity bro.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 12:04:15 PM

Donnies too good for Expendables he can kick everybodys ass and would probably lose by Jason Statham or Bruce Willis.

And Donnie Yen is gonna star in the remake of Mr and Mrs Smith and make a chinese version.

His Hollywoods films Have been sh*t and Sly is probably gonna give him a sh*tty part anyway.Statham would have probably more screentime which Im sick of him.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 12:08:18 PM

Li has also three movies in the works and he will not return for Expendables because he's doing a Tai Chi movie and wants to promote it.he cares more about the Tai Chi movie than an ensemble supporting role.
Blank x25 writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 12:13:10 PM

Donnie Yen is the man. Still can't get enough of IP Man 1 & 2. IF they could get him, would be an awesome addition.

bandolero999 writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 12:13:27 PM

Is so bad that Donnie is born in America that no one wanted to hire him in the US and instead went to Hong Kong to get work and he is able to do better movies for the quarter of a budget of a Hollywood movie.Cause instead they wanted the Rock,vin diesel,even Matt Damon for those stupid bourne movies to take over the action genre
bandolero999 writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 12:17:33 PM

Robin Shou is available since he sold out like a cheap Whore and stop making Hong Kong movies and star in blockbusters like Street fighter Legend of chun li and Death Race,mortal kombat Annilihation
technoreaper writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 1:21:30 PM

Ip Man was awesome, it made me a Donnie Yen fan. It doesn't seem like many people know about it though.
tecneek writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 1:36:15 PM

am I the only 1 that would like to c milla jovovich zang ziyi or michelle rodriguez in this franchise.....maybe like expendables 5
Rambo writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 2:59:13 PM

f*ck that.bring short round instead.
Raider writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 3:45:15 PM

I'd love to see Christopher Walken in this movie. What do you guys think?
President Baltar writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 4:31:45 PM

Didn't Jet Li say that he didn't want to do no more martial arts in films? Guess he forgot
struck21 writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 4:46:16 PM

Michael Dudikoff and Bolo Yeung should be in this as well.

God I miss 80s-90s action movies. Now even the bad ones are bad ones with 90% of it being back spx.
struck21 writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 4:48:39 PM

@Baltar

I believe it was that he wasn't going to do anymore epic martial arts movies. His last being Fearless, I believe. Even though several were released later but had been filmed before that so, idk is the answer?
bandolero999 writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 4:53:05 PM

Cpt Bennett from Comando would make an awesome villian
trailertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 5:16:01 PM

Yeah Vernon Wells would make a top villian, That's if he doesn't look to fat and old now.

Liked him in Mad Max 2 as well.
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 5:47:38 PM

Can't they just start filming already? Don't they already have enough variety of people cast in the film to make it work? I want a legit teaser ASAP!
SeWerin writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 5:59:59 PM

OK, What.The.f*ck Alex?!?!

What's the deal with the spoilers?!?

I am not talking about this one, i am talking about new Avenger and Batman headlines!

WTF?!?! Are you doing this on purpose?
Ranger writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 8:10:33 PM

@Raider - I'd say Christopher Walken is a must in one of The Expendables sequels.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 9:30:07 PM

Nicccccce
Turtle09 writes:
on August 23rd, 2011 at 9:35:04 PM

Did Stallone and Li have a falling out or something?
SaulSilver writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 12:04:58 AM

Seriously, SeWerin? f*ck you. You have no basis to be so pissed off. You really consider the fact that Gordon is going to face off with Bane's henchman and Loki is going to fight the Avengers SPOILERS? Are you f*cking kidding me?

OF COURSE THE GOOD GUYS ARE GOING TO FIGHT THE f*ckING BAD GUYS. God, Idiots like this make me hate the internet.
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 12:50:38 AM

Why don't they get Andy Lau he was bad ass in Fulltime Killer or Takeshi Keneshiro, Mink-sok coi Lee Byung.
SeWerin writes:
on August 24th, 2011 at 5:49:48 AM

@SaulSilver i admit i overreacted on Avengers headlines. It wasn't spoileish. But we seriously didn't needed to read Gordon vs. Mercenaries. It's not about final outcome as it is about thing that lead to one.
President Baltar writes:
on August 25th, 2011 at 1:38:40 PM

@ Struck21

These titles definitely look like epics to me:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1981080/
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1545734/

Plus a couple of other titles on his Imdb page that are not yet described, but have epic sounding names.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved