WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Conan the Barbarian" and "Fright Night" Remakes Bomb at Box Office

Posted: August 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Conan the Barbarian" and "Fright Night" Remakes Bomb at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
"The Help" is continuing its success theatrical run by grossing another $20 million and taking first place at the domestic box office, beating all four new wide releases of the week. The film has now taken in around $72 million on a $25 million budget.

"Rise of the Planet of the Apes" dropped to second place in its third week with another $16.3 million. It has now grossed $256 million worldwide on a $93 million budget.

Robert Rodriguez's fourth "Spy Kids" installment took third this weekend with $12 million. The new family film cost only $27 million to make, which means that it's on its way to making a profit.

And this is where the trouble begins. "Conan the Barbarian" remake, which has been in the works for many years, finally hit theaters and immediately bombed. The film grossed only $10 million on a $90 million budget while also having a terrible 27% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes. It landed in fourth place.

Meanwhile, "Fright Night" remake, which has a much better 74% fresh rating, had to settle for sixth place and only $7.9 million. Fortunately, it cost only $30 million, so there is still a chance that the film may earn back its money after the DVD/Blu-ray release.

Click here to read our "The Help" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 8:29:13 PM

Noté to producers and directors leave the 80s classics alone

And Colin Failure good for you
acreshakers writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 8:30:23 PM

Well maybe this will be the near end of all these so-called Bullsh*t remakes!! You just can't remake every damn old-school movie!!!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 8:56:30 PM

Not really surprised to see that the Conan movie failed in the US. I thought that Momoas (or whatever he is called) was way too short to fill Arnold's shoes for this role.

I had better hopes for Fright Night. I got nothing against Farrell ever since I saw him in "In Bruges". I wish he would be in more comedies since he was great in "Horrible Bosses".
Johnnyb writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 10:15:43 PM

OMG, I was expecting to Fright Night to land on first place so we can have an original sequel, better than Wallace´s sequel of 1988..... but that´s all gone and forgotten!!!!!

I don´t have problem with the sequel, I liked it and Julie Carmen is so hot and sexy, but I was expecting something in the verge of the first one but once again I gonna have to get used to with this and the original.....
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 10:18:02 PM

I have a feeling that fright night will end up a success and maybe have a cult following much like the first one, the only negative things I have read so far was that the 3d was not needed. But honestly who didnt know that Conan would fail. somethings should never be done i.e. remake of any arnie film.
pornfly writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 11:00:17 PM

Time to let these movie molesters know that these remakes are as useless as a d*ck flavored lollipop
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 11:02:20 PM

Praise be to Jesus!!!

That's for Conan not Fright Night.
BlueMobius writes:
on August 22nd, 2011 at 12:11:08 AM

Saw Fright Night in test screenings and unless they changed a LOT, it doesn't deserve it's Fresh rating. It did a lot of things wrong, sadly.

As for the Conan remake, I'm seeing it with a friend on Wednesday. We're both fairly diehard Conan fans so we'll give it a few bucks. Oh, and for the record, Arnie is actually fairly short and Jason Mamoa is a better actor and taller.
technoreaper writes:
on August 22nd, 2011 at 1:03:43 AM

I thought Fright Night was great. I liked the trailer, but it seemed to turn off a lot of people. Hopefully, it becomes a cult hit, which it will.
Eben1277 writes:
on August 22nd, 2011 at 3:31:20 AM

I knew Homoa couldn't carry a movie. This movie would have made much more money with The Celtic Warrior Sheamus as Conan.
vaodsi writes:
on August 22nd, 2011 at 4:09:28 AM

frightnight was fun and the crowd i saw it with loved it. The problem is that it is R. It will be like kick ass and get good dvd sales from word of mouth.
Valerie writes:
on August 22nd, 2011 at 4:56:10 AM

Colin really is making some bad movie choices for a while now!
Rambo writes:
on August 22nd, 2011 at 5:42:52 AM

Colin farrel is a good actor but only for specific roles and for small budget movies like 'in bruges'.if you try to make him a big movie star like 'Alexander' flop will come.
Rambo writes:
on August 22nd, 2011 at 5:42:53 AM

Colin farrel is a good actor but only for specific roles and for small budget movies like 'in bruges'.if you try to make him a big movie star like 'Alexander' flop will come.
technoreaper writes:
on August 22nd, 2011 at 1:09:29 PM

Colin did a great job, please people. Watch the movie before complaining.
technoreaper writes:
on August 22nd, 2011 at 3:48:42 PM

Colin Farrell was not the right actor for Alexander. He was the "It" guy at the time in a movie that was a complete sellout for Oliver Stone. Angelina Jolie was also bizarrely cast in that as his mother. The whole film was a MESS. Don't blame him. He just shouldn't have taken it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved