WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Renny Harlin Never Wanted Sylvester Stallone for "Cliffhanger"

Posted: August 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Renny Harlin Never Wanted Sylvester Stallone for "Cliffhanger"Submit Comment
Director Renny Harlin (Die Hard 2) is now promoting his new movie, called "5 Days of War," and is answering questions (in full detail) about his past projects, including "Cliffhanger," describing his relationship with Sylvester Stallone, who was struggling to get his career back on track.

Harlin explained: "[The studio] said to me, we want Sylvester Stallone to star in this movie. And I said, 'no way.' I don't know who I was picturing for it, Kevin Costner or somebody, but they wanted him because they did 'Rambo' with him. This was at a point where he had just made 'Oscar' and 'Stop! Or My Mom Will Shoot,' both disastrous comedies and his career was in the toilet. And I said, 'no way, I don't want him.' He's a stereotype from the 'Rambo' movies, and the comedies have really made him not a very desirable actor at this time, and I want someone really realistic.

And they said, 'have a lunch with him, we want you to meet with him, listen to him.' So I have a private lunch with him, and he tells me how badly he wants to play this part. And he says, 'I know I screwed up making those comedies, and I know people find me laughable now. But I really want to prove something, I want to do something real, I want to make this film.' And I said, 'I can't name one director who has come out of a movie with you looking good. You always take over, and no one remembers who the director was. And that's not what I'm looking for, I want this to be my movie, I want to hire someone who does a great job and works with me.' And he says, 'That's exactly what I want. I promise if I do this movie, I will do exactly what you want me to do. I believe in you. I'm gonna be your partner, I'm gonna be your actor, and you're in charge.'

We talked some more and I really took a liking to him. He was really smart, very charming. At the end of the lunch, I said, 'Ok. If we have an understanding, I'm gonna tell you the first thing I'm gonna do. I'm gonna change the opening scene in the movie. Because in the opening scene, he's a rescue worker, he's very heroic. But if you're playing the part, I want you to fail, and I want you to kill the girl.' And he was like, 'What?' And I said, 'I am gonna change the scene so that you fail, and you kill this girl in the opening scene.' He took a deep breath and said, 'Alright, you're the director, if that's what you want, let's do it.' I changed the whole opening scene so that he would fail.

In our first wardrobe fitting, he was looking for his outfit. He tries this green sweater and a gray sweater, and I said, 'So, Sly, which sweater do you like better?' And he looks at me and says, 'You're the director, you tell me.' And I said, 'Gray sweater it is.' And that's how it was the entire movie, we had a wonderful relationship. He always listened to me. He never did the 'Sly' thing. Sometimes, I found him kind of posing while climbing, kind of showing off his muscles, and I had to tell him, 'Sly, don't pose. You're a mountain climber, not a weightlifter.'
"

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Shudder writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 7:37:32 AM

I'm sick of hearing of this idiot.
Rambo writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 8:02:46 AM

yeah,and nobody wanted you for die hard 2 but thats what we got.worst part of the franchise.*sshole.
Mudders writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 8:40:48 AM

why if he is promoting his new film is he talking about sh*t from his others....he f*cked up DH2 and i cant think of anything this c*ck has done that i like....clifhanger was f*ckin garbage....jim carrey dropping a raccoon was way better...and they were'nt even trying to be serious
coolguy writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 9:11:19 AM

"You always take over, and no one remembers who the director was"

lol no one remembers who directed cliffhanger anyways
PaulX7 writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 9:51:42 AM

Why so many articles about that untalented director??
pedromonkey writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 9:56:52 AM

What's with all the Harlin Hate, he didn't f*ck up Die Hard 2, the screen writers did, Harlin directed a script from other people, He did a pretty good Job. Long Kiss Goodnight is a brilliant film because it had a good writer, Mindhunters is a good film because it's cleverly written.
Ranger writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 11:25:14 AM

@pedro - I don't hate this guy. And I don't care what he did to DieHard2. I can dislike him because he seems to be incredibly insecure, a control-freak, and has an ego (from what I don't know) as big as the moon.

'...and I really took a liking to him.' --- because Sly was kissing my ass so much over lunch, it tickled my bum.

Why doesn't this goof have enough to go on promoting his current project, he has to go on and on about having the #1 action star under his thumb for one movie? Good for you Harlin, good for you! You da Man!

Goof.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 2:00:18 PM

He sounds like a prick to me. I guess this guy would hate working with christian bale.
trailertrash writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 3:00:40 PM

Kind of hope Renny is exaggerating on this one and sly didn't really have to kiss His ass to get the Cliffhanger gigg.

I don't mind Harlin i liked Die Hard 2, Nightmare 4,deep blue sea and Ford Fairlane but he has cheek taking the piss out of sly, he's made his fair share of stinkers too

That said i liked Oscar thought Stallone handled the comedy pretty well, Stop or mom on the other hand was not good (I've undersated that out of respect to stallone)
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 3:57:58 PM

IM getting sick and tired of hearing about this d*ck wad. first off nightmare on elm street was not huge box office hit. It was utter sh*t. The only reason why Long Kiss Goodnight was good was because of Sam Jackson and Shane Black.(Btw hoping he puts Iron Man back in form with IM3) But one thing I will agree with him on one subject is that regarding Aliens 3 David Fincher is a good director especially compared to this c*nt wad and now that he is promoting his latest sh*tty film and having his face in the spot light he is taking this opportunity and bashing studios and A list actors which is a good way to nail coffins in your career if you want to kill it(hopefully he will)instead of trying to compliment those who could get his career back up, and no Renny you didnt save Stallones career with this film, the studio gave you what little of a good film career you now have. All you do is talk sh*t make lackbusters, and now brag about being a control freak hack director. Stallone made this film what it was. A great classic 90's action film.
trailertrash writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 4:41:58 PM

^ Outside of the Elm st remake and Freddy V Jason, Dream Master was the most successful of the series at the boxoffice.

Agree on Cliffhanger a great action movie.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 5:04:26 PM

@TT Yes the third was the best, what an awesome place for kruger to be at, a hospital for the mentally insane. Lawrence was awesome it as usually and it had the best one liner in it Welcome to Prime Time Bitch....
trailertrash writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 5:38:09 PM

Great one liner ....

Yep loved the original proper good 80's horror movie but Part 3 is were it should have ended, Saxon and Heather back to end freddys nightmares.

But you know Hollywood they will milk the series to death and then just reboot it....
Whitta writes:
on August 21st, 2011 at 8:02:08 PM

Is it Renny Harlin week or something!?!?
The Real Joker writes:
on August 22nd, 2011 at 2:39:13 AM

So erhm, why do people hate Cliffhanger and Die Hard 2? Those are like my two favorite films.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 22nd, 2011 at 4:02:40 PM

Meh, Renny Harlin is mostly a sh*t director with one or two brief flashes of brilliance. The first was in this movie- I actually thought the opening scene of Cliffhanger was excellent- an exciting, gripping hook that got you into the movie really effectively. Too bad the rest of the movie was downhill from there (pretty steep downhill). The other flash of brilliance was in Deep Blue Sea, when Sam Jackson gets killed off. I always thought that was a really unusual and fun choice- perhaps the writer should be thanked for that, but Harlin's execution was solid.

Otherwise, Harlin's films are flat, confusing, and uneventful. It's kind of a shame, because he does have those (very infrequent) moments of brilliance, but my guess is that it's more luck than talent. Kind of like the infinite monkey theorem- even a hack director will eventually do something great once in awhile if he sticks around long enough...
darkraven28 writes:
on August 22nd, 2011 at 10:02:35 PM

And then they did Driven together, which Sylvester Stallone called the one movie in his life he absolutely wished he had never done. Or, so says IMDB trivia.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved