WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Back to the Future" Co-Writer Explains How Marty and Doc Became Friends

Posted: August 17th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Back to the Future" Co-Writer Explains How Marty and Doc Became FriendsSubmit Comment
There is a good chance that every one of you have seen "Back to the Future." But how many of you wondered how a young kid (Marty McFly) ended up being friends with a much older nutty scientist (Dr Emmett Brown)?

Apparently this question came up on the MentalFloss website. So to put an end to the mystery, "Back to the Future" co-writer Bob Gale posted an explanation that was actually discussed with director Robert Zemeckis during the making of the film.

He wrote: "For years, Marty was told that Doc Brown was dangerous, a crackpot, a lunatic. So, being a red-blooded American teenage boy, age 13 or 14, he decided to find out just why this guy was so dangerous. Marty snuck into Doc's lab, and was fascinated by all the cool stuff that was there. When Doc found him there, he was delighted to find that Marty thought he was cool and accepted him for what he was. Both of them were the black sheep in their respective environments. Doc gave Marty a part-time job to help with experiments, tend to the lab, tend to the dog, etc. And that's the origin of their relationship."

Source: MentalFloss


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 58 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 2:39:13 AM

cool.The friendship between them was my fav story line in the trilogy
GIST writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 2:40:11 AM

I still want me some Power Laces.
pornfly writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 3:06:34 AM

I thought marty found the doc in the bathroom after he fell off the toilet from auto erotic ephixiation thus envisioning the flex capacitor
defiant1 writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 3:37:33 AM

I wondered how those two met. I imagined Doc was a science teacher at his school at some point. Marty was one of his students and became fascinated by his experiments. He wanted to learn more. A friendship developed between them. Doc was eventually fired for his crackpot theories, but their friendship continued.
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 3:51:50 AM

Back To The Future epitomised all that was great about the family movie made back in the 80's.

A great decade for film and tv imo
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 4:21:18 AM

Michael J Fox says "He... the Doc... touched me... I haven't stopped shaking since."
JakeVermont writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 5:01:44 AM

@Cinemaisdead: f*ck you man! This is one of my favoutrite trilogies, and I think a lot of people think so too.
When I was 5 I wanted to build a time machine :) later this got me interested in physics, especially astro- and quantumphysics until I found out that is pissible in theory but practically not cuz of the energy needed, somehow I ended up studying engineering then.

I dont know where I would be now if it wasnt for this three movies. Maybe working at McD's instead of developing electronics.

So dont f*ck with BttF!
JakeVermont writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 5:03:45 AM

edit button damn it!!! favourite* lol pissible... possible*
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 5:06:22 AM

It was just a joke jake, take a chill pill dude !!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 5:23:08 AM

@cinema lol.

@tt damn straight there man.


I love this trilogy too, one of the few that have gotten better with age.

But with this news I guess grooming was a little different in the eighties.
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 5:35:10 AM

Agree dave, The only thing that let's the trilogy for me was the ending of part 3.

They should have left the doc back in the wild west where he was happy, the time travelling train idea sucked IMO
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 5:37:41 AM

(Let's the trilogy down) I mean

And Grooming lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 5:59:21 AM

I see what you mean trailer, but as it was a family film and also the feel good eighties, they couldn't end it on a bit of a downer.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 6:07:05 AM

Jake- f*ck off you strange little man. I love the films too it's what us outdoor people call "humour". And Quantum teleportation is only possible if the Doc had another time machine at the other end with the exact materials needed to reconstruct Marty and that's before you even think about him having the same consciousness.

Trailer- The thing that let it down for me is how Back To The Future 2 felt rushed, I think Zemeckis was overseeing both films at the same time, I hated the fact that Michael J Fox done an Eddie Murphy and played every character just get some one else to play the sister at least.
Rambo writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 8:05:59 AM

i loved back to the future 2 - it had a brilliant script and great ending.part 3,however,was the weakest in the trilogy butt still watchable.
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 8:21:09 AM

dave-

I just think if they had left him there in 1885 it would of had a more emotional conclusion to the series.

A little down beat i guess, but a bitter sweet ending where both guys end up happy in different times.

Anyway a great series regardless.
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 8:28:55 AM

Cinema

Agree Fox should of just stuck to playing the marty characters.

I loved part2 and he did film them back to back to save money.

But the thing that pissed me off more than anything was they left you with the cliffhanging ending. Then straight away before the credits even rolled they played the trailer for part 3 and if you remember that trailer it gives the whole film away more or less.

That was pretty poor IMO
nawtnt writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 8:42:03 AM

Great origin story to Marty's and Doc's friendship.

Their relationship was the best part of the movies.

Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd did a great job as Marty and Doc, they are legendary actors.


DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 8:54:33 AM

trailer

If the movie was made now it probably would have had that ending and it would have made the series evenmore special.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 8:55:47 AM

Interesting. Wondered how that got started.
Rambo writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 9:05:14 AM

^yep,quite different from your avatar's story
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 9:07:13 AM

Yeah Rambo that's a Back story I'd like to hear about ..
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 9:09:39 AM

dave - did you finally get to see the last Harry Potter, If so I hope it didn't let you down !!
happyguy815 writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 9:30:21 AM

For years, Marty was told that Doc Brown was dangerous, a crackpot, a lunatic because he molested little boys. So, being a red-blooded American teenage boy (he wanted it up the poop shoot), age 13 or 14, he decided to find out just why this guy was so dangerous (he likes little boys). Marty snuck into Doc's "lab", and was fascinated by all the cool stuff that was there (his kiddie porn dungeon, vibrators, etc). When Doc found him there, he was delighted to find that Marty thought he was cool and accepted him for what he was, a rapist. Both of them were the black sheep in their respective environments (self explanatory). Doc gave Marty a part-time "job" to help with "experiments", tend to the lab, f*ck the dog, pose for pictures etc. And that's the origin of their "relationship".
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 9:34:23 AM

^ hahaha , Nice ......

If the movie was "Back Door to the Fudge Packer" that's a perfect back story you've got there !!
MontoyaWA writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 9:50:30 AM

Haha! Fudge Packer?! What are you 50 yrs old? Nobody talks like that anymore. Haha! Thanks, that was great!
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 10:02:43 AM

Because you know. Ive Always Wondered...
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 10:40:33 AM

Ummm... wasn't this exactly how it played out in the movie? Marty snuck into the Doc's barn to snoop? Is this anything new?

I thought they met via:

http://www.neilsnotes.com/index.php?page=13&catid=4&sku=ENGL-CD00427
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 10:42:51 AM

As for Marty having the opportunity to poke his hawt mother (ad in the Hot Tub Time Machine movie)... who wouldn't?! She's NOT your mother at that point. Fill her ass up like the hot water bottle it is! Tear her from the inside out (because you KNOW the bitch is going to punish you for that little/medium fire you're going to set in the basement years later). Rail the bitch! FINISH HER!!!
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 10:43:44 AM

@Montoya - classic sayings never go out of style... rump-roasting, pillow-biter.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 10:44:40 AM

'...tend to the lab, f*ck the dog, pose for pictures etc.' --- lol.

Priceless.
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:05:13 AM

Ranger, Well she's good enough for Howard the Duck

http://img003.lazygirls.info/people/lea_thompson/lea_thompson_howard_the_duck_pokies_panties_hd_sh6vssz.sized.jpg
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:05:47 AM

Oops !!
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:08:23 AM

MontoyaWA

Ooooookay i guess,

Nah i ain't over 50, but the oldies are the goldies in my book !!
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:10:02 AM

Yep. Even Sly put a 'Your Mother!' joke in The Expendables.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:10:39 AM

@tt - yep... that ass is beggin' for a ride.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:17:26 AM

Time travel or not... if my mom were Morgan Fairchild, she'd be straddling the gauze any time I wasn't in her to stop the hemorrhaging!
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:18:45 AM

http://tinyurl.com/RangerInMorgan
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:22:09 AM

lol

Your not wrong ...
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:28:42 AM

Episode of two and half men i watched the other day had Jenny Mccarthy as a car dealer,

Charlie asked where the engine was in a Ferrari her reply was:

"Where it should be in the rear"

Greatest tv line ever
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:28:46 AM

Were I Charlie, I seriously would have asked for her thong after that scene (and by 'thong' I mean a nasty f*cking in her dressing room!).
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:29:32 AM

Yeah, Jenny was on her A-game in that episode. She's a piece of f*cked-up trash in real life... but, who cares?!
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:38:54 AM

lol, Knowing Sheen i bet he tried to get that particular thong too

Piece of f*cked-up trash thats one of the nicer things i've heard said about Jenny !!
billofill writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:46:30 AM

Bob left out the part where Doc offered to buy the kid booze for payment for being his assistant. That was on the DVD or Blu Ray or was that in a Radio interview it was some where damn it.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 11:58:58 AM

Ahh Jenny Mcarthy used to play with my trombone when she was on that dating show on MTV.
pornfly writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 12:28:23 PM

I think we need to have sombody check @rangers' basement lmao
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 12:33:18 PM

Ranger has 2 lil boys down there right now fighting for their lives. O wait I'm not supposed to say anything bout that, my bad.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 12:47:56 PM

Hey... at least they looked like little girls after they put on the outfits I gave them.
pornfly writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 2:24:25 PM

I have Kat Dennings in my basement she wanted to know wut da hell a jiggawatt was
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 2:25:08 PM

Well that is the right thing to do in that situation Ranger ..
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 2:27:16 PM

Hope you put her straight pornfly
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 4:01:35 PM

I wanna kidnap Mila Kunis and hold her captive in my basement, who's down to help?
rocketman writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 4:36:39 PM

Ya think Doc taught nurse Marty how to wrestle?
rocketman writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 4:37:27 PM

Special secret wrestling.
trailertrash writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 6:05:16 PM

bad-

No problem i'm there and she can use me as her personal mattress too
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 8:29:22 PM

Mila can use me to wipe her ass!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 17th, 2011 at 9:07:53 PM

trailer...

I did and it didn't.

Can't beleive I had to wait so long for it to get here, thought I was going to have to go to Hong Kong to see it.
goddamn devil writes:
on August 19th, 2011 at 2:12:36 AM

agreed that was a good franchise and thank god Hollywood has not tried rebooting this yet wait i might be speaking to soon

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved