WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Rise of the Planet of the Apes" is First at Box Office Again

Posted: August 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Rise of the Planet of the Apes" is First at Box Office AgainSubmit Comment
"Rise of the Planet of the Apes" remained in first place this weekend for the second week in a row with $27 million, bringing its worldwide total to $180 million. The film cost $93 million to make.

"The Help," starring Emma Stone and Viola Davis, exceeded predictions in grossing $25 million, and $25.4 million during the five-day debut. That was good enough for second place. "The fact that audiences are responding this way couldn't make us any happier," said Disney.

"Final Destination 5" underperformed by grossing $18.4 million. It was expected that the film would take at least $20 million, considering that the fourth installment took $27.4 million back in 2009. "Final Destination 5" cost only $45 million to make, which means its on its way to becoming profitable.

The two big disappointments of the weekend were "30 Minutes or Less" and "Glee: The 3D Movie."

"30 Minutes" grossed only $13 million and landed in fifth place. The comedy cost $28 million to make, which means that it too will become profitable, just not as profitable as expected.

Same goes for "Glee: The 3D Movie." Fans of the show didn't go to the theaters, which is why the film struggled to earn $5.7 million, instead of $30 million that Fox was hoping for. But since it cost $9 million, that's not a very big hit for the studio.

Click here to read our "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nawtnt writes:
on August 14th, 2011 at 10:02:41 PM

I am not amazed, ROTPOTA is my best movie of the summer so far and a great performance from Andy Serkis in the movie.
Midnight_Toker writes:
on August 14th, 2011 at 10:18:28 PM

What? Glee actually under performed with below 6 million? On its first weekend. Its been many years since I've said this but I have never been so proud of my country.
Rambo writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 1:45:34 AM

@nawtnt

agreed.bring on the sequel :-)
Frank_Castle writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 4:19:14 AM

great movie
coolguy writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 4:36:57 AM

happy for ROTPOTA, agree with nawtnt, best movie of the year (so far). and serkis was great in it.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 4:44:42 AM

I'll add my 10 quid to that profit next week. I'm going based on feedback from this site don't let me down WPers.
PaulX7 writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 5:19:29 AM

Glee is sh*t. I saw a few episodes and I absolutely hate the actors and the storyline, and despise the show. I'm so happy it under performed that I'm gonna open a bottle of champagne
Johnnyb writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 6:05:04 AM

Better news like this I couldnīt have.... As for Glee 3 D. SUCK IT HARD!!!!!
SeWerin writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 7:05:02 AM

Rightfully so. I was very impressed with ROTPOTA that i actually wrote my first review of that movie here on Worst Previews.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 8:49:27 AM

You mean Rise of the Planet of the Apes is number one at the box office again ? Really ?

Way to go, Captain f*cking Obvious.
anaheimducks writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 2:12:01 PM

Good glad planet of the apes came in 1st again it was awesome can't wait for it on blu ray and bring on the sequel.
happyguy815 writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 2:44:26 PM

You'd think a movie called Final Destination would've stopped after the first one.

Final Destination 2: Just kidding about the first one

Final Destination 3: Fooled you f*ckers again!

The Final Destination: Ok we swear this is the final one

Final Destination 5: Just kidding there's gonna be at least three more
trailertrash writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 3:11:05 PM

^ LOL

It's funny cause it's true ...
trailertrash writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 3:13:31 PM

Cinema

Enjoy mate, Don't think you will be disappointed it's a pretty soild start to maybe a new Apes series.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved