WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Malcolm McDowell on Getting Death Threats from "Star Trek" Fans

Posted: August 12th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Malcolm McDowell on Getting Death Threats from "Star Trek" FansSubmit Comment
The Daily Herald caught up with Malcolm McDowell to find out if he ever received death threats from "Star Trek" fans after his Dr Tolian Soran character caused the death of Captain Kirk (William Shatner) in "Star Trek: Generations."

"It was the early days of the Internet. Yes, it's true," he replied. "But I've made my peace with the trekkies. I've been to a trekkie convention. I told them, 'Go on, if you want to rip me apart! Go ahead!' We had jeers and cheers and had some fun with it."

McDowell added that Kirk's death freed Shatner to star in the "Boston Legal" TV series, but is also the reason why JJ Abrams couldn't get him a part in the "Star Trek" reboot. "They asked Leonard Nimoy to be in it, but not Bill. I think he was a little upset by that," said the actor.

Finally, McDowell spoke about his experience working on "A Clockwork Orange" with director Stanley Kubrick, who cut all ties with the actor after the film was finished. "I was very, very upset. I felt I had been used," McDowell explained. "He'd gotten everything he wanted out of me and now I couldn't get a return of a phone call. After working so closely with Stanley and going through hell and high water to get this incredible film and that performance which is practically in every frame of the film then, being cut off and hearing nothing? Very bizarre."

Source: Daily Herald


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on August 12th, 2011 at 8:29:04 PM

Hey Malcolm its because he had more important things to do then hang out with a whiney bitch like you. I mean has any one ever seen a kubrick film where he even used the same actors nope.Just be greatful that he allowed you to be in one of his films to begin with. Also has anyone every heard Jack Nicholson cry about not working with Kubrick again? Nope. f*ck off Malcolm.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 12th, 2011 at 8:45:22 PM

Trekkies the worst and most psychotic fanboys outta Harry potter,Star Wars,Nolan,Lord of the Rings Fans.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on August 12th, 2011 at 9:10:10 PM

bando, youre on it like blue bonnet sir.. couldnt of said it better myself...
Ranger writes:
on August 12th, 2011 at 9:12:28 PM

You felt 'used' Mr. McDowell?

There's a reason actors are called 'Meat Puppets'... deal with it.
coldplayesence writes:
on August 12th, 2011 at 11:16:23 PM

Melanie Griffit is waiting for you to try to kill her again, mister. Watch your movies and then ask yourself again why you feel like that.
SaulSilver writes:
on August 12th, 2011 at 11:56:07 PM

I never knew Kirk died.....
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 12:10:18 AM

Oops!

He shouldn't have. Shatner was playing the tough 'I'm done with Trek forever!' crap (as he did after every movie). It was a crap ending. As a reward for his decades of service, Picard should have sent him through 'The Nexus' again so he could live the life he gave up for Starfleet. Rick Berman learned from that movie as 'First Contact' was much better.
GreenLensman writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 12:36:52 AM

i like how some channels play "Generations" on Christmas just because there is a 5 minute Christmas scene in the movie ;]
KillerCOck writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 2:00:53 AM

I think Star Wars fans are worst
trailertrash writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 2:23:25 AM

Twilight fans are worse, as are the films
Rambo writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 4:01:49 AM

oh,i think star trek fans should be a piece of cake after passing this crazy fan:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MOhOdltuazA
c-prime writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 5:04:40 AM

"I mean has any one ever seen a kubrick film where he even used the same actors nope."

@ yourmomgivesgoodhead: Peter Sellers is in both "Lolita" and, of course, "Dr. Strangelove". And Kirk Douglas is in both "Spartacus" and "Paths of Glory".

Frustration really clouds your ability to think.
Cannon writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 5:24:56 AM

I'm lovin' that picture: dance-off!
PaulX7 writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 8:34:58 AM

Poor Malcom. There are some serious brain-damaged, psychos out there. Death threat because an actor played a character than killed another one in a series????? Man...

Star Trek sucks by the way. I never understood its success.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 10:21:43 AM

Trekkies are NERDS
vaodsi writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 10:24:36 AM

Christians can be the worst fanboys.
twihards are the worst followed closely by treckies followed closely by justin beiber fans.... actually trekies aren't as bad as bieberbabes.
what makes these groups THE WORST is that they are fanatically obsessed with material that is silly and ridiculous and banal and yet they are so adamant in it's brilliance and truth that they bang you over the head trying to convert you.... like christians.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 4:31:16 PM

@cprime I thought about that maybe 10 seconds after I posted it. but good call sir. my bad
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 6:21:06 PM

@Paul - I've taken your question as sincere.

Star Trek succeeded because it shows that the human race got over most of our 'issues.' It wasn't the outlandish costumes, or simple sets (budget restraints... but still, thank God for Lucille Ball for having vision to produce the show) that sold people on the show (in fact, it was those very same budget restraints that made fantastic episodes like: 'Specter of the Gun' the OK Corral episode really fly as the missing walls in the saloon were well explained).

Each episode got one 'thinking outside of the box.' And usually showed we are not the superior, arrogant beings we believe we are (on this planet anyway) as we frequently go our ass's kicked. Kirk usually resolved things with his smarts first, and only resorted to muscle and banging chicks when he had to.

There was always a moral to the story. And episodes today (of the original series) still hold true as the day they came out 45 years ago.
otis writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 7:53:17 PM

This article is all over the place. Was that all in the same interview? This was like E! True Hollywood Biographies or something.
c-prime writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 11:53:24 PM

@ yourmomgivesgoodhead: It's all good. Don't sweat it.
LastActionHero writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 7:57:05 AM

Tell them to go see A Clockwork Orange, they will go pee their pants. Speaking of which.. do a sequel to that bad boy.
PaulX7 writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 4:10:24 PM

@Ranger - OK, fair enough. I personally never bought into Star Trek, but I can understand its phenomenal success and huge fan base.
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2011 at 10:35:27 PM

Kewl.

Thx. for reading and the kind reply.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved