WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Rise of the Planet of the Apes" Director Reveals Sequel Ideas

Posted: August 9th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Rise of the Planet of the Apes" Director Reveals Sequel IdeasSubmit Comment
"Rise of the Planet of the Apes" opened to rave reviews and $54 million, which is why 20th Century Fox is already thinking about developing a sequel.

BleedingCool caught up with director Rupert Wyatt, who spoke about the direction the franchise could go into. He said: "There's so much we could do. The ideas I've had range from 'Full Metal Jacket' with apes... you could start this story again eight years from where we left off. The next generation of apes, those that have come from our protagonists, perhaps going in to a conflict with humans and showing real fear in the same way as going into war for young soldiers, telling their story.

Or how apes are taking over cities and being moved into human environments and having to interact with them and deal with things that are part of our culture and understand and evolve through them. Spies that are in the employ of the apes, working against humans and humans maybe existing underground, because that's a way they can avoid the virus, coming up above ground wearing gas masks, and maybe that's what dehumanizes them.
"

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
technoreaper writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 4:25:01 AM

Bad vibes about this sequel!
Midnight_Toker writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 4:44:53 AM

I had no faith in this movie but recently saw it and was quite surprised. If they have the same momentum for the sequel then im in. And oh if you want monkies acting like human, throw a blunt in their mouth and watch them laugh as the human population drops.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 5:00:13 AM

Sounds like he's asked a bunch of 10 year olds what should happen with the sequel. Humans coming u with gas masks, so a virus hits people then, quit ruining the ending of the film for me as well no spoiler alerts WP.
Rambo writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 5:00:36 AM

the rise of the planet of the apes of the sequel
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 5:54:13 AM

Haven't seen the first yet, but judgin by waht I've sen of this and heard too then a sequel could work if done right.
Avirex writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 6:06:15 AM

He didn't write the latest installment did he? It seems above his writing talents after reading these unimaginitive ideas. Still, I'm both curious and interested in a potential sequel. But they have to keep Ceasar in it no question about it.
anaheimducks writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 6:15:54 AM

Bring on the sequel
NotAmerican writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 7:43:55 AM

This only comes out on the 12th here in Not America Land so I can't say if a sequel is needed but I hear its awesome so bring on the apes!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 9:22:45 AM

I would start the sequel pretty close to where this film left off. I'd have the apes find out what the virus that makes them smarter does to humans (kills them). I'd have a power struggle in apes leadership between Ceasar and the older chimp the scientists tested the newer (faster evolving) virus on first. They stated in the film that the older chimp had been in and out of labs and had been tested on more than most other chimps, so why not make him bare a hatred for humanity so deep that he wants to use the virus to wipe out all humans. Ceasar, on the flipside, could fight for the apes to embrace their new found humanity (something he was born with) by not resorting to further violence against mankind. At some point in their struggle have man do something to force Ceasar to accept that harsh reality that the planet isn't big enough for both apes and humans which leads to a larger scale war between them. Of course we already know who wins in the long run, but I could see this being a nice setup to a third film set in the furture that covers the plot of the original. This would be a few generations of highly evolved offspring later that would remember the apes war against the humans almost like we remember Greek mythology. The remaining humans could be changed by the effects of the virus and a lack of civilization and should be enslaved or kept as pets. That is until Heston's character lands back on the planet and leads the human rebellion.
Palmer writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 9:46:11 AM

I'm seeing Rise this Thursday. I hope it's good. I'm not expecting a classic, I just want to be entertained for a couple of hours.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 10:20:38 AM

Potenial is there but sh*twood will f*ck it up.
Dr_ChocolatePudding writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 10:44:22 AM

Great post Sac. Rise of the Apes truly suprised me. Definitely one of the best movies of the summer, with First Class right up there. Caesar was done really well, not sure how much credit should be given to Andy Serkis. Nonetheless, a great movie and hope the sequel doesn't disappoint.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 10:51:16 AM

Ahh now I know everything about this film. Cheers guys
trailertrash writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 11:19:48 AM

Cinema - haha

Just got tickets for saturday mate, Looking forward to it, As long as the yobs haven't smashed the cinema down by then.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 11:22:02 AM

Lol have you booked it in London then, if so where an Arsenal shirt that will keep you safe lol. I'm gonna have to see it as well might go Bas Vegas on friday and give it a butchers.
trailertrash writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 11:34:57 AM

Arsenal shirt lol

Nah mate Bas Vegas for me, But i'm in London for the opening of the Inbetweeners next week

But you know what some of the thick twats are like round here they are always a couple of days behind everywhere else in the country, They won't start trouble till Thursday night lol
Big_Daddy writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 12:12:00 PM

^ If you where an arsenal shirt I will personally fly over the pond and kick your arse!
DeVries writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 2:04:55 PM

Fur Metal Jacket ?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 4:18:20 PM

Lol gotta be a gooner, I can imagine a riot erupting from vange, it woult sound hilarious every time they read it on the news as well.
DexterMorgan writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 4:41:26 PM

i hope the sequel is as great as the first
trailertrash writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 4:58:00 PM

Big- lol

If i ever had an Arsenal shirt on Big i would kick my own ass !!
trailertrash writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 5:01:09 PM

Cinema- lol Vange .....

Trouble in the town centre now apparently !!

f*ckin soap dodgers ...
MyDickSmellsLikeButthole writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 6:06:26 PM

What the f*ck is this one gonna be called, The Return of the Rise of the Planet of the Apes?
masht7 writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 6:18:36 PM

I bet it's gonna be called something like 'Uprising of the Planet of the Apes'.
velocityknown writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 11:16:19 PM

@Sac

Couldn't agree more, the closer it is to this film, the better I think. It's so rich with potential story ideas that I don't think you want to leave it too far behind.

Good vibes about any sequel Rupert Wyatt is around though. Just saw the movie today and it (and by extension Wyatt) instilled me with great confidence.

It's amazing to me the difference a director makes on a big budget project and kind of justifies the argument of people like Michael Bay who are simply demolitions experts. Without giving away too much, there weren't a lot of explosions or crazy fight scenes in this film, but it was still arguably the best "summer movie" of the summer. T

hey spent ample time developing characters so that the climax was well-earned and entertaining. Not so overdone that it it made you unable to enjoy anything (a la Transformers and Green Lantern). The scenes of the apes overrunning San Francisco were fantastic and evidence of a director who knows what he's doing.

Go see it, WP community, I don't believe most of you will regret it.

Also, hope those users in London and surrounding areas are doing well. Stay safe and brace yourself for the movie based on the riots in ten years.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved