WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Howard Stern Blamed for Leaking "Super 8" DVD Online

Posted: August 8th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Howard Stern Blamed for Leaking "Super 8" DVD OnlineSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures released JJ Abrams' "Super 8" in theaters two months ago and is now planning a DVD/Blu-ray release. Unfortunately, a copy of the film has leaked to online, which may hurt the studio's earnings.

The copy is an advance DVD screener that's watermarked with the Paramount logo and the name of the person who received it for review. And that person is Howard Stern.

The studio already performed its investigation and has determined that Stern was not directly involved with the leaking of the DVD. It's more likely that he passed the copy around the office and one of the staff members decided it was a good idea to put the film online, marked with his boss' name.

This has become a really embarrassing moment for Stern, who considers Abrams a good friend. Not only did the director appear on Stern's show to promote "Super 8," but also gave Stern's daughters a guest spot on his hit series "Felicity."

Since this may hurt Stern's credibility, he will likely perform his own internal investigation, which will eventually lead to a firing. Stay tuned.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 4:35:24 AM

Keep downloading illegal films and music and make it all free, then burn the studios and sh*t on their doorsteps. Viva la resitance
AYT BALL writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 4:37:27 AM

Cheers Howard, was wondering who to thank
trailertrash writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 4:40:52 AM

Someone will be getting a kick in the Private Parts !!
trailertrash writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 4:50:55 AM

Know what i have never down loaded a movie before, I would always rather buy it.

I Would save myself as small fortune if i did BTW :)
nawtnt writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 5:02:38 AM

Oh well, Stern didn't only lost a friend but migt lose his job.

I wonder if one of his staff who downloaded the movie online, is going to be fired too because it is not all Stern's fault.

Rambo writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 5:06:28 AM

I wouldn't know.I always pay for movies.I'm a good citizen.(google download super 8...)
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 5:16:20 AM

The good thing about buying films is you've got the dvd case and its obviously always gonna be better quality. But then your dvd gets scratched and your f*cked. I think digital copies have gotta be the next step maybe if they sold it in a case any way so you could still show off your collection. I'll download films I'm not bothered about or to see if they're good.
boogiel writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 8:01:58 AM

Cool! Now I can look for the pir8ed version of it. It must be uploaded somewhere. Thanks to whoever distributed it.



trailertrash writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 8:44:28 AM

Cinema

Friend of mine prints his covers from somewhere on the net, They look ok i guess.

I just have always brought 95% (other 5% i rent) of all the films i watch, From VHS then all over again on DVD and now again on Blu Ray.

Can't beat the real thing IMO. But i don't blame people for downloading though, it's not cheap watching films these days either buying them or watching them at the cinema.
Rambo writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 8:56:30 AM

the movie was disappointing,too cheesy and childish,the ending was ridiculous.I prefer much more 'cloverfield' which was darker and far more thrilling.
Big_Daddy writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 9:03:31 AM

@ TT and cinema

cdcovers.cc


download, burn and cover good to go
bandolero999 writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 9:28:22 AM

you shouldnt feel guilty downloading movies.These days about 70% of movies that come out in hollywood suck extreme balls.and if you decide to buy the movie on Bluray and have never seen it,and you dont like it you'll wanna kick your self in the BALLZ.

One good thing about this that Foreign movies from Europe and Asia are coming up.And theyre actually very good movies with only half the budget of Hollywood movies.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 9:29:51 AM

I dont have satellite radio so havent heard Stern in Years.WHO CARES
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 9:32:09 AM

The holy-wood crowd is a bunch of backstabbers

I wouldnt be at all surprised if this was done by Stern, probably as a publicity stunt

But I could care less anyway

Next story please, how about something more interesting WP
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 9:42:49 AM

I have a small Dvd and bluray collection of around 1000+ Dvds. I would own more but I have to show some control , oh by the way "Cinemaisdead" if you take really good care of DVDs/Blurays then they never scratch. Out of my entire collection I have only a few dvds with scracthes on them but they were pre-owned. sorry to preach to people but always place in back in the box and it will remain unscracthed for years.

As for downloading, Yeah I do it, I mean who doesn't these days. I just p[aid to see Super 8 lastnight at the cinema, Loved the movie so much I downloaded it. I will aslo buy the bluray I like it so much, so the studio isn't losing out on my count.

I figure I buy a lot of films so the odd download is ok. To me it is anyway.
Big_Daddy writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 10:00:43 AM

^ I agree. If the movie is good enough after a download ( Rise of the Apes) I will go and see it in the theater. then buy on Blu ray for the collection.
Akasha writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 10:14:36 AM

What a f*cking moron! Thanks though!
technoreaper writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 10:36:31 AM

What was he thinking? Whoever leaked the movie should be fired. They obviously don't care about keeping their job.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 10:36:57 AM

Cool I was wanting to see it again, thanks Howard.
technoreaper writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 10:37:46 AM

@GuyBushWithWood, I completely agree.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 11:15:14 AM

Trailer- Yeah I never actually download dvds to keep I only watch them online and if they're good enough I'll buy them.

GuyBush- A few of my older DVDs just start skipping especially my own films that I've burnt to dvd, obviously they're cheaper and not the same as proper one's but once they're gone I'm never getting them back.
Ranger writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 11:43:46 AM

@cinema - what are you doing to your DVD's that scratch them that badly... playing Frisbee? The only time a DVD of mine had gotten scratched is when I loaned it out... thus, I don't do that anymore. If scratched... a bit of wax restores the protective surface (I've never had to do that, but a friend of mine has). And you're right about the digital downloaded versions are the way of the future. DVD's will become as obsolete as: VHS, Beta, Cassettes (although I have a GREAT vintage music collection on cassette I listen to in the garage whilst enjoying a stogie), and 8-track (some of you will to Google that last one).

@band - the customer always pays. If people pirate too much, ticket sales go up, DVD prices would go up as we will pay for their losses and they have to pay for better security schemes.

I'm on tt's program. Buy 95%, maybe rent 5%. Although with an upcoming move all my movies and music are going onto a 5 hard-drive redundant NAS system, and my computer guy is steering me towards downloading (legally) my movies. I'm going very minimalistic, so even my existing DVD's will be stored and out of sight (kind of an eye-sore anyway... 'Hey... look what I've spent on movies!!!' --- who cares?!).

As for Stern leaking the movie... I'll suspect it's better than what he usually leaks.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 11:48:52 AM

Ranger- Well I'm only 20 so my collection probably started at the age of 14 maybe? So yeah probably not the most caring of ages its mostly my sister borrowing them or other people I'm always really careful but I've dropped stuff before and Im sure illegal substance has been sniffed off or rolled on one or two cases at parties. Something new will always come out and I don't see it being real any more.

My friends still all buy vinyl though for mixing and stuff and the sound is just so perfect!
Ranger writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 11:54:20 AM

Yep... I forgot vinyl on that list. And yes... people that collect it still say it's the best, true sound (I believe them). Amazing eh? A plastic disc with groove depths for sound and a wire needle dragging through it and it's the best sound. Technology is convenient... it's not always the best.


Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 12:12:47 PM

Vinyl is one thing that should be around forever! STOP THE WAR ON VINYL
Ranger writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 12:20:06 PM

Yes. I have a friend that has a huge vinyl collection. He doesn't use it though. It's stored in his cold room, and he listens to CDs. So I suggested he either buy a turntable with a USB connection and convert them to his hard drives, and/or take them to the record store (yes, they still exist), as he's not enjoying them.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 2:13:37 PM

"And you're right about the digital downloaded versions are the way of the future. DVD's will become as obsolete as: VHS, Beta, Cassettes..."

I have to disagree with you there Ranger, maybe DVD's are on the way out but Bluray has just taken off. I hear what your saying about the future that all content will be online to download, i.e Music but I somehow think there will always be some kind of physical media to carry films and music on, after all your list of outdated obsolete formats have one thing in common, they are all physical mediums that you pick up and plug in. I think people like tactile contact with stuff, maybe in the future stores will self films and mucis on small chips or solid state media but who knows.

If eveything did become online then I hope all the extra bonos features do as well. Last time I checked when you download a paid movie online you only get the film and none of the special features, like the making and stuff. Maybe some people don't like the extras but a lot of people do including me.

Also I realise it's the 21st century but there are a lot of people in the world who believe it or not don't own or even know how to use a computer but who may own a dvd player or bluray player.

As for your collection being an eye-sore, ok sorry you feel that way but I love my collection, and no it's not because i'm showing off I just like to see all the titles looking at me and I can then go through and pick up say Ghostbusters and pop it in. I know if it were a purely digital copy it would be but only a mouse click away but I like the physical copies. I have digital ones also but only use them when I have to, like travelling.

I guess it's like books, a lot of people buy books still even though you can just get a kindle or something and read the digital version. Some people just like to have a collection.
trailertrash writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 2:46:55 PM

Agree GuyBushwithWood. I love a collection, I dont think you can beat having the Blu Ray/DVDS there ready to go.

My wife is a gadget freak and does all the i-pod crap and all that, me i'm more old Skool (But i buy off play on line not HMV in the high st so thats modern right) I get the film it goes into my film room away from all prying and borrowing eyes, lol

I buy a hell of a lot i have so many films i've never even seen i just like collecting them, it can be like a drug i guess.

Ranger minimalistic my other half would love that she would get a room back in the house again, lol
trailertrash writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 2:49:01 PM

Big - lol, thanks

Cinema - I'm being dragged down to canvey island now to play on the machines and see a movie !! LOL
trailertrash writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 2:52:29 PM

Rambo-

I really liked Super 8 but i agree the ending was really poor ...
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 2:55:37 PM

Where is the f*cking link, im not gonna pay for that sh*t call super 8? LInk pls
nawtnt writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 3:18:49 PM

I actually don't care about Stern leaking Super 8.

I think Super 8 is the worst movie of the year because I knew what was going to happen next and the ending was just awful.
Rambo writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 3:57:16 PM

@trailer

that ending was retarded.why the f*ck should a monster listen to a kid?
Kurskij writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 3:58:24 PM

I'd buy it for a dollar.
Kurskij writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 4:07:33 PM

@tt

I'm with you on this one.

For me DVD's (good, interesting edition only though) are like good books - it's a pleasure to look at, to hold and to watch.

For example, I own "Apocalypse Now Redux", some Disney Treasures editions (the ones in tin boxes, limited), first edition of "Fight club" on 2 dvd's and many others. Hell, I have to confess, I even have Pearl Harbor 60th anniversary gift set and consider it money well spent - it looks and plays great.

Yet to make a step towards Blu-Ray though.
Raider writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 4:28:26 PM

I myself am an avid DVD and CD collector sadly I dont have any Vinyl I'd love to own some. I have so many its hard to count. If i had to guess how many i'd say maybe alittle over 100 maybe. I dont like downloading movies never was my cup of tea.
Ranger writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 6:22:02 PM

@GuyBush - good post. I've been around longer. I've seen a TON of 'formats' come and go. I'm just saying all new formats have those that resist due to comfort (and rightfully so) with their current format. I'm just suggesting that everything is going so 'tron' that downloading movies (legally) even BluRays onto hard-drives may become as common as driving to a BlockBuster was 10 years ago. I'm still on the fence either way (tech vs. old school). I'm renovating my house right now. 20 speakers (incl. a steam shower that talks... oi!), yet still have my cassette collection (recorded from records I used to own) I play when I'm in the garage. I'm going 'minimalistic' --- I guess between a huge run of sales on kijiji and the TV shows on hoarding (of which I'm not even close... lol)... having less, and more easily accessible (running a house via iPod) it's a cleaner look I'm going for.
trailertrash writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 3:15:33 AM

Kurskij

Funny you say about Apocalypse Now just ordered the 3 dics blu ray version at the weekend.

I'm a sucker for a Limited Edition box set or some sort of Special release.

Just can't tell you how many different ways i've brought all the James Bond films over the years.

Blu Ray is the way to go mate now the prices are starting to fall in line with dvd.
trailertrash writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 3:42:17 AM

Rambo-

I would have liked to have seen the last 10/15 minutes changed completely the whole thing just felt like an anti climax to me, Shame because i liked what had happened up until that point.
trailertrash writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 3:45:47 AM

Ranger

Steam Shower that talks, Nice ...
Kurskij writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 7:29:03 AM

@tt

That's what I was waiting for - the price decline, to see if the format will stay afloat and for them to start releasing special edition's - Casablanca seems great, Alien anthology, Scarface steelbook is also on my list.
trailertrash writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 8:41:50 AM

Yes mate there are some wicked Sp Ed coming out this year.

And they have started doing Double and Triple play versions also where you get the Dvd, Digital Copy and the Blu-Ray all together.

Which is handy for films like Thor the kids get their own copy.

I watched Clint Eastwood's The Enforcer a while ago and the shots of San Francisco looked so clear, It really was awesome kind of like watching a new film.
trailertrash writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 8:45:00 AM

This looks pretty sweet if you ask me ....

http://www.zonadvd.com/imagenes/noticias/2011_09_universal/rambo_trilogiagranada_bluray.jpg
Kurskij writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 8:45:06 AM

Yeah, I remember watching The Terminator on blu-ray - opening night shots with rain and fog looked amazingly clear. Like looking through a window.


Kurskij writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 9:56:25 AM

Daaaamn, I need to secure a shelf for that

trailertrash writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 10:56:28 AM

Haha you know that mate ......
Ranger writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 6:26:58 PM

@tt - closest I can tell (have read) - it'll tell me when to sit. Like I f*cking need to know when to sit?!?!?!
trailertrash writes:
on August 10th, 2011 at 7:02:52 PM

lol !!!

Handy then ...
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on August 11th, 2011 at 9:29:14 AM

@Ranger , 20 speakers, what are you building? Sounds awesome haha. Talking shower is nice. When you say you been around a lot longer are you older than 30 like what it says in your personal infomation because i'm like 29 which is not much of a difference. 30 in a few months myself, yeah the big 30, not longer a 20 somthing year old.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved