WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Rise of the Planet of the Apes" - What Did You Think?

Posted: August 6th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Rise of the Planet of the Apes" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
20th Century Fox's "Planet of the Apes" prequel, called "Rise of the Planet of the Apes," is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying an impressive 80% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that "Planet" is a smart action film. Most who don't like it, believe it failed in comparison to the classic version.

"Rise of the Planet of the Apes" earned $1.3 million from midnight screenings and $18 million on Friday. It will likely end up somewhere between $42-$45 million for the weekend. Come back on Sunday to see the actual results.

Click here to read our "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 5:38:59 AM

It was Tim Burtons Planet of The Apes film that pailed into comparison to the original.

This would be more Escape from the planet of the apes which was terrible.

This does look ok
Rambo writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 5:41:34 AM

maybe i'll go watch it later today...will post my verdict
technoreaper writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 5:50:26 AM

I thought it was great. It was a very smart, well-done movie.

Some things that weren't answered are pretty clear if you use your brain.

For example, when the apes freed the others in the lab and the zoo, some people asked how they would have been intelligent if they didn't get the ALZ113? Well, each of the apes that got the drug became living hosts of the virus. As they joined with the other apes, they "contracted" the virus and got smarter. You could argue that it was instantaneous.

I know, it's a movie, but still. I can't wait for the sequel.
ksplatt writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 6:35:05 AM

There doesn't need to be a sequel to this movie...Just start over at the original...but no, Hollywood won't have that.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 7:39:50 AM

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying an impressive 80% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that "Planet" is a smart action film

I still don't get how it's smart when apes over throw humans with their lack of the ability to grip objects properly with their thumbs and lack of battle training. I know that they're smarter but you don't suddenly learn how to aim and shoot guns or beat tanks or aeroplanes.
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 7:48:43 AM

Cinema -

Mate have seen those PG Tip chimps, If they can pour a tea pot I bet they can shoot a gun too !!
Rambo writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 8:58:42 AM

say what you want about Tim Burton's remake but Helena Bonham Carter did a fine job portraying Michael Jackson.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 10:20:37 AM

@Cinema: See the movie and maybe you'll understand better.

This is the best movie of the year by far!!! I was totally blown away by every aspect of the film (story, acting, action, EVERYTHING). Caesar was the only thing that didn't look real, but it actually works better that way. His facial expressions are too important to the film to use make-up on an actor. His CGI is the focal point of the movie, and boy do they get it right. This is the best prequel ever made imo. I can't wait for the sequel.
Tsantilla writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 10:57:49 AM

@Cinema

actually your question is answered by the end scene which shows the human killing virus being flown all over the world. It basically implies that its the virus that will do most of the human killing and not the apes.

Also chimps and gorillas in their natural habitat will form hunting parties with strategic goals and objectives. So battle tactics are not that far off for them.
xtlhogciao writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 11:18:52 AM

I wasn't really expecting to like it at all but I was really surprised at how much I liked it. There's really nothing I can really nitpick at except for one thing. What should have been a powerful, or at least really big part of the movie, the shouting of the word "no," was pretty much ruined by the Harry Potter actor's poorly executed throwback line directly preceding it. Otherwise I thought it was really good.
Summer rating: better than Thor, almost as good as or on par with X-Men.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 12:28:36 PM

Reminds me of Watts riots...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i6hldoCUTiA
pornfly writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 12:40:48 PM

@ranger thats cold. soo are we supposed to forget about Conquest of the planet of the apes?? where baby caesar speaks at the end, i'll still see it tho
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 1:22:03 PM

@pornfly - so long ago, I forgot (or chose to forget) that ending:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QyKTAyPcnPg
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 1:43:50 PM

PS: for newbies here, my Watts riot reference wasn't color-related... it was riot-related.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 2:41:32 PM

@pornfly: its a lot like Conquest.
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 3:04:50 PM

Ranger riot related, lol

And what the hell was that 1st clip all about ??
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 3:05:17 PM

What a great job Roddy McDowall (RIP) did playing Caesar all those years ago BTW
John FootPenis writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 5:00:57 PM

After he roared NO! I said 5/5 out of 5 stars. Love the easter eggs they dropped with the incarus news launch and lost in space newspaper. Movie is my favorite summer flick so far
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 7:47:00 PM

Just saw

Pretty good

Watch this one and the very first one with Charlton Heston and forget that there were other planet of the ape films
Patrick Bateman writes:
on August 6th, 2011 at 11:14:17 PM

When will the horses rise up? It seems like they're always in servitude.
trailertrash writes:
on August 7th, 2011 at 4:52:34 AM

^ We've already had 2 Sex In The City Movies
mpiper821 writes:
on August 7th, 2011 at 7:27:26 PM

It was definitely better than I thought it was going to be, and better than more than half the summer movies this year.
Ranger writes:
on August 8th, 2011 at 12:04:17 AM

@tt - lololol...
jimatta writes:
on August 9th, 2011 at 1:38:17 AM

I think this film is pretty good.look at it as a prequel and thatīs what it is. Than the film starts to kick up! good and touching story + the CGI is amazing. read some reviews and the always try to diminish the film by using words like: foreboding fairy-tale-c*m-tragedy. Like the critic cant see anything else then to compare this one to the original. this film so different then from the 1.st one and a very good one...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved