WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" is Here!
Jul 25th, 2014
First Photos From "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jul 25th, 2014
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters, with Captain America and Black Widow
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for "50 Shades of Grey" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
First Two Posters for "Avengers: Age of Ultron" are Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
First Poster for Marvel's "Ant-Man" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
Photos: Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 24th, 2014
Marvel Takes Old "The Amazing Spider-Man 4" Date, Likely for "Avengers 3"
Jul 24th, 2014
"Hitman: Agent 47" Unveils Comic-Con Banner
Jul 24th, 2014
New Trailer for Pierce Brosnan's "The November Man" Thriller
Jul 24th, 2014
Sony Announces Release Plan for "The Amazing Spider-Man 3" and "Sinister Six"
Jul 24th, 2014
Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" and "Sinister 2" Unveil Release Dates
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Unveils First Poster
Jul 23rd, 2014
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: Henry Cavill as Superman in "Man of Steel"!

Posted: August 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: Henry Cavill as Superman in "Man of Steel"!Submit Comment
Director Zack Snyder and producer Christopher Nolan are planning to begin shooting "Man of Steel," the upcoming "Superman" reboot, this fall. And today, Warner Bros has unveiled the first official photo of Henry Cavill in his Superman outfit. Check it out below.

In addition to Cavill, the film also stars Amy Adams (The Fighter) as Daily Planet journalist Lois Lane, Laurence Fishburne (The Matrix) as her editor-in-chief, Perry White. Starring as Clark Kent's adoptive parents, Martha and Jonathan Kent, are Diane Lane (Unfaithful) and Kevin Costner (Dances with Wolves).

Squaring off against the superhero are two other surviving Kryptonians, the villainous General Zod, played by Michael Shannon (Revolutionary Road), and Faora, Zod's evil partner, played by Antje Traue. Also from Superman's native Krypton are Lara Lor-Van, Superman's mother, played by Julia Ormond, and Superman's father, Jor-El, portrayed by Russell Crowe (Gladiator).

Rounding out the cast are Harry Lennix as US military man General Swanwick, as well as Christopher Meloni as Colonel Hardy.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Man of Steel."

Source: Warner Bros


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 5:37:50 PM

Needs some gell on his hair and wheres the quiff thingy? Suits a little too dark in tone,capes fine...beef up a bit more...other than that I'm quite excited about this.
Wallace writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 5:38:07 PM

Looks like a fish in a muscle suit. Aquaman called, he wants his fabric back...
rocketman writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 5:39:56 PM

OMG OMG first AWW sh*t...I ls like to thank my mum,mr beer seller at the shop and the pizza guy not to mention porn.
love you all (almost)peace.
JakeVermont writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 5:40:02 PM

nice costume :) but I'm not sure about the dark tone of the movie? or is it just the picture? If they stay serious and away from silly jokes, I know we had them in the old movies the Lex Luther fun, but they should try to stay serious then maybe the dark tone will work.

As for this picture... it looks pretty badass. His look is cool too. Hope it wont suck.
Rambo writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 5:40:42 PM

his hair should be shorter but other then this its fine.
rocketman writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 5:42:35 PM

His eyes should be glowing red like a Terminator,that would be cool as f*ck.
happyguy815 writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 5:47:17 PM

Looks cool, hopefully Snyder doesn't f*ck things up.
trailertrash writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 5:52:26 PM

Can't be worse than Sucker Punch thats for sure
Frank_Castle writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 5:56:47 PM

Im not liking his dark Aquaman fabric suit :( Thats one big reaSOn I hated Superman Return's outfit. Why coulnt they make it lighter like Christopher Reeve's?

Plus Henry Cavill doesnt look like himself in that picture. He kinda looks like Adam Baldwin in that picture. Oh well, somehow Im happy still.
trailertrash writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:02:32 PM

I'm pleased for you Rocket Congratulations (lol)
MyDickSmellsLikeButthole writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:16:53 PM

It must suck getting a boner in that suit.
PaulX7 writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:24:09 PM

I like the suit, the fabric look and the dark tones. I hope that it'll be more adult and serious, and that there won't be any stupid humour.
Blood_Ice-Cream writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:25:19 PM

"Director Zack Snyder and producer Christopher Nolan are planning to begin shooting "Man of Steel," the upcoming "Superman" reboot, this fall."

So, is this not an actual set photo?
Rambo writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:26:36 PM

just a promo photo a bit like daniel craig for 'casino royal'
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:29:27 PM

No surprises there. What I'm really interested in is how they will disguise him as Clark Kent.
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:31:01 PM

Rambo

I agree about the hair

Suit is not bad other than the S looks a little stupid. Or its just a little too big, I dont know it just doesnt match well for some reason
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:33:30 PM

TrailerTrash

I think Princess hotness would make a good Lois Lane,

Pippa could be her stunt double!
trailertrash writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:33:50 PM

A Pair of Glasses and some civvies no doubt Freud
trailertrash writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:35:23 PM

CH- LOL

Now that would be interesting
Midnight_Toker writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:38:13 PM

Cool pic. Superman looks bad ass and about to hurt somebody. Put that kryptonite between your legs Lois Lane or you gonna get hurt.
Avirex writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:39:11 PM

f*cking hate that snake looking fabric. Too dark.

Superman Returns, again. Blahhh..
gideon_the_1 writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:39:26 PM

Wow, This looks really really bad, with that hair, he should be in a cheesy Mob Movie, the Costume looks like ribbed Condom and he better watch out, he might trip on his Cape.
Blood_Ice-Cream writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:49:17 PM

Ahh right.

I personally like the costume, and think Cavill will do a good job as supes. Just a little worried about Snyder. Goyer & Nolan should have done a good script though, right? They never really seem to disappoint. Still, 'Sucker Punch' was written by Snyder, he seem's to make some pretty good flick's with other's scripts.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:55:25 PM

the fabric is to Aquamanish but I think it'll look good on film. I really like the tone of the suit doh. It suits the actor's complexion, If he were pasty white skinned then it would be a problem.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 6:58:22 PM

So much f*cking nitpicking online these days. People were bitching about Daniel Craig as Bond, people were bitching about Heath Ledger as the Joker, people were bitching about Chris Evans as Captain America. Now people are bitching about how Bane looks, and about how Superman looks.

All the nitpicking is hilarious to read: the fabric sucks, the "S" is too big, his hair is too long, the tone is too dark.

He f*cking looks like Superman. And a much more hardass Superman than either Welling or Routh.

I, for one, am more concerned with how the movie itself will turn out. I'm hoping Snyder doesn't drop the ball.

All these other gripes are valid, I suppose, but why do we feel the need to criticize every little aspect of something that we haven't experienced yet? Why not wait to judge until we've seen either a trailer or the film itself?

Or we could just rely on what I'm sure will be an astounding review by Dustin Putman....
Johnnyb writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 7:48:56 PM

Awesome!!!! Canīt wait for the screen shots start appearing each week on the filming like TDKR set.
ME|AN writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 7:55:05 PM

why the f*ck are you pussies critiquing his custume being "too dark" it should be dark as well as the movie considering superman returns was a pile of doo doo butter.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 9:02:18 PM

Pretty good so far. Can't wait for a trailer.
nawtnt writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 9:20:44 PM

Awesome, Herny Cavill looks great as Superman.

I hope he does a great job in the role.
Damon242 writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 9:39:39 PM

I've never thought of the superman universe as being a very engaging one, especially for film.

People nowadays seem to respond better to the more grounded experience, but just how grounded can you make superman?

My advice would be to leave it for another decade and then maybe give it a new try. By then there'd be a whole other generation that would be unfamiliar with the story.
Raider writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 9:54:50 PM

Doesnt look bad. By the way anyone who has seen Sucker Punch Can anybody tell me exactly why they did'nt like it. My Girlfriend Rented it just recently and I'm kind of on the fence with seeing it but i might watch it tonight. What should I expect from it?
Raider writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 9:56:29 PM

I also apologize for some of my grammatical errors lol.
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 10:20:26 PM

@Wallace, spot on observation. His suit looks idiotic and as much as I'd like to see someone resurrect the man of steel after the crap fest that was Superman Returns, doesn't look like Snyder's going to pull it off.
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 10:25:50 PM

@ Raider, that's the thing I still haven't been able to figure out about sucker punch, I can't exactly put my finger on why it's so lame, It has great music, zombie steam punk kaisers, gatling gun weilding giant samurai and dragons, it SHOULD be freaking awsome, but boy did it suck.
Frank_Castle writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 10:35:05 PM

all I care now is seeing Superman bust sum Dragon Ball Z Damage on Zod, Darkseid, Doomsday, Parasite, Bizarro, Metallo, Mongul, Brainiac.... and then get his ass handed down and owned by Batman like in the comics and in the box office. :)
boogiel writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 11:19:28 PM

OMG....OMG I'm so NOT excited!
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 11:53:52 PM

Sorry folks... I'm such a Supes fan I'm stoked for this film and willing to give them yet another chance (what do we have to lose?). His costume, the look, even the actor matter little. We needs a REALISTIC story.

Let Superman be super and this movie will fly.
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 12:01:23 AM

Supes story NEEDS to go to the dark side.

He's an orphan, he's an alien. He doesn't fit in despite his efforts. He's a tragic character.

I love Reeves (Mario Puzo's) Super 1 & 2. And about every 3rd or 4th episode of Smallville. And even liked much of Singer's installment paying homage to The Man of Steel... but the rest of it sucked farts outta dead cows. Supes is too big a character to ever be dropped by Hollyweird. Yeah... I'm looking forward to this.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 1:31:51 AM

Seems ok.

Never had a problem with Routh as Superman or his suit, the problem I had was that it is/was a sh*t movie.

Just WB can learn from that mistake.

I just really hope Snyder doesn't seriously f*ck this up and make it worse than Superman Returns.

Which would be one hell of an acheivement.

Please Nolan, keep checking on Snyder all the way through this.
reach110 writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 3:01:50 AM

Looks like he'll make a decent Supes. But seriously, are we so afraid of costumes looking like cheap spandex that we add ridiculous textures to all of them? Come ON, not every costume needs shingles.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 4:05:56 AM

And there's me thinking Snyder was gonna change the suit completely and make it less gay, how I was wrong!
Rambo writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 4:19:01 AM

The movie should have a more serious and dark tone.The first 4 superman movies were too light and more of a comedies even though i liked the first 2 and 'superman returns' was just gay and stupid.In this movie superman should be bad ass and avoid smiling and mkaing dumb jokes as clark kent.
Frank_Castle writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 4:33:16 AM

I say we should all go to church (doesnt matter what religion, it could be at the Jedi temple for all I care) AND pray that this one does it justice.
brandonegc writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 4:57:06 AM

All of you idiots who are saying this movie "has to be dark to be good" need to stop sucking on Nolan's tits. Batman should be dark. Superman, not so much.

I'm sure it'll look fine on film, but in this photo his suit *IS* covered in UGLY scales and his hair looks goofy. My problem is that they've obviously tried to differentiate it from Superman Returns - - that it looks like they've completely alienated the Christopher Reeve era Superman. Henery Cavill DOESN'T have the boy-ish charm and good looks of Christopher and the suit is way too . . . Nolan Meets Superman.

Granted, we haven't seen a single bit of film and chances are this is just a poor publicity shot and my complaints are completely off-base.
Valerie writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 7:03:24 AM

This looks fantastic, the suit is great, and looks amazing on him, and he actually looks like he just might pull this off. I hope so!
leezy84 writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 7:26:17 AM

@Rocketman

"...beef up a bit more...other than that I'm quite excited about this."

He already looks bigger than Routh muscle wise, yeh i decided he looks good, another 2 years for this is it ? ?

DRzFiNe$T writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 7:53:24 AM

Wow! Not THAT is Superman!..I thought Routh was ok but this guy makes him look like superboy in comparison haha
Dre-EL writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 10:13:42 AM

Why does everyone feel that superman has to be this dark character. He's not, nor should his costume/uniform be.

Go back to the bright blue and red indicative of the Chris Reeve superman.
rabid writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 10:39:58 AM

They're legally required to distance themselves from the classic version. They have to make as many changes as they can to his character, suit, and history to keep from having all their profits taken by the grandkids of Superman's creators.

So doing the classic Superman is not an option. I don't think it looks bad at all. I was pretty sick of seeing the character stuck in that pansy spandex Christopher Reeve mode.
rabid writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 11:45:34 AM

btw, the nail is in the lid of the coffin for classic Superman. The last issue of his comic was Wednesday. They put an end to the mythos. When you see him next, there will have been many changes made to his history and costume(there's a timetravelling villain running around screwing up people's pasts).
snoop writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 11:58:53 AM

This movie will be sh*t... And everybody will love it and it will make a lot of money.

Dark Superman is queer. He has no charm or spitcurl.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 12:07:37 PM

i love how the last son of krypton got thrown out the bag like 30 years ago.
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 1:00:53 PM

"All of you idiots who are saying this movie "has to be dark to be good" need to stop sucking on Nolan's tits. Batman should be dark. Superman, not so much." --- speaking of idiot.

So instead you offer no other way to play Superman than 'not dark' - way to go dipsh*t. Thx. for the input.

As for Reeves brighter version... fine for the 70's and 80's when Hollywood was trying to introduce comic characters to the big screen. Because audiences new to things and ideas have to be milk-fed, doing the colorful, campy stuff of Reeves area would get shot down by the viewing/paying public as Superman Returns was (or are memories of that forgotten already?).

Batman dark = successful.

Superman is a creation of tragedy (same as Bats), and the campy, colorful stuff hasn't worked recently... thus, you box-thinking, rose-smelling, play-it-safe movie goers... A CHANGE IS IN ORDER!
superman writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 2:20:39 PM

I like the suit, the director, main actor and the cast. But all that doesn't mater without a good storyline and a different approach. "Superman Returns" was horrible and a waste of time, as long as they don't repeat that style of crap, this film could hit the spot. Well... sit back, drink a cold one and hope for the best.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved