WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Universal Pictures Drops "Clue" and "Monopoly" Movies

Posted: August 3rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Universal Pictures Drops "Clue" and "Monopoly" MoviesSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures has been working on a live-action "Clue" movie, based on the Hasbro board game, for many years. In 2009, the studio pushed the film forward by attaching "Pirates of the Caribbean" director Gore Verbinski to helm.

Deadline is now reporting that Universal is no longer pursuing "Clue," a property that the studio signed on to make, along with other Hasbro properties. Apparently "Magic The Gathering" and Ridley Scott's "Monopoly" have also been dropped.

None of these projects are actually dead. In fact, Hasbro has decided to fund the development of "Clue" and is still planning to have Verbinski bring it to the big screen. The company has just hired "Flash Gordon" writers Burk Sharpless and Matt Sazame to pen the script for the murder mystery story.

Universal is still involved in other Hasbro properties like "Battleship" (directed Peter Berg), "Stretch Armstrong" (Taylor Lautner starring), "Candy Land" (written by "Kung Fu Panda 2" writers), and "Ouija" (directed by McG).

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:15:29 PM

And not a single f*ck was given that day...
Stapes writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:19:17 PM

Ridley Scott was going to direct a monopoly movie? My initial high hopes for his new Alien film are begining to drop even more now. Maybe his cinematically spastic brother Tony will do a film adaptation of Connect Four staring Denzel Washington.

Scott's film adaptation of Sorry won't be acceptable should he screw up this new Alien film.
pornfly writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:56:54 PM

Reteam the mom/daughter from Precious for HungryHungry Hippo
c-prime writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 9:05:35 PM

"Universal Pictures Drops 'Clue' and "Monopoly' Movies"

"Best film news I've heard in a very, very, very long time"...

"None of these projects are actually dead."

...was something I really wish I was able to say after reading this article. SON. OF. A. BITCH.
Johnnyb writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 9:08:09 PM

I hope the other properties fall too apart.....

@ Everbody:

One question, Can you make a movie about Tenga and how it would beż?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 11:22:56 PM

I'm ok with "Clue" going ahead might be good in the right hands and script.

But thank f*ck "Monopoly" has been dropped.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 11:35:46 PM

Thank Christ!!
Ranger writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 11:49:40 PM

@Johnny - I've publicized it well on here that I contacted the company that produces 'Jenga' and suggested they make a 9/11 Edition.

To no one's surprise... I never heard back.

As for Universal dropping both these other ideas... they never should have been picked up to begin with.
Bouk writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 12:14:27 AM

I'm okay with this as long as the checkers movie is still a 'go.'
Midnight_Toker writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 12:46:15 AM

LOL at Ranger- Jenga, 9/11 edition would be hilarious.

I'm glad monopoly aint coming out. Noone wants to see a man get raped once he goes directly to jail
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 12:52:15 AM

clue is already a movie....DO YOUR RESEARCH HOLLYWOOD...if you make clue into a movie it would be a REMAKE!!!!!!!!...does anybody in hollywood have any brains left?...honestly, i understand they're always on the lookout for a quick buck, but remakes are way overrated these days, and smart people pay more attention to the originals, and some smart people just come up with their own stuff that hollywood desperately tries to get rights to so they can milk it to death...if the world ends, take all the badness and talentless crap from hollywood away first...oh and off topic, i saw the new spiderman comic on tv today, the one with spiderman as half black/hispanic...they were saying there's a possibility he might be gay...just telling you guys what i saw on tv
Midnight_Toker writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 1:23:06 AM

^^^^^Likee I said in another thread BM-D can't do anything to attract readers regardless of background so he's putting it all into one. Next thing we'll find out is he's got balls,d*ck and p*ssy and is really agrees with everything the Tea Party stands for
Midnight_Toker writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 1:25:52 AM

My bad. Take out "is" between "and" and "really" before some fag points it out calling me dumb just to think they shining for that one moment. Worstpreviews needs an edit system going on.
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 1:38:50 AM

@Midnight --- yep... lol.
Rambo writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 2:49:57 AM

I guess they came to this conclusion after watching 'Battleship' trailer.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 4:03:53 AM

Why do another Clue movie? Seems Hollywood is clueless
velocityknown writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 7:32:00 AM

Oh no?
Buckles44 writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 7:51:52 AM

They already did a Clue movie, and it was half decent.
Christopher lloyd was the sh*t in it.

Sounds like a whole lotta bullsh*t
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 12:07:16 PM

Is Clue american Cluedo?
happyguy815 writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 2:04:11 PM

Are they still making the "Hungry Hungry Hippos" movie starring Rosie O'Donnell and that fat bitch from Precious?
happyguy815 writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 2:05:28 PM

They should make a "Hangman" movie starring Lindsey Lohan...and by movie I mean doc*mentary.
mwd32812 writes:
on October 9th, 2011 at 8:55:58 AM

i cant wait to see "clue" because i saw the 1985 one and i like the plots and i thinkthat if there was another, they could make more action to it. i will definitely see it!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved