WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Laurence Fishburne is Perry White in "Superman" Reboot

Posted: August 3rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Laurence Fishburne is Perry White in "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
Laurence Fishburne (The Matrix) has joined the cast of the upcoming "Superman" reboot, called "Man of Steel." He will play the Daily Planet editor-in-chief Perry White.

Jackie Cooper played White in the Christopher Reeve "Superman" films, and Frank Langella took on the role in director Bryan Singer's "Superman Returns" in 2006.

The new movie stars Henry Cavill as Clark Kent/Superman, Amy Adams as Lois, Michael Shannon as General Zod, Kevin Costner as Jonathan Kent, Diane Lane as Martha Kent, and Russell Crowe as Jor-El.

Director Zack Snyder (Watchmen, 300) is currently in pre-production and will begin shooting this fall. The plan is to release the film in theaters on June 14th, 2013.

Click here to read more about "Man of Steel."

Source: THR, EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 6:36:14 AM

Look at the tragic irony of this; a black man playing someone named Perry *White*. But either way, this is a very interesting choice.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 6:54:05 AM

Oh the irony!

Very interesting choice though.

This movie is looking good, just hope Snyder doesn't f*ck it up!
markoz writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 7:39:16 AM

I'm not sure.Fishburne usually plays those calm,quiet characters.Perry White is anything but.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:00:48 AM

Another actor just signed up for the death of their career.
boogiel writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:03:56 AM

@masht7

Well then I guess Larry Fishburne's Perry White is Barry White's cousin. Next, they gonna cast a latino or an asian to play as Lex Luthor. They're just copying what Marvel is doing.



PaulX7 writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:19:55 AM

a great actor, excellent in the Matrix
coolguy writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:27:27 AM

i was excited about this film, then i saw Sucker Punch.

now im cautious, hope snyder doesnt rely on visual effects over story
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:32:44 AM

If they wanted to do a parody, they could dress up Fishburne as Madea and call his character Tyler Perry White.
happyguy815 writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:52:18 AM

Alright Snyder, you've got a decent cast going. Now don't screw it up with all your special fx bullsh*t
trailertrash writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:56:18 AM

I Liked him better as Larry ....
Bunny X writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:59:49 AM

Why?
Johnnyb writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 9:48:47 AM

As much I like this cast assembling. Laurence, Russell and Kevin are too strong supporting actors for the almost unknown Cavill as Superman. I wonder the directors of casting were impress by Cavillīs Superman characterization more than his physic, because is that not the case. Well, Superman has meet his Doomsday for real!!!!
Big_Daddy writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 10:14:54 AM

I WANT TO f*ck DIANE LANE
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 10:15:32 AM

Fascinating, "Clark do you want the red or blue pill?"
BuuMonster writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 10:34:46 AM

They should just change the name to Perry Black and call the movie Diaperman.
Devil writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 10:43:15 AM

Superman better save his daughter from the porn industry.
Kurskij writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 11:12:59 AM

How is he white?

Jack Black should've played Perry White.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 11:31:50 AM

this movie has way too many supporting actors just start filming it already and hopefully is a hit like Green Lantern
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 12:22:24 PM

....green latern was a hit? To who?
bandolero999 writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 12:50:09 PM

NO it Sarcasm ya f*cking Genius you

I am having my doubts on this sh*tte cause Sucker Punch was a f*cking mess even worse than soft porn
jgrantt18 writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 1:23:27 PM

I have no problem with the casting based on race...I have a problem based on wasting such a good actor on (what's usually in Superman movies) such a small part. I would have liked to see him as a bad guy like Braniac or something. Hell, he'd have made a good Zod. too.
HideousSecretion writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 1:35:27 PM

Meh, Superman is looking worse and worse everyday. Fishburne isn't a great actor. He's the personification of 'meh'. I can't think of any role where he truly shined. And as Perry White? Well I guess they have to cram in the token minority somewhere. When films do that it is a huge sign that the film will stink. If they're mroe concerned with PC bullsh*t than telling a good story from the material. Eh. And a pic of Cavill with the Superman hair is out there and he looks super gay. It doesn't work. He doesn't look like the Man of Steel. He looks like a pedophile too stoned out of his gourd to remember where he parked his rape van. And as much as I've loved Snyder's work Sucker Punch is truly awful on every level. It was terrible.
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 3:06:30 PM

I like Larry Fishburne, but you can't act past race. Starting to wonder about this movie.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 3:10:16 PM

whatever.the main problem remains.Henry Cavill looks like poor choice as superman.
rabid writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 3:55:14 PM

Fishburne is a great actor, and he's got that deep booming voice like Perry White. I can see it working.
The more scenes I see from Immortals, the more I realize what a great fit Cavill is for the role.
bspence writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:28:39 PM

fishburne isnt as great of an actor as everyone believes. he just has the luck to land the serious roles in many popular movies like the matrix, predators, fantastic four 2... now look at the those titles. except for the 1st xmen and maybe predators depending on your taste in movies, are any of those good views or require acting ability?

next their going to make spidey black.... oh wait.

but seriously i dont have anything against LF or the casting choice. i just hope the film is good. i want to see both story and effects like 300 and definitley like watchmen. f*ck suckerpunch. they have general zod though so between that and nolans producing i believe we will see, or at least im hoping for, a solid hour of great story telling that keeps you drawn in, then a second hour that shows the stylistic action sequences on an epic superman level while it still continues to develop the story that is being told.
bspence writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:29:36 PM

*except for the first matrix.... not xmen. excuse me im high.
bspence writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 8:31:44 PM

for this role they could take some notes from the newer superman earth one novel. perry had a bigger role in that then he does most of the time.
Bluegirl285 writes:
on August 3rd, 2011 at 11:43:54 PM

I dunno...I just don't see Fishburne telling Jimmy Olsen "don't call me chief!" I guess we'll have to wait and see.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 1:26:02 AM

Haha after seeing the comments for the article on Spider-Man I thought surely this would be Hate Fest '11. Maybe it'll take another day...

Honestly, This move seems more contrived than Spider-Man but I could be wrong. Fishburne is a decent actor and a total badass. The way that they are envisioning Perry White, I would have loved to see Ving Rhames, though. I wish that he would take better movies because he has an immense talent (Better appear in Django Unchained or Tarantino is missing an opportunity and a half).

I will wait until I see the movie, but I agree with the general consensus that Sucker Punch was horrible. Watchmen was a great adaptation (minus the time taken to stylize scenes in slow-motion which could have been spent to flesh out certain aspects of the story). Is, "Please don't f*ck up this opportunity," too much to ask from Zach Snyder? Probably, but I will wait...
telur writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 2:26:36 AM

i hope Chow Yun Ft for Lex Luthor !!!
ChainsawX writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 3:07:08 AM

Imagine the uproar if someone cast vin diesel as luke cage...or ryan gosling as blade
bloodgear writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 12:59:21 PM

I'd wager this is Nolan's doing. After reading an article on how his Batman films are "not racist" I'd say he's brining this onto this.

http://whatculture.com/film/why-the-controversy-over-banes-casting-is-misplaced.php?replytocom=48288
BlackDynamite writes:
on August 4th, 2011 at 1:22:16 PM

I think Larry Shined as the Silver Surfer in Fantastic 4 ROTSS. But anywhoo, I'm looking forward to this less and less.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved