WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Resident Evil" Director and "Lost" Writer Reveal "Terminator 5" Ideas

Posted: July 29th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Resident Evil" Director and "Lost" Writer Reveal "Terminator 5" IdeasSubmit Comment
We've been hearing that Justin Lin (Fast Five) and Arnold Schwarzenegger are working on "Terminator 5." The only thing we know is that Lin is planning to use time-travel to correct some of the mistakes of the last two movies.

But since nothing is official yet, Wired magazine went to director Paul WS Anderson (Resident Evil, Mortal Kombat, AVP) and writer Damon Lindelof (Cowboys and Aliens, "Lost") to find out what they would do with the franchise. Anderson gave a serious answer, while Lindelof just had fund with it.

Paul WS Anderson: "I would pick up after 'Judgment Day' and combine the epic battle for the future with a story set in present day, like the first two films, which were clever and fun. I'd keep it in California: Sunshine, palm trees, and shopping malls are the perfect backdrop for mayhem. It doesn't have to be grim. I don't need to see bombastic superheroes fighting for the fate of the world. I want it through the eyes of real people. If I can get Arnold back, that would be my preference. He is the brand; nobody else can fill his shoes. But you should have new relatable characters. The best thing about the Terminator is that it was designed to infiltrate society. I'd build the narrative around twists and turns. You'll have to guess who's a robot and who's a human being. It'd be in the same style as 'Westworld.' But the centerpiece of the film would be the battle they teased me with for four movies. Imagine a field of tens of thousands of Terminators — not giant Transformer-type robots but human-sized Terminator endoskeletons — getting ready for an all-out epic fight against humanity on the scale of 'The Lord of the Rings.' It would look cool, and it would also be awesome. I've been waiting since the first movie to see it."

Damon Lindelof: "The whole 'dark depressing futuristic apocalypse' thing is played out. Enough with the machines driving over human skulls. We need us some COMEDY. Look at those numbers for 'Bridesmaids' and 'Hangover 2.' Can you imagine the box office if those movies had HOMICIDAL ROBOTS in them?!? And since we're evoking Arnold's work already (evoking is free, by the way — suck it, lawyers), why not combine 'Terminator' with Schwarzenegger's greatest comedic work? Yeah. That's right. Kindergarten frigging Cop. Buckle up. Here comes the gold. Humans in dystopian future learn that a Terminator traveled back in time and impregnated a woman, resulting in a half-cybernetic child that will grow up to be humankind's DESTROYER! But due to technological ineptitude, we can't lock down the mother's identity (and thus the kid's), narrowing their whereabouts to a school in a pleasant coastal town. And so our story begins as a gruff, futuristic badass with great comedic chops (we're screwed if the Rock says no) representing the hopes of all humanity travels back to 2012 to identify the half-Terminator 5-year-old by substituting as a kindergarten teacher. And then, after a series of comedic misunderstandings? Kill the little bastard. Pretty sure we can get a PG-13 as long as no one smokes and when the kid gets shot in the face we do it in a classy way."

Source: Wired

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PaulX7 writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 8:18:42 PM

Super sh*t Terminator Salvation already killed the franchise. No need to kill it a second time
bspence writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 8:24:12 PM

not that i would want anderson directing this, but i do like his idea.

terminator 3 sucked period. salvation, while not as bad as 3, still wasnt good but was better. what people didnt understand was that they hadnt developed time travel yet. the film took place in the year 2018. the first terminator wasnt sent back until 2029. a good 11 years after the events of salvation. salvation showed what happened to the world after judgement day. and brought together the resistance and showed how john was able to take over command of it. by the end of salvation that was done. mcg even said that T5 would jump forward the 11 years and cover all the time travels and then T6 would show how the war eventually ended in whatever year. i never understood people bashing salvation for that reason. sure, there were plenty of reasons to bash salvation, but not for that.

i would love if bale came back for part 5 to play john connor again and get arnie back as well. i would also like to see linda hamilton return at some point as well.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 8:28:37 PM

Just leave it the f*ck alone
pornfly writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 8:41:03 PM

Y the f*ck did they cancel sara connor chronicles anyway the only thing they had that was halfway decent and they f*ckn gave up,but theyr more than happy to run the fukn movies into the dirt.....retards
Rambo writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 8:55:03 PM

Anderson's idea sounds great to me.
MrHeck writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 9:12:29 PM

Salvation sucked merely 'cause the didn't used the formula from the first two. And it was way too soft.
Rise of the machines sucked 'caused they misused that formula...and therefore raped the first two by saturating the flick with innecesary clichés and ZERO creativity (a bitch -nator, really?). The lack of grittyness and violence was one of the biggest issues as well. Considering that T2 is one of the most daring, violent movies i've ever seen.
It was a pity, since the Judgement Day could've been expanded so much more, but the f*cking c*nts had to ruin everything with lack of originality and a f*cked-up-absolutely-mental plot.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 9:46:51 PM

PG-13 killed T-Salvation.
Johnnyb writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 10:21:08 PM

The Terminator

(1984 - 2009)

R. I. P.

Pleace respect the films people, just leave like that. No need to insult there memory. Please!!!!!
Frank_Castle writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 10:26:14 PM

I was liking Anderson's idea until he brings up Lord of the Rings. Didnt really get the picture there anymore since Im not a fan of that trilogy.

AND the f*ck was Damon talking about anyway?
MrHeck writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 10:33:54 PM

Whats dead should stay dead.

Or accurately speaking:

Whats been brutally raped a couple of times and then killed should stay dead.

GuynamedLloyd writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 10:49:15 PM

Yes, Anderson has a good idea. However, any good or great ideas in Hollywood can end up like sh-t if the Producers have it there way.

This article remembers me alot of Terminator Salvation. It begins with alot of hope with new ideas and even teasing something of interest. As in the movie, a completely wide hole in the story could of turned Terminator from Action to Horror movie with how the machines could of tore apart humans and disecting them to learn how to look more like them. Instead, humans were put in lines to look like they were Russians waiting for bread.

Anyhow, everything building up to the movie and the beginning of the article:interested. Once we started to really get into the movie or read the rest of the article, it all falls to sh*t.

Who was to place a bet that Lindelof would be a good indication the story will be sh*t?
GuynamedLloyd writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 10:53:55 PM

Mr. Heck

In the name of profits, Hollywood Producers would rape their own mothers, make an orphan of the kid, only to creatively rape any skill or talent they have in the future.
WV-Films writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 11:30:25 PM

Well done Anderson. Well done. Lindelof.....go f*ck urself.
anaheimducks writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 12:05:53 AM

I look forward to another terminator movie I liked the last movie I don't get all the hate it was awesome.
holtlt writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 12:47:36 AM

Anderson has a fair point, but Lindelof, he's completely retarded...I mean crossing comedy with a serious thriller...WTF?? And a battle of great scale like LOFTR wouldn't work, that would be almost like "the Patriot"s fighting scenes, with every soldier piled up in line, just shooting against each other...that sounds boring and dumb. If there's supposed to be a big battle in Terminator, it may as well be a massacre, I mean, the terminators from the last movie were so easily destroyed, while in the first one, fighting a terminator would be endlessly and almost impossible...
sri_91 writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 2:19:39 AM

Terminator Salvation raped teh whole f*cking franchise!
Damon242 writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 3:00:55 AM

Don't let that ass of a director, Anderson, get his hands on this franchise.
Damon242 writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 3:01:49 AM

It's either James Cameron or no-one.

Damon242 writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 3:03:13 AM

Ok guys, don't think that Damon Lindelof is being serious.

That guy jokes about everything.
teskens writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 4:15:02 AM

Lindelof better be f*cking joking cuz tha sh*t ain't funny even if he thinks he can make this into a "comedy"...ugh makes me sick just typing that word
Avirex writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 4:58:22 AM

I've eaten alphabet soups as a child that presented better Terminator concepts than these two incompetent bastards put together.
nawtnt writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 6:03:53 AM

The Terminator and Terminator 2 are the best movies of the seires where Terminator 3 and Terminator Salvation went downhill after being PG-13 and James Cameron not returning to direct.

Terminator 5? No please, there is no way they can make it right again and besides they shouldn't be Terminator 5.

Resident Evil Director and Lost Writer to get join T5, no way, Paul W.S Anderson was a great director with Mortal Kombat but Lindelof being the writer of T5, oh please, after watching Lost for six years, I have realised I wasted my time and the ending to the last season was like the writers putting a middle finger front of the audience and showing that they made their money and don't give a s*** how they ended the series.

Buckles44 writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 6:32:50 AM

Just die already Anderson
SeWerin writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 6:42:56 AM

Anderson is a ok director, but incredible bad writer - guy ruined Resident Evil and Alien vs Predator!!! Seriously, how hard can that be!?

The reason why Mortal Kombat and Event Horizon were good is because he didn't write them.

He can't write sh*t, yet he keeps insisting on doing so.

Damon242 writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 8:31:10 AM


aww, sounds like someone's theories weren't right...:(

Like the ending or not, that's all subjective - but Lindelof and company kept your attention for six years straight. That alone speaks volumes.
JohnZee writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 10:41:09 AM

Here are my thoughts on what would make for a compelling installment of the Terminator franchise.

I say take it back to the original vision:

"I see long lines of emaciated humans being corralled towards open ovens. They all stagger forward, completely helpless to resist. And as each group of humans enters the ovens, the door closes and the fire rages and their bodies are consumed. Once this process if finished, the door opens and the fire dwindles as a robotic arm sweeps the ashes into a trash receptacle. And then another group enters the oven.

Then we look over the crowd again in a massive wide shot. From the looks of things this is the last of humanity and we have lost.

But there is someone that stands out in the crowd, there is a man that is not as stooped over. His eyes are not dulled, they are keen and there's intelligence and understanding there. But even stranger then this, this man has a slight smile on his lips.

Why is this man smiling?

This man is smiling because this is John Connor, and John Connor always had a plan. From the moment he could understand his mother’s words he knew that one day he would be in this line with the rest of humanity, heading towards those furnaces.

And what exactly is his plan? Well it has very little to do with trying to defeat the ultimate personification of technology gone wrong with advanced military weapons and more technology.

So I thought about it, and thought about Sarah Connor ranting and raving in those insane asylums and treatment centers all those years, and in the back of her mind she knew that one day the Terminators and Cyberdyne would pouring over every record, every word, every recording that had ever been made by her about the oncoming future.

Especially when it came to any single shred of information she would have said about her son.

And that's the rub of it, the other part of John Connor's plan to save humanity. Bits and pieces of information that Sarah Connor stated to authorities/other humans at the time that seemed to be nothing but the ranting of a madwoman...But taken as a cohesive complete archive, it could paint a complete detailed portrait of John Connor.

One that could contain lies and fabrications, lies and fabrications made solid reality by the computer's binary mind.

sleepingshane writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 3:31:22 PM

Cyberdyne's a real company making real robots for the military check it out, and i put it to you the american military have time travel tec i.e like source code. hollywood makes these movies as a cover in case the information leeks out so they can cover there arse's i.e you saw that in a film its not real. chris carter who created the X files said he got fed stories by the CIA at hollywood party's fiction's closer to the truth than you think. we all ready have drones on the battle fields controlled with x box controller's another 20 years we probably will be fighting robot's in the street's.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 4:37:33 PM

i like the first idea, but after i read that all those exoskeletons in the t2 beginning where supposed to be a last resort in the original script and pushed out as unfinished infiltrators as cyberdine's last resort, and NOT infantry (which is a WAYYYY better idea) i get a little mad when in the later films they are just infantry ...
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 5:23:45 PM

i liked anderson's idea too, but instead of many endoskeleton terminators preparing for an all out battle, why not make them all look like arnold? a whole army of arnolds coming to kill...may be a stupid idea, but it would've been the premise before a bunch of agent smiths in the matrix...and the formula is simple really, first it was human vs terminator, next it was terminator vs T-1000, next should be bigger, like T-1000 vs T-10000...honestly how stupid are the writers in hollywood, FOLLOW THE FORMULA and you probably won't stray too far from the original story, but if it's anywhere near or past the milking point, better just stop...when it was terminator vs T-X, it should've been more like terminator vs T-X disguised as satan...but after everything that happened in the T2, the story should've ended...there's no such thing as software lost in cyberspace as stated in T3, at least i don't think...why else does arnold in T2 say, 'in a panic, they tried to pull the plug...what's dumb is why would anybody be stupid enough to let a machine with A.I. have all access to every bomb in the world and every network without TESTING it first?...kind of kills the whole terminator idea if you think about it
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 5:28:21 PM

also any terminator movie that is pg13 should just not exist...every terminator movie before then was rated R, i saw no reason whatsoever to dumb it down to a pg13 rating...i mean look how much money the matrix sequels made without a pg13 rating?...for crying out loud hollywood, GIVE PEOPLE WHAT THEY WANT TO SEE, NOT WHAT THEY WANT TO HATE
JohnZee writes:
on July 31st, 2011 at 3:34:04 AM

Crap!!! For the first time in my life I just contemplated taking my complete V for Vendetta comic book collection soaking all of it with gasoline, and then burning a little sacrificial fire in the vain and probably very desperate hope that just one idiot that has taken up using the image of V MIGHT one day catch a clue...

thomas deadison writes:
on July 31st, 2011 at 5:30:32 PM

You guys are f*cking silly. Lindelof at least understood the assignment. Anderson should be embarrassed for taking it seriously.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 1st, 2011 at 4:17:20 AM

These guys are f*cking stupid.

Makes Terminator:Salvation look like Shakespeare.
Araziel01 writes:
on August 5th, 2011 at 10:13:49 AM

It's all in the details. James Cameron knew that when he wrote the first one and added a lovely little piece of dialogue that can explain a majority of screw ups throughout the movies. When Kyle tells Sarah that he came back in time to save her and she says "your from the future" he explains that he is from one possible future. So it makes sense when John, in salvation, says that it is not the future his mothe warned him about. Granted this cannot explain most of the goofs from Rise of the machines, that was just poor writing

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved