WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Scientists Determine "The Champ" is Saddest Movie Ever

Posted: July 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Scientists Determine "The Champ" is Saddest Movie EverSubmit Comment
After years of research, scientists have found out that "The Champ," starring Jon Voight and Ricky Schroder, is the saddest movie ever made. This finding was part of a study that tried to figure out how emotions affect people's behavior.

While it's unlikely that scientists watched every movie out there, James Gross and Robert Levenson have determined that a clip from "The Champ" gets people to cry the fastest. And as soon as the tears begin flowing, volunteers are immediately hit with questions about food (not likely to eat when sad) and shopping (more likely to spend when sad).

"Bambi" was used for a little while, but "The Champ" gets the crying going faster. I'm not going to describe the scene from "The Champ" that's used since it spoils the entire movie, but you can watch it below (stars at 5:25).

To elicit other emotions, Meg Ryan's orgasm scene in "When Harry met Sally" is used to get people amused. "The Shining" and "The Silence of the Lambs" are used to scare people. John Waters' "Pink Flamingos" is used to elicit disgust. And to get people riled, "My Bodyguard" and "Cry Freedom" are used.

"The Champ" Clip (Spoilers):


Source: Smithsonian Mag, Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:20:53 AM

Did they see Battle:Los Angeles?
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:29:18 AM

bulllll sh*t, its watership down, all those cute bunnies dying of myxomatosis!
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:29:31 AM

The Champ is a good movie and very sad but Watership Down was always my saddest movie when i was a kid.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:36:05 AM

"After years of research, scientists have found out that "The Champ," starring Jon Voight and Ricky Schroder, is the saddest movie ever made"


Busy then .....

Avirex writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:09:35 AM

I thought "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" had already earned this title?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:38:34 AM

What about "The Dirty Dozen"?

That always gets me going.

and

"Team America: World Police"
rockkillers writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:45:09 AM

Schindler's list maybe? Saving Private Ryan? forrest gump, and cast away endings were sad in some parts to me. All tom hanks movies basically lol. Sad scene though ; /
StrangerDanger writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:11:30 AM

I call bullsh*t if anyone has ever seen Grave Of the Fireflies and not been depessed over it you have no f*cking soul.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:18:08 AM

Change my mind Richard Burton shooting Richard Harris at the end of Wild Geese, sad stuff

Sniff Sniff !!
anaheimducks writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:27:45 AM

Marley and me made me almost cry when they put that dog to sleep that was it for me it was hard to keep the tears in.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:37:01 AM

@tt

You aint wrong on "The Wild Geese" that is a sad ending and then he has to tell the kid about his dad.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:41:39 AM

dave

It's a Classic mate one of my all time favs, Poor little Emile ....
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:55:49 AM

"I'm not going to describe the scene from "The Champ" that's used since it spoils the entire movie..."

Yet the title of the embedded video is called "Champ's Death". No spoilers there.
Big_Daddy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:02:33 AM

I cried like a little bitch when Apollo died
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:40:04 AM

The Phantom Menace was my saddest movie, I cry everytime I see it.
Dirt writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:57:28 AM

When Rambo makes it home at the end of Rambo 4, now that's a tear jerker..
coldplayesence writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 9:13:35 AM

This will sound very manly but come on, (SPOILER) when Scarlett's stupid daughter falls off the horse and dies is the saddest scene ever!
Kurskij writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 9:51:13 AM

If you don't want to spoil the scene - isn't the name of that clip spoils the f*ck out of it?..

Just sain'...


Jean Jacques Annaud's "The Bear" is the saddest movie ever for me. Cried like a bitch when I watched it.
Kurskij writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 9:55:11 AM

Paris getting that tommy-bar through her head in "House of Wax" was the happiest movie scene. Otherwise it was f*cking awful.

But when it happened I was like

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FDqI99s8t8o&feature=related
Johnnyb writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 10:16:33 AM

The Green Mile make cry a lot like a bitch!!!!!

John Coffey been eletrocuted in front of Paul Edgecomb and the other guards, whom have form a strong bond with him..... sniff, sniff, sniff.....
takai writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 10:18:59 AM

@StrangerDanger - I was thinking the same thing. No movie has destroyed me emotionally quite like that one.
Dre-EL writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 10:36:53 AM

I'm not afraid to admit it, but the champ was the first and only movie that made the waterworks run for me.
j-man writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:25:18 AM

The dark knight, when heath ledger died at the end
Zeroguy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 12:19:21 PM

John Waters! f*ckin love that guy and his work.
wavydavy123 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 1:50:17 PM

Terminator 3 and/or Terminator Salvation, as they took one of the greatest franchises of all time and castrated it wholly and mercilessly
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 3:13:02 PM

this may not be a movie but six feet unders series finale made me cry like a little bitch
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 4:28:56 PM

I had a girlfriend that would cry every time she watched this movie.






Then I'd f*ck her...







HARD!
Rambo writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:38:27 PM

Is Mink dead?
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:11:54 PM

I guess these scientists haven't seen "Umberto D" or "La Notti Bianche."
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:12:45 PM

Or the "Glenn Miller Story."
Lined Paper writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:49:24 PM

The one and only movie that`s ever actually made me cry is Rudy with Sean Astin. But not in a sad way... more like "f*ck yeah!" way lol.
Lined Paper writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:53:17 PM

And yeah where the f*ck is Mink?! I thought he'd be all over this one.
elrei writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:02:32 PM

What about "dancer in the Dark" ?
Swai987 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:14:51 PM

I hear Max rockatansky juniors family's home video of him being born is pretty sad. You see a hobo transvestite pushing his dumbass out of a fake vagina while under a bridge.
struck21 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:31:22 PM

The end of A League of Their Own always gets to me. When they all meet in the Hall of Fame for the first time in years.
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 11:27:01 AM

Or when Michael Clark Duncan gets put down at the end of The Green Mile.

Or the game of catch between Costner and his dad in Field of Dreams.


... sniffle...
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 11:28:58 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_wnD6jxREU
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 8:31:50 PM

lol im also confused.. IS Mink Dead ? i havent seen that ugy coment in like 3 weeks :P i miss his critism and outbursts LOL
madmaveric writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 6:17:06 PM

wonder if they watched city of angels where nick cage decides to fall to earth an become human for meg ryan then in a matter of hours gets killed

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved