WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Photos: Better Look at Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Dec 21st, 2014
First Look at "Sisters" Comedy, Re-Teaming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer: Sex Has Terrible Consequences in "It Follow" Horror Film
Dec 21st, 2014
New Photo From Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer for Sarah Michelle Gellar's "Veronika Decides to Die" Thriller
Dec 21st, 2014
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Scientists Determine "The Champ" is Saddest Movie Ever

Posted: July 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Scientists Determine "The Champ" is Saddest Movie EverSubmit Comment
After years of research, scientists have found out that "The Champ," starring Jon Voight and Ricky Schroder, is the saddest movie ever made. This finding was part of a study that tried to figure out how emotions affect people's behavior.

While it's unlikely that scientists watched every movie out there, James Gross and Robert Levenson have determined that a clip from "The Champ" gets people to cry the fastest. And as soon as the tears begin flowing, volunteers are immediately hit with questions about food (not likely to eat when sad) and shopping (more likely to spend when sad).

"Bambi" was used for a little while, but "The Champ" gets the crying going faster. I'm not going to describe the scene from "The Champ" that's used since it spoils the entire movie, but you can watch it below (stars at 5:25).

To elicit other emotions, Meg Ryan's orgasm scene in "When Harry met Sally" is used to get people amused. "The Shining" and "The Silence of the Lambs" are used to scare people. John Waters' "Pink Flamingos" is used to elicit disgust. And to get people riled, "My Bodyguard" and "Cry Freedom" are used.

"The Champ" Clip (Spoilers):


Source: Smithsonian Mag, Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:20:53 AM

Did they see Battle:Los Angeles?
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:29:18 AM

bulllll sh*t, its watership down, all those cute bunnies dying of myxomatosis!
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:29:31 AM

The Champ is a good movie and very sad but Watership Down was always my saddest movie when i was a kid.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:36:05 AM

"After years of research, scientists have found out that "The Champ," starring Jon Voight and Ricky Schroder, is the saddest movie ever made"


Busy then .....

Avirex writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:09:35 AM

I thought "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" had already earned this title?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:38:34 AM

What about "The Dirty Dozen"?

That always gets me going.

and

"Team America: World Police"
rockkillers writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:45:09 AM

Schindler's list maybe? Saving Private Ryan? forrest gump, and cast away endings were sad in some parts to me. All tom hanks movies basically lol. Sad scene though ; /
StrangerDanger writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:11:30 AM

I call bullsh*t if anyone has ever seen Grave Of the Fireflies and not been depessed over it you have no f*cking soul.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:18:08 AM

Change my mind Richard Burton shooting Richard Harris at the end of Wild Geese, sad stuff

Sniff Sniff !!
anaheimducks writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:27:45 AM

Marley and me made me almost cry when they put that dog to sleep that was it for me it was hard to keep the tears in.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:37:01 AM

@tt

You aint wrong on "The Wild Geese" that is a sad ending and then he has to tell the kid about his dad.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:41:39 AM

dave

It's a Classic mate one of my all time favs, Poor little Emile ....
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:55:49 AM

"I'm not going to describe the scene from "The Champ" that's used since it spoils the entire movie..."

Yet the title of the embedded video is called "Champ's Death". No spoilers there.
Big_Daddy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:02:33 AM

I cried like a little bitch when Apollo died
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:40:04 AM

The Phantom Menace was my saddest movie, I cry everytime I see it.
Dirt writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:57:28 AM

When Rambo makes it home at the end of Rambo 4, now that's a tear jerker..
coldplayesence writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 9:13:35 AM

This will sound very manly but come on, (SPOILER) when Scarlett's stupid daughter falls off the horse and dies is the saddest scene ever!
Kurskij writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 9:51:13 AM

If you don't want to spoil the scene - isn't the name of that clip spoils the f*ck out of it?..

Just sain'...


Jean Jacques Annaud's "The Bear" is the saddest movie ever for me. Cried like a bitch when I watched it.
Kurskij writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 9:55:11 AM

Paris getting that tommy-bar through her head in "House of Wax" was the happiest movie scene. Otherwise it was f*cking awful.

But when it happened I was like

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FDqI99s8t8o&feature=related
Johnnyb writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 10:16:33 AM

The Green Mile make cry a lot like a bitch!!!!!

John Coffey been eletrocuted in front of Paul Edgecomb and the other guards, whom have form a strong bond with him..... sniff, sniff, sniff.....
takai writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 10:18:59 AM

@StrangerDanger - I was thinking the same thing. No movie has destroyed me emotionally quite like that one.
Dre-EL writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 10:36:53 AM

I'm not afraid to admit it, but the champ was the first and only movie that made the waterworks run for me.
j-man writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:25:18 AM

The dark knight, when heath ledger died at the end
Zeroguy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 12:19:21 PM

John Waters! f*ckin love that guy and his work.
wavydavy123 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 1:50:17 PM

Terminator 3 and/or Terminator Salvation, as they took one of the greatest franchises of all time and castrated it wholly and mercilessly
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 3:13:02 PM

this may not be a movie but six feet unders series finale made me cry like a little bitch
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 4:28:56 PM

I had a girlfriend that would cry every time she watched this movie.






Then I'd f*ck her...







HARD!
Rambo writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:38:27 PM

Is Mink dead?
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:11:54 PM

I guess these scientists haven't seen "Umberto D" or "La Notti Bianche."
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:12:45 PM

Or the "Glenn Miller Story."
Lined Paper writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:49:24 PM

The one and only movie that`s ever actually made me cry is Rudy with Sean Astin. But not in a sad way... more like "f*ck yeah!" way lol.
Lined Paper writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:53:17 PM

And yeah where the f*ck is Mink?! I thought he'd be all over this one.
elrei writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:02:32 PM

What about "dancer in the Dark" ?
Swai987 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:14:51 PM

I hear Max rockatansky juniors family's home video of him being born is pretty sad. You see a hobo transvestite pushing his dumbass out of a fake vagina while under a bridge.
struck21 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:31:22 PM

The end of A League of Their Own always gets to me. When they all meet in the Hall of Fame for the first time in years.
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 11:27:01 AM

Or when Michael Clark Duncan gets put down at the end of The Green Mile.

Or the game of catch between Costner and his dad in Field of Dreams.


... sniffle...
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 11:28:58 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_wnD6jxREU
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 8:31:50 PM

lol im also confused.. IS Mink Dead ? i havent seen that ugy coment in like 3 weeks :P i miss his critism and outbursts LOL
madmaveric writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 6:17:06 PM

wonder if they watched city of angels where nick cage decides to fall to earth an become human for meg ryan then in a matter of hours gets killed

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved