WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Lots of New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Photos and Story Details
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Ryan Reynolds' "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Monopoly" Movie Hires "The Truman Show" Writer
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight"
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" - What Did You Think?
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Jul 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jun 24th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger to Star in "478" Drama, Darren Aronofsky is Producing
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Jun 24th, 2015
Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight
Jun 23rd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Scientists Determine "The Champ" is Saddest Movie Ever

Posted: July 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Scientists Determine "The Champ" is Saddest Movie EverSubmit Comment
After years of research, scientists have found out that "The Champ," starring Jon Voight and Ricky Schroder, is the saddest movie ever made. This finding was part of a study that tried to figure out how emotions affect people's behavior.

While it's unlikely that scientists watched every movie out there, James Gross and Robert Levenson have determined that a clip from "The Champ" gets people to cry the fastest. And as soon as the tears begin flowing, volunteers are immediately hit with questions about food (not likely to eat when sad) and shopping (more likely to spend when sad).

"Bambi" was used for a little while, but "The Champ" gets the crying going faster. I'm not going to describe the scene from "The Champ" that's used since it spoils the entire movie, but you can watch it below (stars at 5:25).

To elicit other emotions, Meg Ryan's orgasm scene in "When Harry met Sally" is used to get people amused. "The Shining" and "The Silence of the Lambs" are used to scare people. John Waters' "Pink Flamingos" is used to elicit disgust. And to get people riled, "My Bodyguard" and "Cry Freedom" are used.

"The Champ" Clip (Spoilers):


Source: Smithsonian Mag, Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:20:53 AM

Did they see Battle:Los Angeles?
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:29:18 AM

bulllll sh*t, its watership down, all those cute bunnies dying of myxomatosis!
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:29:31 AM

The Champ is a good movie and very sad but Watership Down was always my saddest movie when i was a kid.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:36:05 AM

"After years of research, scientists have found out that "The Champ," starring Jon Voight and Ricky Schroder, is the saddest movie ever made"


Busy then .....

Avirex writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:09:35 AM

I thought "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" had already earned this title?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:38:34 AM

What about "The Dirty Dozen"?

That always gets me going.

and

"Team America: World Police"
rockkillers writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:45:09 AM

Schindler's list maybe? Saving Private Ryan? forrest gump, and cast away endings were sad in some parts to me. All tom hanks movies basically lol. Sad scene though ; /
StrangerDanger writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:11:30 AM

I call bullsh*t if anyone has ever seen Grave Of the Fireflies and not been depessed over it you have no f*cking soul.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:18:08 AM

Change my mind Richard Burton shooting Richard Harris at the end of Wild Geese, sad stuff

Sniff Sniff !!
anaheimducks writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:27:45 AM

Marley and me made me almost cry when they put that dog to sleep that was it for me it was hard to keep the tears in.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:37:01 AM

@tt

You aint wrong on "The Wild Geese" that is a sad ending and then he has to tell the kid about his dad.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:41:39 AM

dave

It's a Classic mate one of my all time favs, Poor little Emile ....
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:55:49 AM

"I'm not going to describe the scene from "The Champ" that's used since it spoils the entire movie..."

Yet the title of the embedded video is called "Champ's Death". No spoilers there.
Big_Daddy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:02:33 AM

I cried like a little bitch when Apollo died
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:40:04 AM

The Phantom Menace was my saddest movie, I cry everytime I see it.
Dirt writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:57:28 AM

When Rambo makes it home at the end of Rambo 4, now that's a tear jerker..
coldplayesence writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 9:13:35 AM

This will sound very manly but come on, (SPOILER) when Scarlett's stupid daughter falls off the horse and dies is the saddest scene ever!
Kurskij writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 9:51:13 AM

If you don't want to spoil the scene - isn't the name of that clip spoils the f*ck out of it?..

Just sain'...


Jean Jacques Annaud's "The Bear" is the saddest movie ever for me. Cried like a bitch when I watched it.
Kurskij writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 9:55:11 AM

Paris getting that tommy-bar through her head in "House of Wax" was the happiest movie scene. Otherwise it was f*cking awful.

But when it happened I was like

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FDqI99s8t8o&feature=related
Johnnyb writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 10:16:33 AM

The Green Mile make cry a lot like a bitch!!!!!

John Coffey been eletrocuted in front of Paul Edgecomb and the other guards, whom have form a strong bond with him..... sniff, sniff, sniff.....
takai writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 10:18:59 AM

@StrangerDanger - I was thinking the same thing. No movie has destroyed me emotionally quite like that one.
Dre-EL writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 10:36:53 AM

I'm not afraid to admit it, but the champ was the first and only movie that made the waterworks run for me.
j-man writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:25:18 AM

The dark knight, when heath ledger died at the end
Zeroguy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 12:19:21 PM

John Waters! f*ckin love that guy and his work.
wavydavy123 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 1:50:17 PM

Terminator 3 and/or Terminator Salvation, as they took one of the greatest franchises of all time and castrated it wholly and mercilessly
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 3:13:02 PM

this may not be a movie but six feet unders series finale made me cry like a little bitch
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 4:28:56 PM

I had a girlfriend that would cry every time she watched this movie.






Then I'd f*ck her...







HARD!
Rambo writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:38:27 PM

Is Mink dead?
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:11:54 PM

I guess these scientists haven't seen "Umberto D" or "La Notti Bianche."
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:12:45 PM

Or the "Glenn Miller Story."
Lined Paper writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:49:24 PM

The one and only movie that`s ever actually made me cry is Rudy with Sean Astin. But not in a sad way... more like "f*ck yeah!" way lol.
Lined Paper writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:53:17 PM

And yeah where the f*ck is Mink?! I thought he'd be all over this one.
elrei writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:02:32 PM

What about "dancer in the Dark" ?
Swai987 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:14:51 PM

I hear Max rockatansky juniors family's home video of him being born is pretty sad. You see a hobo transvestite pushing his dumbass out of a fake vagina while under a bridge.
struck21 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:31:22 PM

The end of A League of Their Own always gets to me. When they all meet in the Hall of Fame for the first time in years.
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 11:27:01 AM

Or when Michael Clark Duncan gets put down at the end of The Green Mile.

Or the game of catch between Costner and his dad in Field of Dreams.


... sniffle...
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 11:28:58 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_wnD6jxREU
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 8:31:50 PM

lol im also confused.. IS Mink Dead ? i havent seen that ugy coment in like 3 weeks :P i miss his critism and outbursts LOL
madmaveric writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 6:17:06 PM

wonder if they watched city of angels where nick cage decides to fall to earth an become human for meg ryan then in a matter of hours gets killed

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved