WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look: Arnold Schwarzenegger on "Terminator: Genesis" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Photos From "Jurassic World" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
Sony Working on a Live-Action "Barbie" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Eric Roberts Says "Human Centipede 3" is Really Horrible
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
"X-Men: Apocalypse" to Focus on Younger Cast, Patrick Stewart Says He May Still Return
Apr 20th, 2014
Hayden Panettiere Won't Return for "Heroes: Reborn" TV Series
Apr 20th, 2014
Trailer for Michael C. Hall's "Cold in July" Thriller
Apr 20th, 2014
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Scientists Determine "The Champ" is Saddest Movie Ever

Posted: July 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Scientists Determine "The Champ" is Saddest Movie EverSubmit Comment
After years of research, scientists have found out that "The Champ," starring Jon Voight and Ricky Schroder, is the saddest movie ever made. This finding was part of a study that tried to figure out how emotions affect people's behavior.

While it's unlikely that scientists watched every movie out there, James Gross and Robert Levenson have determined that a clip from "The Champ" gets people to cry the fastest. And as soon as the tears begin flowing, volunteers are immediately hit with questions about food (not likely to eat when sad) and shopping (more likely to spend when sad).

"Bambi" was used for a little while, but "The Champ" gets the crying going faster. I'm not going to describe the scene from "The Champ" that's used since it spoils the entire movie, but you can watch it below (stars at 5:25).

To elicit other emotions, Meg Ryan's orgasm scene in "When Harry met Sally" is used to get people amused. "The Shining" and "The Silence of the Lambs" are used to scare people. John Waters' "Pink Flamingos" is used to elicit disgust. And to get people riled, "My Bodyguard" and "Cry Freedom" are used.

"The Champ" Clip (Spoilers):


Source: Smithsonian Mag, Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:20:53 AM

Did they see Battle:Los Angeles?
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:29:18 AM

bulllll sh*t, its watership down, all those cute bunnies dying of myxomatosis!
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:29:31 AM

The Champ is a good movie and very sad but Watership Down was always my saddest movie when i was a kid.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:36:05 AM

"After years of research, scientists have found out that "The Champ," starring Jon Voight and Ricky Schroder, is the saddest movie ever made"


Busy then .....

Avirex writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:09:35 AM

I thought "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" had already earned this title?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:38:34 AM

What about "The Dirty Dozen"?

That always gets me going.

and

"Team America: World Police"
rockkillers writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:45:09 AM

Schindler's list maybe? Saving Private Ryan? forrest gump, and cast away endings were sad in some parts to me. All tom hanks movies basically lol. Sad scene though ; /
StrangerDanger writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:11:30 AM

I call bullsh*t if anyone has ever seen Grave Of the Fireflies and not been depessed over it you have no f*cking soul.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:18:08 AM

Change my mind Richard Burton shooting Richard Harris at the end of Wild Geese, sad stuff

Sniff Sniff !!
anaheimducks writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:27:45 AM

Marley and me made me almost cry when they put that dog to sleep that was it for me it was hard to keep the tears in.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:37:01 AM

@tt

You aint wrong on "The Wild Geese" that is a sad ending and then he has to tell the kid about his dad.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:41:39 AM

dave

It's a Classic mate one of my all time favs, Poor little Emile ....
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 7:55:49 AM

"I'm not going to describe the scene from "The Champ" that's used since it spoils the entire movie..."

Yet the title of the embedded video is called "Champ's Death". No spoilers there.
Big_Daddy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:02:33 AM

I cried like a little bitch when Apollo died
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:40:04 AM

The Phantom Menace was my saddest movie, I cry everytime I see it.
Dirt writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:57:28 AM

When Rambo makes it home at the end of Rambo 4, now that's a tear jerker..
coldplayesence writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 9:13:35 AM

This will sound very manly but come on, (SPOILER) when Scarlett's stupid daughter falls off the horse and dies is the saddest scene ever!
Kurskij writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 9:51:13 AM

If you don't want to spoil the scene - isn't the name of that clip spoils the f*ck out of it?..

Just sain'...


Jean Jacques Annaud's "The Bear" is the saddest movie ever for me. Cried like a bitch when I watched it.
Kurskij writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 9:55:11 AM

Paris getting that tommy-bar through her head in "House of Wax" was the happiest movie scene. Otherwise it was f*cking awful.

But when it happened I was like

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FDqI99s8t8o&feature=related
Johnnyb writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 10:16:33 AM

The Green Mile make cry a lot like a bitch!!!!!

John Coffey been eletrocuted in front of Paul Edgecomb and the other guards, whom have form a strong bond with him..... sniff, sniff, sniff.....
takai writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 10:18:59 AM

@StrangerDanger - I was thinking the same thing. No movie has destroyed me emotionally quite like that one.
Dre-EL writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 10:36:53 AM

I'm not afraid to admit it, but the champ was the first and only movie that made the waterworks run for me.
j-man writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:25:18 AM

The dark knight, when heath ledger died at the end
Zeroguy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 12:19:21 PM

John Waters! f*ckin love that guy and his work.
wavydavy123 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 1:50:17 PM

Terminator 3 and/or Terminator Salvation, as they took one of the greatest franchises of all time and castrated it wholly and mercilessly
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 3:13:02 PM

this may not be a movie but six feet unders series finale made me cry like a little bitch
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 4:28:56 PM

I had a girlfriend that would cry every time she watched this movie.






Then I'd f*ck her...







HARD!
Rambo writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 5:38:27 PM

Is Mink dead?
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:11:54 PM

I guess these scientists haven't seen "Umberto D" or "La Notti Bianche."
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:12:45 PM

Or the "Glenn Miller Story."
Lined Paper writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:49:24 PM

The one and only movie that`s ever actually made me cry is Rudy with Sean Astin. But not in a sad way... more like "f*ck yeah!" way lol.
Lined Paper writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 6:53:17 PM

And yeah where the f*ck is Mink?! I thought he'd be all over this one.
elrei writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 8:02:32 PM

What about "dancer in the Dark" ?
Swai987 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:14:51 PM

I hear Max rockatansky juniors family's home video of him being born is pretty sad. You see a hobo transvestite pushing his dumbass out of a fake vagina while under a bridge.
struck21 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:31:22 PM

The end of A League of Their Own always gets to me. When they all meet in the Hall of Fame for the first time in years.
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 11:27:01 AM

Or when Michael Clark Duncan gets put down at the end of The Green Mile.

Or the game of catch between Costner and his dad in Field of Dreams.


... sniffle...
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 11:28:58 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_wnD6jxREU
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 30th, 2011 at 8:31:50 PM

lol im also confused.. IS Mink Dead ? i havent seen that ugy coment in like 3 weeks :P i miss his critism and outbursts LOL
madmaveric writes:
on August 13th, 2011 at 6:17:06 PM

wonder if they watched city of angels where nick cage decides to fall to earth an become human for meg ryan then in a matter of hours gets killed

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel

"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved