WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Frank Darabont Quits "The Walking Dead" TV Series

Posted: July 27th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Frank Darabont Quits "The Walking Dead" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
Frank Darabont (The Shawshank Redemption, The Green Mile), who is the creator, executive producer and director of AMC's massive hit "The Walking Dead," has decided to quit the series, which is now in production on its second season.

This comes as a huge surprise since Darabont was in attendance during "The Walking Dead" panel at the San Diego Comic-Con on Friday. While there is still a chance that the helmer may stay on in some capacity, many believe that he will leave the show completely.

Darabont spent five years trying to get the TV series greenlit, but it turned out to be more difficult than he expected. The second season is set to premiere on October 16th, and Darabont's exit will likely not change that.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
oklahomaer writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 3:56:55 AM

Man,that is f*cked up.
SuluNakamura writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 4:09:48 AM

Well sh*t, that's not good. I was hoping for things to turn around after that horrible season finale, but now I just don't know.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 4:10:40 AM

The guy either can't handle success, or his boyfriend nagged him to quit.
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 4:27:16 AM

That Jake is such a selfish bastard Ranger ..
Rambo writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 4:28:01 AM

make 'the green mile 2 - return of Mr. Jingles'
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 4:31:06 AM

This show and Luther are the only 2 reasons it's worth paying our licence fee.

Agree SuluNakamura the ending of season 1 was a little disappointing
lppinto writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 4:38:31 AM

@Rambo

Why not, "Shawshank Redemption part 2, the return to the joint".. featuring the Rock and Sean William Scott
nawtnt writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 5:15:50 AM

That's not good news, Darabont is the creator of the show which without him, the show will fail miserably.
jdl107 writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 5:19:05 AM

You spent five years trying to get this greenlit, only to back out right then the show sarts picking up?

Talk about sheer f*cking cowardice...
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 6:04:02 AM

Seems a little out of order that Alex is using pictures of Amy Winehouse to go with this story.
Rambo writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 7:06:37 AM

^LOL that was a good one!
AYT BALL writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 7:24:05 AM

@ Trailer - You should check out game of thrones! way up there with The walking dead.

As for the crappy finale, yeah, wasnt great, and that didnt happen in the comic at all! they still havent met any government officials with any knowledge and its been over 5 years!
boogiel writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 7:54:31 AM

Well, as long as its still on and its great, I dont give a sh*t.
boogiel writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 7:59:11 AM

@tt

"Seems a little out of order that Alex is using pictures of Amy Winehouse to go with this story."


LOL! They cremated her though.
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 8:12:13 AM

boogiel,

Thats a good point, I just thought it was a picture from last years Glastonbury
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 8:16:55 AM

TT- It's a nice pic when did she decide to model?
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 8:26:29 AM

lol, After she had a good bath mate, See what a nice wash can do for you..
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 8:29:41 AM

AYT

Game of Thrones, Just had to check that one out, It Totally passed me by and Sean Bean and Julian Glover are in it, Have we had this on the TV here yet ?

Also Fallen Skies what did you think of that show mate ?
velocityknown writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 8:39:37 AM

I disagree that ending of season 1 was disappointing. I want to see it diverge from the graphic novel so that it doesn't become so predictable. Plus do you know boring it would be as a writer to just adapt something week after week? Plus the novels themselves start to grow a little stale and repetitive later on.

As for Darabont stepping down, it just seems like he bit off more than he can chew. He comes from a movie background where you know how long you're going to be working for and it's less of an actual job because you're working on individual projects in spurts. The process of running and TV series is an entirely different monster, especially since Darabont has apparently attempted to take on most of the writing responsibilities himself. It's sad to see him quit, but it's also understandable that he just wasn't built to run a TV show.
takai writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 9:29:59 AM

There's absolutely no need to fear for the future of this show. Frank Darabont was the CO-creator/CO-writer/CO-producer of the TV SERIES. Robert Kirkman is still attached, and that's all that matters, considering that he is the creator of the comics and the other half of the CO's previously mentioned. I'm sure AMC will find someone as good or better to replace Frank.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 9:59:54 AM

TT- I think I'll take a bath right now then lol
Johnnyb writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 10:04:20 AM

What have on common Frank Darabont/TWD and a marriageż?


They never last long forever.....
SaulSilver writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 10:09:31 AM

Are people really shocked by this? You're crazy if you thought someone like Frank Darabont was going to tie himself down to a TV show for more than one year. I figured from the beginning he would be just getting the show off the ground....only to take a step back and hand it off to one of his Lieutenants.
gideon_the_1 writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 2:21:50 PM

What happened to minkowski....he hasn't been on in a while???
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 3:01:02 PM

this is definitely not good. i hope the walking dead still as great without him
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 3:08:38 PM

guys i just watched the walking dead season 2 trailer and it looks like it might still be as good without him
encoreyourface writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 3:41:03 PM

well that is sh*t.
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 6:02:01 PM

velocity

I haven't read any of the Novels, But I loved the show .

The ending for me just didn't seem to fit with what had gone on before hand in the show that's all.

But I will be buying the Blu Ray before season 2 starts so I will give it another watch.

AYT BALL writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 6:43:58 PM

@ Trailer - Thrones (or Gnome of thorns as my girlfriend calls it) was on sky 1 i think, got them all downloaded, but truly outstadning! , got 7 episodes of Fallen skys downloaded but havent watched any yet, will let you know when i do.

As for the end of Walking dead, i didnt mind the ending but yeah, it was kinda out of place, got a little bit x files, tone wise at least, thing i love about the comic is the fact they keep all the how and why in the dark, because regular people caught up in that sh*t wouldnt have a clue how to find out anything or where to go. But season 2 sounds like it picks up more or less where they went in the comic without the government place.
Frank_Castle writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 11:44:20 PM

uugh! this news is just as bad as Darren Aronofski leaving the Wolverine project.
Damon242 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 1:59:49 AM

Well, I kind of saw this coming...

trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:39:07 AM

AYT- LOL !! Women :)

Let me know what you think of Fallen I sky + it but have never gotten round to seeing it yet.

I see Glen Mezzara is taking over from Frank, I'm sure the show is in good hands.
Zeroguy writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 12:21:15 PM

Rats.
He wrote and directed the only amazing episode of the first season (the pilot).
But at least Glen Mazzara (i probably f*cked the spellin gon his last name...whatever) is taking the reins. He wrote some fantastic episodes for the Shield.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 29th, 2011 at 10:26:02 PM

Thats so f*cking Gay... i Love this show.. and these other idiots better not f*ck it up lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved