WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: $10 Million "Superman Returns" Alternate Opening

Posted: July 25th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: $10 Million "Superman Returns" Alternate OpeningSubmit Comment
Last month, Warner Bros released "Superman Anthology" on Blu-ray with 8 discs and over 20 hours of bonus features. One of the film is Bryan Singer's "Superman Returns," which comes with an alternate opening.

The anthology was released last month, but it is only now that the opening scene made its way online. For some reason, the studio completely finished the $10 million scene and then simply cut it from the final version. I guess $10 million is nothing when the budget is $270 million.

You can watch the alternate opening below, which shows Superman (Brandon Routh) visiting his home planet, only to be hurt by all the kryptonite that it contains. To save himself, he points his spaceship toward earth.

Alternate Opening:

If you cannot see the player, click here.

Source: WorstPreviews.com

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PaulX7 writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 8:40:45 PM

useless opening scene indeed. Might as well delete it. That movie was so disappointing. Not badly directed but what a dumb, stupid script, Superman having a baby with Lois, and most of all the ending, Superman able to carry and throw a massive block of Kryptonite into space. Stupid...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 9:07:37 PM

That's all nice and all, but when the f*ck did Kal El ever use the Fortress of Solitude to go journey-tripping back to the remains of Krypton ? He didn't in Superman and he sure as sh*t didn't do it in Superman II. So if Bryan was trying to tie the two movies together, his script sure did a sh*tstorm of a job (child of ol' Supes and Supes ability to AVOID GETTING KILLED BY THE ONLY ELEMENT IN THE f*ckING KNOWN DC UNIVERSE TO DO IT and toss the f*cker into space) of trying to ressurect ol' Red Tighties.
WV-Films writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 9:17:09 PM

God this movie is boring.
Thunder303 writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 9:23:58 PM

Not badly filmed and I used that loosely. but ultimately. sh*t movie.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 9:37:57 PM

Should have inserted that scene and deleted the Father Knows Best/Brady Bunch/Changing diapers son crap
Gamik65 writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 9:40:32 PM

Even if they kept the scene, it still would have been bad. Singer should have let Supes throw at least one punch in the movie. Wasting $10 mil isn't as bad as ruining a movie for $270 mil.

jdl107 writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 10:04:25 PM

Sounds like you need to do some research Gamik, how about you go do it now.

Nolan has made it clear as of late that the only he is considered involved is because he helped his brother and David S. Goyer produce the idea to Warner Bros. Besides that he has stated that this is all Snyders work, he has NOTHING (Zip, zero, nada) to do with ANY creative output.

So, in a way, he has NOTHING to do with this film.
jdl107 writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 10:09:05 PM

"that the only 'REASON' he is considered involved"
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 10:13:34 PM

jdl107 writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 10:09:05 PM

"that the only 'REASON' he is considered involved"


Especially after 'Sucker Punch'
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 10:16:55 PM

that was f*ckin boring
brandonegc writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 10:26:36 PM

Gamik65, Nolan has only made good films so far, I agree - - but stop sucking his *sshole. He's not the only person who can do superheros justice.

Personally, I think Superman Returns was a really good movie. Leaps and bounds beyond Superman III and IV. That being said, this video was f*cking boring and I'm glad it was cut from the film.
Johnnyb writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 10:36:43 PM

Still crappy and going to still suck This movie couldnīt be save even with this opening. SUPERMAN RETURNS SUCKS BIG TIME!!!!!
otis writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 10:40:36 PM

Did they think the viewer would be so inclined to sit through 5 minutes of unneeded exposition? And that didn't even explain anything.
But it would've set the mood for the rest of the glacial ass movie.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 10:49:38 PM

With the Sucker Punch director, directing this,

Im expecting to be gut punched and left highly disappointed

This will probably cause the Superman franchise to be shelved for the next 100 yrs thanks to Singers debacle and with the help of a Sucker Punch
jdl107 writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 10:52:56 PM

""that the only 'REASON' he is considered involved"


Especially after 'Sucker Punch'"

Of course a funny joke, but I wasn't talking about Snyder, I was talking about Nolan. So if you didn't like Sucker Punch, you're screwed. Because MOS is ALL Snyders vision.
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 10:54:54 PM

$10mil. for GC a first-year student could do on his Apple? Well-spent WB, you bunch of douche-bags!

BIG Supes fan here. But that really sucked farts.

I'm not so sure Kryptonite would hurt Supes there. It hurts him as a super-being in a yellow sun solar system. Back on Krypton, with red sun radiation he's of normal strength... I don't see how it would affect him (other than radiation is radiation and would hurt him because of that alone)?

Still think they should do that trilogy I've heard about (no, not the one where he's out on Earth with backpack eating granola bars 'finding himself'), whereby Earth is dying (sun is going red), and he has to decide to stay and die with the rest of humanity and his loyalty to Earth... or he buggers off to find a new home.

Or a solar system-wide battle with Darkseid or Solomon Grundy.

But this weakling, wet puppy dog nose sh*t for Lois and another installment of Lex has to die already!
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 11:11:23 PM


Your right about another villian instead of Lex, good grief

Heck Put Mr. Freeze in it and a dark Mr. Freeze like this one

Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 11:15:50 PM

Internet is being a bit of a twat and it's only buffering that video CH. I can't see it (yet).
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 11:21:58 PM


Yeah, those animated series (even The Avengers they're running now) go where the real movies rarely have the balls to go.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 11:33:47 PM

just by that discription i know that vids gonna be sh*t :P
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 11:55:16 PM

Yea I defiantly feel alssep thru Moperman.
Ranger writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 12:01:15 AM

Don't get me wrong... Singer did some fab. things in Supes Returns.

Saving the jet.
Flying in at light speed to intercept the bullets from that mini-gun.
The bullet to the eye.
Flying through the building to catch (literally) The Daily Planet.
Holding the Mustang (car) he caught in the same position as Action Comics (1938) #1.
Zipping around Earth one night saving everybody everywhere.

But WTF was with his bastard kid?
How did he land on Kryptonite-ladened Lex-Land and NOT know his powers were gonzo?!
Stalking Lois.
And even though they touched upon it (just to satisfy people like me asking) - no one put together Clark and Supes showing up AT THE EXACT SAME TIME AFTER A 5 YEAR ABSENCE. Is there a steady gas leak in Metropolis causing everyone to be a reh-tard?!

Ranger writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 12:06:53 AM

Found another 5 1/2 minutes they cut out:

BadChadB33 writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 1:18:54 AM

Ranger-I was thinking the same thing when I seen it. Super and Clark Kent return at the same time and no one picked up on it. I just wanna know how Supes came inside Lois without killing her? Seen the added sex scene in Hanc*ck right? Well I can envision something similar with those two.
Rambo writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 1:27:58 AM

how about an alternate movie?
Ranger writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 2:10:22 AM

@BC - they actually covered that.

Supes gave up his powers in the movie and was a mere Terran when he bingo'ed inside of Lois.


Man, does Courteney Cox look like Margot, eh?
jdl107 writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 2:36:41 AM

Chris almighty Ranger, she does. I'd bang the hell out of her as well.
Ranger writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 2:41:45 AM

JohnZee writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 3:11:23 AM

For the record Kryptonite hurts and can kill Superman whether he is under a Red Sun or not. In fact even a Kryptonian's powers are completely taken away by let's say magic or Gold Kryptonite, they would still be susceptible to kryptonite.

They would have transformed completely into another different life form to not be affected.

In other words if in Superman II after Superman stepped in the Red Sun machine and had his superhuman abilities taken away so that he could bump ugly with Margot Kidder, he would have still been hurt and possibly killed by kryptonite because he was still essentially kryptonian.

The question being that with never forgetting anything, and a host of super-senses and a mind and body that can constantly move and ridiculous speeds how could he not figure out that if an average rock fragment from the remains of Krypton could hurt him so severely, that approaching the largest concentration of the same exact stuff in the entire universe would somehow NOT be harmful to him.

And for the record I personally thought that they should have explained that Lex Luthor was the one that got the earth scientists to publish their findings that Superman's home planet had been discovered, in the hopes that Superman would make the journey to try to see if there were any survivors...

...One because lone survivors of such disasters would want to find others that had also somehow survived. And two after what happened in Superman II with the three other Kryptonians, I can see him wanting to head of another potentially similar problems.

As remember Zod and his cohorts didn't inflict half the damage to Earth and it's citizens as they easily could have.
JohnZee writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 3:22:03 AM

Again. Not really sure how severe and focused exposure to Red Sun radiation could make Superman a Terran in Superman II. It could strip him of his powers, but he would be a powerless Kryptonian.

And also the same reason why his son was not powerless...i.e. the father shared his Kryptonian DNA.

Which also theoretically means that if Zod and the other two had lived, that they two could have mated with humans while powerless from their own heavy exposure to Red Sun radiation, and those children would have also eventually developed superhuman abilities.

But none of them were scientists so doubtful that any of them would have figured that out if they had lived. And without a doubt except for the big dumb guy, even stripped of their powers none of them would have ever belittled themselves by shacking up with a hairless ape.

But Lex could have...
jellyzero79 writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 4:18:24 AM

Finally explains why he crashes into the farm at the beginning of the movie!
Frank_Castle writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 4:46:17 AM

Interesting opening sequence. But what a f*cked up movie it turned out to be.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 6:28:19 AM

sh*t opening and didn't Krypton blow up?

And guys...

Superman gave up his powers after he banged Lois, so there is no way in hell he would have made her pregnant.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 8:31:19 AM

Didn't the US government make Supes a spacesuit in the comics that would protect him from the Kryptonite radiation as he searched for his home planet. I don't remember all the details (like if he ever actually found something), but I do remember his spacesuit.
Sev writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 8:40:29 AM

Really cool atmosphere throughout that opening :)
SACdaddy writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 8:42:23 AM

Count me as one of the few that still loved Superman Returns. I really appreciated the whole deadbeat dad story mainly because of its connection to Superman 2 (my 2nd fav SH movie ever). That connection was basically the result of Supes most vulnerable moment. It humanized both he and Lois Lane (who was also a larger than life character) and made their relationship that much more important. I'll always give Singer props for having the guts to add emotional depth and flaws to a character that typically had none and usually came off a the ultimate comic boyscout.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 8:48:19 AM

Is there some kind of comic rule out there that says Kryptonian can't impregnate a human?
Bunny X writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 10:31:51 AM

Had they stayed with that opening, I would have walked out the theater.
So he can fly by it in his fragile spaceship and be knocked to the floor, but back home he can lift an entire island's worth of Kryptonite and toss it into space? Ooooooo K....

I too liked Returns for what they did right in it. Visually I loved it. Routh just worked for me. But i've said it a dozen times before, I am so sick of them repeating the same steps over and over again. There have been so many movies, TV shows on Supes and 99% of them have revolved around Lex being the villain. Greatest superhero of all time and theatrically, he's crap. So whenever there is talk of a reboot or remake, I cringe because I know whoever is at the helm will be compelled to weave in the origins and have Lex as the main villain. Supes has been on the big screen far too long and CGI has come so far that it is well over due that he tangles with someone that will allow him to open up.

I say pick up where Returns left off, but let Superman wake up and realize that Brainiac had intercepted him on his way back from Krypton and scanned his memories and had him dreaming the entire "Returns" bastard kid and all. This was Brainiac's opportunity to subdue superman and keep him sedated thanks to the effects of travel and all that Kryptonite had in weakening Supes. Have Brainiac leech out from the torn apart planet, subdue Supes into that dream state after analyzing his memories, and ride with him all the way back to Earth while he gets stronger in his bid to conquer Earth. Then let Supes wake up (refreshed from the yellow sun) and take it to Brainiac. This way, we get the big battle with someone other than Lex, and it gives the chance to erase all the bad parts of Returns.
Ranger writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 11:50:41 AM

@jelly - Supes explains in the opening of the movie after crash landing back on Earth that he was visiting Krypton.

@Dave - losing his powers would take away his ability to knock-up Lois. Although... as he is completely alien, who knows if the DNA would work? He just needed a hot load to fill 'er up.

@SAC - I liked Supes Returns. I've said that on every Supes-related post. I just don't get where a comic fan like Singer could get some things so dead on... then go way off the reservation so much. Supes kid and stalking Lois outside her house... the lonely, puppy in the rain sh*t has got to end already.

He's a planet mover. Enough with the trying to be human, fitting in crap. He doesn't fit in. He should get the pickle outta his ass and start being Super for a change.

And I agree with Bunny (as usual).
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 12:16:11 PM

Superman Returns sucked AIDS-riddled c*ck-n-balls. Seriously. Boring as f*ck and probably Singer's weakest film- but as some here have said, it was hamstrung from the get-go with that terrible script.

As for it being OMG $10 MILLION!! Not a big deal. For a $270 million movie that runs ~150 minutes, that figures out to a little less than $2 million per minute. For a five minute scene, $10 million would just right on the money, so to speak.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 3:58:02 PM

@Ranger: I think Singer was just trying to put his artistic stamp on the film just like he did with X-Men. You can't direct a film like Usual Suspects and then just dump your creative storytelling talent for a dumbed down typical superhero plot. Like it or not Singer's choices made Supes more realistic which isn't easy considering he's basically the most powerful alien in the known universe.

Bunny: Love the Braniac idea every time you bring it up, but i fear the studio just doesn't see a machine being charismatic enough to carry a lead villain role. The reason why its always Lex Luther is because its always a great opportunity to add a big name to a very dynamic role (much like the Joker). Gene Hackman and Kevin Spacey are two of the best actors in Hwood. It might be too much of a dropoff to go to a talking robot in the shadow of these two film legends.
kmccarney88 writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 8:36:24 PM

While this opening is unnecessary and ultimately, yes, boring (as some of you have said).......all I got to say is that Superman Returns is a thousand times better than the majority of comic book films being released nowadays. Its vastly superior to films like Green Lantern, Captain America or Thor.
So, while it could have been much better......you cant bash it too much.

I agree that the script was weak.....it needed better character development, more action and a far better villain. But in retrospect.....it's one of the better directed comic book adaptations.

Bryan Singer could only do so much with the story.
Bunny X writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 8:58:57 PM

@SAC, I hear ya. Which is why it would then be needed to include Luthor in the story as a partner to Brainiac. Luthor has done it before where he would submit to Brainiac to "aid" him in his conquest of Earth. Warning him of Superman feeding him info until the point where Brainiac can sustain himself. Luthor of course seemingly selling out the human race for his own safety but ultimately proves useful as he had his own motives and ends up helping in Brainiac's defeat. It's happened countless times in the comics and cartoon series and would work great on film. Spacey (if he were to return to the role) would deliver that aspect of Luthor flawlessly. I would even be pleased to include Luthor in the story if he were used that way.
Then it could be spun off to the next installment where Luthor begins his campaign for President and Superman is distracted by (insert any powerful villain here) that Luthor himself delivered to Earth from knowledge gained from his interaction with Brainiac to tie up Superman.
This way, the studio cleans up some of the Returns mess, keeps the Luthor character in play, and delivers two or more powerful villains in two films making the faithful very very happy.
Ranger writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 10:47:50 PM

@SAC - don't forget, Brainiac can appear in any form. If done right it would blow away the morphing bots of Terminator 2 and 3. His technology is thousands of years beyond ours.

I call Brainiac or bullsh*t for the next movie.

Big Supes fan here... wish Hollywood Superman was Super too.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 1:01:48 AM

Sounds great to me Bunny. Similar plot (or at least character dynamic) to Superman 2 but that's fine by me. Its hard to dethrown Lex (and the Joker) from the top of the villain food chain.

Ranger: I hear ya, but like you said the shapeshifting bad guy has been done before (X-men, T2, The Matrix, and Thor most recently). If it works in the plot so be it, but it will just be more of the same and nothing new.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 4:19:23 AM

Nope... nothing new, agreed. But Lex has to be dropped. And Hollyweird doesn't seem to have a working pair to make that trilogy story floating around, nor a HUGE Solomon Grundy or Darkseid battle. Brainiac... could slip into human DNA... take over the President (I mean more than big business already has), etc. Anything. Not just the liquid metal, run vehicles remotely stuff.

Hollywood doesn't have the balls to make Supes Super.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved