WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Captain America" Tops Box Office With $65 Million

Posted: July 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Captain America" Tops Box Office With $65 MillionSubmit Comment
"Captain America: The First Avenger" topped the domestic box office this weekend with a $65 million debut, which means that it's on its way to earning back its $140 million budget and getting a sequel.

The numbers are almost exactly the same as the numbers for "Thor," which cost $150 million to make and grossed $65 million during its opening weekend. "Thor" went on to earn $446 million worldwide. "Captain America" will likely match that.

"Captain America" also pushed "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2" to second place. The last "Harry Potter" installment grossed another $48 million, bringing its worldwide total to a whopping $834 million in just two weeks.

"Friends With Benefits," starring Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis, was the other wide release of the weekend. The $35 million romantic comedy grossed $18.5 million, which was good enough for third place and enough to eventually become profitable.

"No Strings Attached," starring Ashton Kutcher and Natalie Portman," was released back in January and grossed $19 million durings its opening weekend. The film went on to take $147 million worldwide. "Friends With Benefits" will likely perform the same.

Click here to read our "Captain America: The First Avenger" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
diehardmoviefan1 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 6:44:46 PM

Harry Potter is still 100 times better even if Captain America got 1st place moneywise.
Devil writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 8:09:04 PM

Harry Potter can suck a d*ck.
SaulSilver writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 8:13:48 PM

still got your V card....don't ya, diehard?
pornfly writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 8:46:46 PM

america, f*ckYEA!!so kiss my ass and suck on my ballz
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 8:56:02 PM

Captain Communist


Was it any good?
rockkillers writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 8:56:54 PM

lol @ saulsilver
technoreaper writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 9:03:31 PM

Mediocre movie, terrible costume, Hugo Weaving was awful, not Marvel's finest hour.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 12:13:24 AM

Probably the worst mainstream Marvel movie so far. It soooo could have been epic...
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 12:21:24 AM

And you got Evans for $300K Marvel you cheap f*cks. Clearly they were concerned with Downey's pay-day in the Avengers being a big chunk of their budget.
Frank_Castle writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 3:20:12 AM

is it worth my $5 dollars on $5 dollar tuesdays at UnitedArtist Galaxy theatre?
anaheimducks writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 6:59:07 AM

Good I'm glad captain America came in 1st place it deserves it.It was awesome the best marvel movie so far I love all the other ones to iron man 1 and 2 yes even 2 there was nothing wrong with it and thor and incredable hulk all awsome movie can't freakin wait for the avengers.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 8:59:11 AM

I enjoyed Capt. America but can hardly remember much from it less than 24 hrs later. Just didn't make much of an impression on me at all. The story was good (maybe one of the best origin stories recently) but everything felt very rushed and extremely choppy. Hugo Weaving was also kind of a letdown. Who would have thought that such a seasoned villain would struggle so much (with the accent mostly) playing a Nazi? I will say that Evans nailed the his part though. I just wish the director would have made him more of a leader like he was in the comics I grew up with instead of just a red,white, and blue wrecking ball. Maybe they'll leave that for The Avengers though. I'll give Capt. America a 7/10 for keeping me entertained and delivering a good story. I've still got Fast Five and Thor ahead of it this year and still haven't seen Potter (which I know I will like more).
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 11:02:23 AM

Wasnt ironman good, evans was ok.... Not great, not horrible.
The short jokes ran thin after the 9th one. Tommy lee jones saved this film. The action and cgi were surprisingly well done. And the female lead was a babe, total babe.
Honorable mention, howard stark for being a boss. Cant wait for avengers.
Eben1277 writes:
on July 26th, 2011 at 12:38:37 AM

Not as good as Thor, but way better than I expected. Surprised me bigtime, and I actually liked it. And while Potter may not have been 100 times better, in my opinion it was better.
seveltoto writes:
on November 6th, 2017 at 2:25:57 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved