WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Photos: Woman Gives Homeless Man a Bag of Food, That Homeless Man is Richard Gere
Apr 24th, 2014
Japanese Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 24th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson and Lupita Nyong'o in Talks for "The Jungle Book"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Photo From Set of "Pitch Perfect 2"
Apr 24th, 2014
Jessica Chastain May Play Female Lead in "Mission: Impossible 5"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Look: Arnold Schwarzenegger on "Terminator: Genesis" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Photos From "Jurassic World" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
Sony Working on a Live-Action "Barbie" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Eric Roberts Says "Human Centipede 3" is Really Horrible
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Regained Rights to Blade, Planning Film or TV Series

Posted: July 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Regained Rights to Blade, Planning Film or TV SeriesSubmit Comment
Back in October, Idris Elba revealed that he would love to play Luke Cage or Blade on the big screen. At the time, Luke Cage was the only option, since Marvel didn't own the rights to Blade.

But now comes word from Marvel CCO Joe Quesada that Marvel has regained rights to both Blade and the Punisher. And that both properties will be developed into TV or film projects, but not anytime soon.

When asked about making a movie based on a black character, Quesada said: "One of the things we have to deal with first are the icons. If we don't do those first, other characters regardless of race or ethnicity, will fail. I dream of the day that there will be a Luke Cage movie."

Source: CBR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 3:38:54 AM

Love to see another Blade movie with Snipes in the lead, the 1st 2 were great part 3 not so much.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 3:56:05 AM

Hope they can get snipes, isnt he in jail or some sh*ttttz?
Otherwise its craaaap, snipes is blade just like downey jr. Is ironman.

Punisher really needs a quality re-boot. The source material is amazing. It needs a fresh start. I hope they make this a series on HBO or SHOWTIME.

Anything else (as in a cable channel) will suck.
pornfly writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 4:09:58 AM

So disney owns blade and punisher, snipes must be turning over on his cellmate
johnny_boy writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 4:57:15 AM

If Marvel does do a Blade movie, I hope it's in it's own universe. Adding vampires to marvels established universe is way too redundant.
Frank_Castle writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 5:06:01 AM

I agree on the Punisher DUDEabides. It should work better as an HBO show in the style of Breaking Bad, Sons of Anarchy, Sopranos, and such... I hope somehow they can get Ray Stevenson to play Frank again. Or even Lundgren. :)
Frank_Castle writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 5:08:50 AM

...And as for BLADE: Snipes is the only one that can play B. There should be a bloody sequel following the same damn TRILOGY. No Reboot.
SeWerin writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 6:06:08 AM

This is great news. But it needs to be R. And i don't know if Marvel under the Disney can handle that.

Also if they can't get Snipes, Michael J. White would be great
nawtnt writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 6:27:45 AM

I think Blade should continue from a sequel and The Punisher should be turned into a TV series if not then a movie should be good.

nawtnt writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 6:31:50 AM

I think Blade shouldn't be rebooted and should continue the film series with another sequel.

About The Punisher? Maybe a TV Series.

It is great that Marvel has the rights to Blade again.

rocketman writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 6:37:00 AM

I think society is ready for a Hispanic or White Blade.
Anyone who disagrees is well racialist.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 8:07:03 AM

TT- Same here, I love Blade. One of my if my favorite comic book characters. Snipes is Blade!
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 8:08:10 AM

@Rocketman- Chris Evans as Blade?
Rambo writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 8:44:59 AM

the first blade was fantastic
rocketman writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 8:58:29 AM

@Badchad,i want an albino or an aborigine.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 10:03:10 AM

Marvel will find a way to f*ck up Blade and the Punisher(again) because it has no idea how handle R-rated characters or material. Joe Quesada's statement already proves my point:

"One of the things we have to deal with first are the icons. If we don't do those first, other characters regardless of race or ethnicity, will fail."

Blade was kicking ass and taking names at the box office way before any of these so called "icons" from Marvel studios hit the big screen. Sure Blade might not be a well established character in the comics but on screen he already has way more credibility than any of these recent supe characters. In fact I'll argue that Blade and Singer's X-men ignited the rebirth of the superhero genre as we know it today. Lets face it, the only reason Marvel wants to make these "icon" films first is easy money. With these bigname supes Marvel really doesn't have to try that hard to make a profit. Name recognition, huge CGI budgets, and 3D mark ups covers most of the margins Marvel seeks with these projects while things like character development and cinematics innovation never seems to be that important. Smaller budgets and less establishment almost forced more creativity with the first Blade movies. The R-rated material gave them more freedom to explore places and take risks most SH films never dared before. And if anything the color of the main character brought something new and fresh to the genre. All in all the Blade films (1 & 2 as if needed clarification) are 10 times more creative and interesting than ANYTHING Marvel has ever done. I think thats kind of intimidating to the brains behind Marvel and they just don't know where to go with it right now. they know it valuable, but they just don't know how to make it fit their formula.
Ranger writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 11:56:41 AM

Blade 1 & 2 were from NewLine Cinema (also makers of Lord of the Rings). Yeah, Marvel could learn a thing or two from them. Then again... Marvel superhero movies seem to do well whether the movie sucks or not.
SeWerin writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 1:06:21 PM

Well said SACdaddy.

First blade had perfect atmosphere, great cast, minimum CGI, and hell - one of the best intros ever (dance floor fck yeah!).

Blade had really awesome lore that got expended on in part 2 in pretty amazing way (let us not forget that it was Guillermo Del Toro who directed part 2). It had actually villain with feeling and more then one dimension. Also great twists and supporting cast made it all better. But the atmosphere and the tone were the same as in part 1 (which i love more).

Anyway part 3 ruined it, but we all know that.

Regarding Marvel - i believe they will try to make it much much more CGI in order to avoid blood, so they ca keep rating to PG 13. Second - it will not have interesting side characters, non of Marvel movies do (Ironman tride but it didn't give them enough spotlight). They are all one dimensional cutoffs with sole purpose to fill time.

And villains....i think that they are better off staying away from comic books, and basing it more on the Guillermo/Norington lore. But no, Marvel will try to bring it closer to the comics.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 1:13:34 PM

Rocketman-No joke I have met and albino black man before. It was interesting. Maybe we should cast him.
marz352 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 1:30:30 PM

blade was cool, didnt like the guy that played frost look like he belonged in the lost boys spin offs the sequel was the best 1 though so if they ever do another 1 bring back del toro i wouldnt hate seeing idris elba play blade either or wesley plus (alot of stunt doubles) morbius would be a good villian. The 3rd film was garbage if dude was dracula the father of all y was he running ?
Cain writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 5:37:47 PM

The Blade TV series sucked, but I thought rapper Sticky Fingaz made a good Blade. Sadly, the scripting on the TV series sucked.
iceskateuphill writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 11:58:17 PM

I'm glad they bought up the right to the punisher....again. i have all 3 of them but i recognize the fact that theyre all not that great. hopefully someone will make an all around good punisher movie. hopefully.
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 12:03:00 AM

'The Blade TV series sucked' -- no doubt.

Ever see the RoboCop series on TV? What a f*cking waste of electricity to air that show that sh*t-fest was.
ZenShark writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 5:16:09 AM

blade was a hit before the icons...
Sol Beer writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 4:14:31 PM

i love watching Blade, though i hate the bloody side of it. me and fareastvision.com enjoy watching it together.

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel

"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved