WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Regained Rights to Blade, Planning Film or TV Series

Posted: July 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Regained Rights to Blade, Planning Film or TV SeriesSubmit Comment
Back in October, Idris Elba revealed that he would love to play Luke Cage or Blade on the big screen. At the time, Luke Cage was the only option, since Marvel didn't own the rights to Blade.

But now comes word from Marvel CCO Joe Quesada that Marvel has regained rights to both Blade and the Punisher. And that both properties will be developed into TV or film projects, but not anytime soon.

When asked about making a movie based on a black character, Quesada said: "One of the things we have to deal with first are the icons. If we don't do those first, other characters regardless of race or ethnicity, will fail. I dream of the day that there will be a Luke Cage movie."

Source: CBR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 3:38:54 AM

Love to see another Blade movie with Snipes in the lead, the 1st 2 were great part 3 not so much.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 3:56:05 AM

Hope they can get snipes, isnt he in jail or some sh*ttttz?
Otherwise its craaaap, snipes is blade just like downey jr. Is ironman.

Punisher really needs a quality re-boot. The source material is amazing. It needs a fresh start. I hope they make this a series on HBO or SHOWTIME.

Anything else (as in a cable channel) will suck.
pornfly writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 4:09:58 AM

So disney owns blade and punisher, snipes must be turning over on his cellmate
johnny_boy writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 4:57:15 AM

If Marvel does do a Blade movie, I hope it's in it's own universe. Adding vampires to marvels established universe is way too redundant.
Frank_Castle writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 5:06:01 AM

I agree on the Punisher DUDEabides. It should work better as an HBO show in the style of Breaking Bad, Sons of Anarchy, Sopranos, and such... I hope somehow they can get Ray Stevenson to play Frank again. Or even Lundgren. :)
Frank_Castle writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 5:08:50 AM

...And as for BLADE: Snipes is the only one that can play B. There should be a bloody sequel following the same damn TRILOGY. No Reboot.
SeWerin writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 6:06:08 AM

This is great news. But it needs to be R. And i don't know if Marvel under the Disney can handle that.

Also if they can't get Snipes, Michael J. White would be great
nawtnt writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 6:27:45 AM

I think Blade should continue from a sequel and The Punisher should be turned into a TV series if not then a movie should be good.

nawtnt writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 6:31:50 AM

I think Blade shouldn't be rebooted and should continue the film series with another sequel.

About The Punisher? Maybe a TV Series.

It is great that Marvel has the rights to Blade again.

rocketman writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 6:37:00 AM

I think society is ready for a Hispanic or White Blade.
Anyone who disagrees is well racialist.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 8:07:03 AM

TT- Same here, I love Blade. One of my if my favorite comic book characters. Snipes is Blade!
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 8:08:10 AM

@Rocketman- Chris Evans as Blade?
Rambo writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 8:44:59 AM

the first blade was fantastic
rocketman writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 8:58:29 AM

@Badchad,i want an albino or an aborigine.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 10:03:10 AM

Marvel will find a way to f*ck up Blade and the Punisher(again) because it has no idea how handle R-rated characters or material. Joe Quesada's statement already proves my point:

"One of the things we have to deal with first are the icons. If we don't do those first, other characters regardless of race or ethnicity, will fail."

Blade was kicking ass and taking names at the box office way before any of these so called "icons" from Marvel studios hit the big screen. Sure Blade might not be a well established character in the comics but on screen he already has way more credibility than any of these recent supe characters. In fact I'll argue that Blade and Singer's X-men ignited the rebirth of the superhero genre as we know it today. Lets face it, the only reason Marvel wants to make these "icon" films first is easy money. With these bigname supes Marvel really doesn't have to try that hard to make a profit. Name recognition, huge CGI budgets, and 3D mark ups covers most of the margins Marvel seeks with these projects while things like character development and cinematics innovation never seems to be that important. Smaller budgets and less establishment almost forced more creativity with the first Blade movies. The R-rated material gave them more freedom to explore places and take risks most SH films never dared before. And if anything the color of the main character brought something new and fresh to the genre. All in all the Blade films (1 & 2 as if needed clarification) are 10 times more creative and interesting than ANYTHING Marvel has ever done. I think thats kind of intimidating to the brains behind Marvel and they just don't know where to go with it right now. they know it valuable, but they just don't know how to make it fit their formula.
Ranger writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 11:56:41 AM

Blade 1 & 2 were from NewLine Cinema (also makers of Lord of the Rings). Yeah, Marvel could learn a thing or two from them. Then again... Marvel superhero movies seem to do well whether the movie sucks or not.
SeWerin writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 1:06:21 PM

Well said SACdaddy.

First blade had perfect atmosphere, great cast, minimum CGI, and hell - one of the best intros ever (dance floor fck yeah!).

Blade had really awesome lore that got expended on in part 2 in pretty amazing way (let us not forget that it was Guillermo Del Toro who directed part 2). It had actually villain with feeling and more then one dimension. Also great twists and supporting cast made it all better. But the atmosphere and the tone were the same as in part 1 (which i love more).

Anyway part 3 ruined it, but we all know that.

Regarding Marvel - i believe they will try to make it much much more CGI in order to avoid blood, so they ca keep rating to PG 13. Second - it will not have interesting side characters, non of Marvel movies do (Ironman tride but it didn't give them enough spotlight). They are all one dimensional cutoffs with sole purpose to fill time.

And villains....i think that they are better off staying away from comic books, and basing it more on the Guillermo/Norington lore. But no, Marvel will try to bring it closer to the comics.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 1:13:34 PM

Rocketman-No joke I have met and albino black man before. It was interesting. Maybe we should cast him.
marz352 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 1:30:30 PM

blade was cool, didnt like the guy that played frost look like he belonged in the lost boys spin offs the sequel was the best 1 though so if they ever do another 1 bring back del toro i wouldnt hate seeing idris elba play blade either or wesley plus (alot of stunt doubles) morbius would be a good villian. The 3rd film was garbage if dude was dracula the father of all y was he running ?
Cain writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 5:37:47 PM

The Blade TV series sucked, but I thought rapper Sticky Fingaz made a good Blade. Sadly, the scripting on the TV series sucked.
iceskateuphill writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 11:58:17 PM

I'm glad they bought up the right to the punisher....again. i have all 3 of them but i recognize the fact that theyre all not that great. hopefully someone will make an all around good punisher movie. hopefully.
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 12:03:00 AM

'The Blade TV series sucked' -- no doubt.

Ever see the RoboCop series on TV? What a f*cking waste of electricity to air that show that sh*t-fest was.
ZenShark writes:
on July 27th, 2011 at 5:16:09 AM

blade was a hit before the icons...
Sol Beer writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 4:14:31 PM

i love watching Blade, though i hate the bloody side of it. me and fareastvision.com enjoy watching it together.

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved