WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro Promises Amazing Monsters and Robots in "Pacific Rim"

Posted: July 23rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del Toro Promises Amazing Monsters and Robots in "Pacific Rim"Submit Comment
During the San Diego Comic-Con, director Guillermo Del Toro spoke about "Pacific Rim," which is set to begin filming later this year for a July 12th, 2013 release date and is set in a future in which malevolent creatures threaten the earth. As a result, the planet must band together and use highly advanced technology to eradicate the growing menace.

"It is my duty to film the finest f*cking monsters ever committed to the screen. And the greatest f*cking robots ever committed to screen. That's a pledge," said Del Toro, adding that there will also be "incredibly huge things destroying little things."

He continued: "There's much more to it than the giant monsters and giant robots. We want to make it a big 'what if.' What would happen in the real world if a 25 story thing came out of the sea and started destroying cities? How would the world change? What weapons do we need to develop to fight a thing like that? It's not a fantastic distant future to which we have no relationship. We wanted to make it in the now."

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 9 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SeWerin writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 5:37:12 PM

Well if i am one thing sure about Guillermo - the creature designs in his movies are unique and marvelous
jdl107 writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 6:14:17 PM

"incredibly huge things destroying little things."

That doesn't sound interesting. If you want to promise some hardcore eradicating action, you'd better promise some big-on-big type shizzle (I don't really talk like that, f*ck you), and by big-on-big I'm not talking in the sense of those behemoths that Ranger picks up in the decaying parts of downtown when he's lonely and bored, or in the sense of them big 'ol things BoyScouts likes to goggle on a daily basis.

Some big-f*cking-monsters against some big-f*cking-monsters/machines/robots if you will.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 6:48:03 PM

GOD DAMN RIGHT! I smell a franchise, and its gonna be EPIC.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 6:48:40 PM

@jdl - I believe the giant robots are built to fight the giant monsters.
Kurskij writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 7:49:37 PM

Please, please, please, Guillermo... Just don't kill it out of a sudden like you did with a million other projects you were going to make.

Johnnyb writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 10:02:51 PM

Why Guille, why?┐ Why the swearing┐? f*cking, Motherf*ckers, .... In SDCC of this year, the same thing Ron Perlman is a this and that.... I know your excitement, but my man, everyday you are on your way on a looking type Charlie Sheen or Mel Gibson!!!!
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 11:07:50 PM

^ is that in English?
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 1:37:00 AM

i'll take his word for it...partially, until i see it for myself and make my final decision...i do have to admit, the creatures in pan's labyrinth were pretty sick...first foreign fantasy film i've ever seen where i was impressed with the story, some of the scenes were creepy like that weird hand creature or something (been a while since i watched it)...anyway he was able to impress me...hellboy i wasn't really a fan of, but it was decent i thought...the second one only made me appreciate it better
jdl107 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 7:07:53 AM

"I believe the giant robots are built to fight the giant monsters."


Umm... NAWWW.

Foh reaaal? Nawww dawg... Just NAWWW.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved